Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Biodiversity Strategy

GOAL 1 - Conservation and Sustainable Use

E. Biosafety: Harmful Alien Organisms and Living Modified Organisms

Harmful Alien Organisms

Alien organisms are species that enter ecosystems beyond their natural range through deliberate or inadvertent introduction by humans. Organisms that have extended their natural range without human help are not considered alien. The term "alien" is not meant to imply positive or negative impacts on biodiversity. Many alien organisms have been intentionally introduced into Canada and have provided important economic and social benefits. For example, most of Canada's agricultural crops and many horticultural products were developed from genetic material obtained in other countries.

Alien Organisms

Article 8:

8
Prevent the introduction of, control or eradicate those alien species which threaten ecosystems, habitats or species.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Other alien organisms that have been introduced have caused harmful effects to biodiversity. Some well known examples are the sea lamprey and zebra mussels which have had considerable impacts on the Great Lakes ecosystem, and purple loosestrife, which has spread rapidly throughout wetland areas. Such undesirable introductions have had major environmental and economic impacts.

Impacts of Harmful Alien Organisms

Human use and enjoyment of natural areas is directly affected by harmful alien organisms. For instance, Eurasian watermilfoil has invaded many lake shorelines and slow-moving rivers in Ontario and southern British Columbia adversely affecting these areas as recreational resources.

Harmful alien organisms may affect biodiversity through species displacement, disease, parasitism, hybridization, predation or habitat destruction. This results in the decline or extinction of native or endemic populations and the transformation or degradation of ecosystems. Control or elimination of harmful alien organisms is necessary to conserve biodiversity and prevent the further destruction of ecosystems.

Strategic Directions

81.

Take all necessary steps to prevent the introduction of harmful alien organisms and eliminate or reduce their adverse effects to acceptable levels by:

  1. developing and implementing effective means to identify and monitor alien organisms;
  2. determining priorities for allocating resources for the control of harmful alien organisms based on their impact on native biodiversity and economic resources, and implementing effective control or, where possible, eradication measures;

    Alien Organisms on the Queen Charlotte Islands

    • Over 70% of the world's population of Ancient Murrelets and significant populations of other seabirds such as Cassin's Auklet, Rhinoceros Auklets and Tufted Puffins use the islands as breeding grounds.
    • Introduction of raccoons and rats threatens more than 70% of the seabird colonies nesting there.

    State of the Environment Report for British Columbia, 1992

  3. identifying and eliminating common sources of unintentional introductions;
  4. developing national and international databases that support the identification and anticipation of the introduction of potentially harmful alien organisms in order to develop control and prevention measures;
  5. ensuring that there is adequate legislation and enforcement to control introductions or escapes of harmful alien organisms, and improving preventative mechanisms such as screening standards and risk assessment procedures; and
  6. enhancing public education and awareness of the impacts of harmful alien organisms and the steps that can be taken to prevent their introduction.
82.
Promote research into methods and approaches that improve our ability to assess whether or not alien organisms will have an adverse impact on biodiversity.

Living Modified Organisms

Living modified organisms resulting from biotechnology offer the potential for important economic and social benefits as well as a means to address existing ecological problems affecting biodiversity. However, these organisms also have the potential to adversely affect populations, species and ecosystems.

Strategic Directions

83.

Prevent the introduction of potentially harmful living modified organisms by:

  1. ensuring that there is adequate legislation and enforcement to control introductions or escapes of harmful living modified organisms, and improving preventative mechanisms such as screening standards and risk assessment procedures; and
  2. developing national and international database capacities that enable Canada to identify and anticipate the introduction of potentially harmful living modified organisms.
84.
Promote research into methods and approaches that improve our ability to assess whether or not living modified organisms will have an adverse impact on biodiversity.

Symbole du Gouvernement du Canada

Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité

OBJECTIF 1 - Conservation et utilisation durable

E. Biosécurité : Organismes étrangers nuisibles et
    organismes vivants modifiés

Organismes étrangers nuisibles

Les organismes sont qualitiés d'« étrangers » s'ils ont été introduits par l'être humain, de façon délibérée ou accidentelle, dans un écosystème qui ne fait pas partie de leur aire de distribution naturelle. Ils ne sont pas considérés comme étrangers s'ils ont élargi leur aire de distribution naturelle sans l'aide de l'être humain. Le terme « étranger » n'a pas de connotation positive ou négative pour ce qui est de l'impact sur la biodiversité. Beaucoup d'organismes étrangers ont été introduits volontairement au Canada et procurent d'importants avantages économiques et sociaux. C'est le cas, par exemple, de la plupart des cultures agricoles et d'un grand nombre de produits horticoles, qui ont été mis au point à partir de matériel génétique obtenu d'autres pays.

Organismes étrangers

Article 8 - Chaque Partie contractante […] :

8
empêche d'introduire, contrôle ou éradique les espèces exotiques qui menacent des écosystèmes, des habitats ou des espèces.

Conservation sur la diversité biologique

D'autres organismes étrangers introduits au Canada ont nui considérablement à la biodiversité. On connaît bien les exemples suivants : la grande lamproie marine et la moule zébrée, qui ont causé des dégâts considérables dans l'écosystème des Grands Lacs, ainsi que la salicaire pourpre, qui prolifère dans les milieux humides. Ce genre d'introduction indésirable a eu des répercussions économiques et écologiques importantes.

Incidences des organismes étrangers nuisibles

Les activités humaines pratiquées dans les zones naturelles sont directement touchées par les organismes étrangers nuisibles. Par exemple, le myriophylle en épi a envahi les rives de nombreux lacs et rivières à faible débit en Ontario et dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique, nuisant ainsi à l'utilisation de ces plans d'eau à des fins récréatives.

Les organismes étrangers nuisibles affectent la biodiversité de différentes façons : déplacement d'espèces, maladies, parasitisme, hybridation, prédation et destruction de l'habitat. Ce sont là autant de facteurs qui causent le déclin ou la disparition de populations indigènes ou endémiques et la transformation ou la dégradation d'écosystèmes. La limitation ou l'élimination des organismes étrangers nuisibles est nécessaire pour conserver la biodiversité et empêcher la destruction encore plus grande des écosystèmes.

Orientations stratégiques

81.

Prendre toutes les mesures requises pour empêcher l'introduction d'organismes étrangers nuisibles et pour éliminer ou réduire à des niveaux acceptables leurs effets négatifs, soit:

  1. élaborer et appliquer des moyens efficaces pour repérer et surveiller les organismes étrangers;
  2. fixer des priorités pour l'affectation de ressources à la lutte contre les organismes étrangers nuisibles, d'après leur impact sur les éléments indigènes de la biodiversité et sur les ressources économiques, et mettre en oeuvre des mécanismes efficaces de contrôle ou, là où la chose est possible, d'éradication;

    Organismes étrangers dans les îles de la Reine-Charlotte

    • Plus de 70% de la population mondiale d'Alques à cou blanc et des populations importantes d'autres oiseaux de mer comme l'Alque de Cassin, le Macareux rhinocéros et le Macareux huppé viennent se reproduire dans les îles de la Reine-Charlotte.
    • Les ratons laveurs et les rats introduits dans les îles menacent plus de 70% des colonies d'oiseaux de mer qui y nichent.

    Rapport sur l'état de l'environnement en Colombie-Britannique, 1992

    définir et éliminer les causes courantes d'introduction accidentelle;
  3. établir des bases de données nationales et internationales qui permettront de déceler et de prévoir l'introduction d'organismes étrangers potentiellement nuisibles afin d'élaborer des mesures de limitation et de prévention;
  4. veiller à ce qu'il existe des lois et des mresure d'application adéquates pour contrôler l'introduction ou la fuite d'organisme étrangers nuisibles et améliorer les mécanismes de prévention, comme les normes de contrôle et les méthodes d'évaluation des risques;
  5. améliorer l'éducation et la sensibilisation du public ayant trait aux effets des organismes étrangers nuisibles et aux mesures à prendre pour empêcher leur introduction.
82.
Promouvoir la recherche sur des méthodes et approches qui améliorent notre capacité d'évaluer si des organismes étrangers ont un effet néfaste sur la biodiversité.

Organismes vivants modifiés

Les organismes vivants modifiés résultant de la biotechnologie sont susceptibles de procurer d'importants avantages économiques et sociaux et de résoudre des problèmes écologiques actuels touchant la biodiversité. Toutefois, ils peuvent également avoir des effets néfastes sur les populations, les espèces et les écosystèmes.

Orientations stratégiques

83.

Empêcher l'introduction d'organismes vivants modifiés potentiellement nuisibles, soit:

  1. veiller à ce qu'il existe des lois et des mesures d'application adéquates pour contrôler l'introduction ou la fuite d'organismes vivants modifiés qui sont nuisibles et améliorer les mécanismes de prévention, comme les normes de contrôle et les méthodes d'évaluatin des risques; et
  2. établir des bases de données nationales et internationales qui permettront au Canada de déceler et de prévoir l'introduction d'organismes vivants modifiés potentiellement nuisibles.
84.
Promouvoir la recherche sur des méthodes et approches qui améliorent notre capacité d'évaluer si les organismes vivants modifiés auront un effect néfaste sur la biodiversité.