Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 15. -Trends in residual soil nitrogen for agricultural land in Canada, 1981 2006

National perspective

The RSN levels varied across Canadian farmland in 2006 from the very low risk class (0 to 9.9 kg N/ha) to high risk class (>40  kg N/ha) (Figure 1). The agricultural land in the Prairies Ecozone+ was split primarily between the very low risk and low risk classes. The inputs are somewhat limited as a result of the lower yield potential in this dryland environment. Agricultural land in the Boreal Plains Ecozone+ presents a medium to very high risk areas in both central Alberta and the eastern regions of this ecozone+ (central Manitoba). The southern areas of both the Pacific Maritime and Western Interior Basin ecozones+ were generally in the very high risk class with RSN levels exceeding 40 kg N/ha. The Montane Cordillera Ecozone+ has both low and medium risks area in southwest areas of British Columbia but agricultural land in central British Columbia was primarily in the low risk class. The Boreal Shield Ecozone+ covers a wide geographic area and the RSN risk class is generally in the very high risk class in central Manitoba and the regions north of the St. Lawrence lowlands. The south central regions in the Boreal Shield are characterized as having soils in the medium to high risk classes. For the Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+ the RSN ranges from very low and low risk classes in southwestern Ontario to medium to very high risk classes in the north and eastern portions of the ecozone+. The agricultural land in the Atlantic Maritime Ecozone+ was primarily in the very high risk class, although areas of northern New Brunswick and southwestern Prince Edward Island had polygons in the medium risk class. The agricultural land in the mid-western and northern regions of the Newfoundland Boreal Ecozone+ was in the very high risk class whereas the southeastern areas ranged from very low to the high risk class.

There were 61.4 million ha of agricultural landFootnote6 in Canada distributed amongst 3,285 SLC polygons in 2006 (Table 1). The nitrogen inputs increased steadily from 42.7 kg N/ha in 1981 to 66.9 kg N/ha in 2006 (Table 2). In 1981, the nitrogen inputs from fertilizer (15.2 kg N/ha) and from nitrogen fixation from legumes (15.9 kg N/ha) were quite similar and both were greater than the nitrogen input from manure (8.9 kg N/ha) (Table 3). Nitrogen inputs for all three sources increased over time and in 2006 the N input to soils was 25.1, 28.3, and 10.8 kg N/ha respectively (Table 3). Nitrogen outputs also increased across Canada over time from 33.4 kg N/ha in 1981 to 49.1 kg N/ha in 2006 primarily as a result of increased crop yields (Table 2). The net result was that the RSN levels also increased from 9.3 kg N/ha in 1981 to a maximum of 25.0 kg N/ha in 2001 followed by a decrease to 17.8 kg N/ha in 2006. The 2001 drought in many areas of Canada contributed to lower yields and nitrogen uptake values which left more nitrogen in the soil after harvest. Producers add fertilizer and manure based on the expectation of an average or above average growing season and expectation of average to above average yields.

Table 1. The agricultural land area and number of Soil Landscape of Canada polygons in Canada by ecozones+, 2006.
Ecozone+Number of SLC polygonsAgricultural land area (thousands of ha)
Pacific Maritime108203
Western Interior Basin104593Footnote[1]
Montane Cordillera2001,163
Taiga Plains59
Boreal Plains60512,053
Prairies98539,945
Boreal Shield251920
Mixedwood Plains4695,338
Atlantic Maritime5141,130
Newfoundland Boreal4421
Canada3,28561,375

 

Footnotes

Footnote [1]

The agricultural land area reported here for the Western Interior Basin is greater than that reported in the ESTR wildlife habitat capacity report (Javorek and Grant, 2011). This discrepancy can be attributed to the methodology used to maintain the anonymity of the data. See the Agri-environmental indicators section on page 1.

Return to reference [1]

Table 2. Nitrogen input, output, and residual soil nitrogen (RSN) for Canadian ecozones+ that contain agricultural land, 1981 to 2006.

Nitrogen input (kg N/ha)
Ecozone+198119861991199620012006
Pacific Maritime93.010697.299.7110103
Western Interior Basin59.755.350.751.756.641.8
Montane Cordillera52.951.350.449.651.444.8
Taiga Plains27.038.231.240.953.956.8
Boreal Plains40.846.450.862.069.769.3
Prairies27.632.732.944.150.652.5
Boreal Shield82.495.191.898.6109107
Mixedwood Plains123139138143149153
Atlantic Maritime95.8110108122132137
Newfoundland Boreal50.783.572.7115106102
Canada42.748.048.559.165.766.9

 

Nitrogen output (kg N/ha)
Ecozone+198119861991199620012006
Pacific Maritime50.652.653.249.846.746.0
Western Interior Basin39.134.632.731.432.025.4
Montane Cordillera39.536.937.133.031.229.0
Taiga Plains23.831.728.432.537.235.6
Boreal Plains32.738.140.343.443.347.2
Prairies24.329.227.835.132.640.7
Boreal Shield62.673.162.470.165.674.0
Mixedwood Plains80.187.090.296.086.2112
Atlantic Maritime68.178.064.681.973.481.4
Newfoundland Boreal30.642.340.667.352.148.4
Canada33.438.037.243.640.749.1

 

Residual soil nitrogen (RSN) (kg N/ha)
Ecozone+198119861991199620012006
Pacific Maritime42.453.444.049.963.357.0
Western Interior Basin20.620.718.020.324.616.4
Montane Cordillera13.414.413.316.620.215.8
Taiga Plains3.26.52.88.416.721.2
Boreal Plains8.18.310.518.626.422.1
Prairies3.33.55.19.018.011.8
Boreal Shield19.822.029.428.543.433.0
Mixedwood Plains42.952.047.847.062.841.0
Atlantic Maritime27.732.043.440.158.655.6
Newfoundland Boreal20.141.232.147.753.953.6
Canada9.310.011.315.525.017.8

Table 3. Nitrogen input from manure, fertilizer, and nitrogen fixation by leguminous crops for Canadian Ecozones+ that contain agricultural land, 1981 to 2006.

Manure nitrogen inputFootnote[1] (kg N/ha).
Ecozones+198119861991199620012006
Pacific Maritime49.254.252.552.854.956.1
Western Interior Basin17.815.216.317.116.713.5
Montane Cordillera15.113.714.415.013.611.7
Taiga Plains4.06.75.56.98.48.5
Boreal Plains6.76.57.59.29.810.2
Prairies5.14.75.46.77.37.8
Boreal Shield19.220.820.620.820.720.3
Mixedwood Plains28.528.227.327.126.726.6
Atlantic Maritime30.332.232.132.031.732.9
Newfoundland Boreal23.842.432.045.140.934.5
Canada8.98.38.810.110.510.8

 

Fertilizer nitrogen input (kg N/ha)
Ecozones+198119861991199620012006
Pacific Maritime17.226.218.021.126.618.1
Western Interior Basin12.010.77.38.710.44.7
Montane Cordillera8.79.77.27.79.36.6
Taiga Plains8.915.111.212.116.111.0
Boreal Plains15.119.218.826.026.225.8
Prairies11.415.915.223.523.623.0
Boreal Shield15.520.821.720.823.521.3
Mixedwood Plains40.250.044.243.244.143.7
Atlantic Maritime21.728.331.331.935.636.4
Newfoundland Boreal11.318.317.521.719.928.1
Canada15.219.818.725.525.825.1

 

Nitrogen fixationFootnote[2] (kg N/ha)
Ecozones+198119861991199620012006
Pacific Maritime24.623.324.823.926.526.4
Western Interior Basin27.927.525.223.927.421.7
Montane Cordillera27.125.926.825.026.524.5
Taiga Plains12.114.412.520.027.435.3
Boreal Plains16.818.622.424.731.631.1
Prairies8.99.910.211.817.619.6
Boreal Shield41.647.543.551.059.359.8
Mixedwood Plains47.453.259.765.271.176.0
Atlantic Maritime39.645.340.054.360.363.9
Newfoundland Boreal13.620.921.246.343.337.7
Canada15.917.218.420.926.828.3

Footnotes

Footnote [1]

Manure nitrogen input represents the net amount of mineral nitrogen applied to the soil or released from the mineralization of organic nitrogen over three years

Return to reference[1]

Footnote [2]

Legume nitrogen fixation represents the biologically fixed nitrogen from legume residues that become available in the soil in the first year after plowing as well as the N mineralized from legume residues incorporated into the soil in the previous years.

Return to reference[2]

When both land area and RSN estimates were considered on a national basis, there were about 565,000 tonnes of inorganic nitrogen remaining in Canadian soils following harvest in 1981. This increased 2.7 fold to 1.52 million tonnes in 2001. It then decreased to 1.06 million tonnes in 2006 primarily as a result of increased nitrogen outputs compared to nitrogen inputs, reflecting higher crop yields during the latter 5-year period. Nevertheless, the 2006 levels of inorganic nitrogen remaining in Canadian soils were still about twice as high as the 1981 levels. This model does not account for changes in soil organic matter. If soil organic matter were to have increased, then some of this RSN may have been immobilized and converted to soil organic nitrogen.

The risk of loss of RSN (especially nitrate) to the environment is a function of the amount, timing, and nature (rain versus snow) of precipitation in the particular region as well as the antecedent soil moisture contents. Humid regions such as those found in central and eastern Canada as well as coastal British Columbia would be at a greater risk of nitrate loss than the drier regions such as the Canadian prairies (Prairies and Boreal Plains ecozones+).

Footnotes

Footnote 6

Agricultural land, as discussed in this report, does not include the “All Other Land” category from the Census of Agriculture. See the Agri-environmental indicators section on page 1 of this report for an overview of the land included in the analysis for each of the three ESTR Technical Thematic Reports on agri-environmental indicators.

Return to reference6

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no. 15. - Tendances de l’azote résiduel dans le sol pour les terres agricoles du Canada, de 1981 à 2006

Perspective nationale

En 2006, les valeurs d’Azote résiduel dans le sol (ARS) dans les terres agricoles canadiennes variaient de la catégorie de risque très faible (0 à 9,9 kg N/ha) à la catégorie de risque élevé (> 40 kg N/ha) (Figure 1). Les terres agricoles dans l’écozone+ des Prairies étaient réparties principalement dans les catégories de risque très faible et de risque faible. Les apports sont quelque peu limités en raison du potentiel de rendement plus faible de ces terres arides. Les terres agricoles de l’écozone+ des plaines boréales présentent des zones à risque allant de moyen à très élevé dans le centre de l’Alberta et dans les régions de l’est de cette écozone+ (centre du Manitoba). Les régions du sud des écozones+ maritime du Pacifique et du bassin intérieur de l’Ouest se situaient généralement dans la catégorie de risque très élevé, avec des valeurs d’ARS supérieures à 40 kg N/ha. L’écozone+ de la Cordillère montagnarde comporte des zones à risque faible et à risque moyen dans les régions du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, mais les terres agricoles du centre de cette province se situaient principalement dans la catégorie de risque faible. L’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal couvre une vaste zone géographique, et la catégorie de risque d’ARS est généralement très élevée dans le centre du Manitoba et dans les régions au nord des basses-terres du Saint-Laurent. Les régions du centre-sud du Bouclier boréal sont caractérisées par des sols de catégories de risque moyen à élevé. Pour l’écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes, l’ARS varie des catégories de risque très faible et faible dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario, aux catégories de risque moyen à très élevé dans les parties nord et est de l’écozone+. Les terres agricoles de l’écozone+ maritime de l’Atlantique se situaient principalement dans la catégorie de risque très élevé, bien que des zones du nord du Nouveau-Brunswick et du sud-ouest de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard comportent des polygones dans la catégorie de risque moyen. Les terres agricoles dans les régions du centre-ouest et du nord de l’écozone+ boréale de Terre-Neuve se situaient dans la catégorie de risque très élevé, alors que les régions du sud-est allaient de la catégorie de risque très faible à élevé.

En 2006, le Canada comptait 61,4 millions d’hectares de terres agricolesNotes de bas de page6, réparties en 3 285 polygones PPC (Tableau 1). Les apports d’azote ont augmenté constamment, passant de 42,7 kg N/ha en 1981 à 66,9 kg N/ha en 2006 (Tableau 2). En 1981, les apports d’azote provenant des engrais (15,2 kg N/ha) et de la fixation de l’azote par les légumineuses (15,9 kg N/ha) étaient relativement semblables, et tous deux étaient supérieurs à l’apport d’azote provenant du fumier (8,9 kg N/ha) (Tableau 3). Les apports d’azote de ces trois sources ont augmenté avec le temps et, en 2006, atteignaient 25,1, 28,3 et 10,8 kg N/ha, respectivement (Tableau 3). Les pertes d’azote ont également augmenté au Canada au cours de cette période, passant de 33,4 kg N/ha en 1981 à 49,1 kg N/ha en 2006, principalement en raison de l’augmentation des rendements des récoltes (Tableau 2). Le résultat net était que les valeurs d’ARS ont également augmenté de 9,3 kg N/ha en 1981 à un maximum de 25,0 kg N/ha en 2001, puis ont diminué à 17,8 kg N/ha en 2006. La sécheresse de 2001, qui a sévi dans de nombreuses régions du Canada, a contribué à des rendements et à des valeurs d’absorption de l’azote moins élevés, ce qui a laissé plus d’azote dans le sol après les récoltes. Les producteurs ajoutent de l’engrais et du fumier d’après les prévisions d’une saison de croissance moyenne ou supérieure à la moyenne et les prévisions d’un rendement de moyen à supérieur à la moyenne.

Tableau 1. Superficie des terres agricoles et nombre de polygones des pédo-paysages du Canada par écozone+ en 2006.
Écozones+Polygones des pédo-paysages du Canada (nombre)Superficie de terres agricoles (en hectares)
Maritime du Pacifique108203 000
Bassin intérieur de l’Ouest104593 000 Notes de bas de page[1]
Cordillère montagnarde2001 163 000
Taïga des plaines59 000
Plaines boréales60512 053 000
Prairies98539 945 000
Bouclier boréal251920 000
Plaines à forêts mixtes4695 338 000
Maritime de l’Atlantique5141 130 000
Boréale de Terre-Neuve4421 000
Canada3 28561 375 000

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

La superficie des terres agricoles présentée ici pour le bassin intérieur de l’Ouest est supérieure à celle indiquée dans le rapport sur l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes (RETE) sur la capacité d’habitat faunique (Javorek et Grant, 2011). Cet écart peut être attribué à la méthodologie utilisée afin de préserver la confidentialité des données. Veuillez consulter la section sur les indicateurs agroenvironnementaux à la page 1.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Tableau 2. Apports et pertes d’azote et azote résiduel dans le sol (ARS) dans les écozones+ du Canada qui comportent des terres agricoles, de 1981 à 2006.

Apports d’azote (kg N/ha)
Écozones+198119861991199620012006
Maritime du Pacifique93,010697,299,7110103
Bassin intérieur de l’Ouest59,755,350,751,756,641,8
Cordillère montagnarde52,951,350,449,651,444,8
Taïga des plaines27,038,231,240,953,956,8
Plaines boréales40,846,450,862,069,769,3
Prairies27,632,732,944,150,652,5
Bouclier boréal82,495,191,898,6109107
Plaines à forêts mixtes123139138143149153
Maritime de l’Atlantique95,8110108122132137
Boréale de Terre-Neuve50,783,572,7115106102
Canada42,748,048,559,165,766,9

 

Pertes d’azote (kg N/ha)
Écozones+198119861991199620012006
Maritime du Pacifique50,652,653,249,846,746,0
Bassin intérieur de l’Ouest39,134,632,731,432,025,4
Cordillère montagnarde39,536,937,133,031,229,0
Taïga des plaines23,831,728,432,537,235,6
Plaines boréales32,738,140,343,443,347,2
Prairies24,329,227,835,132,640,7
Bouclier boréal62,673,162,470,165,674,0
Plaines à forêts mixtes80,187,090,296,086,2112
Maritime de l’Atlantique68,178,064,681,973,481,4
Boréale de Terre-Neuve30,642,340,667,352,148,4
Canada33,438,037,243,640,749,1

 

Azote résiduel dans le sol (kg N/ha)
Écozones+198119861991199620012006
Maritime du Pacifique42,453,444,049,963,357,0
Bassin intérieur de l’Ouest20,620,718,020,324,616,4
Cordillère montagnarde13,414,413,316,620,215,8
Taïga des plaines3,26,52,88,416,721,2
Plaines boréales8,18,310,518,626,422,1
Prairies3,33,55,19,018,011,8
Bouclier boréal19,822,029,428,543,433,0
Plaines à forêts mixtes42,952,047,847,062,841,0
Maritime de l’Atlantique27,732,043,440,158,655,6
Boréale de Terre-Neuve20,141,232,147,753,953,6
Canada9,310,011,315,525,017,8

Tableau 3. Apports d’azote provenant du fumier et de l’engrais et fixation de l’azote par les cultures de légumineuses dans les écozones+ du Canada qui comportent des terres agricoles, de 1981 à 2006.

Apports d’azote du fumier(kg N/ha)Notes de bas de page[1]
Écozones+198119861991199620012006
Maritime du Pacifique49,254,252,552,854,956,1
Bassin intérieur de l’Ouest17,815,216,317,116,713,5
Cordillère montagnarde15,113,714,415,013,611,7
Taïga des plaines4,06,75,56,98,48,5
Plaines boréales6,76,57,59,29,810,2
Prairies5,14,75,46,77,37,8
Bouclier boréal19,220,820,620,820,720,3
Plaines à forêts mixtes28,528,227,327,126,726,6
Maritime de l’Atlantique30,332,232,132,031,732,9
Boréale de Terre-Neuve23,842,432,045,140,934,5
Canada8,98,38,810,110,510,8

 

Apports d’azote de l’engrais (kg N/ha)
Écozones+198119861991199620012006
Maritime du Pacifique17,226,218,021,126,618,1
Bassin intérieur de l’Ouest12,010,77,38,710,44,7
Cordillère montagnarde8,79,77,27,79,36,6
Taïga des plaines8,915,111,212,116,111,0
Plaines boréales15,119,218,826,026,225,8
Prairies11,415,915,223,523,623,0
Bouclier boréal15,520,821,720,823,521,3
Plaines à forêts mixtes40,250,044,243,244,143,7
Maritime de l’Atlantique21,728,331,331,935,636,4
Boréale de Terre-Neuve11,318,317,521,719,928,1
Canada15,219,818,725,525,825,1

 

Fixation de l’azote par les légumineuses Notes de bas de page[2]
Écozones+198119861991199620012006
Maritime du Pacifique24,623,324,823,926,526,4
Bassin intérieur de l’Ouest27,927,525,223,927,421,7
Cordillère montagnarde27,125,926,825,026,524,5
Taïga des plaines12,114,412,520,027,435,3
Plaines boréales16,818,622,424,731,631,1
Prairies8,99,910,211,817,619,6
Bouclier boréal41,647,543,551,059,359,8
Plaines à forêts mixtes47,453,259,765,271,176,0
Maritime de l’Atlantique39,645,340,054,360,363,9
Boréale de Terre-Neuve13,620,921,246,343,337,7
Canada15,917,218,420,926,828,3

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

L’apport d’azote du fumier représente la quantité nette d’azote minéral épandu au sol ou libéré par la minéralisation de l’azote organique sur trois ans.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Notes de bas de page 2

La fixation de l’azote par les légumineuses représente l’azote fixé par voie biologique provenant des résidus de légumineuses qui devient disponible dans le sol la première année suivant un labour, ainsi que l’azote minéralisé provenant des résidus de légumineuses incorporés au sol au cours des années précédentes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2

D’après les estimations de la superficie des terres agricoles et de l’ARS à l’échelle nationale, il restait environ 565 000 tonnes d’azote inorganique dans les sols canadiens après les récoltes en 1981. Ce nombre a augmenté de 2,7 fois, pour se chiffrer à 1,5 million de tonnes en 2001, puis il a diminué à 1,06 million de tonnes en 2006, principalement en raison d’une augmentation des pertes comparativement aux apports d’azote, résultat des rendements plus élevés des cultures au cours des cinq années précédentes. Toutefois, les quantités d’azote inorganique qui restaient dans les sols canadiens en 2006 étaient toujours environ deux fois plus élevées que celles de 1981. Ce modèle ne tient pas compte des changements des teneurs en matières organiques dans le sol. Si ces dernières avaient augmenté, une partie de cet ARS aurait pu être immobilisée et convertie en azote organique du sol.

Le risque de perte d’ARS (particulièrement les nitrates) dans l’environnement dépend de la quantité, du moment et de la nature (pluie ou neige) des précipitations dans la région ainsi que de l’humidité antérieure du sol. Les régions humides comme celles du centre et de l’est du Canada ainsi que la région côtière de la Colombie-Britannique risquent davantage de perdre des nitrates que les régions plus arides comme les Prairies canadiennes (écozones+ des Prairies et des plaines boréales).

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 6

La catégorie « terres agricoles » utilisée dans le présent rapport n’englobe pas la catégorie « autres terres » se trouvant dans le Recensement de l’agriculture. Veuillez consulter la section sur les indicateurs agroenvironnementaux à la page 1 du présent rapport pour un aperçu des types de terres inclus dans l’analyse pour chacun des trois rapports techniques thématiques du RETE sur les indicateurs agroenvironnementaux.

Retour à la référence6