Agricultural Landscapes as Habitat

Status and Trends
agricultural landscapes remain important as habitat but show signs of stress
Concern, getting worse at a slow to moderate rate
only one indicator, but trend from indicator is clear
Medium confidence in finding

KEY FINDING 16. The potential capacity of agricultural landscapes to support wildlife in Canada has declined over the past 20 years, largely due to the intensification of agriculture and the loss of natural and semi-natural land cover.

This key finding is divided into two sections:

Land within the agricultural landscape of Canada includes a variety of cover types – pasture and rangeland, summerfallow, 24 types of cropland, and woodlots, wetlands, windbreaks, and other non-farmed areas.1, 2 Agricultural landscapes are important to biodiversity because they cover about 7% of Canada and provide habitat for over 550 species of terrestrial vertebrates,3 including approximately half of those assessed in 2004 as at risk nationally.4 Agricultural landscapes are concentrated in southern Canada, where biodiversity and numbers of species at risk are high and where ecosystem conversion is more extensive.

Photo: canola field © iStock.com/graphicjackson
Canola field

Return to Table of Contents

Wildlife Habitat Capacity Indicator

The capacity of agricultural landscapes to provide habitat for wildlife depends upon the mosaic of land-cover types and their management. One way to measure the potential of these lands to support populations of terrestrial vertebrates is through Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s Wildlife Habitat Capacity on Agricultural Land Indicator.3 The indicator ranks potential wildlife habitat capacity for 15 habitat categories based on an assessment of the use and value of 31 land-cover types to 588 species of birds, mammals, reptiles, and amphibians. Results show that natural areas and unimproved pasture provide the highest values, while cultivated lands, in particular croplands, provide the lowest. Natural lands, including woodlands, wetlands, and riparian areas, can provide all breeding and feeding habitat requirements for 75% of the species assessed, whereas croplands can only provide requirements for 13%.3

Wildlife habitat capacity on the agricultural landscape

Status in 2006
Map: wildlife habitat capacity on the agricultural landscape. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Javorek and Grant, 20103

In 2006, the average potential ability of the agricultural landscape to support wildlife was lowest in the Prairies, Boreal Plains, and Mixedwood Plains ecozones+, which together make up 92% of the agricultural landscape in Canada.3 Trends for individual parcels of land are variable and depend upon changes in their particular use. Although individual parcels, particularly pasture, provide critical wildlife habitat, the dominance of cropland results in a low overall capacity for much of these ecozones+. The ecozones+ where the agricultural footprint was lighter and the dominant land cover within the agricultural landscape was natural (Atlantic Maritime and Boreal Shield) or unimproved pasture (Montane Cordillera, Western Interior Basin, and Pacific Maritime) had the highest wildlife capacity.3

Change in the average wildlife habitat capacity on the agricultural landscape by ecozone+

Habitat Capacity Index, 1986 to 2006
Graph: change in average wildlife capacity by ecozone+. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Javorek and Grant, 20103

Average wildlife habitat capacity, considering both declines in capacity of some individual parcels and increases in others, declined significantly between 1986 and 2006 in all ecozones+ except the Prairies, where it remained low.3 Conversion of small habitat parcels, such as on field margins in the Prairies,5 are not always detected at this broad scale and could represent further degradation of habitat capacity.3 Overall declines in Canada are due primarily to the intensification of farming and the conversion of natural lands to other land-cover types, such as cropland, that are less suitable to wildlife. From 1986 to 2006, the proportion of agricultural land classified as cropland increased from 46 to 53%.3

Return to Table of Contents

Agricultural land management and wildlife capacity

Management practices also influence the ability of the land to support wildlife and sound stewardship through best management practices has had positive results in some regions. The dynamic nature of agricultural landscapes results in beneficial and detrimental land-cover changes happening concurrently.

Northern pintail population, southern Canada

Millions, 1955 to 2007
Graph: northern pintail population, southern Canada. Click for graphic description (new window). Photo: Northern pintail © iStock.com/LUGO.
Source: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 20076

Intensification of agriculture in the Prairies over the last 40 years, including the decline of fallow land in summer and increased conversion to cropland, has impacted nest success of some species of breeding waterfowl.7, 8 For example, a primary cause of the decline of northern pintail is their tendency to nest in standing stubble, mulched stubble, or fallow fields early in the season, often prior to seeding. The reduction of summerfallow and increase of spring-seeding since the 1970s3 has been linked to reduced nest success and a decline in the Prairie northern pintail population.9

Application of zero-till seeding practices in Saskatchewan
Percent of total hectares seeded, 1991 to 2006
Graph: application of zero-till seeding practices in Saskatchewan. Click for graphic description (new window). Photo: Northern pintail nest in farmer's field © iStock.com/nlimmen.

Source: Prairie Habitat Joint Venture, 200612.

Farmers have been working with conservation agencies to reduce the impact of agricultural practices on waterfowl. The planting of winter wheat in the fall in a zero-till seeding practice eliminates the need for spring tillage, thereby reducing disruption to nesting ducks. Application of these practices has increased since the early 1990s10, 11 (see Stewardship).

Return to Table of Contents

Paysages agricoles servant d’habitat

État et tendances
les paysages agricoles restent importants comme habitat, mais montrent des signes de stress
Préoccupant, empire lentement ou modérément
un seul indicateur, mais sa tendance est claire
Fiabilité de la constatation moyenne

CONSTATATION CLÉ 16. Le potentiel des paysages agricoles à soutenir la faune au Canada a diminué au cours des 20 dernières années, principalement en raison de l'intensification des activités agricoles et de la perte de couverture terrestre naturelle et semi-naturelle.

Cette constatation clé est divisée en deux parties :

Les terres du paysage agricole du Canada présentent divers types de couverture terrestre comme les pâturages, les grands pâturages libres, les terres en jachère, 24 types de terres cultivées, les terres à bois, les milieux humides, les plantations brise- vent et d'autres zones non cultivées1, 2. Les paysages agricoles sont importants pour la biodiversité parce qu'ils couvrent environ 7 % du territoire canadien et qu'ils servent d'habitat à plus de 550 espèces de vertébrés terrestres3, dont environ la moitié de celles jugées en péril à l'échelle nationale en 20044. Les paysages agricoles sont concentrés dans le sud du Canada, où la biodiversité et le nombre d'espèces en péril sont considérables et où la conversion d'écosystèmes est plus répandue.

Photo : Champ de colza © iStock.com/graphicjackson
Champ de colza

Retournez à la table des matières

Indicateur de capacité d'habitat faunique

La capacité des paysages agricoles à servir d'habitat faunique dépend de la mosaïque des types de couverture terrestre et de leur gestion. L'une des façons de mesurer le potentiel de ces terres à soutenir des populations de vertébrés terrestres repose sur l'indicateur de capacité d'habitat faunique sur les terres agricoles d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada3. Cet indicateur permet d'évaluer la capacité potentielle d'habitat faunique de 15 catégories d'habitat en s'appuyant sur une évaluation de la valeur et de l'utilisation de 31 types de couverture terrestre par 588 espèces d'oiseaux, de mammifères, de reptiles et d'amphibiens. Les résultats montrent que les aires naturelles et les pâturages en friche présentent les valeurs les plus élevées alors que les terres agricoles, en particulier les terres cultivées, fournissent les plus faibles valeurs de capacité d'habitat. Les terres naturelles, comme les terrains boisés, les milieux humides et les zones riveraines, peuvent répondre à tous les besoins en matière d'habitats de reproduction et d'alimentation d'environ 75 % des espèces visées par l'évaluation, tandis que les terres cultivées peuvent répondre aux besoins de seulement 13 % des espèces3.

Capacité d’habitat faunique du paysage agricole

État en 2006
Carte : Capacité d’habitat faunique du paysage agricole. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Javorek et Grant, 20103.

En 2006, la capacité potentielle moyenne du paysage agricole à soutenir la faune était la plus faible dans les écozones+ des Prairies, des plaines boréales et des plaines à forêts mixtes qui, ensemble, constituent 92 % du paysage agricole du Canada3. À l'échelle des parcelles de terre individuelles, les tendances sont variables et dépendent des changements de leur utilisation. Bien que certaines parcelles, notamment les pâturages, offrent un habitat faunique essentiel, la dominance des terres cultivées engendre une capacité généralement faible dans la plupart de ces écozones+. Les écozones+ où l'empreinte agricole est la moins forte et où le paysage agricole est dominé par une couverture terrestre naturelle (écozone+ maritime de l'Atlantique et écozone+ du Bouclier boréal) ou par des pâturages en friche (Cordillère montagnarde, bassin intérieur de l'Ouest et écozone+ maritime du Pacifique) présentaient la capacité d'habitat faunique la plus élevée3.

Changement de la capacité moyenne d’habitat faunique du paysage agricole par écozone+

Indicateur de capacité d'habitat, de 1986 à 2006
Graphe : Changement de la capacité moyenne d’habitat faunique par ecozone+. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Javorek et Grant, 20103.

La capacité moyenne d'habitat faunique, si l'on tient compte de la baisse ou de la hausse de la capacité dans certaines parcelles de terres distinctes, a chuté de manière significative entre 1986 et 2006 dans toutes les écozones+ à l'exception des Prairies, où elle est demeurée faible3. La conversion de petites parcelles d'habitat, comme en bordure des champs dans les Prairies5, n'est pas toujours décelée dans une telle évaluation à grande échelle, mais elle pourrait représenter une dégradation supplémentaire de la capacité d'habitat3. Dans l'ensemble, les diminutions au Canada sont essentiellement dues à l'intensification de l'agriculture et à la conversion de terres naturelles en terres moins appropriées pour la faune, comme les terres cultivées. De 1986 à 2006, la proportion du paysage agricole classé en terres cultivées a augmenté de 46 à 53 %3.

Retournez à la table des matières

Gestion des paysages agricoles et capacité d'habitat faunique

Les pratiques de gestion influent également sur la capacité des terres à soutenir la faune. Ainsi, une saine intendance par la mise en oeuvre de pratiques exemplaires de gestion a donné des résultats positifs dans certaines régions. Les paysages agricoles sont dynamiques, et des effets bénéfiques et nuisibles des changements de la couverture terrestre se produisent simultanément.

Population du canard pilet dans le sud du Canada

Millions, de 1955 à 2007
Graphe : Population du canard pilet dans le sud du Canada. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre). Photo : Canard pilet © iStock.com/LUGO.
Source : United States Fish and Wildlife Service, 20076.

L'intensification de l'agriculture dans les Prairies au cours des 40 dernières années, accompagnée de la diminution des mises en jachère durant l'été et de l'augmentation des conversions en terres cultivées, a eu des effets négatifs sur le succès de nidification de certaines espèces de sauvagine en période de reproduction7, 8. Par exemple, l'une des principales causes du déclin du Canard pilet est liée à sa tendance à faire son nid dans le chaume sur pied, dans le chaume au sol ou dans les champs en jachère tôt en saison, souvent avant le temps des semences. La diminution des jachères d'été et l'augmentation des ensemencements de printemps depuis les années 19703 ont été liées à la réduction du succès de nidification et au déclin de la population du Canard pilet dans les Prairies9.

Application de pratiques d’ensemencement par semis direct en Saskatchewan
Pourcentage du nombre total d'hectares ensemencés, de 1991 à 2006
Graphe : Application de pratiques d’ensemencement par semis direct en Saskatchewan. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre). Photo : Canard pilet dans un champ agricole © iStock.com/nlimmen.
Source : Le Plan conjoint des Habitats des Prairies, 200612.

Les agriculteurs travaillent avec les organismes de conservation afin d'atténuer l'impact des pratiques agricoles sur la sauvagine. L'ensemencement du blé d'hiver à l'automne à l'aide d'une méthode de semis direct élimine le besoin de travailler le sol au printemps, ce qui réduit les perturbations causées aux canards nicheurs. La mise en application de ces pratiques a augmenté depuis le début des années 199010, 11 (voir Intendance).

Retournez à la table des matières