Agricultural Landscapes as Habitat

Wildlife Habitat Capacity Indicator

The capacity of agricultural landscapes to provide habitat for wildlife depends upon the mosaic of land-cover types and their management. One way to measure the potential of these lands to support populations of terrestrial vertebrates is through Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s Wildlife Habitat Capacity on Agricultural Land Indicator.3 The indicator ranks potential wildlife habitat capacity for 15 habitat categories based on an assessment of the use and value of 31 land-cover types to 588 species of birds, mammals, reptiles, and amphibians. Results show that natural areas and unimproved pasture provide the highest values, while cultivated lands, in particular croplands, provide the lowest. Natural lands, including woodlands, wetlands, and riparian areas, can provide all breeding and feeding habitat requirements for 75% of the species assessed, whereas croplands can only provide requirements for 13%.3

Wildlife habitat capacity on the agricultural landscape

Status in 2006
Map: wildlife habitat capacity on the agricultural landscape. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Javorek and Grant, 20103

In 2006, the average potential ability of the agricultural landscape to support wildlife was lowest in the Prairies, Boreal Plains, and Mixedwood Plains ecozones+, which together make up 92% of the agricultural landscape in Canada.3 Trends for individual parcels of land are variable and depend upon changes in their particular use. Although individual parcels, particularly pasture, provide critical wildlife habitat, the dominance of cropland results in a low overall capacity for much of these ecozones+. The ecozones+ where the agricultural footprint was lighter and the dominant land cover within the agricultural landscape was natural (Atlantic Maritime and Boreal Shield) or unimproved pasture (Montane Cordillera, Western Interior Basin, and Pacific Maritime) had the highest wildlife capacity.3

Change in the average wildlife habitat capacity on the agricultural landscape by ecozone+

Habitat Capacity Index, 1986 to 2006
Graph: change in average wildlife capacity by ecozone+. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Javorek and Grant, 20103

Average wildlife habitat capacity, considering both declines in capacity of some individual parcels and increases in others, declined significantly between 1986 and 2006 in all ecozones+ except the Prairies, where it remained low.3 Conversion of small habitat parcels, such as on field margins in the Prairies,5 are not always detected at this broad scale and could represent further degradation of habitat capacity.3 Overall declines in Canada are due primarily to the intensification of farming and the conversion of natural lands to other land-cover types, such as cropland, that are less suitable to wildlife. From 1986 to 2006, the proportion of agricultural land classified as cropland increased from 46 to 53%.3

Paysages agricoles servant d’habitat

Indicateur de capacité d'habitat faunique

La capacité des paysages agricoles à servir d'habitat faunique dépend de la mosaïque des types de couverture terrestre et de leur gestion. L'une des façons de mesurer le potentiel de ces terres à soutenir des populations de vertébrés terrestres repose sur l'indicateur de capacité d'habitat faunique sur les terres agricoles d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada3. Cet indicateur permet d'évaluer la capacité potentielle d'habitat faunique de 15 catégories d'habitat en s'appuyant sur une évaluation de la valeur et de l'utilisation de 31 types de couverture terrestre par 588 espèces d'oiseaux, de mammifères, de reptiles et d'amphibiens. Les résultats montrent que les aires naturelles et les pâturages en friche présentent les valeurs les plus élevées alors que les terres agricoles, en particulier les terres cultivées, fournissent les plus faibles valeurs de capacité d'habitat. Les terres naturelles, comme les terrains boisés, les milieux humides et les zones riveraines, peuvent répondre à tous les besoins en matière d'habitats de reproduction et d'alimentation d'environ 75 % des espèces visées par l'évaluation, tandis que les terres cultivées peuvent répondre aux besoins de seulement 13 % des espèces3.

Capacité d’habitat faunique du paysage agricole

État en 2006
Carte : Capacité d’habitat faunique du paysage agricole. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Javorek et Grant, 20103.

En 2006, la capacité potentielle moyenne du paysage agricole à soutenir la faune était la plus faible dans les écozones+ des Prairies, des plaines boréales et des plaines à forêts mixtes qui, ensemble, constituent 92 % du paysage agricole du Canada3. À l'échelle des parcelles de terre individuelles, les tendances sont variables et dépendent des changements de leur utilisation. Bien que certaines parcelles, notamment les pâturages, offrent un habitat faunique essentiel, la dominance des terres cultivées engendre une capacité généralement faible dans la plupart de ces écozones+. Les écozones+ où l'empreinte agricole est la moins forte et où le paysage agricole est dominé par une couverture terrestre naturelle (écozone+ maritime de l'Atlantique et écozone+ du Bouclier boréal) ou par des pâturages en friche (Cordillère montagnarde, bassin intérieur de l'Ouest et écozone+ maritime du Pacifique) présentaient la capacité d'habitat faunique la plus élevée3.

Changement de la capacité moyenne d’habitat faunique du paysage agricole par écozone+

Indicateur de capacité d'habitat, de 1986 à 2006
Graphe : Changement de la capacité moyenne d’habitat faunique par ecozone+. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Javorek et Grant, 20103.

La capacité moyenne d'habitat faunique, si l'on tient compte de la baisse ou de la hausse de la capacité dans certaines parcelles de terres distinctes, a chuté de manière significative entre 1986 et 2006 dans toutes les écozones+ à l'exception des Prairies, où elle est demeurée faible3. La conversion de petites parcelles d'habitat, comme en bordure des champs dans les Prairies5, n'est pas toujours décelée dans une telle évaluation à grande échelle, mais elle pourrait représenter une dégradation supplémentaire de la capacité d'habitat3. Dans l'ensemble, les diminutions au Canada sont essentiellement dues à l'intensification de l'agriculture et à la conversion de terres naturelles en terres moins appropriées pour la faune, comme les terres cultivées. De 1986 à 2006, la proportion du paysage agricole classé en terres cultivées a augmenté de 46 à 53 %3.