Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Biodiversity Strategy

GOAL 3 - Education and Awareness

To promote an understanding of the need to conserve biodiversity and use biological resources in a sustainable manner.


The loss of biodiversity is a global problem requiring solutions based on individual and community participation and commitment. If national and international efforts to conserve biodiversity and use biological resources in a sustainable manner are to succeed, individuals and communities must understand and appreciate the value of biodiversity and the causes of its decline.

Education and Awareness

Article 13:

Promote understanding of the importance of, and the measures required for, the conservation of biodiversity.

Convention on Biological Diversity

It has been demonstrated that education is the most cost-effective means of producing long-term social change. Education allows individuals to make lifestyle and consumption decisions that are sensitive to biodiversity conservation and sustainable use objectives.

Biodiversity education and community awareness should be strengthened in a variety of ways to reach people across the country. Biodiversity themes should be enhanced in the curricula of formal education systems, as well as in non-formal settings such as museums, zoos, aquariums, botanical gardens, nature centres and parks. Awareness-raising and education could also take place through such means as the mass media, films or interactive computer programs.

A significant portion of Canada's biodiversity exists on private land. Education programs developed for land-owners and local communities will need to be tailored to the needs of these vital audiences.

Education by Example

The Antelope Creek Ranch was established in 1986 through a partnership involving Alberta Fish and Wildlife, Ducks Unlimited Canada and Wildlife Habitat Canada, to demonstrate that sound range management can benefit the land, wildlife, livestock production and recreation.

Members of the public possess valuable knowledge that can contribute significantly to government policies, plans and programs. Processes should be designed in such a way that full and meaningful public participation takes place.

Strategic Directions:

  1. Develop and deliver effective biodiversity education and awareness programs by:
    1. evaluating and monitoring the level of public understanding and knowledge regarding biodiversity conservation and the sustainable use of biological resources in order to design and target effective education and awareness programs;
    2. integrating themes and messages about biodiversity conservation and the sustainable use of biological resources into the formal educational curriculum;
    3. increasing biodiversity conservation and the sustainable use of biological resources messages by building on existing interpretive programs in national and provincial parks and other protected areas, and at libraries, museums, zoos, aquariums and botanical gardens; and
    4. strengthening coordination among educational institutions, government departments, museums, zoos, aquariums, botanical gardens, businesses, conservation groups and other organizations.
  2. Enhance opportunities for professional development for those involved in teaching environmental education.

    Alberta's Provincial ParksAlberta has established environmental education centres known as "outdoor classrooms" in Fish Creek, Peter Lougheed and Dinosaur Provincial Parks.Alberta has also developed teaching resources for its provincial parks.

  3. Create educational material that emphasizes measures that can be taken to prevent or reduce impacts on ecosystems and biological resources.
  4. Promote public awareness of biodiversity issues, conservation and sustainable use requirements and changes in the state of biodiversity and improvements in resource management practices through periodic reports, fact sheets, electronic information systems and other communication material and methods.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité

OBJECTIF 3 - Éducation et sensibilisation

Faire comprendre le besoin de conserver la biodiversité et d'utiliser les ressources biologiques de façon durable.


La diminution de la biodiversité est un problème mondial qui exige des solutions fondées sur la participation de même que l'engagement des personnes et des collectivités. Il faut comprendre individuellement et collectivement la valeur de la biodiversité et les causes de sa régression pour que réussissent les efforts nationaux et internationaux en vue de conserver la biodiversité et d'assurer une utilisation durable des ressources biologiques.

Éducation et sensibilisation

Article 13 - Les Parties contractantes :

a) Favorisent et encouragent une prise de conscience de l'importance de la conservation de la diversité biologique et des mesures nécessaires à cet effet […].

Convention sur la diversité biologique

Il a été démontré que l'éducation est le moyen le plus rentable de produire un changement social à long terme. Elle permet à chacun d'accorder son mode de vie et sa consommation avec les objectifs de conservation et d'utilisation durable des éléments de la biodiversité.

Il faudrait renforcer de bien des façons l'éducation relative à la biodiversité et la sensibilisation des collectivités afin de toucher les Canadiens partout au pays. Les thèmes de la biodiversité devraient être mis en valeur dans les programmes officiels d'enseignement, ainsi que dans des cadres extrascolaires comme les musées, zoos, aquariums, jardins botaniques, parcs et centres de la nature. La sensibilisation et l'éducation pourraient se faire par la voie des médias, des films ou des programmes interactifs d'ordinateurs.

Une grande partie des éléments qui composent la biodiversité du Canada se trouvent sur des terrains privés. Les programmes d'éducation destinés aux propriétaires fonciers et aux collectivités locales devront être adaptés aux besoins de ces publics essentiels.

L'éducation par l'exemple

Le ranch Antelope Creek a été créé en 1986 en vertu d'un partenariat entre le service albertain des pêches et de la faune, Canards illimités Canada et Habitat faunique Canada, pour démontrer que l'application de principes judicieux de gestion des parcours peut favoriser les terres, la faune, l'élevage et les loisirs.

Les citoyens détiennent des connaissances précieuses qui peuvent apporter beaucoup aux politiques, plans et programmes gouvernementaux. Les processus devraient être conçus de façon à permettre la participation pleine et constructive du public.

Orientations stratégiques :

  1. Élaborer et diffuser des programmes d'éducation et de sensibilisation en matière de biodiversité, soit :
    1. évaluer et contrôler les niveaux de compréhension et de connaissance du public concernant la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques afin de concevoir des programmes efficaces d'éducation et de sensibilisation comme de les cibler;
    2. intégrer dans les programmes d'enseignement scolaire des thèmes et des messages sur la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques;
    3. diffuser à plus vaste échelle les messages sur la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques en tirant parti des programmes d'interprétation existant déjà dans les parcs nationaux et provinciaux et autres zones protégées, ainsi que dans les bibliothèques, les musées, les zoos, les aquariums et les jardins botaniques;
    4. renforcer la coordination entre les établissements d'enseignement, les ministères, les musées, les zoos, les aquariums, les jardins botaniques, les entreprises, les groupes de conservation et les autres organisations.
  2. Développer le perfectionnement professionnel à l'intention de ceux qui donnent l'enseignement dans le domaine de l'environnement.

    Parcs provinciaux de l'AlbertaL'Alberta a établi des centres d'éducation environnementale, ou classes en plein air, dans ses parcs Fish Creek, Peter Lougheed et Dinosaur. L'Alberta a élaboré des outils pédagogiques pour tous ses parcs.

  3. Créer du matériel éducatif faisant ressortir les mesures qui peuvent être prises pour prévenir ou réduire les impacts sur les écosystèmes et les ressources biologiques.
  4. Par des rapports périodiques, des feuillets d'information, des réseaux électroniques et d'autres moyens de communication, sensibiliser davantage le public aux questions relatives à la biodiversité et son évolution, aux exigences de conservation et d'utilisation durable ainsi qu'aux améliorations de modalités de gestion des ressources.