Accessing Genetic Resources in Canada

Incorporating your responses into the decision making processes

We need to hear what you think about ABS policy in Canada. We have included specific questions for your consideration throughout the document. In addition to the specific questions on the options presented, you may wish to consider:

  • Do you have any general comments about ABS you would like the Task Group to consider?
  • Do you have any general comments about this process that you would like to share with the Task Group?
  • Are you aware of existing ABS practices? Do you use them? Are they effective? Why or why not? What are the gaps?

These questions have been outlined clearly on a website for you to complete. You can also participate through a traditional mail system (instructions outlined in the box below).

Your ideas and feedback on the issues and questions outlined in this Discussion Paper will be of direct assistance as governments in Canada continue to work together to address the challenges of access and benefit sharing of genetic resources. The Federal/Provincial/Territorial Task Group will review the comments, suggestions and concerns they receive through this engagement process. The output from the engagement process will be provided to governments, and is proposed to be discussed at a possible meeting of Federal/Provincial/Territorial Ministers in the fall of 2009.

Any decision on ABS policy in Canada will take into account the views of interested individuals, organizations and Aboriginal groups. If Ministers decide to proceed with ABS policy in Canada, further discussions on the proposed option(s) could be held at that point.

Section 7

Accès aux ressources génétiques au Canada

Inclure vos réponses dans les processus de prise de décision

Nous avons besoin de connaître vos opinions sur la politique d'APA au Canada. Nous vous avons posé des questions précises dans le document. En plus des questions sur les options présentées, veuillez considérer les suivantes :

  • Avez-vous des commentaires généraux à propos de l'APA que vous aimeriez soumettre à l'attention du groupe de travail?
  • Avez-vous des commentaires généraux à propos de ce processus que vous aimeriez partager avec le groupe de travail?
  • Êtes-vous au courant de pratiques d'APA en vigueur? Les utilisez-vous? Sont-elles efficaces? Pourquoi, ou pourquoi pas? Quels sont les lacunes?

Ces questions sont clairement énoncées sur un site web où vous pouvez fournir vos réponses. Vous pouvez aussi participer au moyen du service postal traditionnel (les directives se trouvent dans l'encadré ci-après).

Vos idées et vos réactions sur les questions et les enjeux présentés dans ce document de discussion apporteront un aide directe aux différents gouvernements du Canada au moment où ils continueront de travailler ensemble pour faire face aux défis de l'accès et du partage des ressources génétiques. Le groupe de travail fédéral, provincial et territorial examinera les commentaires, les suggestions et les préoccupations qu'ils auront reçus grâce à cet exercice.. Le résultat de cet exercice sera partagé avec les gouvernements et sera proposé pour discussion à une possible rencontre des ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux à l'automne 2009.

Toute décision sur une politique d'APA au Canada prendra en compte les opinions des personnes intéressées, des organismes et des groupes autochtones. Si les ministres décident d'aller de l'avant avec une politique d'APA au Canada, d'autres discussions sur les propositions pourraient se tenir à ce moment-là.