Skip booklet index and go to page content

Hudson Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for key findings summary

 

Theme: Science/policy interface

Key finding 21
Biodiversity monitoring, research, information management, and reporting

Theme Science/policy interface

National key finding

Long-term, standardized, spatially complete, and readily accessible monitoring information, complemented by ecosystem research, provides the most useful findings for policy-relevant assessments of status and trends. The lack of this type of information in many areas has hindered development of this assessment.

The Hudson Plains Ecozone+ has received comparatively little inventory, monitoring, and research owing to its remoteness, limited access, harsh climate, wet edaphic conditions, and associated low amount of resource development interest to date. With certain exceptions such as climate station monitoring and some studies of waterfowl, polar bear (and sea ice in the broader geographic area), and fish mercury levels in areas affected by hydroelectric development, inventory and related work has been episodic and without continuity over the long term.Reference 4 The available scientific information is contained in disparate sources of variable accessibility, with Aboriginal traditional knowledge being even less accessible in a form suitable for incorporation into this type of reporting framework. The usefulness of remote sensing has been limited in this geography by the dynamic nature of interannual changes found there (for example, seasonality of swamps) and the paucity of ground truthing in this largely inaccessible terrain. A geographical bias to information is also evident, with most information pertaining to coastal areas (including the ecozone+ ’s limited number of climate stations), while inland areas remain largely unstudied, although this is changing.

In short, a relative paucity of status and trends information currently exists for this ecozone+. Reference 4 In this assessment there was, therefore, inherent difficulty in detecting changes, trends, and thresholds; describing natural ranges of variability; and, in many cases, even providing quantitative, baseline or other point-in-time measures of ecosystem attributes. Furthermore, much of the available information is now dated because it was generated during a hydroelectric development phase in the 1970s to early 1980s.

While there is a general assumption that the ecozone+ remains relatively healthy because of limited ecosystem conversion, minimal anthropogenic fragmentation, and other human influences to date, the human imprint is changing. Climate change is manifesting and resource development interests are increasing. Base data and tracking are now critically needed to inform land use and environmental conservation planning, and related policy and management decisions. Permafrost, hydrology, and carbon flux are particularly notable and important among knowledge gaps but better information is needed on most fronts, including cumulative impacts and climate modeling.Reference 4

Although not outwardly evident in this assessment, the state of knowledge about the Hudson Plains Ecozone+ is currently in a state of flux. Collection of new information about the ecozone+ is currently being driven both by interests in climate change in the north and increasing interest in major economic development there. Some major research programs with components relevant to the Hudson Plains Ecozone+ are in their last phases (for example, Arcticnet, International Polar Year) and associated results are becoming available and more should be available within a few years. In addition, much new inventory, monitoring, and research is being generated in association with, for example, Manitoba’s Biodiversity Conservation program, Wapusk National Park, and Ontario’s relatively new Far North Land Use Planning Initiative. Future needs for trends assessment, including identification of rapid and unexpected changes (see section below), centre around long-term monitoring at ecologically relevant scales, across jurisdictions where needed. Research remains critical for identifying mechanistic causes of change and, thus, for informing adaptive management. Ecosystem components of particular importance because of their susceptibility to impacts from anticipated changes in human imprint (climate change and industrial development) include permafrost; hydrology; carbon cycling; coastal and tundra ecosystems; river and lake ecosystems; wetlands and bird populations; plant communities; and sensitive fish and wildlife species. The valuation of ecosystem services also requires advancement, so that non-market services can be adequately considered in policy and management decisions.

Key finding 22
Rapid changes and thresholds

Theme Science/policy interface

National key finding

Growing understanding of rapid and unexpected changes, interactions, and thresholds, especially in relation to climate change, points to a need for policy that responds and adapts quickly to signals of environmental change in order to avert major and irreversible biodiversity losses.

A somewhat anomalous finding for a relatively remote and undisturbed ecozone+ such as the Hudson Plains Ecozone+ is that a large amount of its coastal biome (~30% of the salt marsh habitat) has been severely damaged (see the Coastalbiome on page 20). Note, however, that this persistent, cumulative damage that has been occurring since the 1970s is not related to human influences in the ecozone+ itself, but rather to land use changes and other human influences outside the ecozone+ that have caused the migratory Mid-Continent population of lesser snow goose to quadruple over the last four decades. It is excessive foraging by these overabundant geese that is causing an apparent trophic cascade in the ecozone+ , leading to an alternate stable state of bare, hypersaline sediment along much of the coast, from which recovery may take decades.

Thresholds and natural ranges of variability are poorly understood for this ecozone+ but notable in reference to rapid changes are the correlated changes in sea-ice season in Hudson and James bays (shortening) (see Sea ice on page 26) and the deteriorating status of two polar bear subpopulations that use the ecozone+ (see Polar bear on page 54). Reductions in sea ice are already ahead of the projected rate of the summer retreat of the ice by nearly all of the general circulation model (GCM) projections used by the Arctic Climate Impact AssessmentReference 383 and the 4th Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change AssessmentReference 250 (for example, Stroeve et al., 2007Reference 384 ; Allison et al., 2009Reference 385 ). The significant trends in sea ice signal impending change in the ecozone+ , given the strong influence that sea ice has on this ecozone+ ’s climate. Already the Western Hudson Bay subpopulation of polar bears, which occurs in the part of Hudson Bay where sea ice changes are the greatest, has declined in number (see Polar bear on page 54). The Southern Hudson Bay subpopulation has not declined in number (up until last assessed in 2003-2005), but shows significant declines in body condition and evidence of declining survival rates that together suggest that this subpopulation too may soon decline in abundance. Changes in polar bear subpopulations are attributed to the much shorter period they have on sea ice to put on fat stores for their seasonal period on land. Shifts in the relative amounts of ice-associated and open-water seal species consumed by the Western Hudson Bay subpopulation of polar bears (also associated with changes in sea ice) have interacted with pollution to affect contaminant levels in the bears (see Contaminants on page 38). On land, unexpected or little reported trophic interactions are now occurring between the earlier arriving bears and species such as geese (see Food webs on page 66).

Although permafrost data are currently insufficient to examine trends, rapid degradation of permafrost is expected in this ecozone+ as a lagged dynamic of sea ice loss. Permafrost is maintained in this ecozone+ largely due to the influence that the seasonal ice cover on Hudson and James bays has on the ecozone+ ’s climate. The projected degradation of permafrost will significantly affect the hydrology of this saturated peat plain, with significant consequences for biodiversity (see Climate change on page 42).

A responsive, adaptive management framework, supported by a sustained commitment to the collection, management, and sharing of both scientific and Aboriginal information (for example, to detect early warning signals and rapid changes before thresholds are crossed), will be key to the effective future management of this ecozone+. Reference 4 , Reference 148


References

Reference 4

Abraham, K.F., McKinnon, L.M., Jumean, Z., Tully, S.M., Walton, L.R. and Stewart, H.M. (lead coordinating authors and compilers). 2011. Hudson Plains Ecozone+ status and trends assessment. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Technical Ecozone+ Report. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. xxi + 445 p.

Return to reference 4 referrer

Reference 148

Goulet, S. and Kenkel, N. 1997. Habitat survey and management proposal for Manitoba populations of western spiderwort (Tradescantia occidentalis). Department of Botany, University of Manitoba. Winnipeg, MB. 89 p. 

Return to reference 148 referrer

Reference 250

Alberta Environmental Protection. 1995. Management plan for white-tailed deer in Alberta. Wildlife Mangement Planning Series No. 11. Alberta Environmental Protection, Natural Resources Service. Edmonton, AB. xv + 142 p. 

Return to reference 250 referrer

Reference 383

Arctic Climate Impact Assessment. 2005. ACIA scientific report. Cambridge University Press. Cambridge, UK. 1042 p.

Return to reference 383 referrer

Reference 384

Stroeve, J., Holland, M.M., Meier, W., Scambos, T. and Serreze, M. 2007. Arctic sea ice decline: faster than forecast. Geophysical Research Letters 34, L09501, 5 p.

Return to reference 384 referrer

Reference 385

Allison, I., Bindoff, N.L., Bindschadler, R.A., Cox, P.M., de Noblet, N., England, M.H., Francis, J.E., Gruber, N., Haywood, A.M., Karoly, D.J., Kaser, G., Le Quéré, C., Lenton, T.M., Mann, M.E., McNeil, B.I., Pitman, A.J., Rahmstorf, S., Rignot, E., Schellnhuber, H.J., Schneider, S.H., Sherwood, S.C., Somerville, R.C.J., Steffen, K., Steig, E.J., Visbeck, M. and Weaver, A.J. 2009. The Copenhagen diagnosis, 2009: updating the world on the latest climate science. The University of New South Wales Climate Change Research Centre. Sydney, Australia. 60 p.

Return to reference 385 referrer

Top of Page

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes

 

Thème : interface science-politique

Constatation clé 21
Surveillance de la biodiversité, recherche, gestion de l’information et communication des résultats

Thème Interface science-politique

Constatation clé à l’échelle nationale

Les renseignements de surveillance recueillis sur une longue période, normalisés, complets sur le plan spatial et facilement accessibles, complétés par la recherche sur les écosystèmes, fournissent les constatations les plus utiles pour les évaluations de l’état et des tendances par rapport aux politiques. L’absence de ce type d’information dans de nombreux secteurs a gêné l’élaboration de la présente évaluation.

Les dénombrements, la surveillance et la recherche ont été limités dans l’écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes en raison de son éloignement, de son accès limité, de son climat rigoureux, des conditions édaphiques humides qui y règnent et du faible intérêt à l’égard de l’exploitation des ressources manifesté jusqu’ici. Sauf pour quelques exceptions, comme les stations de surveillance du climat et certaines études de la sauvagine, de l’ours blanc (et des glaces marines dans l’ensemble de l’aire géographique), et des concentrations de mercure dans poissons des régions touchées par les projets d’hydroélectricité, les dénombrements et les travaux associés ont été effectués de façon épisodique, sans continuité à long termeRéférence 4. L’information scientifique disponible est contenue dans des sources disparates dont l’accessibilité est variable, le savoir traditionnel autochtone étant encore moins accessible sous une forme propice à son intégration dans le présent cadre d’établissement de rapports. L’utilité de la télédétection a été limitée dans cette région, étant donné la nature dynamique des changements interannuels qui s’y produisent (par exemple, saisonnalité des marécages) et le peu de vérification au sol sur ce terrain en grande partie inaccessible. De plus, l’information géographique est visiblement biaisée, la majorité des renseignements étant liés aux régions côtières (où l’on trouve les quelques stations climatologiques de l’écozone+), tandis que les régions intérieures demeurent en grande partie non étudiées; cependant, la situation est en train de changer.

Bref, l’information dont on dispose actuellement sur l’état et les tendances dans cette écozone+ est relativement rareRéférence 4. Par conséquent, pour la présente évaluation, on a éprouvé de la difficulté à relever les changements, les tendances et les seuils; à décrire l’étendue naturelle de la variabilité; et, dans bien des cas, à fournir des mesures quantitatives de référence ou d’autres mesures ponctuelles des attributs des écosystèmes. En outre, une grande partie de l’information disponible est maintenant dépassée, puisqu’elle a été générée à partir des années 1970 jusqu’au début des années 1980, période où des projets d’hydroélectricité étaient réalisés.

Bien que de façon générale, on présume que l’écozone+ demeure relativement en bonne santé étant donné la conversion limitée des écosystèmes et le fait que la fragmentation d’origine humaine et d’autres effets anthropiques sont minimaux, on doit se rappeler que l’influence humaine est en train de changer. En effet, les changements climatiques se manifestent et l’intérêt pour l’exploitation des ressources augmentent. Des données de référence et un suivi sont maintenant essentiels pour la planification de l’utilisation des terres et de la conservation de l’environnement, de même que pour la prise de décisions afférentes relatives aux politiques et à la gestion. On constate un manque d’information surtout pour le pergélisol, l’hydrologie et le flux de carbone, mais on a besoin de renseignements supplémentaires sur la majorité des aspects, y compris les effets cumulatifs et la modélisation climatiqueRéférence 4.

Bien que cela ne soit pas pleinement évident dans la présente évaluation, les connaissances concernant l’écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes changent constamment. La collecte de nouvelle information est actuellement stimulée par l’intérêt à l’égard des changements climatiques dans le Nord et les intérêts de plus en plus importants dans les grands projets de développement économique dans cette région. Certains programmes de recherche de grande envergure qui tiennent compte de composantes pertinentes pour l’écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes en sont à leurs dernières phases (par exemple, ArcticNet, Année polaire internationale); les résultats sont peu à peu disponibles, et ils devraient l’être encore davantage d’ici quelques années. En outre, on met sur pied plusieurs projets de dénombrement, de surveillance et de recherche en collaboration, par exemple, du programme de biodiversité du Manitoba, du parc national du Canada Wapusk et de la relativement nouvelle initiative d’aménagement et de protection du Grand Nord de l’Ontario. À l’avenir, l’évaluation des tendances, y compris la détermination des changements rapides et imprévus (voir la section ci-dessous), devra être axée sur des activités de surveillance à long terme, menées par divers ordres de gouvernement si nécessaire, à des échelles pertinentes sur le plan écologique. La recherche demeure essentielle pour déterminer les causes mécanistes des changements et ainsi établir une gestion adaptative. Les composantes des écosystèmes qui ont une importance particulière en raison de leur sensibilité aux impacts d’origine humaine (changements climatiques, développement industriel) comprennent le pergélisol, l’hydrologie, le cycle du carbone, les écosystèmes des côtes et de la toundra, les écosystèmes des rivières et des lacs, les zones humides et les populations aviaires, les communautés végétales, et les espèces de poissons et autres espèces sauvages vulnérables. L’évaluation des services offerts par les écosystèmes nécessite aussi des avancées, de manière à ce que les services sans valeur marchande puissent être adéquatement pris en compte dans les décisions politiques et de gestion.

Constatation clé 22
Changements rapides et seuils

Thème Interface science-politique

Constatation clé à l’échelle nationale

La compréhension grandissante des changements rapides et inattendus, des interactions et des seuils, en particulier par rapport aux changements climatiques, indique le besoin d’une politique qui permet de répondre et de s’adapter rapidement aux indices de changements environnementaux afin de prévenir des pertes majeures et irréversibles de biodiversité.

Ce qui est inhabituel de constater dans une écozone+ relativement éloignée et non perturbée telle que l’écozone+ des plaines hudsoniennes, c’est qu’une grande partie du biome côtier (~30 % de l’habitat des marais salés) a subi des dommages importants (voir la section Zones côtières à la page 30). On doit toutefois souligner que ces dommages persistants et cumulatifs qui ont commencé dans les années 1970 ne sont pas associés à des facteurs anthropiques à l’intérieur de l’écozone+ même, mais plutôt à des changements dans l’utilisation des terres et à d’autres influences humaines à l’extérieur de l’écozone+ qui ont fait en sorte que la population migratrice de Petites Oies des neiges du milieu du continent a quadruplé au cours des quatre dernières décennies. C’est la recherche excessive de nourriture par ces oiseaux surabondants qui semble provoquer une cascade trophique dans l’écozone+ . Il en est résulté un autre état stable des terres dans lequel des sédiments hypersalins sont exposés le long d’une grande partie de la côte, situation qui peut prendre plusieurs décennies avant de se rétablir.

Les valeurs de seuil et les étendues de variabilité naturelle sont mal comprises pour cette écozone+, mais lorsqu’il est question de changements rapides, on constate des changements corrélés dans la saison des glaces marines de la baie d’Hudson et la baie James (raccourcissement) (voir la section Glace de mer à la page 36) et la détérioration de l’état de deux sous-populations d’ours blancs qui utilisent l’écozone+ (voir la section Ours blanc à la page 69). Les réductions des glaces marines sont déjà supérieures au taux de diminution en été établi dans presque toutes les prévisions des modèles de circulation générale (MCG) utilisées pour l’Évaluation de l’impact du changement climatique dans l’ArctiqueRéférence 383 et pour la quatrième évaluation du Groupe d’experts intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climatRéférence 250 (par exemple, Stroeve et al. , 2007Référence 384; Allison et al. , 2009Référence 385). Les tendances significatives relatives aux glaces marines indiquent des changements imminents dans l’écozone+ , compte tenu de la forte influence des glaces marines sur le climat qui y règne. Déjà, la sous-population d’ours blancs de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson, présente dans la partie de la baie d’Hudson où les changements dans les glaces marines sont le plus marqués, a diminué (voir la section Ours blanc à la page 69). La sous-population du sud de la baie d’Hudson n’a pas diminué (et ce, jusqu’à la plus récente évaluation de 2003-2005), mais présente une détérioration significative de l’état corporel et des signes de baisse du taux de survie qui, ensemble, laissent croire que cette sous-population pourrait également baisser bientôt. Les changements dans les sous-populations d’ours blancs sont attribués au fait que ces animaux passent beaucoup moins de temps sur les glaces et qu’ils ne peuvent donc pas accumuler autant de graisses en vue de leur saison sur la terre ferme. Les changements dans la quantité relative d’espèces de phoques associés aux glaces et de phoques associés aux eaux libres que consomme la sous-population d’ours blancs de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson (qui est aussi associée aux changements dans les glaces marines), combinés à la pollution, influent sur le taux de contaminants chez ces animaux (voir la section Contaminants à la page 50). Sur terre, des interactions trophiques imprévues ou peu signalées surviennent actuellement entre les ours qui arrivent tôt et les espèces telles que l’oie (voir la section Réseaux trophiques à la page 82).

Même si les données relatives au pergélisol sont insuffisantes à l’heure actuelle pour analyser les tendances, on prévoit une dégradation rapide du pergélisol dans cette écozone+, ce qui retarderait la perte des glaces marines. Le pergélisol est maintenu dans cette écozone+ principalement en raison de l’influence sur le climat de l’écozone+ de la couverture de glace saisonnière dans la baie d’Hudson et la baie James. La dégradation prévue du pergélisol influera considérablement sur l’hydrologie de cette plaine tourbeuse saturée et aura des conséquences importantes sur la biodiversité (voir la section Changements climatiques à la page 54).

Un cadre de gestion adaptative responsable s’appuyant sur un engagement soutenu de la collecte, de la gestion et du partage d’information scientifique et provenant des Autochtones (par exemple, pour détecter les signaux d’alarme et les changements rapides avant que l’on dépasse les valeurs de seuil) sera essentiel pour la gestion efficace de cette écozone+ Référence 4, Référence 148.

Haut de la page


Note de bas de page

Référence 4

Abraham, K.F., McKinnon, L.M., Jumean, Z., Tully, S.M., Walton, L.R. et Stewart, H.M. (auteurs coordonnateurs et compilateurs principaux). 2012. Hudson Plains Ecozone+ status and trends assessment. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport technique sur les écozones+ . Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa, ON.

Retour à la référence de la note 4 de bas de page

Référence 148

Comité consultatif scientifique du Grand Nord. 2010. Science for a changing Far North. The report of the Far North Science Advisory Panel. A report submitted to the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario. Toronto, ON. 141 p.

Retour à la référence de la note 148 de bas de page

Référence 250

Groupe d'experts intergouvernemental sur l'évolution du climat. 2007. Bilan 2007 des changements climatiques : conséquences, adaptation et vulnérabilité. Contribution du Groupe de travail II au quatrième Rapport d'évaluation du Groupe d'experts intergouvernemental sur l'évolution du climat. Parry, M.L., Canziani, O.F., Palutikof, J.P., van der Linden, P.J. et Hanson, C.E. (éds.). GIEC. Genève, Suisse. 976 p.

Retour à la référence de la note 250 de bas de page

Référence 383

Arctic Climate Impact Assessment. 2005. ACIA scientific report. Cambridge University Press. Cambridge, UK. 1042 p.

Retour à la référence de la note 383 de bas de page

Référence 384

Stroeve, J., Holland, M.M., Meier, W., Scambos, T. et Serreze, M. 2007. Arctic sea ice decline: faster than forecast. Geophysical Research Letters 34, L09501, 5 p.

Retour à la référence de la note 384 de bas de page

Référence 385

Allison, I., Bindoff, N.L., Bindschadler, R.A., Cox, P.M., de Noblet, N., England, M.H., Francis, J.E., Gruber, N., Haywood, A.M., Karoly, D.J., Kaser, G., Le Quéré, C., Lenton, T.M., Mann, M.E., McNeil, B.I., Pitman, A.J., Rahmstorf, S., Rignot, E., Schellnhuber, H.J., Schneider, S.H., Sherwood, S.C., Somerville, R.C.J., Steffen, K., Steig, E.J., Visbeck, M. et Weaver, A.J. 2009. The Copenhagen diagnosis, 2009: updating the world on the latest climate science. The University of New South Wales Climate Change Research Centre. Sydney, Australie. 60 p.

Retour à la référence de la note 385 de bas de page

Haut de la page