Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 12. - Landbird trends in Canada, 1968-2006

Boreal Shield Ecozone+(BCRs 8 and 12, minus Newfoundland Boreal)

Contributors: Mike Cadman and Lyle Friesen

The Boreal Shield has a high diversity of bird species including year-round residents, such as Boreal Chickadee and Gray Jay, as well as many migratory species that breed in the boreal each summer and then migrate southward over much of the western hemisphere. Large portions of many species’ global populations are represented in Canada’s boreal forest, including the Boreal Shield. Sparrows, warblers, and thrushes account for more than half of all boreal landbirds. About 50% of the world’s population of the 37 warbler species that live in Canada live in the boreal forest (Blancher, 2003). Boreal landbirds are highly migratory; an estimated 93% of them leave the boreal each fall to winter in the United States, Mexico, the West Indies, and Central and South America (Blancher, 2003). Forest habitat dominates the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, and thus forest birds form the majority of species selected as representative for the ecozone+. Birds of open habitats are a minor part of the avifauna, mainly in the southern part of the ecozone+.

Much of the coverage from the BBS in the Boreal Shield is in the southern portion of Ontario and Quebec, with few samples in the more northern shield and areas outside of Ontario and Quebec. Agricultural areas in the region are relatively well covered by BBS because they tend to be accessible by roads and are found in the southern parts of the region.

Table 22 shows trends in abundance for landbird assemblages. BBSresults show declines for birds of other open and shrub/early successional habitats. An assemblage trend for wetland landbirds is not included because few landbirds fit cleanly into this assemblage and because the BBS does not cover wetland habitat well. Nevertheless, it is worth noting that the Rusty Blackbird, assessed as a species of Special Concern in 2006 (COSEWIC, 2006b), has declined steeply in the surveyed portions of this region in recent decades, according to the BBS. The forest birds assemblage shows close to stable populations, although the trends for individual species within this group are diverse, ranging from large declines to large increases. The shrub/early successional assemblage is also relatively stable but exhibits a negative trend. The results for forest and shrub/early successional assemblages are strikingly similar to the same assemblages in the Atlantic Maritime Ecozone+, both regions sharing many of the same species.

Table 22. Trends in abundance of landbirds for the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey. The following table shows the BBS Abundance Index by decade from the 1970s to the 2000s.Footnote1
Species AssemblageTrend
(%/yr)
P1970s
(BBS)
1980s
(BBS)
1990s
(BBS)
2000s
(BBS)
Change
Forest Birds-0.2% 208.0213.7206.6186.1-11%
Shrub / Successional-0.7%*164.4143.3138.8129.7-21%
Open / Agricultural-4.0%*42.842.521.511.3-74%

Table 22 - Footnotes

Footnote 1

In this table: P is the statistical significance: * indicates P<0.05; n indicates 0.05<P<0.1; no value indicates not significant; “Change” is the percent change in the average index of abundance between the first decade for which there are results (1970s) and the 2000s (2000-2006).

Return to table 22 footnote1referrer

Another source of data on northern forest birds in this ecozone+ is the Atlas of the Breeding Birds of Ontario (Cadman et al., 2007). Changes observed in northern forest birds between the first (1981-1985) and the second (2001-2005) atlas tend to be more positive than BBSresults, which as described above, are more representative of southern portions of the Boreal Shield.

Top of Page

Forest bird assemblage

The BBS forest assemblage pattern has been relatively stable (Figure 19) but individual species show a mix of increasing, decreasing, and stable populations (Table 23). Table 24 presents the results from the Atlas of the Breeding Birds of Ontario and is included for the forest bird assemblage because it provides better coverage for the northern forests than the BBS. These data show that there was an increase in the probability of detecting most forest birds in the Boreal Shield in 2001-2005 compared with the 1981-1985 time period, although increased efficiency of Atlas coverage in 2001-2005 cannot be ruled out as an explanation (Cadman et al., 2007).

Figure 19. Annual indices of population change in birds of forest habitat for the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey.

graph

Long Description for Figure 19

This line graph shows annual indices of population change in birds of forest habitat for the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey from 1968 to 2006. The abundance index shows a relative stable population for the period, ranging between approximately 160 and 230.

 

Table 23. Trends in abundance of selected species of forest birds that are characteristic of the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey. The following table shows the BBS Abundance Index by decade from the 1970s to the 2000s.Footnote1
Forest BirdsPopulation
Trend (%/yr)
 P1970s
(BBS)
1980s
(BBS)
1990s
(BBS)
2000s
(BBS)
Change
Olive-sided Flycatcher-6.9%*1.461.180.460.18-87%
Boreal Chickadee-6.9%*0.580.260.090.09-85%
Canada Warbler-3.0%*2.271.691.441.00-56%
Evening Grosbeak-2.9%*5.498.054.411.64-70%
Purple Finch-2.9%*2.832.901.621.34-53%
Tennessee Warbler-2.3% 4.938.495.431.87-62%
Rose-breasted Grosbeak-2.1%*6.065.333.432.82-53%
Ruby-crowned Kinglet-1.8%*7.685.666.263.57-54%
Least Flycatcher-1.7%*10.099.007.035.80-43%
Veery-1.2%n18.4917.3914.1211.94-35%
Ruffed Grouse-1.1% 0.720.600.530.33-53%
Bay-breasted Warbler-0.8% 0.951.290.990.49-48%
Gray Jay-0.6% 1.461.381.211.13-23%
Ovenbird-0.5% 24.2124.1222.3420.16-17%
Swainson's Thrush-0.5% 15.3515.6513.7612.79-17%
American Redstart0.3% 5.956.156.775.991%
Yellow-rumped Warbler0.3% 6.307.826.715.90-6%
Cape May Warbler0.6% 0.571.351.090.53-6%
Black-and-white Warbler0.7% 3.855.065.123.840%
Red-eyed Vireo0.8%*32.5834.9737.7538.4018%
Philadelphia Vireo1.2% 0.771.011.280.9626%
Black-throated Green Warbler1.3% 1.812.252.652.8055%
Magnolia Warbler1.4%n6.407.419.029.2745%
Blackburnian Warbler1.8%*1.962.543.162.5028%
Blue-headed Vireo2.0%*1.341.381.511.9042%
Hairy Woodpecker2.6%*0.780.991.041.2763%
Winter Wren2.6%*5.255.5810.269.9790%
Broad-winged Hawk2.7% 0.210.500.300.56163%
Black-throated Blue Warbler3.0%n0.641.091.391.1275%

Table 23 - Footnotes

Footnote 1

In this table: P is the statistical significance: * indicates P<0.05; n indicates 0.05<P<0.1; no value indicates not significant; “Change” is the percent change in the average index of abundance between the first decade for which there are results (1970s) and the 2000s (2000-2006). Species are listed in order from those showing most severe declines to those showing the most positive increases

Return to table 23 footnote1referrer

 

Table 24. Change in detection of characteristic species of forest birds from surveys in 1981-1985 compared to 2001-2005 surveys from the Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas.Footnote1
SpeciesSouthern ShieldNorthern Shield
Cape May Warbler-35%*-1%
Olive-sided Flycatcher-35%*-11%
Tennessee Warbler-27%*3%
Ruby-crowned Kinglet-22%*18%*
Bay-breasted Warbler-17%*22%*
Rose-breasted Grosbeak-12%*-10%
Evening Grosbeak-10%*-26%*
Canada Warbler-10%*-17%
Purple Finch-6%*-19%*
Least Flycatcher-3%6%
American Redstart-1%24%*
Swainson's Thrush0%8%*
Veery0%22%*
Broad-winged Hawk2%16%
Red-eyed Vireo2%*15%*
Ovenbird2%*7%*
Black-and-white Warbler2%28%*
Gray Jay3%18%*
Ruffed Grouse4%27%*
Yellow-rumped Warbler4%*8%*
Blackburnian Warbler6%*35%*
Hairy Woodpecker9%*16%*
Magnolia Warbler13%*28%*
Boreal Chickadee18%6%
Black-throated Green Warbler18%*23%*
Black-throated Blue Warbler19%*93%*
Winter Wren21%*23%*
Philadelphia Vireo29%*21%
Blue-headed Vireo94%*72%*

Table 24 - Footnotes

Footnote 1

In this table: P is the statistical significance: * indicates statistically different from no change at P < 0.1. Species are sorted by magnitude of change in Southern Sheild region

Return to table 24 footnote1referrer

Source: adapted from Cadman et al. (2007)

The reasons for population changes are diverse. Several of these species exhibit substantial natural population fluctuations due to changes in seed supply (for example, Purple Finch), fire, and insect infestations, particularly those in more northern coniferous forests. The spruce budworm cycle plays a large role in the populations of several budworm specialists (Tennessee Warbler, Cape May Warbler, and Bay-breasted Warbler) (Palmer, 1965; Alley, 1984; Williams, 1996; Rimmer and McFarland, 1998; Baltz and Latta, 1998) and influences populations of many other insectivorous birds. These species respond positively to budworm outbreaks but may be negatively affected by aerial spraying to control spruce budworm. Global climate change may also affect birds. For example, declines in Gray Jay in Algonquin Park have been attributed, at least in part, to the rise in winter temperature that has caused this resident species’ winter food stores to spoil (Waite and Strickland, 2006). The marked decline of the Olive-sided Flycatcher, assessed as Threatened (COSEWIC, 2007d), is consistent with declines in many other aerial insectivores. As a neotropical migrant, it is also likely influenced by threats along migration routes and in its tropical wintering grounds, as are other species such as Rose-breasted Grosbeak, Canada Warbler, Cape May Warbler, Tennessee Warbler, and Bay-breasted Warbler. Similarly, population changes in short-distance migrant forest birds (such as, Winter Wren, Blue-headed Vireo, and Ruby-crowned Kinglet) are also influenced by conditions on their migration routes and wintering grounds. The Boreal Chickadee is endemic to the spruce-fir forests of the boreal region. Its trend has been very negative according to BBS results in both the Boreal Shield and Canada-wide between 1970 and 2006, as well as in results from the CBC (Butcher and Niven, 2007). However, no decline was found in the two decades between the Ontario breeding bird atlases (McLaren, 2007) which covered Ontario's boreal forest more comprehensively than the BBS.

Top of Page

Shrub/early successional bird assemblage

Birds in early successional habitat such as old fields and regenerating forests show an overall small decline in population (Figure 20). Four species have experienced significant declines, consistent with their national trend (Table 25). The White-throated Sparrow trend is stable or slightly negative in this region (-0.6% per year) according to BBS data. Interestingly, data from the Christmas Bird Count show a decline in the south of its winter range and an increase in the north, suggesting a northward shift in its wintering distribution (Niven et al., 2004).

Figure 20. Annual indices of population change in birds of shrub/successional habitat for the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey.

graph

Long Description for Figure 20

This line graph shows annual indices of population change in birds of shrub/successional habitat for the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey. The abundance index shows an overall small decline during the period, from approximately 180 to 140.

 

Table 25. Trends in abundance of selected species of shrub/successional birds that are characteristic of the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey. The following table shows the BBS Abundance Index by decade from the 1970s to the 2000s.Footnote1
Birds of Shrub / SuccessionPopulation
Trend (%/yr)
 P1970s
(BBS)
1980s
(BBS)
1990s
(BBS)
2000s
(BBS)
Change
Brown Thrasher-3.3%*1.280.950.530.46-64%
Song Sparrow-1.7%*19.4812.8413.0411.43-41%
Mourning Warbler-1.3%*12.0611.748.928.30-31%
American Goldfinch-1.3%n6.315.624.855.21-17%
Gray Catbird-1.2% 0.990.900.790.69-31%
Yellow Warbler-1.0% 5.305.934.243.55-33%
Chestnut-sided Warbler-0.6% 18.2316.1415.1813.83-24%
White-throated Sparrow-0.6% 50.4042.4843.6442.15-16%
Nashville Warbler0.0% 17.1516.5617.8314.99-13%
Alder Flycatcher0.2% 8.489.228.969.107%
Lincoln's Sparrow0.2% 2.142.422.571.94-9%
Indigo Bunting1.9% 1.011.171.181.6362%

Table 25 - Footnotes

Footnote 1

In this table: P is the statistical significance: * indicates P<0.05; n indicates 0.05<P<0.1; no value indicates not significant; “Change” is the percent change in the average index of abundance between the first decade for which there are results (1970s) and the 2000s (2000-2006).Species are listed in order from those showing most severe declines to those showing the most positive increases.

Return to table 25 footnote1referrer

 

Top of Page

Other open habitat bird assemblage

Birds in the other open habitat assemblage show the largest overall decline of all assemblages in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, with declines mainly apparent since the late 1980s (Figure 21, Table 22). Nevertheless, many of these species are not naturally characteristic of the region. Land clearing for agriculture created habitat in this area with a resultant increase in bird populations. Recent declines may be a reflection of the loss of this habitat through reforestation of abandoned farmland in some parts of this ecozone+ (Crins et al., 2007). Declines in the swallows and Common Nighthawk are consistent with a general decline in aerial insectivores across Canada (Table 26). Eastern Bluebirds have never been common in this ecozone+ though their small population appears to be faring well.

Figure 21. Annual indices of population change in birds of other open habitats for the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey.

graph

Long Description for Figure 21

This line graph shows annual indices of population change in birds of other open habitats for the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey from 1968 to 2006. The abundance index shows an increasing trend through to the 1970s, however the overall declining trend is predominant from 1978 to 2006 (approximately 54 and 9 respectively).

 

Table 26. Trends in abundance for selected species of birds of other open habitats that are characteristic of the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, based on data from the Breeding Bird Survey. The following table shows the BBS Abundance Index by decade from the 1970s to the 2000s.Footnote1
Birds of Other
Open Habitats
Population
Trend (%/yr)
 P1970s
(BBS)
1980s
(BBS)
1990s
(BBS)
2000s
(BBS)
Change
Bank Swallow-14.0%*6.504.590.490.10-98%
Brown-headed Cowbird-7.9%*7.533.881.640.58-92%
Common Nighthawk-6.4%*0.290.290.110.04-85%
Cliff Swallow-6.0%*7.3810.623.040.87-88%
Barn Swallow-5.3%*11.269.944.562.08-82%
Tree Swallow-3.3%*9.288.665.772.81-70%
American Kestrel-1.8%*1.011.020.760.56-44%
Eastern Kingbird-1.4% 1.922.551.441.01-47%
Eastern Bluebird3.8%*0.180.260.430.3492%

Table 26 - Footnotes

Footnote 1

In this table: P is the statistical significance: * indicates P<0.05; n indicates 0.05<P<0.1; no value indicates not significant; “Change” is the percent change in the average index of abundance between the first decade for which there are results (1970s) and the 2000s (2000-2006). Species are listed in order from those showing most severe declines to those showing the most positive increases.

Return to table 26 footnote1referrer

 

Top of Page

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no. 12. - Tendances relatives aux oiseaux terrestres au Canada de 1968 à 2006

Écozone+ du Bouclier boréal (RCO 8 et 12, moins l’île de Terre-Neuve)

Collaborateurs : Mike Cadman et Lyle Friesen

On trouve dans l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal une grande diversité d’oiseaux, dont des nicheurs résidents, comme la Mésange à tête brune et le Mésangeai du Canada, ainsi que de nombreuses espèces migratrices qui y nichent chaque été, puis migrent vers le sud dans une grande partie de l’hémisphère occidental. La région de la forêt boréale du Canada, dont le Bouclier boréal, abrite de fortes proportions de la population mondiale de nombreuses espèces. Les bruants, les parulines et les grives comptent pour plus de la moitié de tous les oiseaux terrestres de la région boréale. Environ 50 % des effectifs mondiaux des 37 espèces de parulines présentes au Canada occupent la forêt boréale (Blancher, 2003). Les oiseaux terrestres de cette région sont fortement migrateurs; on estime que 93 % d’entre eux quittent la région boréale chaque automne pour aller hiverner aux États-Unis, au Mexique, dans les Antilles, en Amérique centrale et en Amérique du Sud (Blancher, 2003). La forêt domine l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, de sorte que les oiseaux forestiers constituent la majorité des espèces choisies comme représentatives de l’écozone+. Les oiseaux des milieux ouverts ne forment qu’une faible part de l’avifaune de l’écozone+ et sont présents surtout dans la portion méridionale du Bouclier.

Dans l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (BBS) couvre surtout la portion sud du bouclier en Ontario et au Québec, avec un faible échantillonnage dans les parties plus septentrionales et à l’extérieur de ces deux provinces. Les secteurs agricoles de l’écozone+sont relativement bien couverts par le BBS parce qu’ils sont de façon générale accessibles par route et répartis dans la portion méridionale du bouclier.

Le Tableau 22 montre les tendances relatives à l’abondance des oiseaux terrestres pour cet assemblage des oiseaux terrestres. Les résultats du BBS indiquent des déclins pour les oiseaux des autres milieux ouverts ainsi que pour ceux des milieux arbustifs et de début de succession. Aucune tendance n’a été calculée pour les oiseaux terrestres des milieux humides parce que peu d’oiseaux terrestres appartiennent clairement à l’assemblage des milieux humides et que le BBS ne couvre pas bien ces milieux. Toutefois, il convient de souligner que le Quiscale rouilleux, désigné espèce préoccupante en 2006 (COSEPAC, 2006b), a connu une baisse marquée de ses effectifs dans les portions couvertes de la région au cours des dernières décennies, selon le BBS. On note des populations presque stables pour l’assemblage des oiseaux forestiers, bien que les tendances pour chaque espèce de ce groupe soient diversifiées. Ces tendances varient entre des déclins marqués et de fortes hausses de population. L’assemblage des oiseaux des milieux arbustifs et de début de succession est lui aussi relativement stable, mais il présente une légère tendance à la baisse. Les résultats pour les oiseaux forestiers et ceux des milieux arbustifs et de début de succession sont très semblables à ceux pour ces deux mêmes assemblages dans l’écozone+ maritime de l’Atlantique, les deux écozones+ partageant de nombreuses espèces semblables.

Tableau 22. Tendances relatives à l’abondance des oiseaux terrestres pour l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs. Le tableau qui suis démontre l’indice d’abondance du BBS, par décenie, des années 1970 aux années 2000.Note de bas de page1
Assemblage d’espècesTendance
(%/an)
PAnnées
1970
Années
1980
Années
1990
Années
2000
Changement
Oiseaux forestiers-0,2 % 208,0213,7206,6186,1-11 %
Arbustaie/début de succession-0,7 %*164,4143,3138,8129,7-21 %
Autres milieux ouverts-4,0 %*42,842,521,511,3-74 %

Notes de bas de page - Tableau 22

Note 1

Dans ce tableau: P est le degré de signification statistique; * indique P < 0,05; n indique 0,05 < P < 0,1; une case vide indique une valeur non significative; La colonne « Changement » donne le pourcentage de changement de l’indice d’abondance moyen entre la première décennie pour laquelle des résultats ont été obtenus (les années 70) et les années 2000 (de 2000 et 2006).

Retour à la référence 1du tableau 22

 

L’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario(Cadman et al., 2007) constitue une autre source de données sur les oiseaux forestiers du nord pour cette écozone+. Les tendances observées chez les oiseaux forestiers du nord entre le premier (1981-1985) et le deuxième (2001-2005) atlas de l’Ontario sont de façon générale plus positives que celles indiquées par le BBS, dont les résultats sont, comme on l’a expliqué plus haut, plus représentatifs des parties sud du Bouclier boréal.

Assemblage des oiseaux forestiers

Selon les résultats du BBS, la tendance de l’assemblage des oiseaux forestiers est demeurée assez stable (Figure 19), mais les différentes espèces ont toutefois connu des tendances variées (Tableau 23). Le Tableau 24 a été ajouté pour les oiseaux forestiers, tiré de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario, parce que ce dernier assure une meilleure couverture que le BBS pour les forêts du nord. Ces données montrent une augmentation de la probabilité de détection pour la plupart des oiseaux forestiers de l’écozone+du Bouclier boréal entre les périodes de 1981 à 1985 et de 2001 à 2005, quoiqu’une couverture plus efficace dans la période de 2001 à 2005 puisse avoir contribué aux augmentations observées (Cadman et al.,2007).

Figure 19. Évolution de l’indice d’abondance annuel pour les oiseaux forestiers de l’Écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs.

graphique

Description longue pour la figure 19

Ce graphique linéaire montre l'évolution de l'indice d'abondance annuel pour les oiseaux forestiers de l'écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs pour la période de 1968 à 2006. L'indice d'abondance montre une population relativement stable au cours de la période, avec un indice compris entre environ 160 et 230.

 

Tableau 23. Tendances relatives à l’abondance des espèces choisies d’oiseaux forestiers qui sont caractéristiques de l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs. Le tableau qui suis démontre l’indice d’abondance du BBS, par décenie, des années 1970 aux années 2000.Note de bas de page1
Oiseaux forestiersTendance de
la population
(%/an)
PAnnées
1970
(BBS)
Années
1980
(BBS)
Années
1990
(BBS)
Années
2000
(BBS)
Changement
Moucherolle à côtés olive-6,9 %*1,461,180,460,18-87 %
Mésange à tête brune-6,9 %*0,580,260,090,09-85 %
Paruline du Canada-3,0 %*2,271,691,441,00-56 %
Gros-bec errant-2,9 %*5,498,054,411,64-70 %
Roselin pourpré-2,9 %*2,832,901,621,34-53 %
Paruline obscure-2,3 % 4,938,495,431,87-62 %
Cardinal à poitrine rose-2,1 %*6,065,333,432,82-53 %
Roitelet à couronne rubis-1,8 %*7,685,666,263,57-54 %
Moucherolle tchébec-1,7 %*10,099,007,035,80-43 %
Grive fauve-1,2 %n18,4917,3914,1211,94-35 %
Gélinotte huppée-1,1 % 0,720,600,530,33-53 %
Paruline à poitrine baie-0,8 % 0,951,290,990,49-48 %
Geai bleu-0,6 % 1,461,381,211,13-23 %
Paruline couronnée-0,5 % 24,2124,1222,3420,16-17 %
Grive à dos olive-0,5 % 15,3515,6513,7612,79-17 %
Paruline flamboyante0,3 % 5,956,156,775,991 %
Paruline à croupion jaune0,3 % 6,307,826,715,90-6 %
Paruline tigrée0,6 % 0,571,351,090,53-6 %
Paruline noir et blanc0,7 % 3,855,065,123,840 %
Viréo aux yeux rouges0,8 %*32,5834,9737,7538,4018 %
Viréo de Philadelphie1,2 % 0,771,011,280,9626 %
Paruline à gorge noire1,3 % 1,812,252,652,8055 %
Paruline à tête cendrée1,4 %n6,407,419,029,2745 %
Paruline à gorge orangée1,8 %*1,962,543,162,5028 %
Viréo à tête bleue2,0 %*1,341,381,511,9042 %
Troglodyte mignon2,6 %*5,255,5810,269,9790 %
Pic chevelu2,6 %*0,780,991,041,2763 %
Petite Buse2,7 % 0,210,500,300,56163 %
Paruline bleue3,0 %n0,641,091,391,1275 %

Notes de bas de page - Tableau 23

Note 1

Dans ce tableau: P est le degré de signification statistique; * indique P < 0,05; n indique 0,05 < P < 0,1; une case vide indique une valeur non significative; La colonne « Changement » donne le pourcentage de changement de l’indice d’abondance moyen entre la première décennie pour laquelle des résultats ont été obtenus (les années 70) et les années 2000 (de 2000 et 2006). La liste des espèces est classée de la pire à la meilleure tendance.

Retour à la référence 1du tableau 23

 

Tableau 24. Changement dans la détection d’espèces caractéristiques d’oiseaux forestiers entre les relevés du premier Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario (1981-1985) et ceux du deuxième (2001-2005). Le tableau qui suis démontre l’indice d’abondance du BBS, par décenie, des années 1970 aux années 2000.Note de bas de page1
EspècesSud du BouclierNord du Bouclier
Paruline tigrée-35 %*-1 %
Moucherolle à côtés olive-35 %*-11 %
Paruline obscure-27 %*3 %
Roitelet à couronne rubis-22 %*18 %*
Paruline à poitrine baie-17 %*22 %*
Cardinal à poitrine rose-12 %*-10 %
Gros-bec errant-10 %*-26 %*
Paruline du Canada-10 %*-17 %
Roselin pourpré-6 %*-19 %*
Moucherolle tchébec-3 %6 %
Paruline flamboyante-1 %24 %*
Grive à dos olive0 %8 %*
Grive fauve0 %22 %*
Petite Buse2 %16 %
Viréo aux yeux rouges2 %*15 %*
Paruline couronnée2 %*7 %*
Paruline noir et blanc2 %28 %*
Mésangeai du Canada3 %18 %*
Gélinotte huppée4 %27 %*
Paruline à croupion jaune4 %*8 %*
Paruline à gorge orangée6 %*35 %*
Pic chevelu9 %*16 %*
Paruline à tête cendrée13 %*28 %*
Mésange à tête brune18 %6 %
Paruline à gorge noire18 %*23 %*
Paruline bleue19 %*93 %*
Troglodyte mignon21 %*23 %*
Viréo de Philadelphie29 %*21 %
Viréo à tête bleue94 %*72 %*

Notes de bas de page - Tableau 24

Note 1

Dans ce tableau: P est le degré de signification statistique; L’astérisque (*) indique que la valeur est statistiquement significative à P < 0,1.; une case vide indique une valeur non significative; La colonne « Changement » donne le pourcentage de changement de l’indice d’abondance moyen entre la première décennie pour laquelle des résultats ont été obtenus (les années 70) et les années 2000 (de 2000 et 2006). Les espèces sont classées en fonction de l’ampleur du changement dans la portion sud du Bouclier.

Retour à la référence 1du tableau 24

Source : adapté de Cadman et al. (2007)

Les raisons des changements quant aux populations sont diverses. Plusieurs de ces espèces, particulièrement celles vivant dans les forêts conifériennes plus septentrionales, présentent des fluctuations naturelles importantes de leurs effectifs liées à la quantité des graines dont ils se nourrissent (par exemple le Roselin pourpré), aux incendies et aux infestations d’insectes. Le cycle de la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette influe grandement sur les populations de plusieurs oiseaux se nourrissant précisément de cet insecte (Paruline obscure, Paruline tigrée et Paruline à poitrine baie) (Palmer, 1965; Alley, 1984; Williams, 1996; Rimmer et McFarland, 1998; Baltz et Latta, 1998) et influe aussi sur les populations de nombreux autres oiseaux insectivores, qui peuvent réagir positivement aux infestations de tordeuses, mais peuvent en revanche être affectées par les épandages aériens d’insecticide visant ce ravageur. Par ailleurs, les changements climatiques planétaires peuvent aussi affecter les oiseaux. Par exemple, les déclins du Mésangeai du Canada dans le parc Algonquin ont été attribués, en partie du moins, à l’élévation de la température hivernale qui a eu pour effet de détériorer les réserves de nourriture hivernales périssables de ce nicheur résident (Waite et Strickland, 2006). Le déclin marqué du Moucherolle à côtés olive, espèce désignée menacée (COSEPAC, 2007d), va dans le sens des changements observés chez un bon nombre d’autres insectivores aériens. Cependant, étant donné qu’il s’agit d’un oiseau migrateur néotropical, il est probablement aussi affecté par des changements survenant dans ses parcours migratoires et ses aires d’hivernage, tout comme d’autres espèces, par exemple le Cardinal à poitrine rose. De même, les changements quant aux populations d’oiseaux forestiers qui migrent sur de courtes distances (par exemple le Troglodyte mignon, le Viréo à tête bleue et le Roitelet à couronne rubis) sont aussi influencés par des facteurs agissant dans leurs aires d’hivernage. La Mésange à tête brune est endémique des forêts d’épinette et de sapin de la région boréale. La tendance de ses effectifs est très négative, selon les résultats du BBS pour cette écozone+ et l’ensemble du Canada, entre 1970 et 2006, de même que d’après ceux du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël (Butcher et Niven, 2007). Cependant, l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario (McLaren, 2007), qui a mieux couvert la forêt boréale ontarienne que le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs, ne montre pas de déclin pour cette espèce dans les deux décennies.

Haut de la page

Assemblage des oiseaux des milieux arbustifs et de début de succession

L’assemblage des oiseaux des milieux de début de succession, comme les champs laissés à l’abandon et les forêts en régénération, présente globalement une légère tendance à la baisse (Figure 20). Quatre espèces ont connu des baisses significatives de leurs effectifs, tout comme à l’échelle du pays (Tableau 25). Selon les données du BBS, la tendance de la population du Bruant à gorge blanche est stable ou légèrement à la baisse dans cette région (-0.6 % par année). Fait intéressant, les données du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël indiquent un déclin de cette espèce dans le sud de son aire d’hivernage et une augmentation dans le nord, ce qui laisse croire à un déplacement vers le nord de sa répartition hivernale (Niven et al., 2004).

Figure 20. Évolution de l’indice d’abondance annuel pour les oiseaux des milieux arbustifs et de début de succession de l’Écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs.

graphique

Description longue pour la figure 20

Ce graphique linéaire montre l'évolution de l'indice d'abondance annuel pour les oiseaux des milieux arbustifs et de début de succession de l'écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs. L'indice d'abondance montre un déclin global peu important au cours de la période, passant d'environ 180 à 140.

 

Tableau 25. Tendances relatives à l’abondance des espèces choisies d’oiseaux des milieux arbustifs et de début de succession qui sont caractéristiques de l’écozone+du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs. Le tableau qui suis démontre l’indice d’abondance du BBS, par décenie, des années 1970 aux années 2000.Note de bas de page1
Oiseaux des milieux
arbustifs et de
début de succession
Tendance de la
population
(%/an)
PAnnées
1970
Années
1980
Années 1990Années 2000Changement
Moqueur roux-3,3 %*1,280,950,530,46-64 %
Bruant chanteur-1,7 %*19,4812,8413,0411,43-41 %
Paruline triste-1,3 %*12,0611,748,928,30-31 %
Chardonneret jaune-1,3 %n6,315,624,855,21-17 %
Moqueur chat-1,2 % 0,990,900,790,69-31 %
Paruline jaune-1,0 % 5,305,934,243,55-33 %
Paruline à flancs marron-0,6 % 18,2316,1415,1813,83-24 %
Bruant à gorge blanche-0,6 % 50,4042,4843,6442,15-16 %
Paruline à joues grises0,0 % 17,1516,5617,8314,99-13 %
Moucherolle des aulnes0,2 % 8,489,228,969,107 %
Bruant de Lincoln0,2 % 2,142,422,571,94-9 %
Passerin indigo1,9 % 1,011,171,181,6362 %

Notes de bas de page - Tableau 25

Note 1

Dans ce tableau: P est le degré de signification statistique; * indique P < 0,05; n indique 0,05 < P < 0,1; une case vide indique une valeur non significative; La colonne « Changement » donne le pourcentage de changement de l’indice d’abondance moyen entre la première décennie pour laquelle des résultats ont été obtenus (les années 70) et les années 2000 (de 2000 et 2006). La liste des espèces est classée de la pire à la meilleure tendance.

Retour à la référence 1du tableau 25

 

Haut de la page

Assemblage des oiseaux des autres milieux ouverts

L’assemblage des oiseaux des autres milieux ouverts présente la baisse globale la plus forte parmi tous les assemblages de l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, les déclins apparaissant principalement à partir de la fin des années 80 (Figure 21, Tableau 22). Cependant, bon nombre de ces espèces ne sont pas naturellement caractéristiques de la région. Dans le passé, le défrichement aux fins de l’agriculture a créé des habitats propices à ces oiseaux dans la région, d’où un accroissement de leurs effectifs. Des déclins récents pourraient s’expliquer par la disparition progressive de ces habitats du fait de la régénération forestière dans les terres agricoles laissées à l’abandon dans certaines parties de cette écozone+ (Crins et al., 2007). Les déclins des hirondelles et de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique dans l’écozone+ vont dans le sens du déclin général des insectivores aériens dans l’ensemble du Canada (Tableau 26). Le Merle-bleu de l’Est n’a jamais été abondant dans cette écozone+, mais la petite population qui s’y trouve semble se porter bien.

Figure 21. Évolution de l’indice d’abondance annuel pour les oiseaux des autres milieux ouverts de l’Écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs.

graphique

Description longue pour la figure 21

Ce graphique linéaire montre l'évolution de l'indice d'abondance annuel pour les oiseaux des autres milieux ouverts de l'écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs pour la période de 1968 à 2006. L'indice d'abondance montre une tendance à la hausse jusqu'aux années 1970, toutefois la tendance globale à la baisse est prédominante de 1978 à 2006 (environ 54 et 9, respectivement).

 

Tableau 26. Tendances relatives à l’abondance des espèces choisies d’oiseaux des autres milieux ouverts qui sont caractéristiques de l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs. Le tableau qui suis démontre l’indice d’abondance du BBS, par décenie, des années 1970 aux années 2000.Note de bas de page1
Oiseaux des autres
milieux ouverts
Tendance de
la population
(%/an)
PAnnées
1970
(BBS)
Années
1980
(BBS)
Années
1990
(BBS)
Années
2000
(BBS)
Changement
Hirondelle de rivage-14,0 %*6,504,590,490,10-98 %
Vacher à tête brune-7,9 %*7,533,881,640,58-92 %
Engoulevent d’Amérique-6,4 %*0,290,290,110,04-85 %
Hirondelle à front blanc-6,0 %*7,3810,623,040,87-88 %
Hirondelle rustique-5,3 %*11,269,944,562,08-82 %
Hirondelle bicolore-3,3 %*9,288,665,772,81-70 %
Crécerelle d’Amérique-1,8 %*1,011,020,760,56-44 %
Tyran tritri-1,4 % 1,922,551,441,01-47 %
Merlebleu de l’Est3,8 %*0,180,260,430,3492 %

Notes de bas de page - Tableau 26

Note 1

Dans ce tableau: P est le degré de signification statistique; * indique P < 0,05; n indique 0,05 < P < 0,1; une case vide indique une valeur non significative; La colonne « Changement » donne le pourcentage de changement de l’indice d’abondance moyen entre la première décennie pour laquelle des résultats ont été obtenus. La liste des espèces est classée de la pire à la meilleure tendance.

Retour à la référence 1du tableau 26


Haut de la page