Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Biodiversity Strategy

GOAL 2 - Ecological Management

A. Improving Our Ecological Management Capability

Research

In order to develop an ecological approach to the management of resources, it is necessary to better understand ecosystems and to determine the impacts of human use of resources on biodiversity. An effective research agenda for biodiversity must be coordinated and prioritized.

Research can lead to new uses of biological resources, identify new opportunities for conservation incentives, and provide the basis for further economic diversification and investment.

Research

Article 12:

Promote and encourage research which contributes to the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Strategic Directions:

  1. Focus research to improve policy development and to integrate multiple land and resource-use objectives, with emphasis on:
    1. increasing our understanding of the impacts of human use on ecosystems and biological resources;
    2. providing support for multi-disciplinary or system-based research that improves the integration of social, economic and environmental policies;
    3. developing methodologies that permit an improved valuation of biodiversity;
    4. developing and implementing issue identification measures and adaptive management techniques to enhance management performance; and
    5. developing and implementing conflict resolution models to resolve conflicts between various resource users.
  2. Focus research to increase our understanding of ecosystems and our ability to manage human use of ecosystems and resources by:
    1. examining the structure, function and composition of ecosystems, landscapes and waterscapes and the ecological services they provide;
    2. developing cost-effective biodiversity inventory and monitoring methods and programs, including rapid assessment procedures and biodiversity indicators , to detect and monitor changes to ecosystems, species and genetic diversity;
    3. evaluating and improving methodologies to determine sustainable resource use levels;
    4. improving in situ and ex situ conservation methods, especially to enhance the recovery or rehabilitation of populations, species or ecosystems that are at risk; and
    5. exploring new sustainable uses of biological resources for economic applications.

Indigenous Knowledge, Innovations and Practices

Article 8:

Subject to national legislation, respect, preserve and maintain knowledge, innovations and practices of indigenous and local communities embodying traditional lifestyles relevant to the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and promote their wider application with the approval and involvement of the holders of such knowledge, innovations and practices and encourage the equitable sharing of the benefits arising from the utilization of such knowledge, innovations and practices.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Traditional Knowledge

Many communities, families and individuals have accumulated traditional knowledge that is relevant to the conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources. This knowledge may relate to harvesting resources, planting crops, using natural herbs and other material for medicinal purposes, and understanding changes that have occurred to local biological features and landscapes.

Traditional knowledge can provide an excellent basis for developing conservation and sustainable use policies and programs. All too often, however, traditional knowledge is inappropriately used or disregarded by policy-makers, scientists, resource planners and managers.

Occasionally the holders of traditional knowledge are reluctant to pass on information to individuals who are not members of their community. They may be concerned that this information will be used inappropriately or without their permission.

Strategic Directions:

3.
Identify mechanisms to use traditional knowledge, innovations and practices with the involvement of the holders of such knowledge, innovations and practices, and encourage the equitable sharing of benefits arising from the utilization of such knowledge, innovations and practices.

Inventories: Landscape, Species and Genetic Levels

Comprehensive and reliable biological inventories are a fundamental requirement for the conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources. They provide the foundation for:

  • determining the status of ecosystems, species and genetic resources;
  • setting sustainable harvest rates for biological resources;
  • conducting research;
  • developing resource- and land-use plans; and
  • assessing the impacts of resource management practices on ecosystems.

Inventory of Biodiversity

Article 7:

Identify components of biodiversity important for its conservation and sustainable use.

Convention on Biological Diversity

In Canada many kinds of biological inventories are conducted at the landscape and ecosystem levels. They are used to develop macro-scale policies and plans, regional land-use plans, forest management plans and frameworks for selecting protected areas.

Most of Canada's trees, flowering plants, mammals, birds, fish, reptiles and amphibians are relatively easy to observe and have, therefore, been discovered, named and classified. At the species level, many resource agencies have well developed inventories, especially for harvested species. Wildlife agencies routinely survey game species such as ducks, geese, deer and moose. Forest agencies inventory commercially valuable tree species. Species that have a potentially negative impact on commercial crops are also surveyed so that agencies and individuals can predict and prevent or reduce damage. However there are large gaps in our knowledge of organisms that are more difficult to observe and classify, such as viruses, bacteria, fungi, protists and insects. Scientists estimate that only 50 percent of Canada's species have been discovered, named and classified.

We cannot even estimate the number of species of organisms on Earth to an order of magnitude, an appalling situation in terms of knowledge and our ability to affect the human prospect positively. There are clearly few areas of science about which so little is known, and none of such direct relevance to human beings.Peter H. Raven, Global Biodiversity Strategy

The genetic diversity of the Earth's flora and fauna is very poorly understood. Even within institutions such as gene banks, which were expressly established to conserve economically important genetic resources, the genetic diversity of these resources has hardly been studied.

Inventory work requires highly skilled and trained personnel. There is currently a shortage of taxonomists and biosystematists ­ experts who identify and describe species. Moreover, very few university students are entering these fields, making it very difficult to replace retiring scientists.

Priorities need to be set to address gaps in our biological and biophysical data base. Landscape/waterscape-level inventories will be effective in supporting the development of land-use and resource management policies and plans, while more detailed inventories will be required to support more refined planning and site-specific developments. Inventories must be designed to achieve specified objectives.

Strategic Directions:

4.

Improve biophysical inventories at ecosystem, species and genetic levels by:

  1. developing and applying regionally integrated landscape-level classification systems for terrestrial, freshwater and marine areas to provide a framework for the collection of information and the management of resources;
  2. linking biological inventories and soil, climate and other surveys;
  3. conducting biological inventories, based upon jurisdictional priorities, that take into consideration vulnerable, threatened and endangered species and ecosystems, critical habitats, little-studied taxonomic groups, taxonomic groups of economic importance, areas of high diversity and areas where human development and disturbance are the most significant; and
  4. encouraging the use of innovative and traditional methods to increase knowledge about the diversity of micro-organisms, their functional roles in ecosystems, and their potential economic uses.

Loss of Seeds in North America

A 10-year survey of all seed catalogues in North America indicated that the erosion of traditional varieties of vegetable plants may be quite severe.

Seed Savers Exchange

5.

Enable agencies and individuals to conduct biological and biophysical inventories by:

  1. developing ways to collectively identify funding sources and determine priorities for inventories; and
  2. ensuring that there is sufficient expertise available to conduct inventory work, including taxonomists, biosystematists, parataxonomists, museum professionals, ecologists, geneticists and other experts.

Conservation Data Centres now exist in Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and British Columbia.

6.
Support efforts to improve the reliability and cost-effectiveness of biological inventory methodologies and technologies.
7.
Maintain the capacity of museums and other institutions to scientifically describe, classify and store collected specimens, as well as maintain their ability to effectively disseminate data and information.
8.
Continue to establish networks of Conservation Data Centres or Natural Heritage Centres to develop and harmonize data bases for the conservation of vulnerable, threatened and endangered species and ecosystems.
9.
Improve inventories to determine the genetic diversity of domesticated and non-domesticated biological resources to maximize the conservation and economic use of genetic resources.
10.
Collaborate with other countries to inventory populations and habitats of transboundary species, particularly those that are at risk.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité

OBJECTIF 2 - Gestion écologique

A. Améliorer notre capacité de gestion écologique

Recherche

Pour élaborer une approche écologique de la gestion des ressources, il nous faut mieux comprendre les écosystèmes et déterminer les effets de l'utilisation humaine des ressources sur la biodiversité. Pour être efficace, le programme de recherche doit être coordonné, et ses priorités, établies.

La recherche peut déboucher sur de nouvelles utilisations des ressources biologiques et la découverte de nouveaux incitatifs à la conservation. Elle peut aussi conduire à un accroissement de la diversification économique et des investissements.

Recherche

Article 12 - Les Parties contractantes […] :

Favorisent et encouragent la recherche qui contribue à conserver la diversité biologique et à en assurer l'utilisation durable […].

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Orientations stratégiques

  1. Axer la recherche sur l'amélioration de l'élaboration des politiques et sur l'intégration des objectifs d'utilisation multiple du territoire et des ressources, soit :
    1. accroître notre compréhension des effets des activités humaines sur les écosystèmes et les ressources biologiques;
    2. assurer le soutien à la recherche multidisciplinaire ou systémique qui améliore l'intégration des politiques sociales, économiques et environnementales;
    3. mettre au point des méthodes qui permettent une meilleure évaluation de la biodiversité;
    4. élaborer et appliquer des moyens de définir les questions et des techniques adaptatives en vue d'une meilleure gestion;
    5. élaborer et appliquer des modèles de règlement des conflits afin de résoudre les différends entre les divers utilisateurs des ressources.
  2. Centrer la recherche de façon à pouvoir mieux comprendre les écosystèmes et mieux gérer l'utilisation humaine des écosystèmes et des ressources, soit:
    1. examiner la structure, le rôle et la composition des écosystèmes, des paysages terrestres et des paysages aquatiques ainsi que les services écologiques qu'ils rendent;
    2. mettre au point des méthodes et des programmes rentables d'inventaire et de surveillance de la biodiversité, y compris des procédures d'évaluation rapide et des indicateurs de la biodiversité afin de déceler et de surveiller les changements dans la diversité des écosystèmes, des espèces et des gènes;
    3. évaluer et améliorer les méthodes pour établir des niveaux d'utilisation durable des ressources;
    4. améliorer les méthodes de conservation in situ et ex situ, en particulier pour mieux rétablir les populations, espèces ou écosystèmes en péril;
    5. étudier de nouvelles utilisations durables des ressources biologiques pour des applications économiques.

Connaissances, innovations et pratiques traditionnelles

Article 8 - Chaque Partie contractante […] :

Sous réserve des dispositions de sa législation nationale, respecte, préserve et maintient les connaissances, innovations et pratiques des communautés autochtones et locales qui incarnent des modes de vie traditionnels présentant un intérêt pour la conservation et l'utilisation durable de la diversité biologique et en favorise l'application sur une plus grande échelle, avec l'accord et la participation des dépositaires de ces connaissances, innovations et pratiques et encourage le partages des avantages découlant de l'utilisation de ces connaissances, innovations et pratiques.

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Connaissances traditionnelles

Bon nombre de collectivités, de familles et de personnes sont dépositaires de connaissances traditionnelles utiles à la conservation de la biodiversité et à l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques. Ces connaissances peuvent porter sur la récolte des ressources, la culture des plantes, l'utilisation d'herbes naturelles et d'autres substances à des fins médicinales et les changements qui se sont produits dans les caractéristiques biologiques et les paysages de leur région.

Les connaissances traditionnelles peuvent constituer une base très solide pour élaborer des programmes et des politiques de conservation et d'utilisation durable. Trop souvent, néanmoins, elles sont mal utilisées ou méconnues par les décideurs, les scientifiques ainsi que les planificateurs et les gestionnaires de ressources.

À l'occasion, les dépositaires des connaissances traditionnelles hésitent à transmettre celles-ci à des personnes qui ne font pas partie de leur collectivité. Ils peuvent craindre que l'information soit utilisée à mauvais escient ou sans leur permission.

Orientations stratégiques :

3.
Définir des mécanismes pour utiliser les connaissances, innovations et pratiques traditionnelles avec la participation des dépositaires de celles-ci et encourager le partage équitable des avantages découlant de leur utilisation.

Inventaires : paysages, espèces et ressources génétiques

Des inventaires biologiques complets et fiables sont essentiels pour la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques. Ils fournissent les assises pour :

  • déterminer l'état des écosystèmes, des espèces et des ressources génétiques;
  • établir les niveaux durables de récolte des ressources biologiques;
  • effectuer des recherches;
  • élaborer des plans d'utilisation des ressources et du territoire;
  • évaluer les effets de pratiques de gestion des ressources sur les écosystèmes.

Inventaire des éléments de la biodiversité

Article 7 - Chaque Partie contractante […] :

Identifie les éléments constitutifs de la diversité biologique importants pour sa conservation et son utilisation durable […].

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Au Canada, on effectue de nombreux inventaires biologiques qui sont axés sur les paysages et les écosystèmes et qui servent à élaborer des politiques et des plans à grande échelle, à planifier l'utilisation régionale du territoire, à élaborer des plans d'aménagement des forêts et à définir des cadres pour choisir les zones protégées.

La plupart de nos arbres, plantes à fleurs, mammifères, oiseaux, poissons, reptiles et amphibiens sont relativement faciles à observer, et par conséquent, ils ont été découverts, nommés et classés. Au niveau des espèces, de nombreux organismes qui s'occupent des ressources disposent de riches inventaires, en particulier pour les espèces qui font l'objet de récoltes. Les organismes de la faune recensent régulièrement les espèces chassées, comme les canards, les oies et bernaches, les cerfs et les orignaux. Les organisations forestières inventorient les essences commerciales d'arbres. Des espèces pouvant nuire aux récoltes commerciales sont aussi recensées, pour que nous puissions prévoir les dommages, les prévenir ou les réduire. Cependant, nous avons de grands vides à combler dans nos connaissances des organismes qui sont plus difficiles à observer et à classifier comme les virus, les bactéries, les champignons, les protistes et les insectes. Les scientifiques estiment que seulement 50 % des espèces présentes au Canada ont été découvertes, nommées et classifiées.

Nous ne pouvons même pas évaluer à une magnitude près le nombre d'espèces vivant sur Terre, situation consternante quant à nos connaissances et à notre capacité d'influer positivement sur l'avenir de l'humanité. Manifestement, peu de domaines scientifiques demeurent aussi inconnus et aucun autre ne touche aussi directement l'être humain.Peter H. Raven, Global Biodiversity Strategy

On connaît très mal la diversité génétique de la flore et de la faune de la Terre. Même dans des établissements comme les banques de gènes, créées expressément pour conserver les ressources génétiques importantes sur le plan économique, la diversité de ces ressources a été très peu étudiée.

Les inventaires doivent être faits par des personnes hautement qualifiées et bien formées. Il y a actuellement pénurie de taxonomistes et de biosystématiciens spécialisés dans l'identification et la description des espèces. De plus, il est très difficile d'assurer la relève dans ces disciplines, choisies par très peu d'étudiants.

Il faut établir des priorités pour combler les lacunes dans nos données biologiques et biophysiques. Les inventaires des paysages terrestres et aquatiques serviront à établir les politiques et les plans d'utilisation du territoire et de gestion des ressources, tandis que des inventaires plus détaillés seront requis à l'appui d'une planification et d'un aménagement plus perfectionnés propres à des lieux précis. Les inventaires doivent être conçus en fonction d'objectifs déterminés.

Orientations stratégiques

4.

Améliorer les inventaires biophysiques aux niveaux des écosystèmes, des espèces et des gènes, soit :

  1. mettre au point et appliquer des systèmes de classification intégrés de façon régionalisée au niveau du paysage dans les milieux terrestres, marins et d'eau douce, pour servir de cadre à la collecte de données et à la gestion des ressources;
  2. relier les inventaires biologiques aux relevés des sols, du climat et autres;
  3. dresser des inventaires biologiques en se fondant sur les priorités des administrations et en tenant compte des espèces et des écosystèmes vulnérables, menacés et en danger de disparition, des habitats critiques, des groupes taxonomiques peu étudiés et de ceux qui ont de l'importance sur le plan économique, des zones de grande diversité et des régions les plus touchées ou perturbées par l'activité humaine;
  4. encourager le recours à des méthodes novatrices aussi bien que traditionnelles en vue d'accroître les connaissances sur la diversité des micro-organismes, leurs fonctions dans l'écosystème et leurs usages économiques potentiels.

Perte de semence en Amérique du Nord

Après avoir scruté pendant dix ans tous les catalogues de semences en Amérique du Nord, on en arrive à la conclusion que les variétés traditionnelles de plantes végétales disparaissent à un rythme alarmant.

Seed Savers Exchange

5.

Donner la possibilité aux organismes gouvernementaux et aux particuliers de dresser des inventaires biologiques et biophysiques, soit :

  1. élaborer des moyens de repérer collectivement les sources de financement et de fixer les priorités des inventaires;
  2. garantir la présence de suffisamment d'experts pour permettre l'établissement d'inventaires, notamment des taxonomistes, des biosystématiciens, des parataxonomistes, des muséologues, des écologistes, des généticiens et d'autres spécialistes.

Il existe maintenant des centres de données sur la conservation : au Québec, en Ontario, au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan, en Colombie-Britannique.

6.
Appuyer les efforts en vue d'améliorer la fiabilité et la rentabilité des méthodes et techniques d'inventaire biologique.
7.
Maintenir la capacité des musées et d'autres établissements de décrire, de classer et de conserver scientifiquement les spécimens recueillis et leur capacité de bien diffuser l'information.
8.
Continuer à établir des réseaux de centres de données sur la conservation ou de centres du patrimoine naturel pour constituer et harmoniser les bases de données en vue de la conservation des espèces et des écosystèmes vulnérables, menacés et en danger de disparition.
9.
Améliorer les inventaires utilisés pour déterminer la diversité génétique de ressources biologiques domestiquées et non domestiquées, afin de maximiser la conservation et l'utilisation économique du matériel génétique.
10.
Collaborer avec d'autres pays au recensement des populations et des habitats d'espèces transfrontalières, surtout celles qui sont en péril.