Forest graphic descriptors

Percent of forest area by ecozones+

Graphic thumbnail: Percent of forest area by ecozones+

This map of Canada shows the percentage of total area with tree coverage. Ecozone+ boundaries are marked on the map, forested areas are shown using colour coding, and the percentage of each ecozone+ with tree cover is displayed. These percentages are as follows: Newfoundland Boreal, 64%; Atlantic Maritime, 76%; Taiga Shield, 34%; Boreal Shield, 66%; Mixedwood Plains, 20%; Hudson Plains, 53%; Boreal Plains, 59%; Prairie, 6%; Taiga Plains, 53%; Taiga Cordillera, 32%; Boreal Cordillera, 40%; Montane Cordillera, 62%; Western Interior Basin, 63%; and Pacific Maritime, 49%. The Arctic Ecozone+ is north of treeline, so has no significant forest cover. Land classified as “forest fire disturbance” is also shown in colour on the map. It is in patches distributed in the boreal and taiga ecozones+, and is especially noticeable in the Taiga Shield. An inset map shows the location of the boreal forest zone

Close window

Deforestation

Graphic thumbnail: Deforestation

This bar chart shows area of deforestation from 1990 to 2007. The area deforested annually declined from approximately 700 square kilometres in 1990 to approximately 500 square kilometres in 1994. After 1994, annual deforestation remained stable at this level, with the exceptions of 1995 and 2006 when annual deforestation was 800 square kilometres and 750 square kilometres respectively.

Close window

Vegetation changes in the treeline zone of western Canada

Graphic thumbnail: Graphic Thumbnail: Deforestation

This bar chart shows the percent change in the amounts of different classes of vegetation in the treeline zone west of Hudson Bay from 1985 to 2006. Over this period, bare land decreased by 9.4%, lichen cover decreased by 3.9%, conifer cover increased by 0.45%, herb cover increased by 12%, and shrub cover increased by 15%. An inset map shows the location of the treeline zone analyzed in this study. It is a broad band along the southern boundary of the Arctic Ecozone+ from west of Hudson Bay to the Yukon-Alaska border.

Close window

Intactness of Canada’s landscapes

Graphic thumbnail: Intactness of Canada’s landscapes

This map of Canada has ecozone+ boundaries marked on it and uses colour coding to divide the land area into two classes: first, intact landscapes free of human disturbance, defined as intact blocks greater than 50 square kilometres for the boreal forest and greater than 10 square kilometres for the temperate forest; and, second, landscapes that are fragmented by human disturbance. Fragmented landscapes dominate the southern part of Canada, extending further north in some places, especially in the Boreal Plains and Montane Cordillera ecozones+. A region of intact landscape is apparent along the Rocky Mountains. The Arctic Ecozone+ was excluded from this analysis.

Close window

Intactness of old forest habitat in Alberta-Pacific Forest Management Area

Graphic thumbnail: Intactness of old forest habitat in Alberta-Pacific Forest Management Area

This graph shows the percent of intact old-forest habitat in the Alberta-Pacific Forest Management Area. The total area of intact old-forest habitat is 92%. This analysis is also broken down by forest type as follows: 93% of white spruce and fir, 95% of pine, 91% of deciduous, and 93% of mixedwood old forest habitats are classified as intact.

Close window

Extent of old forests

Graphic thumbnail: Extent of old forests

This graphic shows the percent of old forest for locations throughout Canada over a range of time periods. A separate bar chart is shown for each of five locations. These locations are shown on a map of Canada. Overall, the charts show a shift to younger forests, except in the Quebec portion of the Mixedwood Plains.

Each graph is described in the following set of points:

  1. Alberta’s boreal forests. The percent of forests greater than 120 years old declined from 29% in 1991 to 18% in 1999.
  2. Newfoundland Boreal Ecozone+. In 2009 the percent of young forest was 59% and the percent of forest older than 81 years was 41%.
  3. Nova Scotia. The percent of forests greater than 100 years old decreased from 8.7% in 1958 to 0.3% in the period 1997 to 2003. The percent of forests between 81 and 100 years old decreased from 16% to 1.2% over the same timeframe.
  4. Quebec portion of the Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+. Forest age structure over three time periods (1969 to 1975; 1981 to 1988; and 1990 to 1995) is compared. The percent of regenerating forest (less than 2 metres tall) and young forest (taller than 7 metres with increasing growth) remained relatively constant at approximately 10% and 45% respectively, while the percent of regenerated forest (2 to 7 metres tall) declined from approximately 25% to 10%. The proportion of mature and senescent forest (taller than 7 metres with stable or decreasing growth) increased over the period from approximately 18% to 32%.
  5. Coastal B.C. The percent of forest older than 140 years decreased from approximately 62% before European contact to 41% in the mid 1990s.

Close window

Descriptions pour les graphiques de la section sur les forêts

Couvert forestier par Écozone+

Image miniature : Couvert forestier par Écozone+

Cette carte du Canada montre la portion du territoire occupée par le couvert forestier. La carte indique en outre les limites des Écozones+ ainsi que le pourcentage de couvert forestier de chacune, soit : Écozone+ Boréale de Terre-Neuve, 64 %; Écozone+ Maritime de l’Atlantique, 76 %; Taïga du bouclier, 34 %; Bouclier boréal, 66 %; Plaines à forêts mixtes, 20 %; Plaines hudsoniennes, 53 %; Plaines boréales, 59 %; Prairies, 6 %; Taïga des plaines, 53 %; Taïga de la Cordillère, 32 %; Cordillère boréale, 40 %; Cordillère montagnarde, 62 %; Bassin intérieur de l’Ouest, 63 %; Écozone+ Maritime du Pacifique, 49 %. Comme l’Écozone+ de l’Arctique est située au nord de la limite des arbres, elle ne présente aucun couvert forestier appréciable. Les secteurs visés par des « perturbations dues aux incendies de forêts » sont représentés par des taches de couleur, dispersées au sein des diverses Écozones+ de forêt boréale ou de taïga. Ces secteurs sont particulièrement visibles dans la Taïga du bouclier. Une carte en médaillon indique la zone occupée par la forêt boréale.

Fermer la fenêtre

Déforestation

Image miniature : Déforestation

Ce diagramme à barres montre l’évolution de la superficie annuelle de déforestation de 1990 à 2007. Cette superficie a d’abord diminué chaque année, passant d’environ 700 kilomètres carrés en 1990 à environ 500 kilomètres carrés en 1994. Après 1994, la superficie annuelle de déforestation est demeurée d’environ 500 kilomètres carrés, sauf en 1995 (800 kilomètres carrés) et en 2006 (750 kilomètres carrés).

Fermer la fenêtre

Changements de végétation dans la zone des limites forestières du Canada occidental

Image miniature : Changements de végétation dans la zone des limites forestières du Canada occidental

Ce diagramme à barres montre le pourcentage de changement survenu de 1985 à 2006 dans la superficie des diverses classes de végétation, dans la zone de la limite des arbres, à l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson. Au cours de cette période, les terrains nus ont diminué de 9,4 %, la couverture de lichens a diminué de 3,9 %, la couverture de conifères a augmenté de 0,45 %, la couverture herbacée a augmenté de 12 %, et la couverture arbustive a augmenté de 15 %. La carte accompagnant le diagramme montre la position de la zone étudiée. Cette large bande longe la limite sud de l’Écozone+ de l’Arctique, depuis la rive ouest de la baie d’Hudson jusqu’à la frontière de l’Alaska.

Fermer la fenêtre

Intégrité des paysages du Canada

Image miniature : Intégrité des paysages du Canada

Dans cette carte du Canada où sont indiquées les limites des Écozones+, des plages de couleur permettent de séparer le territoire terrestre en deux classes de paysages : d’une part, les paysages intacts exempts de perturbation humaine, qui comprennent ici les superficies intactes de forêt boréale de plus de 50 kilomètres carrés et les superficies intactes de forêt tempérée de plus de 10 kilomètres carrés; d’autre part, les paysages fragmentés par les perturbations humaines, qui dominent le sud du Canada mais s’étendent vers le nord dans certaines régions, notamment dans les Écozones+ des Plaines boréales et de la Cordillère montagnarde. On peut remarquer une zone isolée de paysages intacts, correspondant aux Rocheuses. L’Écozone+ de l’Arctique a été exclue de cette analyse.

Fermer la fenêtre

Intégrité d’une forêt ancienne dans la zone de gestion forestière de l’Alberta-Pacific

Image miniature : Intégrité d’une forêt ancienne dans la zone de gestion forestière de l’Alberta-Pacific

Ce graphique montre le pourcentage de forêt ancienne intacte que renferme la Zone de gestion forestière de l’Alberta-Pacific. Le pourcentage de forêt ancienne est de 92 % pour l’ensemble des types forestiers, de 93 % pour les forêts d’épinette blanche et de sapin, de 95 % pour les pinèdes, de 91 % pour les forêts de feuillus et de 93 % pour les forêts mixtes.

Fermer la fenêtre

Étendue des forêts anciennes

Image miniature : Étendue des forêts anciennes

Ce graphique montre les pourcentages de forêt ancienne qui existaient dans cinq régions du Canada à diverses époques, au moyen d’un diagramme à barres distinct pour chacune de ces régions, dont la position est indiquée sur une carte du Canada. Selon ces diagrammes, les forêts ont globalement rajeuni, sauf dans la portion québécoise des Plaines à forêts mixtes.

Voici les faits saillants révélés par chaque diagramme :

  1. Dans la forêt boréale de l’Alberta, le pourcentage de forêt âgée de plus de 120 ans est passé de 29 % en 1991 à 18 % en 1999..
  2. Dans l’Écozone+ Boréale de Terre-Neuve, en 2009, le pourcentage de jeune forêt était de 59 %, et le pourcentage de forêt de plus de 81 ans était de 41 %.
  3. En Nouvelle-Écosse, le pourcentage de forêt de plus de 100 ans a diminué, passant de 8,7 % en 1958 à 0,3 % durant la période 1997-2003, et le pourcentage de forêt de 81 à 100 ans a également diminué, passant de 16 % en 1958 à 1,2 % durant la période 1997-2003.
  4. Dans la portion québécoise de l’Écozone+ des Plaines à forêts mixtes, trois périodes (1969-1975, 1981-1988 et 1990-1995) sont comparées quant à la structure d’âge de la forêt. Les pourcentages de forêt en régénération (de moins de 2 mètres de hauteur) et de forêt jeune (de plus de 7 mètres de hauteur, en hausse) sont demeurés relativement constants, respectivement de 10 % et de 45 %, tandis que le pourcentage de forêt régénérée (de 2 à 7 mètres de hauteur) a diminué, passant approximativement de 25 % à 10 %. Le pourcentage de forêt mature ou ancienne (de plus de 7 mètres de hauteur, mais stable ou en baisse) a augmenté au cours de la période, passant approximativement de 18 % à 32 %.
  5. Dans la zone côtière de Colombie-Britannique, le pourcentage de forêt de plus de 140 ans a diminué, passant approximativement de 62 % avant l’arrivée des Européens à 41 % au milieu des années 1990.

Fermer la fenêtre