Forests

Status and Trends
extent unchanged in most places
Healthy, little change
quality, such as intactness and age class distribution, declining
Concern, getting worse at a slow to moderate rate
improved temporal coverage required
Medium confidence in finding

KEY FINDING 1. At a national level, the extent of forests has changed little since 1990; at a regional level, loss of forest extent is significant in some places. The structure of some Canadian forests, including species composition, age classes, and size of intact patches of forest, has changed over longer time frames.

This key finding is divided into five sections:

Forests are dynamic and diverse ecosystems, where complex interactions occur between species and ecological processes, from below ground to high in the canopy. Forests are important to biodiversity because they provide habitat for a wide array of plant and animal species from microorganisms to large mammals and because they are a pool of genetic diversity. It is estimated that approximately two–thirds of the species in Canada are associated with forests for at least part of their life cycle.1, 2 Forests also provide ecosystem services, including the regulation of water flow across the landscape, erosion control, water purification, climate stabilization, and immense economic benefits.

Percent of forest area by ecozones+
% of total area with tree cover
Map: Percent of forest area by ecozones+. Click for graphic description (new window).
Sources:
1. land cover map – Ahern et al., 201011
2. % treed by ecozone+ – National Forest Inventory, 20105
3. boreal zone - adapted from Brandt, 20091

Forest types

There are two forest bioclimatic zones in Canada - boreal and temperate. Each zone possesses a unique geography, vegetation, climate, soil, and wildlife. Canada has approximately 24 and 15% of the world's boreal and temperate forests,3-5 and 9% of the world's total forest cover.4 The boreal forest stretches across eight ecozones+ (see map). It is the largest contiguous forest ecosystem on Earth, and Canada's largest biome, covering 25% of its total land area and 72% of its total forest area.1

Spruce forests dominate all boreal forest ecozones+.5 Black spruce forests are of particular ecological significance because of their nearly continuous ground cover of lichens, feather mosses, and sphagnum mosses. Lichens are critical forage for wintering migratory caribou herds and mosses provide habitat for a number of species. In northern Quebec, 9% of the dense black spruce forest has shifted to lichen-woodland systems over the past 50 years.6 The proportion of the boreal forest that is dominated by spruce has decreased in the managed forest portion of Ontario's Boreal Shield,7 and in the southern part of Manitoba's Boreal Shield.8 Spruce is also declining outside the boreal forest.9,10

The temperate forest stretches across six ecozones+ and tree species are more variable. Dominant species include spruce and maple in the Atlantic Maritime, deciduous species in the Carolinian forest of the Mixedwood Plains, spruce and pine in the Montane Cordillera, and hemlock in the Pacific Maritime.5

Globe

Global Trends

About 130,000 km2 of forest was lost each year in the last decade. This compares to 160,000 km2 lost in the 1990s.4 From 1990 to 2005, 3.1% of the world's forests were lost.12

Return to Table of Contents

Photo: boreal forest © Canadian Forest Service
Boreal Forest

Deforestation

Area (km2)
Graph: deforestation. Click for graphic description (new window).
Note: This graph depicts deforestation – the area of forest converted to other land cover types. As it does not include the area converted from other land types to forests, it is not a depiction of net change in forest area.
Source: adapted from Environment Canada, 200913 and Natural Resources Canada, 200814

The total forest area in Canada is approximately 3.48 million km2.15 From 1990 to 2007, the annual area deforested – permanently converted from forests to other land cover – ranged from 482 to 760 km2, an annual rate of deforestation of 0.01 to 0.02%. This is a very small loss when compared to the global rate of deforestation and the extent of Canada's forests.12, 16 Trends in total forest area, including afforestation – the expansion of forests into other land cover types - cannot be calculated from available data. Conversion of forest land to cropland, resource roads, transmission lines, oil and gas development, urban development, and flooding for new hydro reservoirs, contributes to deforestation.13 The rate of deforestation is small at a national level, but it can be significant in some regions. For example, 45% of the highly forested coastal Douglas fir zone in B.C. has been converted to other land cover types.17 A small amount of afforestation is occurring in the Ontario portion of the Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+, where forest cover has rebounded from a low of 11% in the 1920s to an average of 22% today.18

Return to Table of Contents

Changes in the treeline zone

The term "treeline" is deceptive – there is not a sharp line where trees end, but rather a zone of transition from increasingly sparse trees to tundra. Treeline zones in Canada are both latitudinal, across the north of the country, and altitudinal, on the slopes of hills and mountains. The emerging picture is one of change, but not a uniform expansion of the treeline. In northern Quebec, trees in the forest-tundra zone have grown faster and taller since the 1970s19 but distribution of trees has not changed greatly.20 In Labrador, treelines have expanded northward and up slopes over the past 50 years along the coast, but not inland.21 In the mountains of northwestern Canada, tree growth and density have changed more than the position of alpine treelines.22

Vegetation changes in the treeline zone of western Canada
1985 to 2006
Graph: vegetation changes in the treeline zone. Click for graphic description (new window).
Mean change across the zone over 22 years based on analysis of early spring and summer satellite images.
Source: data from Olthof and Pouliot, 201023

A study on the treeline in western Canada found only a small net increase in tree cover, but major changes in vegetation within the treeline zone. Tree cover increased in the northern half of the zone, but this was mainly offset by decreases in the southern half, especially west of the Mackenzie Delta – likely related to drier conditions due to higher temperatures.24 The biggest changes were an increase in shrubs and, in the northwest of the treeline zone, a replacement of lichen cover and bare land with small, non–woody plants (herbs).

Since 1900, treeline has advanced at 52% of the 166 sites examined around the world and has receded at only 1% of the sites.25

Return to Table of Contents

Photo: Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador © iStock.com/Mmac72
Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador

Intactness of Canada's landscapes

Canada is one of the few countries that still have large tracts of forests, relatively undisturbed by human activity, that are believed to contain most of their native biodiversity. Just how intact Canada's forests are depends on how they are measured and, as Long et al.26 point out, measuring intactness, or its corollary, fragmentation, can be complex. Global Forest Watch measured intact landscapes as undisturbed areas, free from human impact, and at least 50 km2 in size for the boreal and taiga forest ecozones, and 10 km2 for temperate forest ecozones.27 B.C. defined intact coastal rainforests as undisturbed landscapes greater than 500 km2.17 The Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute has taken a different approach, measuring intactness as a percentage of what would be expected in a pristine habitat.28

Global Forest Watch has published the only national perspective on intactness (see map) concluding that almost 50% of Canada's total land area, and more than 50% of the area of Canada's forested ecozones, consist of intact forest landscapes. This includes 94% of the northern boreal ecozones (using the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada classification system29) – Taiga Cordillera, Boreal Cordillera, Hudson Plains, and Taiga Shield – and 73% of the Taiga Plains. The southern boreal regions are more impacted by human activities. Thirty-seven percent of the Boreal Plains remains as intact forest landscapes. About 42% of the temperate forest ecozones remains as intact forest landscapes. Ninety percent of this area is in B.C., the remainder is in Alberta.27 In North America, the only remaining intact coastal temperate rainforest is in B.C. and Alaska. Approximately one-third of B.C.'s remaining coastal temperate rainforest is intact, in patches greater than 500 km2.17

Map: Intactness of Canada's landscapes. Click for graphic description (new window).
Note: Intact landscapes are defined as >50 km2, for the boreal forest,and >10 km2 for the temperate forest.
Sources: adapted from Lee et al., 201027

Forest fragmentation occurs when large, continuous forests are broken up into smaller patches. It can result from human activities such as clearing for agriculture, urbanization, oil and gas exploration, and roads,30 as well as from natural processes such as fire and insect infestations.31, 32 Natural disturbance is discussed elsewhere in this report; the discussion here focuses only on fragmentation from human activities. The impact of forest fragmentation by human activities is dependant on the species and the spatial scale. Impacts can include: declines in neotropical migrant and resident birds requiring interior forest habitat;33 declines in species with large area requirements, such as grizzly bear and caribou; increases in species that prefer to browse along forest edges, such as moose; increased exposure of interior forest species to predators and parasites; disruption of social structure of some species34 and barriers to dispersal.30 Sustainable forest practices can be designed to mitigate the effects of fragmentation.

Intactness of old forest habitat in Alberta-Pacific Forest Management Area

Percent intact
Graph: intactness of old forest habitat in Alberta-Pacific Forest Management Area. Click for graphic description (new window).
 
Source: adapted from Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute, 200928
 

The Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute measured habitat intactness and the human footprint of the Alberta-Pacific Forest Management Area (Al-Pac FMA). This area encompasses 57,331 km2,28 and makes up 9.5% of the Boreal Plains ecozone+.5 Old-forest habitat in the Al-Pac FMA is 92% intact. That is, it occupies 92% of the area that it would be expected to occupy if there were no human impacts. The human footprint index shows that human influence is evident in 7% of the Al-Pac FMA. Most of the human footprint is due to forestry, energy and transportation infrastructure. Half of the forestry footprint was created in the last 10 years.28

 

Return to Table of Contents

Shift from late-succession to early-succession forests

Much of the Canadian landscape was dominated by old forests when European settlement began, although natural disturbance from fires and insects ensured a range of age classes was found across the forested landscape. Old forests have greater structural diversity, complexity, and biodiversity than young forests, but the characteristics of old forests depend on the species and the site history.17, 35 The age at onset of old-growth characteristics varies with disturbance regimes, forest types, and site characteristics.35 For example, in the boreal forest, the age of old–growth stands ranges from about 80 to more than 300 years.36 In Nova Scotia, the government defines old-growth forests as over 125 years of age.35 In the B.C. interior, old-growth forests are defined as 120 to 140 years; on the coast, definitions vary from greater than 140 to greater than 250 years.17, 37, 38 A shift from old to young forests has been observed in some managed forests across the country, such as in the Atlantic Maritime,39 and Boreal Plains.36 In the Newfoundland Boreal40 and Pacific Maritime38 ecozones+ old forests still cover 40% of the forested area and it is assumed that old forests still dominate in the Hudson Plains, where human disturbance is minimal and natural disturbance regimes do not appear to have changed.

Extent of old forests

Map and graphs: extent of old forests in various locations in Canada. Click for graphic description (new window).
Note: age and size class distributions are affected by both natural and human disturbances.
Sources (clockwise, starting with Alberta): Timoney, 2003,36 Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Natural Resources, 2009,40 Pannozza and Coleman, 2008,39 Ministère des Ressources naturelles et Faune du Quebec, 2010,41 B.C. Ministry of Environment, 200638

Return to Table of Contents

Forêts

État et tendances
superficie inchangée dans la plupart des endroits
Sain, changement faible
qualité des forêts, comme l'intégrité et la distribution des classes d'âge, en déclin
Préoccupant, empire lentement ou modérément
amélioration de la couverture temporelle requise
Fiabilité de la constatation moyenne

Constatation clé 1 : Sur le plan national, la superficie que couvrent les forêts a peu changé depuis 1990; sur le plan régional, la réduction de l'aire des forêts est considérable à certains endroits. La structure de certaines forêts du Canada, y compris la composition des espèces, les classes d'âge et la taille des étendues forestières intactes, a subi des changements sur des périodes de référence plus longues.

Cette constatation clé est divisée en cinq parties :

Les forêts sont des écosystèmes dynamiques et diversifiés où se produisent des interactions complexes entre les espèces et les processus environnementaux, en partant des structures souterraines jusqu'au-dessus de la voûte forestière. Les forêts sont importantes pour la biodiversité, car elles fournissent un habitat à un vaste éventail de plantes et d'espèces animales, des micro-organismes aux grands mammifères, et elles constituent un réservoir de diversité génétique. On estime qu'environ deux tiers des espèces au Canada sont associées aux forêts pendant au moins une partie de leur cycle de vie1, 2. Les forêts offrent également des services écosystémiques, notamment la régularisation du débit d'eau dans le paysage, le contrôle de l'érosion, la purification de l'eau, la stabilisation du climat et d’immenses bénéfices économiques.

Couvert forestier par écozone+
% du couvert forestier total
Carte : Couvert forestier par écozone+. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Sources :
1. Carte – Ahern, 201011.
2. % de forêt+– Inventaire forestier national du Canada, 20105.
3. Zone boréale – adapté de Brandt, 20101.

Types de forêts

Il existe deux zones forestières bioclimatiques au Canada – la zone boréale et la zone tempérée. Chaque zone possède une géographie, une végétation, un climat, un sol et des espèces sauvages uniques. Le Canada possède respectivement 24 % et 15% des forêts boréales et tempérées mondiales3-5, et 9 % du couvert forestier total mondial4. La forêt boréale s'étend sur huit écozones+ (voir la carte). C’est le plus grand écosystème forestier contigu de la planète et le plus grand biome du Canada, couvrant 25 % de la superficie terrestre totale du Canada et 72 % de sa superficie forestière totale1.

Les forêts d'épinettes dominent toutes les écozones+ forestières boréales5. Les forêts d'épinettes noires ont une importance écologique particulière, en raison de leur couverture végétale presque continue de mousses hypnacées, de sphaigne et de lichens – un fourrage essentiel pour les hardes de caribous migrateurs en hivernage et un habitat pour diverses espèces. Dans le nord du Québec, 9 % des forêts denses d'épinettes noires sont devenues des systèmes de forêts à lichens ces cinquante dernières années6. La proportion de forêt boréale dominée par l'épinette a diminué dans la portion des forêts gérées du bouclier boréal de l'Ontario7, ainsi que dans la partie sud du bouclier boréal du Manitoba8. L’épinette est également en déclin à l’extérieur de la forêt boréale9, 10.

La forêt tempérée s'étend sur six écozones+ et les espèces d'arbres sont plus variées. Dans l'écozone maritime de l'Atlantique, les espèces dominantes sont l'épinette et l'érable, dans la forêt carolinienne des plaines à forêts mixtes, ce sont les espèces décidues, dans la cordillère montagnarde, ce sont l'épinette et le pin, et dans l'écozone+ maritime du Pacifique, c'est la pruche qui domine11.

Monde

Tendances mondiales

Durant la dernière décennie, environ 130 000 km2 de forêts sont perdus annuellement, en comparaison des 160 000 km2 perdus dans les années 19904. De 1990 à 2005, 3,1 % des forêts du monde ont disparu13.

Retournez à la table des matières

Photo : Forêt boréale © Service canadien des forêts
Forêt boréale

Déforestation

Superficie (km2)
Graphe: Déforestation. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Remarque : Ce graphique montre la déforestation (superficie forestière convertie en d'autres types d'occupation du sol). Comme il n'inclut pas la superficie convertie en forêt à partir d'autres types de couverture terrestre, il ne représente pas un changement net dans la superficie forestière.
Sources : Adapté d'Environnement Canada, 200913; Ressources naturelles Canada, 200814.

La superficie forestière totale au Canada15 s'élève à environ 3,48 millions de km2. De 1990 à 2007, la superficie déboisée annuellement (c'est-à-dire affectée de façon permanente à d'autres utilisations du sol) s'établissait à 482 à 760 km2, un tauxannuel de déforestation de 0,01 à 0,02 %. Ce pourcentage est très faible par rapport au taux mondial de déforestation et à la superficie forestière totale du Canada12, 16. Les tendances dans la superficie forestière totale, incluant l'afforestation (boisement d'autres types de couverture terrestre), sont impossibles à calculer à partir des données disponibles.

La conversion de terres forestières pour l'agriculture, les routes d'accès aux ressources naturelles, les lignes de transmission, le développement de l'exploitation du pétrole et du gaz, le développement urbain et leur inondation pour de nouveaux réservoirs hydroélectriques contribuent à la déforestation13. Le taux de déforestation est faible à l'échelle nationale, mais il peut être élevé dans certaines régions. Par exemple, 45 % des forêts côtières denses de pins de Douglas en Colombie-Britannique ont été converties en d'autres types d'occupations du sol17. Par ailleurs, la portion de l'écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes de l'Ontario connaît une faible afforestation, en passant d'un couvert forestier de 11 % dans les années 1920 à 22 % de nos jours18.

Retournez à la table des matières

Changements dans la zone des limites forestières

L'expression « limite forestière » est trompeuse - il n'y a pas de ligne nette là où la limite des arbres se termine, mais plutôt une transition d'arbres de plus en plus épars jusqu'à la toundra. Les zones des limites forestières au Canada sont à la fois latitudinales, dans le nord du pays, et altitudinales, sur les flancs de collines et de montagnes. L'image qui s'impose est celle du changement, mais pas une expansion uniforme des limites forestières. Dans le nord du Québec, les arbres de la zone forestière de la toundra grandissent plus rapidement, et leur taille est plus importante depuis les années 197019, mais la distribution des arbres n'a pas énormément changé20. Au Labrador, les limites forestières se sont étendues vers le nord et le haut des collines ces 50 dernières années le long de la côte, mais pas à l'intérieur des terres21. Dans les montagnes du nord-ouest du Canada, la croissance et la densité des arbres ont changé davantage par rapport à la position des limites forestières alpines22.

Changements de végétation dans le zone des limites forestières du Canada occidental
De 1985 à 2006
Graphe : Changements de végétation dans la zone des limites forestières. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Changements moyens survenus dans la zone sur 22 ans, d'après l'analyse d'images satellitaires au début du printemps et en été.
Source : Données tirées de Olthof et Pouliot, 201023.

Une étude réalisée sur les limites forestières dans l'ouest du Canada n'a révélé qu'une petite augmentation nette du couvert arboré, mais des changements majeurs dans la végétation au sein de la zone de limite forestière. Le couvert arboré augmentait dans la moitié nord de la zone, mais ce phénomène était essentiellement compensé par des diminutions dans la partie sud, surtout à l'ouest du delta du Mackenzie - probablement en raison des conditions plus sèches causées par des températures plus élevées24. Les plus grands changements étaient une augmentation des arbustes et, au nordouest de la zone de la limite forestière, un remplacement de la couverture de lichens et de terrains nus par de petites plantes non graminoïdes (plantes herbacées).

Depuis 1900, la limite forestière a progressé à 52 % parmi les 166 sites examinés dans le monde et elle a diminué sur seulement 1 % des sites25.

Retournez à la table des matières

Photo : Parc national du Canada du Gros-Morne, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador © iStock.com/Mmac72
Parc national du Canada du Gros-Morne, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Intégrité des paysages du Canada

Le Canada est l'un des rares pays qui possède encore de vastes parcelles de forêts relativement non touchées par l'activité humaine, et on estime qu'elles contiennent la plupart de leur biodiversité naturelle. Le degré d'intégrité des forêts canadiennes dépend de la façon dont les évaluations sont réalisées et, comme le soulignent Long et  al.26, l'évaluation de l'intégrité, ou son corollaire, la fragmentation, peut être complexe. L'Observatoire mondial des forêts a caractérisé des paysages intacts comme des régions non détériorées, n'ayant pas subi d'impact anthropique, d'au moins 50 km2 pour les forêts des écozones boréales et de la taiga, et d'au moins 10 km2 pour les forêts tempérées27. La Colombie–Britannique a défini les forêts ombrophiles côtières intactes17 comme des paysages non détériorés de plus de 500 km2. L'Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute a adopté cependant une approche différente, en mesurant l'intégrité comme un pourcentage de ce qu'on attendrait d'un habitat vierge28.

L’Observatoire mondial des forêts a publié la seule perspective nationale sur l’intégrité (voir la carte) et il en a conclu que plus de 50 % du paysage total du Canada et plus de 50 % de la superficie des écozones boisées consistent en paysages forestiers intacts. Ceci inclut 94 % des écozones boréales septentrionales (à partir du système de classification des écozones terrestres du Canada)29 – taïga de la Cordillère, Cordillère boréale, plaines hudsoniennes, de la taïga du Bouclier et 73 % de la taïga des plaines. Les régions boréales plus au sud subissent plus les impacts de l’activité humaine. Trente-sept pour cent des plaines boréales et environ 42 % des écozones de forêts tempérées demeurent intactes en tant que paysages forestiers – 90 % de ces dernières se trouvent en Colombie-Britannique, et le reste, en Alberta27. En Amérique du Nord, la seule forêt ombrophile tempérée côtière intacte qui reste se trouve en Colombie-Britannique et en Alaska. Environ le tiers de la forêt tempérée ombrophile côtière qui reste est intact17, par parcelles de plus de 500 km2.

Carte : Intégrité des paysages du Canada. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Remarque : Les paysages intacts sont définis comme ayant > 50 km2 pour la forêt boréale et > 10 km2 pour la forêt tempérée.
Source : Adapté de Lee et al., 201027.

La fragmentation des forêts se produit lorsque de grandes forêts continues sont fractionnées en parcelles de plus petite taille. Elle peut être le résultat d’activités humaines comme la déforestation pour l’agriculture, l’urbanisation, les activités d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, et les routes30, ainsi que de processus naturels tels que les incendies et les infestations d’insectes31, 32. Les perturbations naturelles font l’objet d’une autre section; la présente section ne porte que sur la fragmentation causée par les activités humaines. Les répercussions de la fragmentation des forêts par les activités humaines dépendent de l’espèce et de l’échelle spatiale. Ces répercussions peuvent être les suivantes : diminution des oiseaux migrateurs et résidants néotropicaux nécessitant un habitat forestier à l’intérieur des terres33; déclin des espèces requérant de grands habitats, par exemple le grizzli et le caribou; augmentation des espèces préférant brouter à la lisière des forêts, notamment l’orignal; augmentation de l’exposition des espèces de l’intérieur des forêts aux prédateurs et aux parasites; bouleversement de la structure sociale de certaines espèces34 et obstacles à la dispersion30. Foresterie durable peuvent être conçus pour atténuer les effets de la fragmentation.

Intégrité d’une forêt ancienne dans la zone de gestion forestière de l’Alberta-Pacific

Pourcentage d’intégrité
Graphe: Intégrité d’une forêt ancienne dans la zone de gestion forestière de l’Alberta-Pacific. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
 
Source : Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute, 200928
 

L’Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute a mesuré l’intégrité de l’habitat et l’empreinte écologique de l’homme sur la zone de gestion forestière de l’Alberta-Pacific (Al-Pac). Cette zone s’étend sur 57 331 km2 28, et constitue jusqu’à 9,5 % de l’écozone+ des plaines boréales5.

La forêt ancienne dans la zone de gestion forestière de l’Al-Pac est intacte à 92 %, c’est-à-dire qu’elle occupe 92 % de la superficie qu’elle serait supposée occuper s’il n’y avait pas d’impacts d’origine humaine. L’indice d’empreinte écologique montre que l’influence humaine est évidente dans 7 % de la zone de l’Al-Pac. La majeure partie de l’empreinte écologique de l’homme est due à l’exploitation forestière, aux infrastructures énergétiques et au transport. La moitié de l’empreinte écologique de l’homme sur la forêt a été créée durant les dix dernières années28.

Retournez à la table des matières

Modification des forêts de fin de succession en forêts au stade pionnier

Le paysage canadien était dominé par des forêts anciennes lorsque la colonisation européenne a commencé, même si les perturbations naturelles causées par les incendies et les insectes assuraient un éventail des catégories d’âge dans le paysage. En général, les forêts anciennes ont une diversité, une complexité et une biodiversité structurelles accrues par rapport aux forêts jeunes, mais les caractéristiques des forêts plus âgées dépendent de l’espèce et de l’historique du site17, 35. De même, l’âge au début des caractéristiques d’une forêt ancienne varie en fonction du type de forêt et du site35. Par exemple, dans la forêt boréale, l’âge des peuplements anciens va d’environ 80 à plus de 300 ans36. En Nouvelle-Écosse, le gouvernement définit les forêts anciennes comme ayant plus de 125 ans35. En Colombie-Britannique, les forêts anciennes de l’intérieur sont définies comme ayant 120 à 140 ans, et sur la côte, les définitions varient entre 140 ans et plus de 250 ans17, 37, 38. Un glissement des forêts anciennes en faveur de jeunes forêts a été observé dans tout le pays, comme dans l’écozone+ maritime de l’Atlantique39 et dans celle des plaines boréales36.

Dans la zone boréale de Terre-Neuve40 et l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique38, les forêts anciennes couvrent encore 40 % de la superficie forestière, et on présume que les forêts anciennes dominent encore les plaines hudsoniennes, où les perturbations anthropiques sont minimes et où les régimes de perturbations naturelles ne semblent pas avoir changé.

Étendue des forêts anciennes

Carte et graphiques : Étendue de vieilles forêts à divers endroits du Canada. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Remarque : Les distributions des classes d’âge et de taille sont touchées à la fois par les perturbations d’origine naturelle et anthropique.
Sources (dans le sens des aiguilles d’une montre, en commençant par l’Alberta) : Timoney, 200336; Newfoundland Labrador Department of Natural Resources, 200940; Pannozza et Coleman, 200839, Ministère des Ressources Naturelles et de la Faune de Québec, 201041; Ministère de l’Environnement, 200638.

Retournez à la table des matières