Grassland graphic descriptors

Historical loss of grasslands

Graphic thumbnail: Historical loss of grasslands

This graphic includes a map and five pie charts. The map shows the approximate historical distribution of grasslands in Canada, which is concentrated in five areas. The pie charts show theestimated percent loss of grasslands up to the early 1990s in each of the five areas. All five show declines in the extent of grasslands, with tall grass prairie showing the greatest loss.

Each pie chart is described in the following set of points:

  1. Prairie grasslands. Historically covering the Prairies and the southern portion of the Boreal Plains Ecozone+, approximately 70% was lost by the 1990s (reference 4).
  2. Tallgrass prairie. As it occurs in two separate areas, two pie charts are used to illustrate the loss of tallgrass prairie. Greater than 99% of the small historic distribution in the southeastern part of the Prairies was lost by 1989 (references 9, 14 and 15) and greater than 97% of the small patches of tallgrass and savannah, historically scattered throughout southeastern Ontario, were lost by 1992 (references 10 and 16).
  3. Bunchgrass and sagebrush. Historically occurring in southcentral and southeastern British Columbia, two pie charts illustrate the declines in these areas prior to 1990, which are 15 and 19% respectively (references 11 and 12).

Close window

Canadian grassland birds

Graphic thumbnail: Canadian grassland birds

This line graph shows the trend in breeding grassland bird populations in Canada from 1967 to 2006. Each point represents the annual index of abundance based on all grassland species. While fluctuating slightly annually, the graph shows a significant, steady, steep decline from a peak of 89 on the abundance index in 1969 to a low point of 43 in 2002. Although increasing since 2002 to 50, in 2006 the overall trend remains a significant steep decline.

Close window

Degree of alteration of Saskatchewan grasslands due to grazing

Graphic thumbnail: Degree of alteration of Saskatchewan grasslands due to grazing

This bar graph shows the degree to which Saskatchewan grasslands had been altered as a result of grazing by 2007. Twelve percent were severely altered, 35% were moderately altered, and 29% had only minor alterations.

Close window

Descriptions des graphiques des prairies

Disparition des prairies

Image miniature : Disparition des prairies

Ce graphique comprend une carte du Canada et cinq diagrammes à secteurs. La carte montre la répartition historique approximative des cinq principales zones des prairies canadiennes. Les diagrammes montrent le pourcentage estimatif de la perte de prairies survenue dans chaque zone jusqu’au début des années 1990. La superficie des prairies a diminué dans les cinq zones, et les pertes les plus importantes visent les prairies à herbes hautes.

Voici les faits saillants révélés par chaque diagramme :

  1. Dans le cas des prairies herbeuses, qui autrefois occupaient l’Écozone+ des Prairies ainsi que la portion sud de l’Écozone+ des Plaines boréales, environ 70 % des prairies avaient déjà disparu au début des années 1990 (référence 4).
  2. Les prairies à herbes hautes se répartissent en deux zones, et des diagrammes distincts décrivent les pertes survenues dans chaque zone. Plus de 99 % de la petite superficie historique de prairies à herbes hautes située dans le sud-est de l’Écozone+ des Prairies avait déjà disparu en 1989 (références 9, 14 et 15), et plus de 97 % des petits îlots de prairies à herbes hautes qui parsemaient autrefois l’extrême-sud de l’Ontario avaient déjà disparu en 1992 (références 10 et 16).
  3. Les prairies de graminées cespiteuses et d’armoises se répartissent également en deux zones, respectivement situées dans le centre-sud et le sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique, et des diagrammes distincts décrivent ici les pertes survenues dans chaque zone jusqu’en 1990. Ces pertes ont été de 15 % dans le centre-sud et de 19 % dans le sud-est (références 11 et 12).

Fermer la fenêtre

Oiseaux des prairies canadiennes

Image miniature : Oiseaux des prairies canadiennes

Ce graphique linéaire montre l’évolution des populations d’oiseaux nicheurs des prairies canadiennes, de 1967 à 2006. Chaque point du graphique représente l’indice d’abondance de l’ensemble des espèces une année donnée. Cet indice fluctue légèrement d’une année à l’autre, mais on peut constater une diminution forte et constante depuis le maximum de 89 atteint en 1969 jusqu’au minimum de 43 atteint en 2002. L’indice est remonté à 50 en 2006, mais pour l’ensemble de la période étudiée le déclin demeure prononcé et significatif.

Fermer la fenêtre

Degré de modification des prairies de Saskatchewan à cause du broutage

Image miniature : Degré de modification des prairies de Saskatchewan à cause du broutage

Ce diagramme à barres montre la gravité de la modification des prairies par le broutage, en Saskatchewan, jusqu’en 2007. Les prairies ont subi une modification grave sur 12 % de leur superficie, une modification modérée sur 35 % de leur superficie et une modification mineure sur 29 % de leur superficie.

Fermer la fenêtre