Lakes and Rivers

Status and Trends
river flows changing
Concern, getting worse at a slow to moderate rate
good data for many rivers; short time lines for new stations, particularly in the North
Medium confidence in finding
ecosystem consequences of climate change
Red flag

KEY FINDING 4. Trends over the past 40 years influencing biodiversity in lakes and rivers include seasonal changes in magnitude of stream flows, increases in river and lake temperatures, decreases in lake levels, and habitat loss and fragmentation.

This key finding is divided into four sections:

Over 8,500 rivers and 2 million lakes cover almost 9% of Canada's total area.1, 2 The hydrology of these rivers and lakes influences the structure of aquatic habitats and the composition of ecological communities, including plankton, plants, benthic macroinvertebrates, and vertebrates such as fish, amphibians, reptiles, and birds.2 In North America, species living in aquatic ecosystems have a higher risk of extinction than species living in other ecosystems.3

Photo: Oldman River, Alberta © dreamstime.com/Bev Ramm
Oldman River, Alberta

Globe

Global Trends

More than 99% of the world's freshwater is frozen in glaciers, permafrost or permanent snow, or locked in underground aquifers.15 The remaining accessible freshwater is not distributed evenly, with 40% of the world's population projected to live in water-scarce regions by 2020.16

Return to Table of Contents

Status and trends of stream flows

Most rivers in Canada show pronounced seasonal variation in flows. Minimum annual flow occurs in late summer when precipitation is low and evaporation is high, and in late winter when precipitation is frozen in ice and snow. Minimum flows can limit the availability of specific aquatic habitats and also influence water temperatures and dissolved oxygen levels. For example, a decrease in minimum flow can affect the quantity and temperature of water for late-spawning fish and increase thermal stress and exposure to predation for all fish.

In a study of 172 sites in naturally flowing rivers, the lowest annual flow increased between 1970 to 2005 at 13% of the sites. These sites were generally in the northern Montane Cordillera, Boreal Cordillera, Taiga Plains, Taiga Shield, and Arctic ecozones+. Twenty–eight percent of the sites had decreases in minimum flow, generally in the southern Pacific Maritime, southern Montane Cordillera, Boreal Shield, Mixedwood Plains, Atlantic Maritime, and Newfoundland Boreal ecozones+. Twelve percent of the sites, mostly in eastern Canada, Great Lakes, and the North, had later minimum flows, while 9%, mostly in the South and along the western coast, had earlier minimum flows.2

Trends in minimum river flow in natural rivers
1970 to 2005
Map: trends in minimum river flow in natural rivers. Click for graphic description (new window).

Source: Monk et al., 20102

Maximum annual flow, or spring freshet, generally occurs in late spring and in early summer and is driven by snow melt and seasonal rainstorms. A change in maximum flow can affect species with life cycles synchronized to the spring freshet and the rich foods provided by flood plains.

Almost 20% of the sites showed a decrease in maximum flow. These sites were distributed across almost all ecozones+. About 5% showed an increase in maximum flow, mostly in the Atlantic Maritime Ecozone+. Maximum flow occurred earlier at about 10% of the sites and later at about 8% of the sites.2

Trends in maximum river flow in natural rivers
1970 to 2005
Map: trends in maximum river flow in natural rivers. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: Monk et al., 20102

Summer flow of four rivers in the Prairie Provinces

Percent loss, 1985 to 2001
Four graphs showing the summer flow in four Prairie rivers. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Schindler and Donahue, 20064

The average flow of prairie rivers has been declining over the past 50 to 100 years, including:

  • 20% reduction from 1958 to 2003 – 33% since 1970 – for the Athabasca River at Fort McMurray, Alberta;
  • 42% reduction from 1915 to 2003 for the Peace River, near the town of Peace River, Alberta;
  • 57% reduction from 1912 to 2003 for the Oldman River at Lethbridge, Alberta;
  • 84% reduction from 1912 to 2003 for the South Saskatchewan River at Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.4

Reduced flows like these can impact biodiversity in many ways, including reducing habitat availability, not meeting the minimum flow requirements for aquatic species, and increasing summer temperatures.5

Return to Table of Contents

Water levels

  Photo: an example of closed-basin lakes in southern Saskatchewan © dreamstime.com/Andre Nantel
  An example of closed-basin lakes in southern Saskatchewan

Water levels in prairie closed-basin lakes

1910 to 2006
Eight graphs showing water levels in prairie closed-basin lakes. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from van der Kamp et al., 20086

 

Locator map for graph of prairie closed-basin lakes. Click for graphic description (new window).

 

 

 

In the Prairies, a combination of glaciation and dry climate has resulted in numerous closed-basin saline lakes, that drain internally, rarely spilling runoff. These lakes are sensitive to climate, with water levels and salinity driven by precipitation on the lake, local runoff to the lake, and evaporation off the lake.6 Aquatic communities within these closed-basin lakes are sensitive to chemical changes that can be a result of changes in water levels. For example, water levels affect salinity and the diversity of aquatic species declines as salinity increases. When salinities reach extremely high values, species diversity becomes very low.7

From 1910 to 2006, water levels in 16 representative closed-basin lakes showed an overall pattern of decline by 4 to 10 metres.6 Declines can be explained in part by climate,6 including increases in spring temperatures, for example from 1950 to 2007,8 potentially resulting in increased evaporation rates and declining stream runoff9 to the lakes. However, climate variables alone cannot explain the declines, for example no significant change was evident in precipitation or in an index of drought severity, from 1950 to 2007.8 Other contributing factors that reduce surface runoff to the lakes include land use changes, such as dams, ditches, wetland drainage, and dugouts, and changes in agricultural use and practices,6 such as the decline in summer fallow,10 increase in conservation till, and continuous cropping.6

 

Loss of variability in Great Lakes water levels

Metres, 1918 to 2007
Three graphs: water levels in the Great Lakes. Click for graphic description (new window).
Note: Metres are in relation to the International Great Lakes Datum (IGLD), 1985, which is a lake reference level adjusted every 25 to 30 years to account for movement of the Earth's crust.
Source: adapted from Environment Canada and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 200917

Diverse and varied plant communities inhabiting Great Lakes wetlands are dependent on the high seasonal and year-to-year variability in water levels found naturally,18 in, for example lakes Huron and Michigan, which are unregulated. Natural water levels are affected by precipitation, evaporation from the lake surface, inflow from upstream, and outflow to the downstream lakes.

Water levels are also affected by direct regulation as well as dredging, control structures, dams, canals, and diversions.19 The regulation of water levels in Lake Superior since 1914 and in Lake Ontario since about 1960 has reduced the variability of water levels. In Lake Ontario, this has adversely affected coastal wetland ecosystems, reduced plant species diversity, and altered habitat values for many animals that depend wholly or partly on wetlands to thrive.18, 20 As water shortages become more common in the southern U.S., there may be pressure for water diversions from the Great Lakes, which could, if allowed, result in further impacts on biodiversity.

Photo: the Thousand Islands © Environment Canada
The Thousand Islands, Ontario

Return to Table of Contents

Change in freshwater discharge into the Arctic and North Atlantic

1964 to 2003
Map: freshwater discharge into the Arctic and North Atlantic. Click for graphic description (new window).
Note: Red triangles indicate a decrease in flow; green triangles indicate an increase in flow. The size of the triangle indicates the magnitude of change.
Source: adapted from Déry and Wood, 200511
Percent change
1964 to 2003
Graph: change in freshwater discharge into the Arctic and North Atlantic. Click for graphic description (new window).

Source: adapted from Déry and Wood, 200511

 

 

Freshwater discharge from Canadian rivers into the Arctic and North Atlantic Oceans has decreased by about 10% over the past 40 years. This has been attributed to a decrease in precipitation over the same period.11, 12 In spite of this, an overall 5.3% increase in river discharge to the Arctic Ocean has been documented. The net increase is due to significant increases in annual discharge from the six largest Eurasian rivers.13, 14 Freshwater discharge to northern seas can influence ocean processes that, in turn, influence the population dynamics of marine species.

Return to Table of Contents

Lacs et cours d’eau

État et tendances
changements dans les débits des cours d’eau
Préoccupant, empire lentement ou modérément
brève couverture temporelle des nouvelles stations, en particulier dans le Nord
Fiabilité de la constatation moyenne
conséquences écosystémiques des changements climatiques
Drapeau rouge

CONSTATATION CLÉ 4. Au cours des 40 dernières années, parmi les changements influant sur la biodiversité qui ont été observés dans les lacs et les cours d’eau du Canada, on compte des changements saisonniers des débits, des augmentations de la température des cours d’eau et des lacs, la baisse de niveaux d’eau et la perte et la fragmentation d’habitats.

Cette constatation clé est divisée en quatre parties :

Plus de 8500 cours d’eau et deux millions de lacs couvrent près de 9 % de la superficie totale du Canada1, 2. L’hydrologie de ces cours d’eau et de ces lacs agit sur la structure des habitats aquatiques et sur la composition des communautés écologiques, y compris le plancton, les plantes, les macroinvertébrés benthiques et les vertébrés comme les poissons, les amphibiens et les reptiles, ainsi que les oiseaux2. En Amérique du Nord, les espèces vivant dans les écosystèmes aquatiques risquent davantage une extinction que les espèces vivant dans d’autres écosystèmes3.

Photo : Rivière Oldman, Alberta © dreamstime.com/Bev Ramm
Rivière Oldman, Alberta

Monde

Tendances mondiales

Plus de 99 % de l’eau douce de la planète est entreposée dans les glaciers, le pergélisol ou les neiges permanentes, ou est confinée dans des aquifères15. L’eau douce qui est accessible n’est pas distribuée également. On estime que, d’ici 2020, 40 % de la population mondiale vivra dans des régions pauvres en eau16.








Retournez à la table des matières

État et tendances des débits d'eau

La plupart des cours d’eau canadiens présentent un débit saisonnier très variable. Le débit minimal annuel survient vers la fin de l’été, quand les précipitations sont moindres et que l’évaporation est élevée, et vers la fin de l’hiver, quand les précipitations tombent sous forme de glace ou de neige. Ces débits minimaux peuvent limiter la disponibilité d’habitats aquatiques particuliers et influer sur la température de l’eau et la teneur en oxygène dissous. Par exemple, une diminution du débit minimal peut changer le niveau et la température de l’eau et affecter les poissons qui frayent tardivement, en plus d’augmenter le stress thermique et la vulnérabilité à la prédation pour tous les poissons.

Dans une étude portant sur 172 sites situés dans des cours d’eau à débit naturel, 13 % des sites ont vu leur débit annuel le plus faible augmenter pendant la période de 1970 à 2005. Ces sites se trouvaient pour la plupart dans le nord de l’écozone+ de la Cordillère montagnarde, dans les écozones+ de la Cordillère boréale, de la taïga des plaines, de la taïga du Bouclier et de l’Arctique. Vingt-huit pour cent des sites ont subi une réduction de leur débit minimal, plus particulièrement dans le sud de l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique, dans le sud de l’écozone+ de la Cordillère montagnarde, ainsi que dans les écozones+ du Bouclier boréal, des plaines à forêts mixtes, maritime de l’Atlantique et du boréal à Terre-Neuve. Le débit minimal est survenu tardivement pour 12 % des sites, surtout ceux de l’est du Canada, de la région des Grands Lacs et du Nord. Il était hâtif pour 9 % des sites, notamment ceux du Sud et de la côte Ouest2.

Tendances du débit minimal des cours d’eau à débit naturel
De 1970 à 2005
Carte : Tendances du débit minimal des cours d’eau. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Monk et al., 20102.

Le débit annuel maximal, ou crue printanière, survient généralement à la fin du printemps ou au début de l’été, et dépend de la fonte des neiges et des fortes pluies saisonnières. Une modification du débit maximal peut perturber les espèces dont le cycle de vie est synchronisé avec la crue printanière et l’apport d’aliments riches issus des plaines inondables.

Le débit maximal de près de 20 % des sites a chuté. Ces sites couvrent la presque totalité des écozones+. Le débit maximal d’environ 5 % des sites a augmenté, notamment dans l’écozone+ maritime de l’Atlantique. Le débit maximal est survenu plus tôt pour environ 10 % des sites et plus tard pour environ de ceux-ci2.

Tendances du débit maximal des cours d’eau à débit naturel
De 1970 à 2005
Carte : Tendances du débit maximal des cours d’eau. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Monk et al., 20102.

Débit estival de quatre rivières des Provinces des Prairies

Pourcentage du débit enregistré au début de la période
Quatre graphiques montrant les débit estival de quatre rivières des provinces des Prairies. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Schindler et Donahue, 20064.

Le débit moyen des rivières des Prairies a diminué au cours des 50 à 100 dernières années, comme en témoignent les données suivantes :

  • réduction de 20 % de 1958 à 2003 et de 33 % depuis 1970 pour la rivière Athabasca à Fort McMurray;
  • réduction de 42 % de 1915 à 2003 pour la rivière de la Paix près de la ville de Peace River (Alberta);
  • réduction de 57 % de 1912 à 2003 pour la rivière Oldman à Lethbridge (Alberta);
  • réduction de 84 % de 1912 à 2003 pour la rivière Saskatchewan Sud à Saskatoon (Saskatchwan)4.

De telles réductions de débit peuvent affecter la biodiversité de multiples façons, notamment en réduisant la quantité d’habitats disponibles, en exposant les espèces aquatiques à des débits trop faibles pour elles, et en donnant lieu à un accroissement des températures de l’eau en été5.

Retournez à la table des matières

Niveau de l’eau

  Photo : Exemple de lacs en bassin fermé dans le sud de la Saskatchewan © dreamstime.com/Andre Nantel
  Exemple de lacs en bassin fermé dans le sud de la Saskatchewan

Niveau de l'eau dans les lacs en bassin fermé des Prairies

De 1910 à 2006
Huit graphiques montrant niveau de l'eau dans les lacs en bassin fermé des Prairies. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de van der Kamp et al., 20086
Carte montrant la situation géographique des lacs en bassin fermé des prairies. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).

L’effet combiné de la glaciation et d’un climat aride a entraîné la formation de plusieurs lacs alcalins en bassin fermé dans les Prairies, dont le drainage de type endoréique occasionne très peu de ruissellement vers la mer. Ces lacs sont sensibles au climat : leur niveau d’eau et leur teneur en sel dépendent des précipitations directes, de l’apport du ruissellement local et de l’évaporation qu’ils subissent.6 Les communautés aquatiques peuplant ces lacs en bassin fermé sont sensibles aux changements chimiques pouvant résulter du changement des niveaux d’eau. Par exemple, le niveau d’eau agit sur la salinité du lac, et la diversité des espèces aquatiques diminue lorsque la salinité augmente. Quand la salinité atteint des valeurs extrêmement élevées, la diversité des espèces chute considérablement7.

De 1910 à 2006, les niveaux d’eau de 16 lacs en bassin fermé représentatifs ont montré une tendance générale à la baisse de 4 à 10 mètres6. Les déclins peuvent s’expliquer en partie par les conditions climatiques6, incluant une hausse des températures printanières entre 1950 et 20078, entraînant vraisemblablement une évaporation accrue et une diminution du ruissellement9 tvers les lacs. Toutefois, les conditions climatiques ne peuvent à elles seules expliquer ces déclins; par exemple, aucun changement significatif n’était évident dans les précipitations ou dans l’indice de sévérité de sécheresse pour la période de 1950 à 20078. D’autres facteurs réduisent le ruissellement vers les lacs, entre autres, les changements d’utilisation des terres (barrages, fossés, drainage des milieux humides, mares artificielles) et les changements de pratiques ou d’utilisation agricoles (diminution de la jachère d’été10, augmentation du travail de conservation du sol et culture continue)6.

Perte de variabilité des niveaux d'eau dans les Grands Lacs

Mètres, de 1860 à 2005
Trois graphiques : Niveaux d’eau des Grands Lacs. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Remarque : Le niveau des lacs en mètres est calculé en fonction du Système de référence international des Grands Lacs (SRIGL), 1985, qui est mis à jour tous les 25 à 30 ans pour tenir compte du mouvement de la croûte terrestre.
Source : Adapté de Environnement Canada et U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 200917.

Des communautés diverses et variées de plantes peuplant les zones humides côtières des Grands Lacs dépendent des grandes variations saisonnières et annuelles des niveaux d’eau survenant naturellement18 (par exemple, dans les lacs Huron et Michigan, qui ne sont pas régularisés). Les niveaux d’eau naturels dépendent des précipitations, de l’évaporation de surface du lac, du débit entrant provenant du lac d’amont et du débit sortant vers le lac d’aval.

Les niveaux d’eau dépendent aussi de la régularisation directe, ainsi que du dragage, des ouvrages de régularisation, des barrages, des canaux et des dérivations19. La régularisation des niveaux d’eau du lac Supérieur depuis 1914 et du lac Ontario depuis environ 1960 a réduit les variations de ces niveaux, ce qui s’est avéré néfaste pour les écosystèmes des milieux humides côtiers du lac Ontario, a réduit la diversité des espèces végétales et altéré la qualité des habitats de plusieurs animaux qui dépendent complètement ou partiellement de ces milieux humides pour se développer18, 20. Tandis que les pénuries d’eau s’accentuent dans les régions du sud des États-Unis, les pressions exercées pour la dérivation des eaux des Grands Lacs entraîneront, si elles sont autorisées, des impacts supplémentaires sur la biodiversité.

Photo : Archipel des Mille-Îles © Environnement Canada
Archipel des Mile-Îles, Ontario

Retournez à la table des matières

Modification de l'écoulement d'eau douce dans l'océan Arctique et dans l'Atlantique nord

de 1964 à 2003
Carte : L'écoulement d'eau douce dans l'océan Arctique et dans l'Atlantique nord. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Remarque : Les triangles rouges indiquent une diminution du débit d’un cours d’eau. Les triangles verts indiquent une augmentation du débit. La dimension du triangle indique l’importance du changement.
Source: Adapté de Déry et Wood, 200511
Pourcentage de changement
de 1964 à 2003
Graphe : Modification de l'écoulement d'eau douce dans l'océan arctique et dans l'atlantique nord. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source: Adapté de Déry et Wood, 200511

 

 

L’écoulement dans l’océan Arctique et dans l’Atlantique nord d’eau douce provenant des cours d’eau canadiens a diminué de 10 % au cours des 40 dernières années, ce qui a été attribué à une diminution des précipitations durant cette même période11,12. Malgré cela, il en ressort une augmentation de 5,3 % du débit fluvial vers l’océan Arctique. Cette hausse nette est attribuable à l’augmentation marquée du débit annuel des six premiers fleuves eurasiens en importance13, 14. L’écoulement d’eau douce dans les mers du Nord peut influer sur les processus océaniques, qui à leur tour influencent la dynamique des espèces marines.

Retournez à la table des matières