Skip booklet index and go to page content

Arctic Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment

Ecosystem Goods and Services

Provisioning services

Living space

More so than perhaps any other group in Canada, modern Inuit and Inuvialuit occupy and use huge tracts of land as they travel to neighbouring communities to visit and conduct business and to remote (often traditional) camp sites to hunt, fish, and trap (Damas, 2002). “Travel” in this context means not only travel by dogsled, snow machine, and boat, but also the charter of aircraft to visit, confer with, and exchange goods with friends, relatives, and colleagues in remote communities. Many communities and individual families regularly occupy several traditional hunting, trapping, and fishing camps far from their primary homes for long periods at different seasons. These annual events are important sources of social cohesion. As with the capture and consumption of country foods (see below), use of space is integral to Inuit and Inuvialuit culture and tradition (Condon et al., 1995).

Ice and snow form an important part of this living space. Travel over river, lake, and sea ice provides access to the land for hunting and fishing and the main corridors for regular transport of goods and people over much of the year.

Permafrost is another important component of living space. It provides an unquantifiable service by supporting building structures; when it unexpectedly thaws, structures built on it collapse. Structures such as homes must be insulated to prevent them from thawing the permafrost beneath them, and this is an additional (quantifiable) cost; its presence, however, allows structures to be built on land that otherwise would be unusable for habitation, a definite benefit. The reduction in extent of permafrost and the increase in the depth of annual thawing that may accompany climate change are present risk factors and future threats.

Top of Page

Food

Detailed, quantitative studies since the early 1970s (Usher, 1976; Berger, 1977) through the 1980s (Gunn et al., 1986) and to the present (Wein et al., 1996; Helander-Renvall, 2005; Inuuvik Community Corporation et al., 2006) show that Inuit and Inuvialuit rely heavily on traditional foods (also called country foods): wild-caught fish and wildlife and collected plants such as berries. Harvest of country foods is not merely a matter of calories and nutrients in a subsistence economy, but a central feature of Inuit and Inuvialuit cultural identity.

Extent and patterns of subsistence activities were included in the Survey of Living Conditions in the Arctic (SLiCA), an interview-based study of Inuit around the Arctic, conducted in Canada in 2001 in cooperation with Statistics Canada, including all four major Inuit groups, and with a total sample size of 4,700 interviews (Kruse et al., 2009). Results were very consistent across Canadian Inuit groups and show the high rates of participation in fishing and hunting, with far fewer Inuit being active trappers (Figure 97). As shown in Figure 98, participation rates in subsistence activities are higher for people who live outside of major population centres of the Arctic, especially in Western Arctic.

Figure 97. Participation in subsistence activities by region.

Based on the Survey of Living Conditions in the Arctic, a survey of circumpolar Inuit, a project of the Arctic Council. Percent is of respondents who engaged in the subsistence activity in the 12 month period before the interview (2001). Sample size is 4,700.

Graph
Source: Kruse et al. (2009)
Long description for Figure 97

This bar graph shows the following information:

Participation in subsistence activities by region. (Percent)
ActivitiesNunavikLabradorInuvialuitNunavut
Fish71737167
Hunt caribou, moose or sheep62476359
Trap97820

Top of Page

Figure 98. Participation in subsistence activities, comparing residents of major population centres with other residents of other areas: (a) Western Arctic and (b) Nunavut.

Based on the Survey of Living Conditions in the Arctic, a survey of circumpolar Inuit, a project of the Arctic Council. Percent is of respondents who engaged in the subsistence activity in the 12 month period before the interview (2001).

Graphs
Source: Kruse et al. (2009)
Long description for Figure 98

These two bar graphs shows the following information:

A) Western Arctic
ActivitiesInuvikOther Inuvialuit
Fish4775
hunt caribou, moose or sheep3468
B) Nunavut
ActivitiesIqaluitOther Nunavut
Fish5569
Hunt caribou, moose or sheep5360

Top of Page

Caribou are an important part of Canadian Arctic cultures and still play a central role in people's lives. A measure of the importance is the annual harvest, which in Nunavut (1996–2001) averaged 24,522 caribou (Priest and Usher, 2004). In the Northwest Territories, Dene, Inuvialuit, Metis, and non-Aboriginal people from almost all communities hunt the migratory herds and the minimum annual harvest is 11,000 caribou, valued as at least $17 million dollars,  including meat replacement and outfitting (Department of Environment and Natural Resources, 2006). Assuming an average carcass weight of 45 kg, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut harvest is about 1.6 million kg caribou. At a beef replacement value of $20/kg, the annual average harvest of caribou just for meat replacement is $35 million. This excludes any commercial harvesting or any value for hides, let alone the intangible cultural strength and value of hunting. A study commissioned by the Beverly and Qamanirjuaq Caribou Management Board estimated the total net economic value of the caribou harvest of the Beverly and Qamanirjuaq herds at $20.0 million annually (InterGroup Consultants Ltd., 2013). This includes domestic and commercial harvest, less production costs.

Other wild meat, such as muskox (Campbell and Setterington, 2001), beluga whales, waterfowl, and, especially, fish, are important sources of protein and are essential connections to community heritage and traditions.

Top of Page

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation de l’état et des tendances de l’écozone+ de l’Arctique

Biens et services issus des écosystèmes

Approvisionnement en services

Espace de vie

Plus que n'importe quel groupe au Canada, les Inuits et les Inuvialuits occupent et utilisent de vastes portions de terres lorsqu'ils se déplacent entre les collectivités pour se rendre visite et faire des affaires, et lorsqu'ils se rendent à des sites de campement isolés (souvent traditionnels) pour chasser, pêcher et trapper (Damas, 2002). Les déplacements, dans ce contexte, ne se font pas seulement en traîneau à chiens, en motoneige ou par bateau : on utilise aussi des avions et des hélicoptères pour rendre visite à des amis, à des parents et à des collègues vivant dans des collectivités éloignées, les consulter et échanger des biens avec eux. Beaucoup de collectivités et de familles occupent régulièrement des camps de chasse, de piégeage et de pêche traditionnels loin de leur résidence principale, et cela, pendant de longues périodes à différentes saisons. Ces événements annuels sont importants pour la cohésion sociale. En plus de la cueillette ou de la capture et de la consommation de plantes ou d'animaux faisant partie de l'alimentation traditionnelle (voir ci-dessous), l'utilisation de l'espace fait partie intégrante de la culture et de la tradition inuite et inuvialuite (Condon et al., 1995).

La glace et la neige sont une composante essentielle de cet espace de vie. La glace de rivière, de lac et de mer permet d'accéder à des terrains de chasse et de pêche, et elle constitue, pendant une bonne partie de l'année, la principale voie de transport des marchandises et des gens.

Le pergélisol est une autre composante importante de l'espace de vie. Il assure un service d'une estimable valeur en soutenant les ouvrages de construction; lorsqu'il dégèle de manière inattendue, les structures qui y sont construites s'effondrent. Les édifices tels que les maisons doivent être isolés pour éviter qu'ils ne fassent fondre le pergélisol sous eux, et cela représente un coût additionnel (considérable); par contre, la présence du pergélisol permet de construire des structures sur des sols qui, autrement, seraient inutilisables pour l'habitation. Le pergélisol procure donc un avantage indubitable. La réduction de l'étendue du pergélisol et le dégel annuel d'une couche plus épaisse du pergélisol qui sont susceptibles d'accompagner le changement climatique constituent d'actuels facteurs de risque et des dangers futurs.

Haut de la page

Nourriture

Les études quantitatives détaillées qui ont été réalisées des années 1970 (Usher, 1976; Berger, 1977) aux années 1980 (Gunn et al., 1986) et jusqu’à aujourd’hui (Wein et al., 1996; Helander-Renvall, 2005; Inuuvik Community Corporation et al., 2006) montrent que les Inuits et les Inuivialuits utilisent abondamment les aliments traditionnels (aliments prélevés dans la nature) pour se nourrir, c’est-à-dire les produits de la chasse, du piégeage et de la pêche ainsi que de la cueillette (par exemple, des petits fruits). La récolte des aliments traditionnels n’est pas seulement un moyen de s’assurer l’apport nécessaire en énergie et en éléments nutritifs dans une économie de subsistance : c’est un élément central de l’identité culturelle des Inuits et des Inuvialuits.

L’intensité des activités de subsistance et leurs profils faisaient partie des sujets étudiés dans le cadre de l’Enquête sur les conditions de vie dans l’Arctique, qui était basée sur des entrevues faites auprès d’Inuits dans tout l’Arctique; l’étude, réalisée au Canada en 2001 avec la collaboration de Statistique Canada, portait sur les quatre principaux groupes d’Inuits, et a permis d’effectuer 4 700 entrevues (Kruse et al., 2009). Les résultats obtenus étaient très uniformes d’un groupe d’Inuits à l’autre au Canada, et ils montrent que le taux de pratique de la chasse et de la pêche est élevé, et que le piégeage est une activité beaucoup moins répandue (figure 97). Comme on peut le voir à la figure 98, le taux de participation à des activités de subsistance est plus élevé pour les personnes vivant hors des principales agglomérations de l’Arctique, surtout dans l’ouest de l’Arctique.

Figure 97. Participation à des activités de subsistance, par région.

D’après l’Enquête sur les conditions de vie dans l’Arctique, une étude effectuée auprès des Inuits de l’Arctique circumpolaire dans le cadre d’un projet du Conseil de l’Arctique. Le pourcentage indiqué est celui des répondants qui avaient pratiqué l’activité de subsistance en question au cours des 12 mois ayant précédé l’entrevue (2001). La taille de l’échantillon est de 4 700 répondants.

Graphique
Source : Kruse et al. (2009)
Description longue pour la figure 97

Ce diagramme à barres montre les informations suivantes :

Participation à des activités de subsistance, par région. (Pourcentage)
ActivitésNunavikLabradorInuvialuitNunavut
Pêche71737167
Chasse au caribou, à l'orignal ou au mouflon62476359
Piégeage97820

Haut de la page

Figure 98. Comparaison de la participation à des activités de subsistance en fonction du lieu de résidence (principales agglomérations par rapport aux autres lieux de résidence), cela dans deux régions : a) l’ouest de l’Arctique; b) le Nunavut.

D’après l’Enquête sur les conditions de vie dans l’Arctique, une étude effectuée auprès des Inuits de l’Arctique circumpolaire dans le cadre d’un projet du Conseil de l’Arctique. Le pourcentage indiqué est celui des répondants qui avaient pratiqué l’activité de subsistance en question au cours des 12 mois ayant précédé l’entrevue (2001).

Graphiques
Source : Kruse et al. (2009)
Description longue pour la figure 98

Ces deux diagrammes à barres montrent les informations suivantes :

A) L'ouest de l'Arctique
ActivitiesInuvikAilleurs au Inuvialuit
Pêche4775
Chasse au caribou, à l'orignal ou au mouflon3468
B) Nunavut
ActivitiesInuvikAilleurs au Inuvialuit
Pêche5569
Chasse au caribou, à l'orignal ou au mouflon5360

Haut de la page

Le caribou est un élément important dans la culture des peuples de l’Arctique canadien, et joue encore un rôle central dans la vie des gens. Le nombre annuel de prises est un indicateur de cette importance; au Nunavut, il se chiffrait en moyenne à 24 522 caribous pour la période de 1996 à 2001 (Priest et Usher, 2004). Aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, dans presque toutes les collectivités, les Dénés, les Inuvialuits, les Métis et les personnes n’appartenant pas aux peuples autochtones chassent les caribous migrateurs, et le nombre annuel minimal de prises est de 11 000, ce qui représente une valeur de 17 millions de dollars (en incluant le remplacement d’autres sources de nourriture et les revenus des pourvoiries). Si l’on suppose que le poids moyen des animaux abattus est de 45 kg, on récolte environ 1,6 million de kg de caribous aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut. Sachant qu’un kilogramme de bœuf coûte 20 dollars, la valeur des prises annuelles moyennes, juste comme source de viande substitut, est de 35 millions de dollars. Cela exclut la chasse commerciale et la valeur des peaux, et c’est sans compter l’inestimable valeur de la chasse d’un point de vue culturel. Selon une étude commandée par le Conseil de gestion des caribous de Beverly et de Qamanirjuaq, on estime que la valeur annuelle totale nette des animaux prélevés dans les hardes de Beverly et de Qamanirjuaq est de 19,9 millions de dollars (InterGroup Consultants Ltd., 2008).

D’autres viandes sauvages, comme la chair de bœuf musqué (Campbell et Setterington, 2001), de béluga, de sauvagine et, surtout, de poisson sont de précieuses sources de protéines et un lien crucial avec l’héritage et les traditions des collectivités.

Haut de la page