Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 12. - Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006

Arctic Ecozone+

The Arctic Ecozone+ is relatively isolated and pristine and there are few immediate threats to landbirds from human activity, although species are affected by climate change, contaminants, and other wide-ranging factors. All birds listed here overwinter in more populated areas of Canada and the United States; development pressures are more intense both in their wintering ranges and along their migration routes. Canada has a high stewardship responsibility for these species because large portions of their western hemisphere breeding populations are concentrated in the Arctic Ecozone+.

There are relatively few landbird species in the Arctic Ecozone+ and few data on their population trends. Addressing the lack of information on population status and trends has been highlighted as the most pressing conservation need in relation to landbirds for this region (Rich et al., 2004). Because of remoteness and lack of roads, the BBS has not been carried and there are few other surveys of breeding birds. However, since many birds that breed in the Arctic spend their winters in the United States and more southerly parts of Canada, CBC data are available for some species. Results presented below are preliminary findings based on CBC data from Canada and the United States combined (Butcher and Niven, 2007).

CBC trends (Table 58 and Figure 48) indicate that several species, such as Harris’s Sparrow and Snowy Owl, have been undergoing long-term, statistically significant declines since the 1960s. Other species, such as Rough-legged Hawk and Lapland Longspur, have shown relatively stable overall population trends.

Table 58. Trends in annual abundance of selected Arctic Ecozone+ landbirds, 1966 to 2006, based on Christmas Bird Count (CBC) results for North America.Footnote1
SpeciesPopulation
Trend
(%/yr)
1970s
(CBC)
1980s
(CBC)
1990s
(CBC)
2000s
(CBC)
Change
Hoary Redpoll-4.97%*0.290.180.140.09-68%
American Tree Sparrow-2.16%*62.856.342.434.4-45%
Harris's Sparrow-2.13%*9.67.56.25.3-45%
Snowy Owl-2.12%*0.240.170.140.11-53%
American Pipit-0.97%*5.94.84.44.7-19%
Snow Bunting-0.93% 15.814.411.69.3-41%
Rough-legged Hawk-0.06% 1.81.61.61.7-7%
Lapland Longspur0.40% 0.90.90.91.012%
Common Redpoll0.60% 19.017.818.117.9-6%

Table 58 - Footnotes

Footnote 1

Table shows the annual rate of change and the average CBC abundance index by decade; Asterisks (*) indicate significant trends (P<0.05); P is the statistical significance: * indicates P<0.05; n indicates 0.05<P<0.1; no value indicates not significant; “Change” is the percent change in the average index of abundance between the first decade for which there are results (1970s) and the 2000s (2000-2006).

Return to table 58 footnote1referrer

Source: based on data from the Christmas Bird Count by Butcher and Niven (2007)

Figure 48. 1966 to 2005, based on Christmas Bird Count results for North America.

graphgraph

graphgraph

Long Description for Figure 48

This graphic presents four line graphs showing the annual indices of population change for the Rough-legged Hawk, Snowy Owl, Harris’s Sparrow, and Snow Bunting, 1966 to 2005, based on Christmas Bird Count results for North America. The graphs are described in the following points:

  1. Rough-legged Hawk: The abundance index shows relatively stable populations through the period, fluctuating between 1.5 and 2.0.
  2. Harris’s Sparrow: The abundance index shows a long-term significant trend, declining from approximately 12 to 5 over the period.
  3. Snowy Owl: The abundance index shows a long-term significant trend declining from almost 0.5 to 0.1 over the period.
  4. Snow Bunting: The abundance index shows relatively stable populations through the period, fluctuating between 22 and 6 over the period.

The Rough-legged Hawk and Snow Bunting show no significant trends, though the latter may be in decline; the Snowy Owl and Harris’s Sparrow have declined significantly (P>0.05)
Source: based on data from the Christmas Bird Count, 1966-2005 (courtesy D. Niven, Audubon).

Harris’s Sparrow, a species with its entire breeding range in Canada, is classified by Partners in Flight as a Continental Watch List species (Rich et al., 2004). The species has apparently experienced a long-term decline over the last 40 years (Figure 48). Because of its isolated breeding range, direct influence of human activity on the breeding range is unlikely to be a factor in its decline. Harris’s Sparrows, however, are susceptible to predation, especially by Merlins, whose populations are increasing. The influence of factors such as climate change is unknown (Niven et al., 2004; Norment and Shackleton, 2008).

Population indices for Snow Bunting vary annually but this species has apparently experienced a large decline in its population over the long term (Figure 48). The Arctic has a very high stewardship responsibility for Snow Buntings (Rich et al., 2004), which breed throughout the Arctic Cordillera and Northern Arctic and the northern portions of the Southern Arctic. Reduction in Snow Bunting populations may be related to earlier thawing of the tundra and conversion of open sites, its preferred nesting habitat, to more shrub-dominated communities. In addition, climate warming allows more avian and mammalian predators to survive and prey on Snow Bunting nests (Audubon Society, 2007).

Top of Page

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no. 12. - Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada de 1968 à 2006

Écozone+ de l’Arctique

Dans l’écozone+ de l’Arctique, relativement isolée et intacte, il y a peu de menaces anthropiques immédiates pesant sur les oiseaux terrestres, bien que les oiseaux y soient affectés par les changements climatiques, les polluants et d’autres facteurs agissant à grande échelle. Tous les oiseaux dont il est question ici hivernent dans des régions plus peuplées du Canada et des États-Unis; les pressions liées au développement pesant sur ces oiseaux sont plus intenses dans leurs aires d’hivernage et leurs voies migratoires. Le Canada a une grande responsabilité en matière d’intendance envers ces espèces parce que de fortes proportions de leurs populations nicheuses de l’hémisphère occidental sont concentrées dans l’écozone+ de l’Arctique.

Il y a relativement peu d’oiseaux terrestres dans l’écozone+ de l’Arctique, et peu de données sur leurs tendances démographiques. Combler le manque d’information sur l’état et les tendances des populations a été jugé la grande priorité en ce qui concerne la conservation des oiseaux terrestres de cette région (Rich et al., 2004). En raison de l’éloignement et du manque de routes, le BBS n’est pas effectué dans l’Arctique, et les autres relevés sur les oiseaux nicheurs sont peu nombreux. Cependant, puisque de nombreux oiseaux qui nichent dans l’Arctique passent l’hiver plus au sud au Canada ou aux États-Unis, des données du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël sont disponibles pour certaines espèces. Les résultats du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël présentés plus bas sont des résultats préliminaires basés sur les données combinées du Canada et des États-Unis (Butcher et Niven, 2007).

Les tendances tirées du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël (Tableau 58 et Figure 48) indiquent que plusieurs espèces, comme le Bruant à face noire et le Harfang des neiges, connaissent des déclins à long terme statistiquement significatifs, depuis les années 60. Les effectifs d’autres espèces, comme la Buse pattue et le Bruant lapon, sont demeurés relativement stables dans l’ensemble.

Tableau 58. Tendances relatives à l’abondance des espèces choisies d’oiseaux terrestres (Christmas Bird Count - CBC) de l’écozone+ de l’Arctique, de 1966 à 2006.Note de bas de page1
EspècesTendance de
la population
(%/an)
PAnnées
1970
(CBC)
Années
1980
(CBC)
Années
1990
(CBC)
Années
2000
(CBC)
Changement
Sizerin blanchâtre-4,97 %*0,290,180,140,09-68 %
Bruant hudsonien-2,16 %*62,856,342,434,4-45 %
Bruant à face noire-2,13 %*9,67,56,25,3-45 %
Harfang des neiges-2,12 %*0,240,170,140,11-53 %
Pipit d’Amérique-0,97 %*5,94,84,44,7-19 %
Bruant des neiges-0,93 % 15,814,411,69,3-41 %
Buse pattue-0,06 % 1,81,61,61,7-7 %
Bruant lapon0,40 % 0,90,90,91,012 %
Sizerin flammé0,60 % 19,017,818,117,9-6 %

Notes de bas de page - Tableau 58

Note 1

Dans ce tableau: P est le degré de signification statistique; L’astérisque (*) indique que la tendance est significative (à P < 0,05); une case vide indique une valeur non significative; La colonne « Changement » donne le pourcentage de changement de l’indice d’abondance moyen entre la première décennie pour laquelle des résultats ont été obtenus (les années 70) et pour les années 2000 (de 2000 à 2006). .Le tableau montre le taux de changement annuel et l’indice d’abondance moyen du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël par décennie.

Retour à la référence 1du tableau 58


Source : D’après les données du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël par Butcher et Niven (2007)

Figure 48. Évolution de l’indice d’abondance annuel pour la Buse pattue, le Harfang des neiges, le Bruant à face noire et le Bruant des neiges, de 1966 à 2005, selon les résultats du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël pour l’Amérique du Nord.

graphiquegraphique

graphiquegraphique

Description longue pour la figure 48

Cette illustration présente quatre graphiques linéaires montrant l'évolution de l'indice d'abondance annuel pour la Buse pattue, le Harfang des neiges, le Bruant à face noire et le Bruant des neiges pour la période de 1966 à 2005, selon les résultats du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël pour l'Amérique du Nord. Les graphiques sont décrits dans les points suivants :

  1. Buse pattue : L'indice d'abondance montre des populations relativement stables pendant toute la période, fluctuant de 1,5 à 2,0.
  2. Bruant à face noire : L'indice d'abondance montre une tendance importante à long terme, avec une baisse d'environ 12 à 5 au cours de la période.
  3. Harfang des neiges : L'indice d'abondance montre une tendance importante à long terme avec une baisse de près de 0,5 à 0,1 au cours de la période.
  4. Bruant des neiges : L'indice d'abondance montre des populations relativement stables pendant toute la période, avec des fluctuations entre 22 et 6 au cours de la période.

La Buse pattue et le Bruant des neiges ne présentent pas de tendance significative, quoique le Bruant des neiges pourrait être en déclin; le Harfang des neiges et le Bruant à face noire ont chacun connu une baisse significative (P > 0,05).
Source : D’après les données du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël, de 1966 à 2005 (gracieuseté de D. Niven, Audubon)

Le Bruant à face noire, espèce qui ne niche qu’au Canada, a été placé par Partenaires d’envol sur sa liste de surveillance continentale (Rich et al., 2004). L’espèce connaît apparemment un déclin depuis les 40 dernières années (Figure 48). Ce déclin n’est sans doute pas causé par une influence directe de l’activité humaine dans son aire de nidification, car celle-ci est éloignée. Le Bruant à face noire est toutefois vulnérable à la prédation, particulièrement au Faucon émerillon, dont les effectifs sont en croissance. Par ailleurs, l’influence de facteurs comme les changements climatiques est inconnue (Niven et al., 2004; Norment et Shackleton, 2008).

L’indice de population pour le Bruant des neiges varie d’une année à l’autre, mais cette espèce a apparemment connu une forte baisse de ses effectifs sur le long terme (Figure 48). L’Arctique est vital pour la conservation du Bruant des neiges (Rich et al., 2004), qui se reproduit un peu partout dans la Cordillère arctique et le Haut-Arctique et dans les parties nord du Bas-Arctique. La réduction des effectifs de l’espèce pourrait être liée au fait que la toundra dégèle plus tôt et à l’apparition de communautés végétales dominées par les arbustes dans les sites ouverts qu’elle préfère pour nicher. De plus, le réchauffement climatique favorise la survie de prédateurs aviaires et mammaliens constituant une menace pour les nids du Bruant des neiges (Audubon Society, 2007).

Haut de la page