Symbol of the Government of Canada

Arts Community

Biodiversity-themed artistic expression explores, critiques, and celebrates cultural experience of the natural environment.

Some of Canada's most famed literary and artistic endeavours, including visual and performing arts, films and television programs about nature, and numerous others share a foundation in human celebration of biodiversity and healthy ecosystems.

Biodiversity Buzz

Have you made an artistic contribution to Canada's social and cultural awareness of issues surrounding biodiversity? Do you have related goals for the UN Decade on Biodiversity and beyond? If so, we want to hear them. Share your story.


Painting a New World is a non-profit organization founded by Agnes and Andre Chatelain. They have designed an art project called "The Gift of Art" in Canadian schools which engages students by using murals as a medium for expression and fundraising. The yearly themes are based on United Nations Decade on Biodiversity (UNDB) 2011-2020.

La communauté artistique

Des œuvres artistiques ayant pour thème la biodiversité traitent et font la critique de l'expérience culturelle de l'environnement naturel. Elles célèbrent aussi cette expérience.

Quelques-unes des plus grandes productions littéraires et artistiques du Canada, y compris les arts visuels et du spectacle, les documentaires et les émissions de télévision sur la nature, sont fondées sur la célébration humaine de la biodiversité et des écosystèmes sains.

Branchés sur la biodiversité

Avez-vous apporté une contribution artistique pour accroître la prise de conscience sociale et culturelle des Canadiennes et Canadiens aux enjeux reliés à la biodiversité? Vous êtes-vous fixé des buts connexes pour la Décennie des Nations Unies pour la biodiversité et après? Partagez votre histoire.


Peindre un Nouveau Monde est une organisation sans but lucratif fondée par Agnès et André Chatelain. Ils ont conçu un projet artistique appelé "Le don de l'art" dédié aux écoles canadiennes, qui engage les étudiants en utilisant des murales comme moyen d'expression et de collecte de fonds. Les thèmes annuels sont basés sur ceux de la Décennie des Nations Unies pour la biodiversité (DNUB) 2011-2020.