Invasive Non-native Species

Status and Trends
new introductions continue (status deteriorating), as does their impact
Impaired, getting worse at a slow to moderate rate
poor spatial and temporal coverage outside the Great Lakes
Low confidence in finding
full impact of coastal marine invasive species just coming to light in some places
Red flag

KEY FINDING 10. Invasive non-native species are a significant stressor on ecosystem functions, processes, and structure in terrestrial, freshwater, and marine environments. This impact is increasing as numbers of invasive non-native species continue to rise and their distributions continue to expand.

This key finding is divided into five sections:

Invasive non-native species also called invasive alien species, are species of plants, animals, and micro-organisms introduced by human action outside their natural past or present distribution, and whose spread threatens the environment, economy or society, including human health. Twelve percent of the 11,950 species assessed in Wild Species 2010: the General Status of Species in Canada1 are not native. While only a small percentage of them become established and an even smaller number become invasive, the ecological and economic damage of those few species can be enormous.2, 3 Invasive non-native species harm biodiversity because they can displace native species and compete with them for resources, degrade habitat, introduce diseases, and/or breed with native species to form hybrids. Numerous factors are responsible for the spread of invasive non- native species, including climate change, unintentional introductions from ship ballast and along roads, intentional introductions, and the increased susceptibility of altered or degraded ecosystems. The control of invasive non-native species is expensive and their eradication is seldom possible. They are considered the second greatest threat to biodiversity worldwide, after habitat destruction, and are an emerging threat to northern Canadian ecosystems as climate warms and species intolerant of current northern climatic conditions expand their ranges.

Globe

Global Trends

Invasive non-native species have contributed to nearly 40% of all animal extinctions for which the cause is known.2

 

 

 

 

Return to Table of Contents

Coastal marine ecosystems

Photo: colonial sea squirts © Gordon KingAlthough many non-native species have become established in Canada’s coastal marine waters,4-6 the impacts of invasive non-native species are most acute in the bays of P.E.I. Intensive agriculture and aquaculture activities have made P.E.I.’s coast more susceptible to the establishment and impacts of invaders. For example, since 1997, four species of sea squirts, or tunicates, have established, and are invasive, in P.E.I. Although established elsewhere in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence, they are only invasive in P.E.I. There is also some evidence that another invasive species, the European green crab, preys on the predators of sea squirts, exacerbating the problem in P.E.I.6, 7

The European green crab is an aggressive competitor of native crabs and a predator of clams, mussels, juvenile fish, and many other species. It has recently become established on both the east and west coasts of Canada, although its establishment is too recent for its full impact to be known. The main source of coastal marine invasions in Canada has been transport on the hulls and in the ballast water of ships.5, 7, 8 New regulations on ballast water are designed to prevent further introductions through this pathway.

Return to Table of Contents

Photo: zebra mussels © Jim Moyes, Environment Canada
Zebra mussels

Great Lakes

Invasive non-native species are responsible for the loss of much of the original biotic community of the Great Lakes.9 The demise of Great Lakes native biota started with the opening of the Welland Canal in 1829, the accidental introduction of sea lamprey in 1920, and the subsequent collapse of lake trout. Non-native species now dominate the Great Lakes, with enormous ecological and economic consequences.10 One study estimated the economic loss caused by non-native invasive species in the Great Lakes to be as much as $5.7 billion annually.11

Trends in non-native species in the Great Lakes

Cumulative number of species
Graph: cumulative number of non-native species in the Great Lakes. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: data from Great Lakes Aquatic Nonindigenous Species Information System (GLANSIS), 200912

As of 2008, over 185 non-native aquatic species had been reported to have reproducing populations in the Great Lakes. Of these, at least 10% are considered to be invasive.12 Examples of the impacts include the collapse of:

  • the deepwater amphipod, Diporeia, and 33% of native mussels, after the introduction of zebra and quagga mussels;
  • many lake fish after the introduction of alewife.13

Prevention of future introductions, such as Asian carps from the Mississippi Basin, is a critical challenge.13

Native Mussel Declines

Number of freshwater mussel species before and after zebra mussel invasion
Map and graph: native mussel decline in Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair. Click for graphic description (new window).
Note: no “before” data for Niagara River and East Lake St. Clair.
Source: adapted from Metcalf-Smith et al., 200214

Native freshwater mussels are ecologically important as natural biological filters, food for aquatic species, and indicators of good water quality.15 Nearly 72% of the 300 freshwater mussel species in North America are vulnerable to extinction or are already extinct.15 Native freshwater mussels were virtually extirpated from the offshore waters of western Lake Erie between 1989 and 199116 and from Lake St. Clair between 1986 and 1994.17 Their decline has been attributed to a number of human stressors such as pollution, overexploitation, and habitat destruction by dams,18 in addition to declining water levels, and competition with non-native species such as zebra and quagga mussels.15 Free-flowing rivers can provide a refuge for native mussel species by limiting zebra and quagga mussel colonization. However, non-native mussels can still establish in regulated rivers with reservoirs.15 In a 2004/2005 survey, zebra mussels were noted at all sites sampled downstream from the Fanshawe Reservoir in the lower Thames River, a system that has one of the most diverse freshwater mussel communities in Canada.19

Return to Table of Contents

Photo: purple loostrife © Steve Dewey, bugwood.org
Purple loosestrife

Terrestrial plants

Invasive non-native plants are one of the greatest threats to Canada’s croplands, rangelands, and natural areas. They degrade productivity and biological diversity; they are responsible for significant economic loss; and, they affect our trade with other countries. Approximately 1,229 (24%) of the 5,087 known plants in Canada are not native. Of these, 486 are considered weedy or invasive.36

Invasive non-native plants in Canada
Cumulative number of species, 1600 to 2005
Graph: cumulative number of invasive non-native plant species in Canada. Click for graphic description (new window).
Note: This graph represents an estimate of temporal trends for the 245 invasive plant species for which dates of introduction can be estimated.
Source: adapted from Canadian Food Inspection Agency, 201036

The most rapid accumulation of non-native plant species was between 1800 and 1900, a period of increased trade, immigration, and colonization. During this time many invasive plants were brought into Canada intentionally. The rate of new invasive plant introductions has slowed since the early 1900s, although range extension of established species is an ongoing problem. The geographic origin of most of the non-native plants in Canada is western Europe, reflecting dominant trade patterns of the past. Modern trade patterns point to new risks from the United States and Asia.36

Invasive non-native plants can cause ecological damage over a wide area and economic damage to multiple sectors. Some of the most damaging non-native plants include Canada thistle, leafy spurge, and knapweeds.37 Wetland plants are among the most aggressive invaders, changing vegetation structure, reducing the diversity of native plants and associated wildlife, and altering basic wetland functioning. Some of the most aggressive wetland invaders include purple loosestrife and European common reed.38

Expansion of the European common reed

St. Lawrence River, Quebec, 1980 to 2002
Three graphs: expansion of the European common reed. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Hudon et al., 200539

Locator map of the St. Lawrence River, Quebec. Click for graphic description (new window).

European common reed, a subspecies of the native common reed, is one of the most dangerous non-native invaders of natural habitats in Canada.40, 41 It is currently a major problem in the east, where it forms dense stands to the exclusion of most native species.40 It first established in Nova Scotia in 1910,40 but spread most significantly from 1980-2002.39 Human- made linear wetlands, such as ditches, can act as dispersal corridors because they are rich in nutrients, extensively interconnected, and salt accumulation in them creates a competitive advantage for the salt-tolerant European common reed.42 Expansion of the European common reed jeopardizes ecosystem functioning because it reduces biodiversityPhoto: European common reed © Paul Catling and is of lower nutritional43 and habitat value44 than the native species it replaces. The European common reed is expected to expand its range to the Prairie provinces within one or two decades, where it could impede water flow in irrigation canals.40 Early knowledge allows for some time to conduct the research necessary to prevent its spread.40

Return to Table of Contents

Pathogens and diseases of wildlife

Pathogens are disease-causing organisms. They come from a large spectrum of species groups, including worms, insects, fungi, protozoa, bacteria, and viruses. Many pathogens are native to Canada and the wildlife diseases they cause are part of the normal functioning of ecosystems. However, some recent disease outbreaks appear to be caused by invasive non-native pathogens or new strains of native pathogens. These include: a bacterium of poultry that also affects house finches; avian influenza, a usually benign virus of ducks that now exists in a strain deadly to poultry; duck plague, a virus native to Eurasia that can kill wild waterfowl; a chytrid fungus of amphibians; and West Nile virus, affecting mammals, birds, reptiles, and people.20

Distribution of birds testing postive for West Nile virus

2001 to 2003
Map: distribution of birds testing positive for West Nile Virus. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: Leighton, 201020 adapted from Health Canada, 200321

West Nile virus cycles in nature between a wide range of wild bird species and a narrow range of mosquito species. It was transported to North America from Afro-Eurasia.22 First detected in Canada in 2001, it affected all provinces from Nova Scotia to Alberta by 2003, and by 2009, it had reached British Columbia. West Nile virus has killed thousands of corvids (crows, jays, magpies, and their relatives) and fewer non-corvid birds.23

Global spread of chytrid fungus of amphibians

Earliest occurrences of chytrid fungus in each major centre
Timeline: global spread of chytrid fungus of amphibians. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Weldon et al., 200424

A chytrid fungus of the skin has been linked to worldwide declines in amphibian populations25 and is generally believed to be the largest infectious disease threat to biodiversity.26, 27

The origins of chytrid fungus in North America are unclear. It may have originated in Africa and spread through trade of African clawed frogs, which were widely used in human pregnancy tests.24, 26 Trade of other species, such as the American bullfrog, may have contributed to its spread.24 There is some evidence that chytrid fungus has always been present in North America, but that environmental stressors, such as pesticides and climate change, have made amphibians more susceptible to it.28-30 The earliest record of chytrid fungus outside of Africa is from Quebec, in 1961.31Photo: northern leopard frog © iStock.com/maimai

Since then, chytrid fungus has been found in British Columbia,31 Alberta,20 Saskatchewan,32 Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia,31 and, most recently, Prince Edward Island,33 Yukon,34 and the Northwest Territories.35

Return to Table of Contents

Espèces non indigènes envahissantes

État et tendances
les nouvelles introductions continuent (l'état se détériore), tout comme leurs répercussions

Altéré, empire lentement ou modérément
couverture spatiale et temporelle médiocre sauf pour les Grands Lacs

Fiabilité de la constatation faible
impact entier des espèces marines côtières envahissantes en train d'apparaître à certains endroits

Drapeau rouge

CONSTATATION CLÉ 10. Les espèces non indigènes envahissantes sont un facteur de stress important en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement, les processus et la structure des écosystèmes des milieux terrestres, des milieux d'eau douce et d'eau marine. Leurs effets se font sentir de plus en plus à mesure que leur nombre augmente et que leur répartition géographique progresse.

Cette constatation clé est divisée en cinq parties :

Les espèces non indigènes envahissantes sont des espèces de plantes, d'animaux et de microorganismes qui ont été introduites par des activités humaines et qui se sont propagées au-delà de leur aire de répartition naturelle actuelle ou passée, et dont la propagation menace l'environnement, l'économie ou la société, y compris la santé humaine. Douze pour cent des 11 950 espèces évaluées dans Les espèces sauvages 2010 : Situation générale des espèces au Canada ne sont pas indigènes1. Bien que seul un faible pourcentage des espèces non indigènes s'établissent dans un milieu et qu'un pourcentage encore plus faible d'entre elles deviennent envahissantes, les dégâts écologiques et les pertes économiques causés par ces quelques espèces peuvent être impressionnants2, 3. Les espèces non indigènes envahissantes nuisent à la biodiversité,car elles peuvent déloger les espèces indigènes et leur faire concurrence pour les ressources, dégrader leur habitat, introduire des maladies et s'associer avec des espèces indigènes pour former des hybrides. De nombreux facteurs sont responsables de la propagation des espèces non indigènes envahissantes, notamment les changements climatiques, les introductions non volontaires par le ballast de navires et le long des routes, les introductions volontaires, et la vulnérabilité accrue des écosystèmes altérés ou dégradés. La lutte contre les espèces non indigènes envahissantes coûte cher, et leur éradication est rarement possible. Ces espèces sont considérées comme la deuxième plus grande menace pour la biodiversité dans le monde entier, après la destruction de l'habitat, et elles commencent à menacer les écosystèmes canadiens du Nord, puisque le réchauffement climatique incite les espèces ne tolérant pas les conditions climatiques nordiques actuelles à agrandir leur aire de répartition.

Monde

Tendances mondiales

Les espèces non indigènes envahissantes ont contribué à près de 40 % de toutes les extinctions d'animaux dont la cause est connue2.

 

 

 

 

 

Retournez à la table des matières

Écosystèmes marins côtiers

Photo : Tuniciers coloniaux © Gordon KingBien que de nombreuses espèces non indigènes se soient établies dans les eaux marines côtières du Canada4-6, les impacts des espèces non indigènes envahissantes se font le plus sentir dans les baies de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Î.-P.-É.). En raison des activités agricoles et aquacoles intensives, les côtes de l'Î.-P.-É. sont devenues plus favorables à l'établissement des envahisseurs et plus vulnérables à leurs impacts. Par exemple, depuis 1997, quatre sous-espèces d'ascidies, ou tuniciers, se sont établies et sont envahissantes à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Bien qu'elles soient établies ailleurs dans le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent, ce n'est qu'à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard qu'elles sont envahissantes. Il existe également des signes indiquant qu'une autre espèce envahissante, le crabe européen, se nourrit des prédateurs des ascidies, accentuant le problème de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard6,7.

Le crabe européen est un compétiteur agressif des crabes indigènes, et il est un prédateur de myes, de moules, de poissons juvéniles et de nombreuses autres espèces. Récemment, il s'est établi sur les côtes est et ouest du Canada, mais son établissement est trop récent pour que tous ses impacts soient connus. Le transport sur les coques de bateau et dans l'eau de ballast des navires est le principal responsable des invasions marines côtières au Canada5, 7, 8 Une nouvelle réglementation sur l'eau de ballast vise à empêcher de nouvelles introductions par cette voie d'entrée.

Retournez à la table des matières

Photo : Moules zebrées © Jim Moyes, Environnement Canada
Moules zebrées

Grands Lacs

Les espèces non indigènes envahissantes sont responsables de la perte de la majeure partie de la communauté biotique initiale des Grands Lacs9 La dégradation du biote indigène des Grands Lacs a commencé avec l'ouverture du canal Welland en 1829, l'introduction accidentelle de la lamproie en 1920, et l'effondrement des populations de touladi qui s'en est suivi. Les espèces non indigènes sont désormais les espèces dominantes dans les Grands Lacs, ce qui entraîne de lourdes conséquences écologiques et économiques10 Une étude a estimé que les pertes économiques causées par les espèces non indigènes envahissantes dans les Grands Lacs s'élèvent jusqu'à 5,7 milliards de dollars par an11.

Tendances des espèces non indigènes dans les Grands Lacs

Nombre cumulatif d'espèces
Graphe : Nombre cumulatif d'espèces de plantes non indigènes envahissantes dans les Grands Lacs. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Great Lakes Aquatic Nonindigneous Species Information System (GLANSIS), 200912.

En 2008, des populations reproductrices de plus de 185 espèces aquatiques non indigènes ont été recensées dans les Grands Lacs. Parmi ces espèces, au moins 10 % sont considérées comme envahissantes12. Voici quelques exemples de répercussions :

  • l'introduction des moules zébrées et quaggas a fait disparaître la population de l'amphipode de fond, Diporeia, et 33 %des moules indigènes;
  • les populations de nombreux poissons lacustres ont diminué considérablement après l'introduction du gaspareau13.

La prévention de nouvelles introductions, notamment celle des carpes asiatiques provenant du bassin du Mississippi, constitue un enjeu crucial13.

Déclins des moules indigènes

Nombre d'espèces de moules d'eau douce avant et après l'invasion des moules zébrées
Carte et graphe : Déclins des moules indigènes dans Lac Érié et Lac Sainte- Clair. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Remarque : Aucune donnée avant l'invasion pour la rivière Niagara et l'est du lac Sainte-Claire.
Source : Données tirées de Metcalf-Smith et al., 200214.

Les moules d'eau douce indigènes sont importantes au plan écologique puisqu'elles sont des filtres biologiques naturels, qu'elles nourrissent des espèces aquatiques et qu'elles sont des indicateurs d'une eau de bonne qualité15. Près de 72 % des 300 espèces de moules d'eau douce en Amérique du Nord sont menacées d'extinction ou sont déjà disparues15. Les moules d'eau douce indigènes étaient presque disparues des eaux du large du secteur ouest du lac Érié entre 1989 et 199116 et du lac Sainte-Claire entre 1986 et 199417. Leur déclin a été attribué à un certain nombre de facteurs de stress associés aux humains comme la pollution, la surexploitation et la destruction de leur habitat par les barrages18, sans compter les niveaux d'eau à la baisse et la compétition menée par les espèces non indigènes telles que les moules zébrées et quaggas15. Les cours d'eau non aménagés peuvent constituer un refuge pour les espèces de moules indigènes en limitant la colonisation par les moules zébrées et quaggas. Par contre, les moules non indigènes peuvent tout de même s'établir dans les cours d'eau faisant l'objet d'une régularisation et dotés de réservoirs15. Dans un relevé effectué de 2004 à 2005, des moules zébrées ont été recensées dans tous les sites échantillonnés en aval du réservoir Fanshawe dans le cours inférieur de la rivière Thames, un système contenant l'une des communautés de moules d'eau douce les plus diversifiées au Canada19.

Retournez à la table des matières

Photo : La salicaire commune © Steve Dewey, bugwood.org
La salicaire commune

Plantes terrestres

Les espèces végétales non indigènes envahissantes sont l'une des plus grandes menaces pour les terres cultivées, les parcours naturels et les aires naturelles du Canada. Elles portent atteinte à la productivité et à la biodiversité, elles sont responsables de lourdes pertes économiques et elles nuisent au commerce avec d'autres pays. Environ 1229 (24 %) des 5087 espèces végétales connues au Canada ne sont pas indigènes. De ce nombre, 486 sont considérées comme étant des mauvaises herbes ou des espèces envahissantes36.

Plantes non indigènes envahissantes

Nombre cumulatif d'espèces, de 1600 à 2005
Graphe : Nombre cumulatif d'espèces de plantes non indigènes envahissantes au Canada. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Remarque : Ce graphique représente une estimation des tendances temporelles des 245 espèces de plantes envahissantes pour lesquelles il est possible de calculer la date d'introduction.
Source : Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, 201036.

La hausse la plus rapide d'espèces végétales non indigènes s'est produite entre 1800 et 1900, une période où le commerce, l'immigration et la colonisation s'étaient intensifiés. Au cours de cette période, de nombreuses espèces végétales envahissantes ont été introduites au Canada de manière intentionnelle. Le rythme d'introduction de nouvelles espèces végétales envahissantes a ralenti depuis le début des années 1900, quoique l'agrandissement des aires de répartition des espèces établies continue de poser problème. La plupart des espèces végétales non indigènes du Canada sont originaires de l'Europe occidentale, ce qui reflète les caractéristiques dominantes du commerce du passé. Les caractéristiques actuelles du commerce laissent croire que de nouveaux risques pourraient provenir des États-Unis et de l'Asie36.

Les espèces végétales non indigènes envahissantes peuvent causer des dommages écologiques sur une vaste superfie, et des pertes économiques dans de multiples secteurs. Parmi les espèces végétales non indigènes les plus dommageables, on compte le chardon des champs, l'euphorbe ésule et la centaurée37. Les espèces végétales des milieux humides sont parmi les envahisseurs les plus agressifs, puisqu'elles modifient la structure des végétaux, réduisent la diversité des plantes indigènes et des espèces sauvages qui y sont associées, et nuisent au fonctionnement élémentaire des milieux humides. La salicaire commune et le phragmite commun d'Europe figurent parmi les envahisseurs les plus agressifs des milieux humides38.

Expansion du phragmite commun

Fleuve Saint-Laurent, Québec, de 1980 à 2002
Trois cartes : Expansion du phragmite commun. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique.  Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source: adapted from Hudon et al., 200539.

Carte montrant la situation géographique du fleuve Saint-Laurent, Québec. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).

Le phragmite commun d'Europe est une sousespèce du phragmite commun indigène, et il est l'un des envahisseurs non indigènes les plus dangereux pour les habitats naturels au Canada40, 41. Présentement, il est la source d'un problème majeur dans l'Est, où il forme des peuplements denses qui supplantent la plupart des espèces indigènes40. Il s'est implanté pour la première fois en Nouvelle-Écosse en 191040, mais il s'est propagé de façon plus marquée entre 1980 et 200239. Les milieux humides linéaires aménagés par les humains, tels que les fossés, peuvent constituer des corridors de dispersion puisqu'ils sont riches en nutriants et largement interreliés, et que le sel qui s'y accumule avantage le phragmite commun d'Europe, qui tolère bien le sel42. L'expansion du phragmite commun d'Europe compromet le fonctionnement des écosystèmes, puisqu'il appauvrit la biodiversité et qu'il procure une valeur plus faible sur le plan de la nutrition43 et de l'habitatPhoto : Le phragmite commun d’Europe © Paul Catling44 que les espèces indigènes qu'il remplace. Selon les prévisions, le phragmite commun d'Europe devrait étendre son aire de répartition aux provinces des Prairies d'ici dix ou vingt ans, où il pourrait avoir une incidence sur le débit de l'eau dans les canaux d'irrigation40. Le fait de connaître la situation permet de prévoir du temps pour mener les recherches nécessaires afin de prévenir sa propagation40.

Retournez à la table des matières

Agents pathogènes et maladies des espèces sauvages

Les agents pathogènes sont des organismes provoquant des maladies. Ils proviennent d'un large éventail de groupes d'espèces comme les vers, les insectes, les champignons, les protozoaires, les bactéries et les virus. De nombreux agents pathogènes proviennent du Canada, et les maladies qu'ils provoquent chez les espèces sauvages font partie du fonctionnement normal des écosystèmes. Cependant, il semblerait que de récentes épidémies aient été causées par des agents pathogènes non indigènes envahissants ou par de nouvelles souches d'agents pathogènes indigènes. Il s'agit entre autres d'une bactérie des volailles qui s'attaque également au Roselin familier; de la grippe aviaire, un virus normalement bénin des canards qui existe maintenant dans une souche meurtrière pour la volaille; la peste du canard, un virus provenant de l'Eurasie qui peut tuer la sauvagine; un champignon chytride touchant les amphibiens; et le virus du Nil occidental qui s'attaque aux mammifères, aux oiseaux, aux reptiles et aux humains20.

Répartition des oiseaux testés positifs pour le virus du nil occidental

De 2001 à 2003
Carte : Répartition des oiseaux testés positifs poir le virus du nil occidental. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Leighton et al., 201020, adapté de Santé Canada, 200321.

Le virus du Nil occidental suit un cycle naturel entre un large éventail d'espèces d'oiseaux sauvages et un éventail restreint d'espèces de moustiques. Il a été transporté de l'Afrique et de l'Eurasie jusqu'en Amérique du Nord22. Détecté pour la première fois au Canada en 2001, le virus avait touché toutes les provinces de la Nouvelle-Écosse à l'Alberta en 2003, et avait atteint la Colombie-Britannique en 2009. Le virus du Nil occidental a tué des milliers de corvidés (corneilles, geais, pies et oiseaux de la même famille) ainsi qu'un nombre moins élevé d'oiseaux n'appartenant pas à la famille des corvidés23.

Propagation mondiale du champignon chytride touchant les amphibiens

Premières apparitions du champignon chytride dans chacun des grands centres
Calendrier : Propagation mondiale du champignon chytride touchant les amphibiens. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Weldon et al., 200424

Un champignon chytride de l'épiderme a été associé à un déclin mondial des populations d'amphibiens25, et d'après la croyance populaire, il s'agirait de la plus importante maladie infectueuse menaçant la biodiversité26, 27. L'origine du champignon chytride en Amérique du Nord n'est pas bien connue. Il pourrait être venu d'Afrique et s'être propagé par le commerce de dactylèthres d'Afrique, qui étaient largement utilisés dans les tests de grossesse destinés aux humains24, 26. Le commerce d'autres espèces, comme le ouaouaron, pourrait avoir contribué à sa propagation24. Certaines données révèlent que le champignon chytride a toujours été présent en Amérique du Nord, mais que les amphibiens y sont devenus plus sensibles en raison de facteurs de stress environnementaux comme les pesticides et les changements climatiques28-30. Le premier champignon chytride recensé ailleurs qu'en Afrique a été relevé au Québec, en 196131.

Photo : Grenouille léopard © iStock.com/maimai

Depuis lors, des champignons chytrides ont été trouvés en Colombie-Britannique31, en Alberta20, en Saskatchewan32, en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse31 et, plus récemment, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard33, au Yukon,34 et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest35.

Retournez à la table des matières