Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Biodiversity Strategy

Indigenous Community Implementation

For thousands of years prior to the arrival of Europeans, indigenous people depended on the land and its natural resources to meet their physical, social, cultural and spiritual needs. Many indigenous communities continue to have an intimate cultural relationship with the land and its resources. Individuals in these communities possess a range of expertise that could significantly contribute to the conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources.

The existing aboriginal and treaty rights of the indigenous people of Canada are recognized and affirmed in the Constitution and by decisions of the Supreme Court. Agreements between governments and aboriginal authorities have led to the creation of cooperative management regimes for wildlife. Indigenous people have certain management authorities relating to the use of settlement and reserve lands and management of the resources on those lands. Through negotiated cooperative agreements, indigenous communities are assuming increased responsibility for the management of biological resources.

In 1987, the report of the World Commission on Environment and Development highlighted the importance of preserving the traditional knowledge and experience that exists within indigenous communities. The report stated that the loss of traditional knowledge and skills in sustainably managing complex ecosystems would be a loss to society. The Convention on Biological Diversity reinforces the need to respect, preserve and maintain the knowledge, innovations and practices of indigenous communities that relate to the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity.

Protecting Traditional Practices

Article 10:

Protect and encourage customary use of biological resources in accordance with traditional cultural practices that are compatible with conservation and sustainable use requirements.

Convention on Biological Diversity

Indigenous response to the Convention must be community-based and community-paced. This will require formulating local systems for preserving, using and regenerating traditional indigenous knowledge.

Strategic Directions:

  1. Indigenous communities develop an approach to implementing the Convention with a view to reflecting distinct indigenous values, social networks, traditional economies and cultures by:
    1. building on the current networking process of meetings, workshops and other consultation methods that enable indigenous communities to determine how they will contribute to the implementation of the Biodiversity Convention;
    2. demonstrating the role of indigenous knowledge and management in the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity, and establishing opportunities for indigenous communities to share their knowledge of biodiversity and the management of biological resources with non-indigenous communities;
    3. leading the development of community-based regimes designed to preserve traditional indigenous knowledge, innovations and practices and recognizing their potential economic, scientific, social and cultural values;

      The Beverly-Qamanirjuaq Caribou Management Board

      The Beverly-Qamanirjuaq Caribou Management Board was set up in the Northwest Territories in 1982 to provide a mechanism to incorporate the knowledge and values held by traditional caribou users into decision-making. The Board consists of representatives from eight user communities and five government jurisdictions. The success of the Board represents a practical example of the capability of co-management structures to integrate specialized knowledge held by traditional resource users with the scientific knowledge of biologists, leading to effective, efficient and fair management of the resource.

    4. establishing linkages with federal, provincial and territorial agencies responsible for implementing the Convention; and
    5. facilitating the maintenance of indigenous social and cultural traditions that support the communication of traditional knowledge and resource use methods among generations and communities.
  2. Encourage the development of an indigenous community analysis of the Convention with reference to "knowledge, innovations and practices of indigenous communities" by taking into account issues of intellectual property rights and the use of genetic resources. This analysis should emphasize ways in which knowledge and practices are applied in biodiversity conservation and examine how innovations can be protected by intellectual property rights.
  3. Examine ways in which indigenous groups can share their knowledge and experience, and develop joint programs with indigenous groups inside and outside Canada.

Symbole du Gouvernement du Canada

Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité

Collectivités autochtones

Pendant des milliers d'années, avant l'arrivée des Européens, les autochtones ont compté sur la terre et sur ses ressources naturelles pour combler leurs besoins matériels, sociaux, culturels et spirituels. Encore aujourd'hui, beaucoup vivent en relation étroite avec la terre et ses ressources. D'aucuns possèdent un vaste savoir qui pourrait contribuer largement à la conservation de la biodiversité et à l'utilisation durable de ses éléments.

Les droits ancestraux des autochtones du Canada et ceux qui leur ont été conférés par des traités ont été confirmés dans la Constitution canadienne et dans des jugements de la Cour suprême. Des ententes conclues entre les gouvernements et les autorités autochtones ont débouché sur des régimes de gestion coopérative des espèces sauvages. Les autochtones ont certains pouvoirs en ce qui concerne l'utilisation des terres qui leur sont conférées par des ententes et des terres des réserves, ainsi que la gestion des ressources qui s'y trouvent. Par des ententes de cogestion, les autochtones assument de plus en plus de responsabilités concernant les ressources biologiques.

En 1987, la Commission mondiale sur l'environnement et le développement soulignait dans son rapport l'importance de préserver les connaissances et les expériences traditionnelles des collectivités autochtones. Elle indiquait également que la disparition de ces connaissances et compétences en gestion durable d'écosystèmes complexes serait une perte pour la société. La Convention renforce la nécessité de respecter, préserver et maintenir les connaissances, les innovations et les pratiques des collectivités autochtones concernant la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable de ses éléments.

Protection des pratiques traditionnelles

Article 10 - Chaque Partie contractante […] :

Protège et encourage l'usage coutumier des ressources biologiques conformément aux pratiques culturelles traditionnelles compatibles avec les impératifs de leur conservation ou de leur utilisation durable;

Convention sur la diversité biologique

La réponse autochtone à la Convention doit venir des communautés et être menée à un rythme qui leur convient. Pour cela, les collectivités devront créer des mécanismes locaux pour protéger, utiliser et régénérer leurs connaissances traditionnelles.

Orientations stratégiques

  1. Faire que les collectivités autochtones définissent une approche de la mise en oeuvre de la Convention qui reflète leurs valeurs, leur tissu social ainsi que leur économie et culture traditionnelles, soit :
    1. s'appuyer sur le processus actuel de réseautage (réunions, ateliers et autres consultations), lequel permet aux collectivités autochtones de déterminer de quelle façon elles contribueront à la mise en oeuvre de la Convention;
    2. mettre en évidence le rôle que jouent les connaissances et les modes de gestion autochtones dans la conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable de ses éléments et créer pour les collectivités autochtones des occasions de partager leur savoir sur la biodiversité et la gestion des ressources biologiques avec les collectivités non autochtones;
    3. diriger la création de régimes communautaires de protection des connaissances, innovations et pratiques autochtones traditionnelles ainsi que reconnaître leur valeur économique, scientifique, sociale et culturelle;

      Conseil de gestion des caribous Beverly-Qamanirjuaq

      Le Conseil de gestion des caribous Beverly-Qamanirjuaq a été établi en 1982 dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest en vue de fournir un mécanisme pour tenir compte des connaissances et des valeurs des utilisateurs traditionnels de caribous dans la prise de décision. Le Conseil regroupe des représentants de huit communautés d'utilisateurs et de cinq instances gouvernementales. Le succès du Conseil constitue un exemple pratique de la capacité des structures de cogestion d'intégrer les connaissances spécialisées des utilisateurs traditionnels de ressource aux connaissances scientifiques des biologistes, afin d'assurer une gestion efficace, efficiente et équitable des ressources.

    4. établir des liens avec les organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux qui sont chargés de la mise en oeuvre de la Convention;
    5. faciliter le maintien des traditions sociales et culturelles autochtones qui appuient la transmission, de génération en génération et d'une collectivité à une autre, des connaissances et des pratiques traditionnelles concernant l'utilisation des ressources biologiques.
  2. Encourager les collectivités autochtones à faire, de la mention des « connaissances, innovations et pratiques des communautés autochtones » dans la Convention, une analyse qui tienne compte des questions de droits de propriété intellectuelle et d'utilisation des ressources génétiques. Cette analyse devrait mettre l'accent sur les moyens d'appliquer les connaissances et les pratiques à la conservation de la biodiversité et examiner comment les innovations peuvent être protégées par des droits de propriété intellectuelle.
  3. Étudier des façons pour permettre aux groupes autochtones de partager leurs connaissances et leur expérience, et réaliser des programmes conjoints avec eux, ici comme à l'étranger.