Symbol of the Government of Canada

Canadian Biodiversity Strategy

A Vision For Canada

Canadians are privileged to live in one of the largest and most beautiful countries in the world ­ a rich tapestry of landscapes and waterscapes ranging from arctic tundra and prairie grasslands to ancient temperate rainforests, the Great Lakes region, abundant fresh rivers, streams and ponds, and rocky coastal reefs, all supporting life of many descriptions. With this privilege comes the responsibility to care for this inheritance on behalf of the global community. By acting with wisdom and prudence today, we will leave to future generations a world in balance, capable of sustaining and enriching life.

Our Vision

A society that lives and develops as part of nature, values the diversity of life, takes no more than can be replenished and leaves to future generations a nurturing and dynamic world, rich in its biodiversity.

Guiding Principles

  • Biodiversity has ecological, economic, social, cultural and intrinsic values.
  • All life forms, including humans, are ultimately connected to all other life forms.
  • All Canadians depend on biodiversity and have a responsibility to contribute to biodiversity conservation and to use biological resources in a sustainable manner.
  • All Canadians should be encouraged to understand and appreciate the value of biodiversity and to participate in decisions involving the use of our air, water, land and other resources.
  • An ecological approach to resource management is central to conserving biodiversity and using our biological resources in a sustainable manner.
  • Development decisions must reflect ecological, economic, social and cultural values.
  • Healthy, evolving ecosystems and the maintenance of natural processes are prerequisites for the in situ conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources.
  • Ex situ measures may be required to support the conservation of some species and populations and are essential to ensuring the sustainable use of many agricultural, forest and aquatic resources.
  • The knowledge, innovations and practices of indigenous and local communities should be respected, and their use and maintenance carried out with the support and involvement of these communities.
  • The conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources should be carried out using the best knowledge available and approaches refined as new knowledge is gained.
  • The conservation of biodiversity and the sustainable use of biological resources requires local, regional, provincial, territorial, national and global cooperation and a sharing of knowledge, costs and benefits.

The Use of Key Terms

Several explanations of terms are provided below to enhance the understanding of the directions contained in the Strategy. A more complete listing of definitions is contained in the Glossary.

The Convention does not define conservation. In the Strategy, conservation of biodiversity means managing human uses of the Earth's resources in order to maintain ecosystem, species and genetic diversity and the evolutionary and other processes that shaped them. Conservation includes the option to use resources. Conservation of biodiversity allows natural ecological processes such as evolutionary processes including extinction and speciation and maintains biological, chemical and physical processes and the natural species and genetic diversity that result from these processes. Changes to the composition and structure of ecosystems, the extinction of species and changes in the genetic diversity of any one species are natural processes which occur over time. It is not the intent of conservation to increase biodiversity through the release of alien organisms . Conservation of biodiversity requires us to eliminate or reduce adverse impacts to biodiversity that result from human activity.

In the Strategy, sustainable use is defined as "the use of components of biological diversity in a way and at a rate that does not lead to the long-term decline of biological diversity, thereby maintaining its potential to meet the needs and aspirations of present and future generations".

The Convention notes that "the fundamental requirement for the conservation of biological diversity is the in situ conservation of ecosystems and natural habitats and the maintenance and recovery of viable populations of species in their natural surroundings. " The Strategy emphasizes in situ conservation to allow evolutionary and other ecological processes to continue unimpaired. However, emphasis on in situ conservation is not intended to downplay the vital role of ex situ conservation . Ex situ conservation is defined in the Strategy as the conservation of components of biodiversity outside their natural habitats. In some circumstances, ex situ conservation offers the only chance of survival for some species-at-risk, and has an essential role to play in conserving economically valuable genetic resources, particularly for forest, aquatic and agricultural resources and the development of medicines.

Ecological management (sometimes called ecosystem management or an ecological approach to management) is essential to achieving the goals of the Strategy. It is defined in the Strategy as the management of human activities so that ecosystems, their structure, composition and function, and the processes that shaped them can continue at appropriate temporal and spatial scales. Ecological management requires an understanding of ecosystems and the impacts and implications of human activities. impacts and implications of human activities.

Symbole du Gouvernement du Canada

Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité

Une vision pour le Canada

Les Canadiens ont le privilège de vivre dans un des plus grands et plus beaux pays du monde. Véritable mosaïque de paysages terrestres et aquatiques qui s'étendent de la toundra arctique à la prairie, en passant par les vieilles forêts des zones tempérées, la région des Grands Lacs, les innombrables cours d'eau, des plus majestueux aux plus petits, et les côtes rocheuses accidentées, le Canada permet la vie à une multitude d'organismes les plus divers. Ce privilège s'accompagne toutefois de la responsabilité de prendre soin de ce patrimoine au nom de la collectivité mondiale. En faisant preuve aujourd'hui de prudence et de sagesse, nous léguerons aux générations futures un monde bien équilibré, capable de soutenir et d'enrichir la vie.

Notre vision

Une société qui vit et évolue en harmonie avec la nature, qui apprécie la vie sous toutes ses formes, qui ne prend de la nature que ce qu'elle peut donner sans s'appauvrir et qui laisse aux générations futures un monde dynamique, nourricier, riche dans sa diversité biologique.

Principes directeurs

  • Outre sa valeur intrinsèque, la biodiversité a une valeur écologique, économique, sociale et culturelle.
  • Toutes les formes de vie, y compris les humains, sont ultimement reliées à toutes les autres formes de vie.
  • Tous les Canadiens sont tributaires de la biodiversité et ont la responsabilité de contribuer à sa conservation et à l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques.
  • Tous les Canadiens devraient être encouragés à comprendre la biodiversité et à en apprécier la valeur, ainsi qu'à participer aux décisions touchant l'utilisation de l'air, de l'eau, des terres et des autres ressources.
  • Une approche écologique de la gestion des ressources est fondamentale à la conservation de la biodiversité et à l'utilisation durable de nos ressources biologiques.
  • Les décisions de développement doivent tenir compte des valeurs écologiques, économiques, sociales et culturelles.
  • Le maintien d'écosystèmes sains et en évolution, ainsi que la préservation des processus naturels sont nécessaires à la conservation in situ de la biodiversité et à l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques.
  • Des mesures ex situ peuvent être nécessaires pour appuyer la conservation de certaines espèces et de certaines populations, et sont essentielles pour assurer l'utilisation durable d'un grand nombre de ressources agricoles, forestières et aquatiques.
  • Il faudrait respecter les connaissances, les innovations et les pratiques des collectivités autochtones et locales, de même que les utiliser et les préserver avec l'appui et la participation de ces collectivités.
  • La conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques devraient s'effectuer à l'aide des meilleures connaissances disponibles et d'approches capables d'évoluer avec l'acquisition de nouvelles connaissances.
  • La conservation de la biodiversité et l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques exigent une coopération locale, régionale, provinciale, territoriale, nationale et mondiale, ainsi que le partage des connaissances, des coûts et des avantages.

Usage des termes clés

Pour aider le lecteur à mieux comprendre les orientations énoncées dans la Stratégie, voici quelques définitions, dont une liste plus complète est donnée dans le Glossaire (ci-après).

La Convention ne définit pas la conservation. Dans la Stratégie, l'expression conservation de la biodiversité s'entend d'une gestion de l'utilisation des ressources de la Terre par les humains qui se fait de manière à préserver la diversité des écosystèmes, des espèces et des gènes ainsi que les processus évolutifs et autres qui les ont façonnés. La conservation suppose l'option d'utiliser les ressources. Par la conservation de la biodiversité, on permet que se produisent les phénomènes écologiques naturels que sont par exemple l'extinction et la spéciation et on préserve les processus biologiques, chimiques et physiques, ainsi que les espèces et la diversité génétique naturelles qui résultent de ces phénomènes. L'évolution de la composition et de la structure des écosystèmes, la disparition d'espèces et les fluctuations de la diversité génétique d'une espèce quelconque sont des phénomènes naturels qui se produisent au fil du temps. La conservation n'a pas pour objet d'accroître la biodiversité au moyen de l'introduction d'organismes étrangers, mais nous oblige à éliminer ou à réduire les effets nuisibles que notre activité a sur elle.

Dans la Stratégie, utilisation durable s'entend de « l'utilisation des éléments constitutifs de la diversité biologique d'une manière et à un rythme qui n'entraînent pas leur déclin à long terme, sauvegardant ainsi leur capacité de satisfaire aux besoins et aux aspirations des générations présentes et futures ».

Dans la Convention, il est noté que « la conservation de la diversité biologique exige essentiellement la conservation in situ des écosystèmes et des habitats naturels ainsi que le maintien et la reconstitution de populations viables d'espèces dans leur milieu naturel ». La Stratégie met l'accent sur la conservation in situ afin de laisser les processus évolutifs et autres phénomènes écologiques se dérouler normalement. Cependant, la conservation in situ ne doit pas minimiser le rôle vital de la conservation ex situ. Le terme conservation ex situ est défini dans la Stratégie comme étant la conservation d'éléments de biodiversité hors de leur habitat naturel. Dans certaines circonstances, ce type de conservation offre la seule chance de survie pour certaines espèces en péril et a un rôle essentiel à jouer dans la conservation de ressources génétiques de grande importance économique, en particulier les ressources forestières, aquatiques et agricoles, et pour la recherche pharmaceutique.

La gestion écologique (qu'on appelle parfois gestion écosystémique ou approche écologique de la gestion) est essentielle à l'atteinte des objectifs de la Stratégie. Elle s'entend, dans la présente Stratégie, d'une gestion de l'activité humaine qui préserve, à une échelle temporelle et spatiale appropriée, les écosystèmes, leur composition, leur fonctionnement et les processus qui les ont façonnés. La gestion écologique exige une bonne connaissance des écosystèmes et des conséquences de l'activité humaine.