Protected Areas

Status and Trends

status for terrestrial good; improvements in representation continue

Healthy, improving at a slow to moderate rate

status for marine poor; progress in identifying areas for protection

Impaired, improving at a slow to moderate rate

trends are clear

High confidence in finding

KEY FINDING 8. Both the extent and representativeness of the protected areas network have increased in recent years. In many places, the area protected is well above the United Nations 10% target. It is below the target in highly developed areas and the oceans.

This key finding is divided into four sections:

Protected areas are usually set aside to protect biodiversity or cultural resources.1 While some protected areas are managed exclusively for biodiversity, others allow recreational opportunities and still others allow resource use under management regimes that do not jeopardize the long-term sustainability of the natural environment. Protected areas are important because they provide places where ecological processes can evolve, refuges for species at risk, and repositories of genetic material. They also provide opportunities for recreation, spiritual renewal, and the conservation of places of cultural value. Protected areas are one tool for the protection of biodiversity. Sustainable management outside protected areas is equally important.

Globe

Global Trends

More than 12% of the world’s land and 5.9% of territorial seas are in protected areas. Protected areas are not distributed evenly. Fifty-six percent of global terrestrial ecoregions and 18% of the marine ecoregions have reached the 10% protected areas benchmark set by the Convention on Biological Diversity.3

 

 

 

 

 

 

Return to Table of Contents

Terrestrial protected areas

Millions km2, 1885 to May 2009
Graph:  terrestrial protected areas. Click for graphic description (new window).
Note: the green dot is the total area protected, including protected areas with unknown dates of establishment.
Source: Environment Canada, 20092

 

 

Canada’s terrestrial protected areas network has increased steadily since 1992, when the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity was signed. As of May 2009, 4,826 protected areas, covering 9.4% (939,993 km2) of the land base, had been designated.2 This includes: some very old parks, such as Banff National Park, created in 1885 and covering 6,641 km2; areas of international significance, such as Queen Maude Gulf Bird Sanctuary, covering 63,024 km2 of Arctic tundra and marshes; and smaller areas representative of unique and endangered ecosystems, such as Point Pelee National Park, covering 15 km2 in southeastern Ontario, with many at-risk species representative of the Carolinian forest. Protected areas established after May 2009, such as the expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve from 4,766 km2 to over 30,000 km2, are not included in this analysis.

The majority (68%) of the protected areas in Canada are managed primarily for conservation of ecosystems and natural and cultural features. Over 1,500 protected areas (31%) have also been dedicated for sustainable use by established cultural tradition.2

Photo: bowhead whales in Isabella Bay, Baffin Island, Nunavut © A.P. Taylor
Bowhead whales in Isabella Bay, Baffin Island, Nunavut

National wildlife areas in Nunavut

National Wildlife Areas protect nationally significant habitat for migratory birds, support species or ecosystems at risk, or protect rare or unusual habitat. Critical natural features are conserved and activities considered harmful to species or habitats are prohibited. Three new National Wildlife Areas were created in Nunavut in June 2010 to protect critical habitat for Arctic seabirds, bowhead whales, and other species. They will be co-managed by local and federal governments, and were chosen based on advocacy and involvement from the communities of Qikiqtarjuak and Clyde River.9

Photo: Akpait National Wildlife Area © Garry DonaldsonAkpait National Wildlife Area (774 km2) is an important area for migratory birds. It provides breeding habitat for one of Canada’s largest thick-billed murre colonies, black-legged kittiwakes, glaucous gulls, and black guillemots. It is also home to polar bears, walruses, and several species of seals.9

Qaqulluit National Wildlife Area (398 km2) is home to Canada’s largest colony of northern fulmars, representing an estimated 22% of the total Canadian population. Marine animals, including walrus and ringed seals, also use the waters of this National Wildlife Area.9 Ninginganiq National Wildlife Area (Isabella Bay) (336 km2) protects critical summer habitat for the eastern Arctic population of bowhead whales, a Threatened species.9

B.C. north and central coast-land use plan

Photo: North Coast grizzly © A.S. Wright www.cold-coast.com

In one of the largest coordinated land-use planning efforts on record, B.C. and the majority of First Nations of the North and Central Coast, along with industry, environmental, and community leaders, agreed in 2007 to a unique management approach for 64,000 km2 of the B.C. coast.10 Vast areas of temperate coastal rainforest have now been protected, including the largest intact temperate rainforest left on earth, home to thousands of species of plants, birds, and animals. The land-use planning agreement protects more than 30% of the land in 114 protected areas and recommends low-impact logging regulations that will conserve 50% of the natural range of old-growth forests outside of the protected areas. Applying this management approach recognizes the critical role played by land outside protected areas in the conservation of biodiversity. An adaptive management framework is in place to monitor, learn from, and improve the management of this area on an ongoing basis.

Freshwater protected areas

In general, the protection of freshwater has not been a focus of protected area efforts, with the exception of Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area, the largest freshwater protected area in the world. Located in the Canadian part of the Great Lakes, it consists of approximately 10,000 km2 of lakebed and associated shoreline and 60 km2 of islands and mainland.2

Return to Table of Contents

Photo: stellar sea lions © Environment Canada
Stellar sea lions

Marine Protected Areas

Thousand km2, 1885 to May 2009
Graph: marine protected areas. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: Environment Canada, 20092

Approximately 45,280 km2 (0.6%) of Canada’s oceans are protected.2 Although many protected areas on Canada’s coasts have marine components, the designation of specific marine protected areas is more recent. This includes some marine areas of global significance, such as the Gully Marine Protected Area, the largest underwater canyon in eastern North America, situated 200 km off the coast of Nova Scotia, and the Bowie Seamount, a large submarine volcano 180 km west of Haida Gwaii, B.C.

Gwaii Haanas Marine Conservation Area Reserve and Haida Heritage Site

Gwaii Haanas Marine Conservation Area Reserve and Haida Heritage Site is Canada’s newest marine protected area, covering 3,500 km2 of water and seabed. With the adjacent Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, a contiguous protected area of 5,000 km2 now extends from the alpine tundra of the mountaintops, through the temperate rainforest, to the deep ocean beyond the continental shelf. The marine area is noted for its diverse and unique ecosystems, which include deep-sea coral reefs, kelp forests, and eelgrass meadows. Nearly 3,500 marine species dwell in this area, including economically important fish and shellfish, breeding populations of seabirds, and marine mammals such as whales, dolphins, and sea lions. The area will be cooperatively managed by the Haida Nation and the federal government.4, 5

The Gully Marine Protected Area

The Gully, comprising an area of 2,364 km2, is located offshore of Nova Scotia, near Sable Island. Its ecological significance is well established and includes the highest known diversity of coral in Atlantic Canada, 14 species of marine mammals, including the endangered Scotian Shelf population of northern bottlenose whales, and a wide variety of fish, seabirds, and bottom-dwelling animals.6, 7 The Gully is managed using a zonation system that protects the deep water from all extractive activities, allows some fishing in the canyon head and sides, feeder canyons, and on the continental slope, and allows activities in the adjacent sand banks if they do not disrupt the ecosystem beyond natural variability.8

Return to Table of Contents

Distribution and size of protected areas

Canada’s protected areas do not meet the Convention on Biological Diversity’s target to protect 10% of each of the world’s ecological regions. Although some terrestrial ecozones+ have greater than 10% protected, others, such as the Prairies and Mixedwood Plains, have a low percent protected, even though they have some of the highest biodiversity values in the country. No marine ecozones+ have 10% protected. The use of conservation corridors to enhance the biodiversity value of current protected areas in a fragmented landscape is an important and more recent conservation tool.

Map: percent area protected by ecozone+. Click for graphic descriptor (new window).

* 7% of the Taiga Shield Ecozone+ (eastern and western portions) is protected.
Source: Environment Canada, 20092

Size of terrestrial protected areas

Number and area of protected areas by size category
Graph: size of terrestrial protected areas. Click for graphic descriptor (new window).
Source: Environment Canada, 20092

Large protected areas are generally believed to have the greatest conservation value for the widest range of biodiversity. Less than 1% of Canada’s protected areas are larger than 5,000 km2, but these large areas comprise 59% of the total area protected. The 3% of protected areas larger than 1,000 km2 comprise 82% of the total area protected. In some places, adjacent protected areas create large protected area complexes. One of several examples is the Tatshenshini-Alsek/Kluane/Glacier Bay/Wrangell-St. Elias complex, which exceeds 98,000 km2 and crosses B.C., Yukon, and Alaska.

Small protected areas have a role in protecting rare species or species requiring specialized habitat. They can also serve as links between larger reserves. Most (72%) of the protected areas in Canada are less than 10 km2 in size. Altogether these small protected areas contribute less than 1% to the total area protected.

 

Return to Table of Contents

Aires protégées

État et tendances
continueaires terrestres protégées – nombre satisfaisant; leur représentation continue de s'améliorer

Sain, s’améliore lentement ou modérément
aires marines protégées – nombre médiocre; progrès réalisés dans l'établissement d'aires à protéger

Altéré, s’améliore lentement ou modérément

CONSTATATION CLÉ 8. La superficie et la représentativité du réseau d'aires protégées ont augmenté ces dernières années. Dans bon nombre d'endroits, la superficie des aires protégées est bien au-delà de la valeur cible de 10 % qui a été fixée par les Nations Unies. Elle se situe en deçà de la valeur cible dans les zones fortement développées et dans les zones océaniques.

Cette constatation clé est divisée en quatre parties :

L'objectif des aires protégées est habituellement de protéger la biodiversité ou les ressources culturelles1. Certaines aires protégées sont gérées exclusivement aux fins de la biodiversité, alors que d'autres permettent la pratique de loisirs, et d'autres encore permettent l'utilisation des ressources sous des régimes de gestion qui ne présentent aucune menace pour la durabilité à long terme du milieu naturel. Les aires protégées sont importantes, because car elles se prêtent à l'évolution des processus écologiques, fournissent des refuges aux espèces en péril et constituent des référentiels de ressources génétiques. Elles sont également des sites de loisir, de renouvellement spirituel et de conservation de lieux comportant une valeur culturelle. Les aires protégées sont un outil de protection de la biodiversité. La gestion durable des terres à l'extérieur des aires protégées est
tout aussi importante.

Monde

Tendances mondiales

Plus de 12 % de la surface terrestre mondiale et 5,9 % des eaux territoriales font partie d'une aire protégée. Les aires protégées ne sont pas réparties uniformément. Cinquante six pour cent des écorégions terrestres mondiales et 18 % des écorégions marines ont atteint le seuil de 10 % d'aires protégées fixé par la Convention sur la diversité biologique3.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Retournez à la table des matières

Aires terrestres protégées

Superficie (en millions de km2), de 1885 à mai 2009
Graphe : Aires terrestres protégées. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Remarque : Le point vert représente l'aire protégée totale, y compris les aires protégées dont les dates d'établissement sont inconnues.

Source: Environnement Canada, 20092.

 

 

 

Le réseau des aires terrestres protégées du Canada a augmenté de façon constante depuis 1992 lorsque la Convention sur la diversité biologique des Nations Unies a été ratifiée. En mai 2009, 4826 aires, représentant 9,4 % (939 993 km2) de la surface terrestre, ont été désignées comme étant protégées2. De ce nombre, on compte des parcs très anciens comme le parc national de Banff, qui a été créé en 1885 et qui s'étend sur 6641 km2; des aires d'importance internationale comme le Refuge d'oiseaux du golfe de la Reine-Maud, qui s'étend sur 63 024 km2 de toundra et de marais de l'Arctique; et des aires plus petites représentatives d'écosystèmes uniques et en voie de disparition, comme le parc national de la Pointe Pelée, qui s'étend sur 15 km2 au sud-est de l'Ontario et qui abrite de nombreuses espèces en péril représentatives de la forêt carolinienne. Les aires protégées établies après mai 2009, comme l'agrandissement de la réserve du parc national Nahanni de 4766 km2 à plus de 30 000 km2, ne sont pas comprises dans cette analyse.

La majorité (68 %) des aires protégées au Canada sont gérées principalement aux fins de la conservation des écosystèmes et des caractéristiques naturelles et culturelles. Plus de 1500 aires protégées (31 %) sont administrées aux fins d'utilisation durable par des traditions culturelles établies2.

Photo : Baleines boréales dans la baie Isabella, Nunavut © A.P. Taylor
Baleines boréales dans la baie Isabella, Nunavut

Réserves nationales de faune au Nunavut

Les réserves nationales de faune protègent des habitats importants à l'échelle nationale pour les oiseaux migrateurs, soutiennent des espèces ou des écosystèmes en péril ou procurent un habitat rare ou inhabituel. Les caractéristiques naturelles essentielles sont conservées et les activités considérées comme étant nuisibles pour les espèces ou les habitats sont interdites. Trois nouvelles réserves nationales de faune ont été créées au Nunavut en juin 2010 pour protéger l'habitat essentiel des oiseaux marins, des baleines boréales et d'autres espèces de l'Arctique. Elles seront cogérées par les gouvernements locaux et fédéral, et elles ont été choisies en fonction de la cause à défendre et de la participation des communautés de Qikiqtarjuak et Clyde River9.

Photo : Réserve nationale de faune d' Akpait © Garry DonaldsonLa réserve nationale de faune d'Akpait (774 km2) est une aire importante pour les oiseaux migrateurs. Elle fournit un habitat de reproduction pour une des colonies de Guillemots de Brünnich les plus importantes au Canada, les Mouettes tridactyles, les Goélands bourgmestres et les Guillemots à miroir. Elle abrite aussi des ours blancs, des morses et plusieurs espèces de phoques9.

La réserve nationale de faune de Qaqulluit (398 km2) abrite la plus grande colonie nicheuse de Fulmars boréaux du Canada, soit environ 22 % de la population canadienne totale de cette espèce. Des animaux marins, comme les morses et les phoques annelés, fréquentent également les eaux de cette réserve nationale de faune9. La réserve nationale de faune de Ninginganiq (baie Isabella; 336 km2) protège un habitat d'été essentiel pour la population de l'Arctique de l'Est des baleines boréales, une espèce menacée en voie de disparition9.

Plan d’utilisation des terres de la côte du centre et du nord de la Colombie-Britannique

Photo : Grizzly de la côte Nord © A.S. Wright www.cold-coast.com

En 2007, dans un des efforts coordonnés de planification de l'utilisation des terres les plus importants consignés, la Colombie-Britannique et la plupart des Premières nations du centre et du nord de la côte, ainsi que les dirigeants de l'industrie, de l'environnement et des collectivités, ont convenu d'une approche de gestion unique pour 64 000 km2 de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique10. De vastes régions de forêt pluviale tempérée côtière sont maintenant protégées, dont la plus grande forêt pluviale tempérée encore intacte sur la planète, qui abrite des milliers d'espèces de plantes, d'oiseaux et d'animaux. L'accord de planification de l'utilisation des terres protège plus de 30 % des terres dans 114 aires protégées et comporte également des recommandations sur des règlements d'exploitation forestière à faible incidence qui conserveront 50 % de la répartition naturelle des forêts anciennes à l'extérieur des aires protégées. L'application de cette approche de gestion reconnaît le rôle essentiel joué par les terres à l'extérieur des aires protégées en ce qui a trait à la conservation de la biodiversité. Un cadre de gestion adapté est en place afin de surveiller et d'améliorer la gestion de cette aire de façon continue, ainsi que d'en tirer des leçons.

Aires d'eau douce protégées

Dans l'ensemble, la protection de l'eau douce n'a pas été privilégiée parmi les activités relatives aux aires protégées, à une seule exception : l'aire marine nationale de conservation du lac Supérieur, la plus grande aire protégée d'eau douce au monde, située du côté canadien des Grands Lacs. Environ 10 000 km2 de l'aire correspondent aux lits et aux rives du lac et 60 km2 correspondent aux îles et aux parties continentales2.

Retournez à la table des matières

Photo : Otaries de Steller © Environnement Canada
Otaries de Steller

Aires marines protégées

Superficie (en milliers de km2),
Graphe : Aires marines protégées. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Environnement Canada, 20092.

Environ 45 280 km2 (0,6 %) des océans du Canada sont protégés2. Même si de nombreuses aires protégées sur les côtes canadiennes comprennent des aires marines, la désignation spécifique d'aire marine protégée est plus récente. Elle inclut certaines aires marines d'importance mondiale telles que la zone de protection marine du Gully, le plus grand canyon sous-marin de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord, située à 200 km au large des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse et le mont sous-marin Bowie, un grand volcan sous-marin situé à 180 km à l'ouest d'Haïda Gwaii (Colombie-Britannique).

Réserve d’aire marine de conservation gwaii haanas et site du patrimoine haïda

La réserve d'aire marine de conservation Gwaii Haanas et le site du patrimoine haïda sont la plus récente zone de protection marine du Canada, s'étendant sur 3500 km2 d'eau et de fond marin. Avec la réserve du parc national Gwaii Haanas adjacente, une aire protégée contiguë de 5000 km2, elle s'étend maintenant de la toundra alpine des pics montagneux jusqu'à l'océan profond au-delà de la plate-forme continentale, en passant par la forêt pluviale tempérée. La zone marine se démarque par ses écosystèmes variés et uniques qui comprennent des récifs coralliens en eau profonde, des forêts de varech et des herbiers de zostères marines. Près de 3500 espèces marines vivent dans cette zone, notamment des poissons, mollusques et crustacés ayant une valeur économique importante, des populations d'oiseaux marins en âge de reproduction et des mammifères marins tels que des baleines, des dauphins et des otaries. Cette zone sera cogérée par la nation haïda et le gouvernement fédéral4, 5.

Zone de protection marine du gully

Le Gully, comprenant une aire de 2364 km2, est situé au large des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse, près de l'île de Sable. L'importance écologique de cette aire est bien établie, et elle comprend la plus grande diversité connue de corail au Canada atlantique, 14 espèces de mammifères marins, dont la population en voie de disparition du plateau néo-écossais des baleines à bec communes, et une grande variété de poissons, d'oiseaux marins et d'animaux des grandes profondeurs6, 7. Le Gully est géré à l'aide d'un système de classification en zones qui protège les eaux profondes de toutes les activités d'extraction, qui permet certaines activités de pêche dans la tête et les parois du canyon, les canyons d'alimentation et le talus continental, et qui permet les activités dans les bancs de sable adjacents si elles ne perturbent pas l'écosystème au-delà de la variabilité naturelle8.

Retournez à la table des matières

Distribution et superficie des aires protégées

Les aires protégées du Canada ne répondent pas à l'objectif de la Convention sur la diversité biologique voulant que 10 % de chacune des régions écologiques mondiales soient protégés. Même si plus de 10 % de certaines écozones+ terrestres sont protégés, d'autres aires, telles que les plaines à forêts mixtes et les Prairies, ont un faible pourcentage de proportion protégée même si elles ont une des plus hautes valeurs sur le plan de la biodiversité au pays. Aucune écozone+ marine n'est protégée à 10 %. L'utilisation des corridors de conservation pour améliorer la valeur de la biodiversité des aires actuellement protégées dans un paysage fragmenté est un outil de conservation plus récent et important.

Carte : Pourcentage d’aires protégées par écozone+. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).

* La proportion de 7 % de l'écozone+ de la taïga du Bouclier (parties est et ouest) est protégée.
Source : Environnement Canada, 20092.

Superficie des aires protégées terrestres

Superficie protégée et nombre d'aires protégées selon la superficie
Graphe : Superficie des aires protégées terrestres. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Environnement Canada, 20092.

Les grandes aires protégées sont généralement associées à la plus grande valeur de conservation puisqu'elles ont une plus grande richesse de biodiversité. Moins de 1 % des aires protégées au Canada ont une superficie de plus de 5000 km2, mais ces grandes aires comprennent 59 % de la superficie totale protégée. La proportion de 3 % des aires protégées ayant une superficie de plus de 1000 km2 renferme 82 % de la superficie totale protégée. À certains endroits, les aires protégées limitrophes permettent de créer de grands complexes d'aires protégées, comme le complexe Tatshenshini-Alsek-Kluane-Glacier Bay-Wrangel-St. Elias, qui s'étend sur plus de 98 000 km2 et traverse la Colombie-Britannique, le Yukon et l'Alaska.

Les petites aires protégées jouent également un rôle de protection des espèces rares ou des espèces nécessitant un habitat spécial. Elles peuvent également jouer un rôle de lien entre les plus grandes réserves. La plupart (72 %) des aires protégées au Canada ont une superficie de moins de 10 km2. Collectivement, ces petites aires protégées correspondent à moins de 1 % de la superficie totale protégée.

 

Retournez à la table des matières