Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 4. - Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada

Main Oscillations Influencing Canada

El Niño/Southern Oscillation

The El Niño/Southern Oscillation (ENSO) represents large-scale ocean-atmosphere oscillations in the tropical Pacific that influence climatic conditions around the globe including Canada. It consists of two phases, namely warm El Niño events and cool La Niña events which tend to occur on average, every two to seven years. ENSOvariability is often measured by the difference in surface pressure anomalies between Tahiti and Darwin (known as the Southern Oscillation Index or SOI) and sea-surface temperatures (SSTs) in the equatorial Pacific. Figure 1 shows time series of seasonal SOI values from 1900 to 2008 with negative (positive) values representative of El Niño (La Niña) conditions. The graph reveals considerable variability over time. Strong events occurred through the first 25 years of the 20th century with few events of note through the middle portion of the 1900s. There is, however, a discernible shift in the mid 1970s toward more prolonged and intense El Niño episodes (that is, negative SOI values). This shift was influenced by a decadal-scale change in atmosphere-ocean conditions over the Pacific and western North America around 1976 (e.g. Trenberth and Hurrell, 1994) that is also evident in the Pacific Decadal Oscillation (see page 3). The most notable El Niño events in recent times occurred during the winters of 1982-1983 and 1997-1998.

Figure 1. Southern Oscillation Index for the period 1900 to 2008.

Long Description for Figure 1

This bar chart shows the Southern Oscillation index (SOI) values from 1900 to 2008. Values are presented as standardized anomalies that are calculated by dividing each anomaly (i.e. difference from the long-term mean) by the long-term standard deviations. Negative SOI values are representative of El Niño conditions, and positive SOI values are representative of La Niña conditions. An overlain line on the graph shows the five year running mean. The chart shows considerable variability over time. Strong events occurred from 1900 to 1925, with few events of note through the mid-1900s. There is a shift in the mid-1970s toward more prolonged and intense negative SOI values, or El Niño episodes.

Values are presented as standardized anomalies that are calculated by dividing each anomaly (i.e. difference from the long-term mean) by the long-term standard deviation. Five-year running means for each series are also provided (purple line).
Source: data for 1901 to 1950 are from Stand Tahiti - Stand Darwin) Sea Level Press Standardized Data and data for 1951 to 2008 are from Stand Tahiti - Stand Darwin) Sea Level Press Anomaly. Accessed 09/11/09.

Top of Page

Pacific Decadal Oscillation

The Pacific Decadal Oscillation (PDO) is a measure of SSTs in the North Pacific that has a very strong correlation with the intensity of the Aleutian Low (Mantua et al., 1997). Positive PDO are characterized by colder than normal (i.e., long-term average) SSTs in the east-central North Pacific and warmer SSTs along the west coast of North America and vice versa. Although Pacific SSTs associated with the PDO and ENSO are somewhat spatially similar (with extra-tropical anomalies being emphasized in the PDO relative to ENSO), they have very different behaviour in time with PDO cycles persisting for 20 to 30 years. This is clearly evident in Figure 2 which shows the decadal nature of the PDO with shifts occurring around 1925, 1947, and 1976. As noted previously, the change toward positive PDO in the late 1970s also coincides with a shift toward more frequent El Niño events (see Figure 1).

Figure 2. Pacific Decadal Oscillation Index for the period 1900 to 2008.

Long Description for Figure 2

This bar chart shows the Pacific Decadal Oscillation (PDO) Index values from 1900 to 2008. Values are presented as standardized anomalies that are calculated by dividing each anomaly (i.e. difference from the long-term mean) by the long-term standard deviations. Positive PDO are characterized by colder than normal (i.e., long-term average) sea surface temperatures (SSTs) in the east-central North Pacific and warmer SSTs along the west coast of North America and vice versa. An overlain line on the graph shows the five year running mean. The chart shows PDO cycles persisting for 20 to 30 years with shifts occurring around 1925, 1947, and 1976. There is change toward positive PDO values in the late 1970s, which coincides with more frequent El Niño episodes.

Values are presented as standardized anomalies that are calculated by dividing each anomaly (i.e., difference from the long-term mean) by the long-term standard deviation. Five-year running means for each series are also provided (purple line).
Source: PDO IndexPDO.latest. Accessed 09/11/09
.

Top of Page

Pacific North American Pattern

The Pacific North American (PNA) pattern represents an upper-atmospheric wave structure featuring a sequence of high and low-pressure anomalies stretching from the sub-tropical west Pacific to the east coast of North America. The positive phase of the PNA features anomalous high pressure near Hawaii and over western Canada, and below average pressures in the central and eastern North Pacific (i.e., a deeper than normal Aleutian Low) and over the southeastern United States. Although the PNA is a natural internal mode of climate variability, it is also strongly influenced by ENSO with positive PNA tending to occur during winters associated with El Niño episodes, and negative values during La Niña events. Based on 1950 to 2008 data, approximately 51% of the PNA occurrences coincide with ENSO. Time series of seasonal PNAvalues from 1950 to 2008 (Figure 3) show considerable variability although, as with ENSO and PDO, there is a tendency for more positive PNA since the mid 1970s, particularly during winter.

Figure 3. Pacific North American Pattern Index for the period 1950 to 2008.

Long Description for Figure 3

This bar chart shows Pacific North American (PNA) Index values from 1950 to 2008. Values are presented as standardized anomalies that are calculated by dividing each anomaly (i.e., difference from the long-term mean) by the long-term standard deviation. Positive PNA values feature anomalous high pressure near Hawaii and over western Canada, and below average pressures in the central and eastern North Pacific (i.e., a deeper than normal Aleutian Low) and over the southeastern United States. An overlain line on the graph shows the five year running mean. The chart shows considerable variability with a tendency for more positive PNA since the mid 1970s, particularly during winter.

Values are presented as standardized anomalies that are calculated by dividing each anomaly (i.e., difference from the long-term mean) by the long-term standard deviation. Five-year running means for each series are also provided (purple line).
Source: NOAA - Earth Science Research Labratory  Accessed 09/11/09

Top of Page

North Atlantic Oscillation/Arctic Oscillation

The North Atlantic Oscillation (NAO) represents the dominant mode of atmospheric variability over the North Atlantic and is most pronounced during the cold season. The NAO index (Figure 4) is a measure of the difference in the strength of the Icelandic Low and the Azores High and has been shown to affect climate over Europe and eastern Canada. Positive NAO are associated with a deeper than normal Icelandic Low and a stronger than normal Azores High, while negative values represent opposite conditions. During the last century, the NAO has demonstrated considerable inter-annual and inter-decadal variations with little evidence of a long-term trend. The Arctic Oscillation (AO) represents atmospheric circulation variability over the extra-tropical Northern Hemisphere where sea-level pressures over the polar regions varies in opposition with that over middle latitudes (about 45°N) (Thompson and Wallace, 1998). It has also been referred to as the Northern Hemisphere Annular Mode. Note that the NAO and the AO are shown to be highly correlated in time, suggesting the NAO is merely a regional manifestation of the hemispheric-scale (AO) (Thompson and Wallace, 1998). Furthermore, the effects of both oscillations on temperature and precipitation in Canada are nearly the same and as a result, only relationships with the NAO are presented in this review.

Figure 4. North Atlantic Oscillation Index for the period 1900 to 2008.

Long Description for Figure 4

This bar chart shows North Atlantic Oscillation (NAO) Index values from 1900 to 2008. Values are presented as standardized anomalies that are calculated by dividing each anomaly (i.e. difference from the long-term mean) by the long-term standard deviation. Positive NAO are associated with a deeper than normal Icelandic Low and a stronger than normal Azores High, while negative values are associated with the opposite conditions. An overlain line on the graph shows the five year running mean. The chart shows considerable variability and little evidence of a long-term trend.

Values are presented as standardized anomalies that are calculated by dividing each anomaly (i.e. difference from the long-term mean) by the long-term standard deviation. Five-year running means for each series are also provided (purple line).
Source: Climatic Research Unit.  Accessed 09/11/09

Top of Page

Atlantic Multi-Decadal Oscillation

The Atlantic Multi-Decadal Oscillation (AMO) is a mode of natural variability representing multi-decadal changes in North Atlantic SSTs with cool and warm periods lasting for 20-40 years over an approximate range of +/- 0.4°C. It is defined as the first rotated empirical orthogonal function of global SSTs from which intra-seasonal ENSO and local trends have been removed (Mestas-Nuñez and Enfield, 1999). To the authors’ knowledge, no dynamical relationship has been established between the atmospheric NAO and the oceanic AMO. Whereas the AMO has a uniform polarity in SSTsacross the entire North Atlantic and operates on a multi-decadal scale, the NAOrepresents atmospheric variability with a dipole pattern in the North Atlantic and varies mainly on a quasi-decadal temporal scale (Arguez et al., 2009). The AMO series displays cool phases during 1905 to 1925 and 1970 to 1990, and warm phases from 1930 to 1960 and beginning again in the mid-1990s through the present (Figure 5).

Figure 5. Atlantic Multi-Decadal Oscillation Index for the period 1900 to 2008.

Long Description for Figure 5

This map of Canada displays where winter temperature is impacted by phases of El Niño/Southern Oscillation (ENSO), the Pacific Decadal Oscillation (PDO), the Pacific North American (PNA) pattern, and the North Atlantic Oscillation (NAO). Generally, ENSO is shown to impact the temperature of the western coast to central Canada, from the northern border of the Boreal Cordillera Ecozone+, through to the eastern edge of the James Bay. The PDO and PNA patterns impact a similar region as the ENSO. The PDO range extends from the western coast of Canada to around the western edge of the Hudson Bay, roughly following the northern boundary of the ENSO, while the PNA range extends to the northwest tip of Canada, roughly following the Arctic Ecozone+ boundary, ending before the Hudson Bay. The NAO range covers the northeastern regions of the country, influencing temperatures from Baffin Island, and southeast to the northern parts of the Atlantic Maritime Ecozone+.

Values are presented as standardized anomalies that are calculated by dividing each anomaly (i.e., difference from the long-term mean) by the long-term standard deviation. Five-year running means for each series are also provided.
Source: AMO unsmoothed from the Kaplan SST V2   Accessed 09/11/09

Top of Page

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no 4. - Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada

Oscillations principales ayant une incidence sur le Canada

El Niño-oscillation australe

L’El Niño-oscillation australe (ENSO) représente des oscillations océan-atmosphère à grande échelle dans le Pacifique tropical qui influencent les conditions climatiques partout dans le monde, dont au Canada. Elle comporte deux phases, à savoir les épisodes chauds El Niño et les épisodes froids La Niña qui ont tendance à survenir en moyenne tous les deux à sept ans. On mesure souvent la variabilité de l’ENSO par la différence dans les anomalies de pression de surface entre Tahiti et Darwin (que l’on appelle l’indice d’oscillation australe ou IOA) et les températures de la surface de la mer (SST) dans le Pacifique équatorial. La figure 1 illustre des séries chronologiques des valeurs saisonnières de l’IOA de 1900 à 2008, les valeurs négatives (positives) étant représentatives de conditions El Niño (La Niña). Le graphique révèle une variabilité considérable au fil du temps. Des événements forts sont survenus au cours des 25 premières années du 20e siècle, quelques-uns étant dignes de mention jusqu’au milieu des années 1990. Toutefois, on constate un passage évident au milieu des années 1970 vers des épisodes El Niño prolongés et plus intenses (c.–à–d. des valeurs négatives de l’IOA). Cette transition a subi l’influence d’un changement décennal dans les conditions atmosphère-océan au-dessus du Pacifique et de la partie occidentale de l’Amérique du Nord aux environs de 1976 (p. ex. Trenberth et Hurrell, 1994) qui est également évident dans l’ODP (voir la page 3). Les récents événements El Niño les plus dignes de mention sont survenus au cours des hivers de 1982-1983 et de 1997-1998.

Figure 1. Indice de l’oscillation australe (IOA) pour la période de 1900 à 2008.

Description longue pour la figure 1

Ce diagramme à barres montre les valeurs de l'indice de l'oscillation australe (IOA) pour la période de 1900 à 2008. Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu'anomalies normalisées qui sont calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l'écart type à long terme. Les valeurs négatives de l'indice de l’oscillation australe sont représentatives des conditions d'El Niño et les valeurs positives de l'indice de l'oscillation australe sont représentatives des conditions de La Niña. Une ligne chevauchante sur le graphique montre les moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq ans. Le graphique montre une variabilité considérable au fil du temps. Des épisodes forts sont survenus entre 1900 et 1925, avec quelques épisodes à noter jusqu'au milieu des années 1900. Il y a un changement dans le milieu des années 1970 vers des valeurs négatives de l'indice de l’oscillation australe plus prolongées et plus intenses, ou des épisodes d'El Niño.

Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu’anomalies normalisées, calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l’écart type à long terme. Des moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq années pour chaque série sont également données.
Source : Données pour 1901 à 1950 tirées de Stand Tahiti - Stand Darwin) Sea Level Press Standardized Data; données pour 1951 à 2008 tirées de Stand Tahiti - Stand Darwin) Sea Level Press Anomaly. Sites accédés le 9 novembre 2009.

Haut de la page

Oscillation décennale du Pacifique

L’oscillation décennale du Pacifique (ODP) est une mesure des SST du Pacifique Nord qui présente une très forte corrélation avec l’intensité de la dépression des Aléoutiennes (Mantua et al., 1997). Les ODP positives sont caractérisées par des SST plus froides que la normale (c.–à–d. moyenne à long terme) dans la partie centre-est du Pacifique Nord et des SST plus chaudes le long de la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, et vice versa. Même si les SST du Pacifique associées à l’ODP et à l’ENSO sont en quelque sorte spatialement semblables (des anomalies extratropicales étant mises en évidence dans l’ODP par rapport à l’ENSO), elles présentent un comportement très différent dans le temps avec les cycles d’ODP qui persistent pendant 20 à 30 ans. C’est d’ailleurs nettement évident dans la figure 2 qui illustre la nature décennale de l’ODP, des changements survenant aux environs de 1925, 1947 et 1976. Comme il a été indiqué plus tôt, le passage vers une ODP positive à la fin des années 1970 coïncide également avec un changement vers des épisodes d’El Niño plus fréquents (voir la figure 1).

Figure 2. Indice de l’oscillation décennale du Pacifique (ODP) pour la période de 1900 à 2008

Description longue pour la figure 2

Ce diagramme à barres indique les valeurs de l'indice de l'oscillation décennale du Pacifique (ODP) pour la période de 1900 à 2008. Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu'anomalies normalisées qui sont calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l'écart type à long terme. Les indices de l'oscillation décennale positifs sont caractérisés par des températures de la surface de la mer plus froides que la normale (c.–à–d. moyenne à long terme) dans la partie centre-est du Pacifique Nord et des températures de la surface de la mer plus chaudes le long de la côte Ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, et vice versa. Une ligne chevauchante sur le graphique montre les moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq ans. Le graphique montre les cycles de l'indice de l'oscillation décennale qui persistent pendant 20 à 30 ans, avec des changements survenant aux environs de 1925, 1947 et 1976. Il y a des changements de valeurs vers un indice de l'oscillation décennale positif à la fin des années 1970, période qui coïncide avec des épisodes d'El Niño plus fréquents.

Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu’anomalies normalisées, calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l’écart type à long terme. Des moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq années pour chaque série sont également données.
Source : Données tirées de PDO Index. Site accédé le 9 novembre 2009.

Haut de la page

Téléconnexion Pacifique-Amérique du Nord

Le régime de la téléconnexion Pacifique-Amérique du Nord (PAN) représente une structure d’ondes de la haute atmosphère présentant une séquence d’anomalies de haute pression et de basse pression s’étirant de la partie subtropicale du Pacifique Ouest jusqu’à la côte est de l’Amérique du Nord. La phase positive de la PAN présente une haute pression anormale près d’Hawaii et au-dessus de la partie occidentale du Canada, et des pressions inférieures à la moyenne dans les parties du centre et de l’est du Pacifique Nord (c.–à–d. une dépression des Aléoutiennes plus prononcée que la normale) et au-dessus du sud-est des États-Unis. Même si la PAN est un mode de variabilité du climat naturel interne, elle subit également beaucoup l’influence de l’ENSO, avec une PAN positive qui a tendance à survenir lors des hivers associés aux épisodes d’El Niño, et une PAN négative lors des épisodes de La Niña. S’appuyant sur les données de 1950 à 2008, les auteurs ont déterminé qu’environ 51 % des épisodes de la PAN coïncident avec l’ENSO. Les séries chronologiques des valeurs de la PAN de 1950 à 2006 (figure 3) indiquent une variabilité considérable, même si, comme pour l’ENSO et l’ODP, il existe une tendance à une PAN plus positive depuis le milieu des années 1970, en particulier pendant l’hiver.

Figure 3. Indice de la téléconnexion Pacifique-Amérique du Nord (PAN) pour la période de 1950 à 2008.

Description longue pour la figure 3

Ce diagramme à barres montre les valeurs de l'indice de téléconnexion Pacifique-Amérique du Nord (PAN) de 1950 à 2008. Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu'anomalies normalisées calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l'écart type à long terme. Des valeurs positives e l'indice de téléconnexion Pacifique-Amérique du Nord présentent une haute pression anormale près d'Hawaii et au-dessus de la partie occidentale du Canada, et des pressions inférieures à la moyenne dans les parties du centre et de l'est du Pacifique Nord (c.–à–d., une dépression des Aléoutiennes plus prononcée que la normale) et au-dessus du Sud-est des États-Unis. Une ligne chevauchante sur le graphique montre les moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq ans. Le graphique montre une variabilité considérable, avec une tendance à un indice de téléconnexion Pacifique-Amérique du Nord plus positif depuis le milieu des années 1970, en particulier pendant l'hiver.

Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu’anomalies normalisées, calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l’écart type à long terme. Des moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq années pour chaque série sont également données.
Source : Données tirées de NOAA - Earth Science Research Labratory. Site accédé le 9 novembre 2009.

Haut de la page

Oscillation de l’Atlantique Nord et oscillation de l’Arctique

L’oscillation de l’Atlantique Nord (OAN) représente le mode dominant de variabilité atmosphérique au-dessus de l’Atlantique Nord et est très prononcée pendant la saison froide. L’indice de l’OAN (figure 4) est une mesure de la différence dans la vigueur de la dépression d’Islande et de l’anticyclone des Açores, et il a été établi qu’il influence le climat de l’Europe et de l’est du Canada. Les OAN positives sont associées à une dépression d’Islande plus prononcée que la normale et à un anticyclone des Açores plus fort, tandis des valeurs négatives représentent des conditions contraires. Au cours du siècle dernier, l’OAN a présenté des variations considérables d’une année à l’autre et d’une décennie à l’autre, mais peu d’indications d’une tendance à long terme. L’oscillation de l’Arctique (OA) représente une variabilité de la circulation atmosphérique au-dessus de l’hémisphère Nord extratropical, où les pressions au niveau de la mer dans les régions polaires varient à l’opposé de ce que l’on observe au-dessus des latitudes moyennes (environ 45 °N.) (Thompson et Wallace, 1998). C’est ce que l’on a également surnommé le mode annuel de l’hémisphère Nord (MAHN). Prendre note que l’OAN et l’OA présentent une très forte corrélation dans le temps, ce qui laisse croire que l’OAN est simplement une manifestation régionale de l’oscillation à l’échelle de l’hémisphère (OA) (Thompson et Wallace, 1998). En outre, l’incidence des deux oscillations sur la température et les précipitations au Canada est pratiquement la même et, par conséquent, seuls les rapports avec l’OAN sont pris en compte dans la présente étude.

Figure 4. Indice de l’oscillation de l’Atlantique Nord (OAN) pour la période de 1900 à 2008.

Description longue pour la figure 4

Ce diagramme à barres indique les valeurs de l'indice de l'oscillation de l'Atlantique Nord (OAN) pour la période de 1900 à 2008. Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu'anomalies normalisées calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l'écart type à long terme. Les indices de l'oscillation de l'Atlantique Nord positifs sont associés à une dépression d'Islande plus prononcée que la normale et à un anticyclone des Açores plus fort que la normale, tandis que les valeurs négatives sont associées aux conditions contraires. Une ligne chevauchante sur le graphique montre les moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq ans. Le graphique montre une variabilité considérable et peu de preuves d'une tendance à long terme.

Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu’anomalies normalisées, calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l’écart type à long terme. Des moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq années pour chaque série sont également données.
Source : Données tirées de Climatic Research Unit. Site accédé le 9 novembre 2009.

Haut de la page

Oscillation multidécennale de l’Atlantique

L’oscillation multidécennale de l’Atlantique (OMA) est un mode de variabilité naturelle représentant des changements multidécennaux dans les SST de l’Atlantique Nord, avec des périodes froides et chaudes qui durent de 20 à 40 ans sur une plage approximative de plus ou moins 0,4 °C. On la définit comme étant la première fonction orthogonale empirique permutée de SST globales dont on a éliminé les tendances locales et l’ENSO d’une saison à l’autre (Mestas-Nuñez et Enfield, 1999). D’après les auteurs, aucun rapport dynamique n’a été établi entre l’OAN atmosphérique et l’OMA océanique. Alors que l’OMA a une polarité uniforme de SST dans tout l’Atlantique Nord et évolue selon une échelle multidécennale, l’OAN présente une variabilité atmosphérique avec un régime dipôle dans l’Atlantique Nord et varie principalement selon une échelle temporelle quasi décennale (Arguez et al., 2009). La série de l’OMA présente des phases froides durant les périodes de 1905 à 1925 et de 1970 à 1990, et des phases chaudes, une première de 1930 à 1960 et une autre qui a commencé au milieu des années 1990 et qui se poursuit à ce jour (figure 5).

Figure 5. Indice de l’oscillation multidécennale de l’Atlantique (OMA) pour la période de 1900 à 2008.

Description longue pour la figure 5

Ce diagramme à barres indique les valeurs de l'indice de l'oscillation multidécennale de l'Atlantique (OMA) pour la période de 1900 à 2008. Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu'anomalies normalisées calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l'écart type à long terme. Une ligne chevauchante sur le graphique montre les moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq ans. Le graphique montre des changements dans les températures de la surface de la mer de l'Atlantique Nord avec des périodes froides et chaudes durant 20 à 40 ans sur une plage approximative de + / -0,4° C. La série présente des phases froides pour les périodes de 1905 à 1925 et de 1970 à 1990, et des phases chaudes de 1930 à 1960 et des années 1990 à aujourd'hui.

Les valeurs sont présentées en tant qu’anomalies normalisées, calculées en divisant chaque anomalie (c.–à–d. la différence par rapport à la moyenne à long terme) par l’écart type à long terme. Des moyennes chevauchantes sur cinq années pour chaque série sont également données.
Source : Données tirées de AMO unsmoothed from the Kaplan SST V2 . Site accédé le 9 novembre 2009.

Haut de la page