Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Biodiversity Strategy

GOAL 2 - Ecological Management

B. Increasing Resource Management Capability

Data and Information Management

Many government and non-government agencies collect data and information necessary for the conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources. However, collected data and information are often not available because of exchange problems between management systems or because individuals are not aware of potentially useful sources. Also, the full range of data including biological, physical, chemical, social, cultural and economic data, required by resource planners and managers is often unavailable. Effective management systems are required to ensure data and information are available to those who need it.

Data Management

Article 7:

Maintain and organize by any mechanism data derived from identification and monitoring activities.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Enhanced coordination among agencies and individuals could solve many data and information communications problems, although access to some information may need to be restricted in order to protect certain populations, species or sites.

Strategic Directions:

11.
Investigate and implement means to enhance the collection, sharing, analysis, scope and distribution of data and information required to conserve biodiversity and sustainably use biological resources.
12.
Promote the continuing development of information management systems such as Geographic Information Systems and other technologies that facilitate the rapid analysis and distribution of biological and biophysical data and information.
13.
Work towards ensuring that data and information generated by publicly-funded studies are made available to potential users through appropriate sharing arrangements.
14.
Participate in the development and maintenance of appropriate international data bases.

Integrated Planning and Ecological Management

Ecological planning and management, especially at landscape and waterscape levels, are essential to implementing an ecological management approach. Such planning processes should integrate ecological, social, cultural and economic objectives. They should also provide for public and stakeholder participation to prevent and resolve conflicts among various resource users. Integrated planning and ecological management enhances the effectiveness of environmental assessments.

Planning and Integration

Article 6:

Develop, or adapt existing strategies, plans or programmes for the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity reflecting the measures set out in the Convention.

Article 10:

Integrate consideration of the conservation and sustainable use of biological resources into national decision-making.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Ecological planning and management efforts have been successfully implemented in many regions of the country. For example, planning processes have been applied in several forested regions to provide opportunities for multi-stakeholder participation in determining resource use and conservation approaches. Land use planning and ecological management have been effective in determining appropriate land uses in urban areas, and have led to the establishment of protected areas. However, biodiversity conservation considerations are not yet fully integrated into these activities. Enhanced collaboration between all orders of government responsible for planning is required to achieve the conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources.

Strategic Directions:

15.
Design and implement improved ecological planning and management at the landscape/waterscape level to conserve biodiversity and use biological resources in a sustainable manner.

16.

Improve ecological planning to assist in the conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources, especially in or near sensitive aquatic areas, in areas that support populations of endemic, threatened or endangered species, and in areas that are undergoing significant changes resulting from human activity and development.

Integrated Systems Planning Along the St. Croix River

The St. Croix River, a designated Canadian Heritage River, extends along the Canada/United States border for approximately 185 km. Industrial and residential development along the lower portions of the river threaten the land and water quality.

New Brunswick has developed a land-use plan and zoning regulation aimed at protecting the natural environment, scenic values, rural lifestyle and economy, and wildlife along the river corridor, while taking into consideration the need to combine land and water planning.

New Brunswick's planning efforts are being harmonized with those of the State of Maine.

17.
Use ecological or land-use planning to help identify and establish protected areas and to ensure that the ecological integrity of established protected areas is maintained.
18.
Strengthen planning processes to work toward the conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources of internationally-shared ecosystems and trans-boundary rivers and aquatic ecosystems, such as the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence River.
19.
Strengthen international planning efforts and other processes to eliminate or reduce adverse impacts on biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources, resulting from activities in other countries, with special consideration placed on migratory species, aquatic ecosystems and airborne pollutants.

Resolving Land-Use Conflicts in British Columbia

The Commission on Resources and Environment (CORE) was established in 1992 to resolve land-use conflicts in British Columbia by bringing land users together to discuss land-use allocations. CORE has initiated land-use plans in four regions of British Columbia, including Vancouver Island, Cariboo-Chilcotin, East Kootenay and West Kootenay-Boundary.

Environmental Assessments and Emergency Planning

Effective mechanisms must be implemented to provide for the adequate assessment and mitigation of the adverse impacts on biodiversity that could result from proposed projects.

Environmental Assessment and Emergency Response

Article 14:

Introduce appropriate procedures requiring environmental impact assessment of proposed projects likely to have significant adverse effects on biodiversity.Introduce appropriate arrangements to ensure that the environmental consequences of programmes and policies likely to have adverse effects on biodiversity are duly taken into account.Promote notification, exchange of information and consultation on activities likely to adversely effect biodiversity beyond the limits of national jurisdiction.Promote national arrangements for emergency responses to activities or events, which present grave or imminent danger to biodiversity.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Environmental assessments, as defined by legislation and policy, are used to determine the effects of projects that have the potential to significantly affect the environment. As our ability improves to inventory, describe and understand the components of biodiversity, better information will be available to enhance the effectiveness of environmental assessments.

Environmental assessments are also conducted to determine the potentially adverse impacts of government initiatives on biodiversity. Often these can be effectively assessed by applying simplified environmental assessment procedures. In some instances, land-use planning and environmental impact assessment have been successfully merged. This can be very effective in decision-making, as well as in reducing the cumulative impacts of developments.

In addition to implementing environmental assessments, the Convention requires all contracting parties to promote arrangements for emergency responses to events, such as coastal oil spills, that present a grave and imminent danger to biodiversity beyond national jurisdictions.

Strategic Directions:

20.

Use environmental assessments to determine potential impacts of developments on ecosystem, species and genetic resources and to recommend appropriate ways to avoid or reduce them to acceptable levels.

International Convention on Oil Pollution Preparedness, Response and Cooperation 1990

Requires that: ships and oil handling facilities have oil pollution emergency plans and report any spills; andcountries promptly respond to oil pollution accidents and cooperate in sharing pollution-control information and training.

21.
Continue to examine and develop ways to harmonize environmental assessments nationally and internationally, where appropriate.
22.
Enhance efforts to determine and eliminate or reduce to acceptable levels, cumulative environmental effects that result from human activities on ecosystems, species and genetic diversity. This includes developing early-warning indicators and working towards incorporating cumulative environmental effects into relevant national and international agreements.
23.
In cooperation with other countries, maintain or develop environmental disaster prevention plans, procedures and other measures, and respond to events that pose grave and imminent risk to national, international and trans-boundary biodiversity.
24.
Maintain or develop arrangements to notify and respond with appropriate action to events originating in Canada that could significantly affect the biodiversity of other countries.

Training

Ecological planning and management training programs, tailored to the needs of policy-makers and resource managers are required. Training will also help policy-makers understand the implications of policies and programs before they are implemented.

Scientific Training

Article 12:

Establish and maintain programmes for scientific and technical education and training in measures for the identification, conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and its components.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Training and information programs are also necessary to keep personnel informed of improved management practices, new technologies, and the appropriate use and application of traditional knowledge. Highly trained, professional staff will be required in order to implement certain provisions of this Strategy. This will require taking advantage of existing facilities and expertise as much as possible and enhancing communication between educators and institutions.

Strategic Directions:

25.
Improve coordination and efficiency of training and information programs by strengthening relationships among educational institutions, government agencies, local and indigenous communities, private property owners, non-government organizations, business and industry.
26.
Strengthen training programs in: ecological management, sustainable use inventory methodologies, monitoring, data management, multi-disciplinary research, management of protected areas, environmental education, environmental assessment and emergency planning.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité

OBJECTIF 2 - Gestion écologique

B. Accroître la capacité de gérer les ressources

Gestion de l'information

De nombreux organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux compilent les données requises pour la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques. Souvent, l'information n'est pas disponible à cause de problèmes d'échanges entre les systèmes de gestion ou parce que les sources de renseignements ne sont pas connues. En outre, dans bien des cas, les planificateurs et les gestionnaires de ressources ne disposent pas de toute la gamme de données dont ils ont besoin, notamment les données biologiques, physiques, chimiques, sociales, culturelles et économiques. Des systèmes efficaces de gestion sont nécessaires pour que ceux qui en ont besoin puissent avoir accès à ces données.

Gestion des données

Article 7 - Chaque Partie contractante […] :

Conserve et structure à l'aide d'un système les données résultant des activités d'identification et de surveillance […].

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Une meilleure coordination parmi les organismes et les particuliers pourrait résoudre bon nombre des problèmes relatifs à la communication des données, quoique l'accès à certaines informations puisse devoir être restreint pour protéger des populations, des espèces ou des sites.

Orientations stratégiques

11.
Rechercher et employer des moyens d'améliorer la collecte, la mise en commun, l'analyse, la portée et la diffusion de l'information requise pour conserver la biodiversité et utiliser de façon durable les ressources biologiques.
12.
Promouvoir le développement continu de systèmes de gestion de l'information, par exemple les systèmes d'information géographique, et d'autres technologies, pour faciliter l'analyse et la diffusion rapides de données biologiques et biophysiques.
13.
Faire en sorte que l'information issue d'études financées par des fonds publics soit mise à la disposition des utilisateurs éventuels, au moyen d'ententes appropriées de communication.
14.
Participer à l'élaboration et à la mise à jour des bases de données internationales appropriées.

Planification intégrée et gestion écologique

La planification et la gestion écologiques, surtout au niveau des paysages terrestres et aquatiques, sont essentielles à l'application d'une approche de gestion écologique. Ces activités de planification devraient intégrer des objectifs écologiques, sociaux, culturels et économiques. Elles devraient aussi prévoir la participation du public et des intervenants, afin de prévenir et de résoudre les conflits entre les différents utilisateurs des ressources. La planification intégrée et la gestion écologique améliorent l'efficacité des évaluations environnementales.

Planification et intégration

Article 6 - Chaque Partie contractante :

Élabore des stratégies, plans ou programmes nationaux tendant à assurer la conservation et l'utilisation durable de la diversité biologique ou adapte à cette fin ses stratégies, plans ou programmes existants qui tiendront compte, entre autres, des mesures énoncées dans la présente Convention […];

Article 10 - Chaque Partie contractante :

Intègre les considérations relatives à la conservation et à l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques dans le processus décisionnel national […].

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Des efforts fructueux de planification et de gestion écologiques ont été déployés dans de nombreuses régions du pays. Par exemple, dans plusieurs régions forestières, on a appliqué des processus de planification pour permettre à de nombreux intervenants de participer à la détermination des méthodes d'utilisation et de conservation des ressources. La planification de l'utilisation du territoire et la gestion écologique ont permis de déterminer convenablement à quoi serviraient les sols en milieu urbain et ont débouché sur la création de zones protégées. Toutefois, les facteurs touchant la conservation de la biodiversité ne sont pas encore pleinement intégrés à ces activités. Pour conserver la biodiversité et utiliser les ressources biologiques de façon durable, il faut accroître la collaboration entre toutes les instances de planification.

Orientations stratégiques

15.
Élaborer et mettre en oeuvre de meilleures méthodes de planification et de gestion écologiques au niveau du paysage terrestre/aquatique pour assurer la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques.

16.

Améliorer la planification écologique pour favoriser la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques, surtout dans les aires aquatiques vulnérables, les zones abritant des populations d'espèces endémiques, menacées ou en danger de disparition et les régions qui subissent des transformations dues aux activités humaines.

Planification intégrée des systèmes le long de la rivière St. Croix

La rivière St. Croix, qui fit partie du Réseau de rivières du patrimoine canadien, coule le long de la frontière canado-américaine sur environ 185 km. Le développement industriel et résidentiel dans son cours inférieur constitue maintenant une sérieuse menace pour la qualité du sol et de l'eau.

Le Nouveau-Brunswick a établi un plan d'aménagement du territoire et un règlement de zonage destinés à protéger l'environnement naturel, le panorama, le mode de vie rural, l'économie et les espèces sauvages dans le corridor de la rivière, tout en tenant compte du besoin de combiner la planification du sol et celle de l'eau.

Les efforts de planification du Nouveau-Brunswick sont en voie d'être harmonisés à ceux de l'État du Maine.

17.
Employer la planification écologique ou celle de l'aménagement du territoire pour guider le choix et la création de zones protégées et pour préserver leur intégrité écologique.
18.
Renforcer les processus de planification en faveur de la conservation de la biodiversité et de l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques des écosystèmes internationaux et des bassins hydrographiques transfrontaliers comme ceux des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent.
19.
Accroître les efforts de planification internationaux et les autres mesures en vue d'éliminer ou de réduire les effets nuisibles des activités menées dans d'autres pays sur la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques, en portant une attention particulière aux espèces migratrices, aux écosystèmes aquatiques et aux polluants atmosphériques.

Résolution des conflits d'utilisation du territoire en Colombie-Britannique

La commission sur les ressources et l'environnement (CORE) a été créée en 1992 pour résoudre les conflits concernant l'utilisation du territoire en Colombie-Britannique, en réunissant les intéressés pour qu'ils discutent de l'utilisation des terres. La CORE a institué des plans d'utilisation du territoire dans quatre régions de la province : l'île de Vancouver, Cariboo-Chilcotin, East Kootenay et West Kootenay-Boundary.


Évaluations environnementales et planification d'urgence

Il faut mettre en place des mécanismes efficaces pour bien évaluer et atténuer les effets négatifs que les projets proposés pourraient avoir sur la biodiversité.

Évaluation environnementale et intervention d'urgence

Article 14 - Chaque Partie contractante […] :

Adopte des procédures permettant d'exiger l'évaluation des impacts sur l'environnement des projets qu'elle a proposés et qui sont susceptibles de nuire sensiblement à la diversité biologique […] ;Prend les dispositions voulues pour qu'il soit dûment tenu compte des effets sur l'environnement de ses programmes et politiques susceptibles de nuire sensiblement à la diversité biologique;Encourage […] la notification, l'échange de renseignements et les consultations au sujet des activités […] susceptibles de nuire sensiblement à la diversité biologique […] hors des limites de la juridiction nationale;Facilite les arrangements nationaux en vue de l'adoption de mesures d'urgence au cas où des activités ou des évènements […] présenteraient un danger grave ou imminent pour la diversité biologique.

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Les évaluations environnementales, régies par des lois et des politiques, servent à déterminer les effets des projets susceptibles d'avoir un impact important sur l'environnement. À mesure que s'améliorera notre capacité d'inventorier, de décrire et de comprendre les éléments de la biodiversité, nous disposerons de meilleures informations pour effectuer des évaluations environnementales plus efficaces.

Les évaluations environnementales servent aussi à déterminer les effets nocifs possibles des initiatives gouvernementales sur la biodiversité. Souvent, ces initiatives peuvent être évaluées efficacement au moyen de procédures simplifiées. Dans certains cas, on a réussi à fusionner la planification de l'utilisation du territoire et l'évaluation des incidences environnementales. Cette fusion peut beaucoup aider à la prise des décisions comme à la réduction de l'impact cumulatif de l'aménagement.

La Convention engage les Parties contractantes à réaliser des évaluations environnementales et, en outre, à faciliter les arrangements en vue des interventions d'urgence, au cas où un accident, comme un déversement d'hydrocarbures le long des côtes, présenterait des dangers graves et imminents pour la biodiversité hors du territoire national.

Orientations stratégiques

20.

Utiliser les évaluations environnementales pour déterminer les incidences possibles du développement sur les écosystèmes, les espèces et les ressources génétiques et recommander des façons appropriées de les éviter ou de les ramener à des niveaux acceptables.

La Convention internationale sur la préparation, la lutte et la coopération en matière de pollution par les hydrocarbures (1990)

Oblige : les navires et les installations de manutention à avoir des plans d'urgence pour les déversements d'hydrocarbures et à déclarer tout déversement; les pays à intervenir rapidement à la suite de déversements accidentels d'hydrocarbures et à coopérer pour la diffusion d'informations et la formation en matière de lutte contre la pollution.

21.
Continuer à examiner et à élaborer des moyens d'harmoniser les évaluations environnementales au pays et à l'échelle internationale, au besoin.
22.
Intensifier les efforts pour déterminer et éliminer ou atténuer les effets environnementaux cumulatifs des activités humaines sur la diversité des écosystèmes, des espèces et des gènes, y compris élaborer des indicateurs d'avertissement rapide et tenter de prendre en compte ces effets dans les ententes nationales et internationales pertinentes.
23.
En collaboration avec d'autres pays, maintenir ou établir des plans, des procédures et d'autres mesures pour prévenir les désastres écologiques et intervenir en cas d'incident présentant un risque grave et imminent pour la diversité des espèces biologiques nationales, internationales et transfrontalières.
24.
Maintenir ou prendre des dispositions afin de signaler les événements qui surviennent au Canada et sont susceptibles de nuire sensiblement à la biodiversité d'autres pays afin d'intervenir de façon appropriée.

Formation

Il faut établir des programmes de formation en planification et en gestion écologiques adaptés aux besoins des décideurs et des gestionnaires de ressources. La formation aidera aussi les décideurs à comprendre les implications des politiques et des programmes avant leur mise en oeuvre.

Formation scientifique

Article 12 - Les Parties contractantes […] :

Mettent n place et poursuivent des programmes d'éducation et de formation scientifiques et techniques pour identifier et conserver la diversité biologique et ses éléments constitutifs et en assurer l'utilisation durable […].

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Des programmes de formation et d'information sont aussi nécessaires pour tenir le personnel informé des méthodes améliorées de gestion, des nouvelles technologies et de l'utilisation indiquée des connaissances traditionnelles. Il faudra des professionnels très bien formés pour appliquer certaines dispositions de la Stratégie. Il faudra aussi profiter au maximum des installations et des experts disponibles et accroître la communication entre les éducateurs et les établissements.

Orientations stratégiques

25.
Améliorer la coordination et l'efficacité des programmes de formation et d'information en renforçant les liens entre les établissements d'enseignement, les organismes gouvernementaux, les collectivités locales et autochtones, les propriétaires fonciers privés, les organisations non gouvernementales, le milieu des affaires et l'industrie.
26.
Accroître la formation dans les domaines de la gestion écologique, de l'utilisation durable, des méthodes d'inventaire, de la surveillance, de la gestion des données, de la recherche multidisciplinaire, de la gestion des zones protégées, de l'éducation en environnement, de l'évaluation environnementale et de la planification d'urgence.