Skip booklet index and go to page content

Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for Key Findings Summary

This report is also available in PDF format. Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for Key Findings Summary (PDF, 3.52 MB)

Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010

Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report No. 13
Published by the Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers

Document Information

Cover photo

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

Taiga Plains Ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary.

Issued also in French under title:
Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l'écozone+ de la taiga des plaines.
Electronic monograph in PDF format.
ISBN 978-1-100-22400-8
Cat. no.: En14-43/0-13-2013E-PDF

Information contained in this publication or product may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, for personal or public non-commercial purposes, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.
You are asked to:

  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

Commercial reproduction and distribution is prohibited except with written permission from the author. For more information, please contact Environment Canada’s Inquiry Centre at 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only) or 819-997-2800 or email to enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

Cover photo: boreal caribou, Gwich’in Settlement Area. Photo by John A. Nagy, provided by Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT)

This report should be cited as:
ESTR Secretariat. 2013. Taiga Plains Ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary. Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010, Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report No. 13. Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers. Ottawa, ON. vii + 109 p. Technical Reports

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2013
Aussi disponible en français

Top of Page

Preface

The Canadian Councils of Resource Ministers developed a Biodiversity Outcomes FrameworkReference 1 in 2006 to focus conservation and restoration actions under the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy.Reference 2 Canadian Biodiversity: Ecosystem Status and Trends 2010Reference 3 was the first report under this framework. It presents 22 key findings that emerged from synthesis and analysis of background technical reports prepared on the status and trends for many cross-cutting national themes (the Technical Thematic Report Series) and for individual terrestrial and marine ecozones+ of Canada (the Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessments). More than 500 experts participated in data analysis, writing, and review of these foundation documents. Summary reports for each terrestrial Ecozone+ present Ecozone+-specific evidence related to each of the 22 national key findings (the Evidence for Key Findings Summary Report Series). Together, the full complement of these products constitutes the 2010 Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR):

2010 Ecosystem Status and Trends Report (ESTR)
Graphic of 2010 ecosystem status and trends report instead. Please review all sections with images and update alt tag accordingly

This report, Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Evidence for Key Findings Summary, presents evidence from the Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment related to the 22 national key findings and is therefore not a comprehensive assessment of all ecosystem-related information. The level of detail presented on each key finding varies and important issues or datasets may have been missed. As in all ESTR products, the time frames over which trends are assessed vary – both because time frames that are meaningful for these diverse aspects of ecosystems vary and because the assessment is based on the best available information, which is over a range of time periods.

There have been extensive environmental impact assessments conducted in this Ecozone+ in relation to oil and gas exploration and transportation proposals. The baseline studies conducted for the Mackenzie Gas ProjectReference 4 are a source of compiled research and monitoring for parts of the Taiga Plains Ecozone+. Some results from this work have been included, but the scope and timing of the report precluded extensive use of this resource.

Top of Page

Ecological classification system – ecozones+

A slightly modified version of the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada, described in the National Ecological Framework for Canada,Reference 5 provided the ecosystem-based units for all reports related to this project. Modifications from the original framework include: adjustments to terrestrial boundaries to reflect improvements from ground-truthing exercises; the combination of three Arctic ecozones into one; the use of two ecoprovinces – Western Interior Basin and Newfoundland Boreal; the addition of nine marine ecosystem-based units; and, the addition of the Great Lakes as a unit. This modified classification system is referred to as “ecozones+” throughout these reports to avoid confusion with the more familiar “ecozones” of the original framework.Reference 6 Changes made for the Taiga Plains, based on ground-truthing: (1) reduce the area along its boundary with the Taiga Cordillera Ecozone+, (2) extend the area along its boundary with the Arctic Ecozone+ and, (3) move the southeastern boundary to include lands formerly considered part of the Taiga Shield.

Ecological classification system – ecozones+
Map
Long description for Ecological classification system – ecozones+

This map of Canada shows the ecological classification framework for the Ecosystem Status and Trends Report, named “ecozones+”. This map shows the distribution of 15 terrestrial ecozones+ (Atlantic Maritime; Newfoundland Boreal; Taiga Shield; Mixedwood Plains; Boreal Shield; Hudson Plains; Prairies; Boreal Plains; Montane Cordillera; Western Interior Basin; Pacific Maritime; Boreal Cordillera; Taiga Cordillera; Taiga Plains; Arctic), two large lake ecozones+ (Great Lakes; Lake Winnipeg), and nine marine ecozones+ (North Coast and Hecate Strait; West Coast Vancouver Island; Strait of Georgia; Gulf of Maine and Scotian Shelf; Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence; Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves; Hudson Bay, James Bay and Fox Basin; Canadian Arctic Archipelago; Beaufort Sea).

Top of Page

Acknowledgements

This report has been written by the ESTR Secretariat with significant assistance from Anne Gunn and Joan Eamer. It is based on the report, Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment.

Additional reviews of this summary report were provided by scientists and resource managers from relevant provincial and federal government agencies, as well as one external expert review. Further information about this Ecozone+ can be found in the associated supplementary material, taken from the draft Technical Ecozone+ Report. Contributions to the Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment are listed below.

Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends AssessmentReference 7 (Technical Ecozone+ Report) acknowledgments

Lead authors
Anne Gunn, Joan Eamer, and Suzanne Carrière
Contributing authors, specific sections or topics
Northwest Territories ecozone classification: B. Oosenbrug
Protected areas: Jean-Francois Gobeil, Robert Helie and Robert Vanderkam
Authors of ESTR Thematic Technical Reports from which material is drawn
Large-scale climate oscillations influencing Canada, 1900-2008: B. Bonsal and A. ShabbarReference 8
Canadian climate trends, 1950-2007: X. Zhang, R. Brown, L. Vincent, W. Skinner, Y. Feng and E. MekisReference 9
Trends in large fires in Canada, 1959-2007: C.C. Krezek-Hanes, F. Ahern, A. Cantin and M.D. FlanniganReference 10
Wildlife pathogens and diseases in Canada: F.A. LeightonReference 11
Trends in permafrost conditions and ecology in northern Canada: S. SmithReference 12
Monitoring ecosystems remotely: a selection of trends measured from satellite observations of Canada: F. Ahern, J. Frisk, R. Latifovic and D. PouliotReference 13
Climate-driven trends in Canadian streamflow, 1961-2003: A. Cannon, T. Lai and P. WhitfieldReference 14
Biodiversity in Canadian lakes and rivers: W.A. Monk and D.J. BairdReference 15

Review conducted by scientists, traditional knowledge specialists, and renewable resource and wildlife managers from provincial (BC only), territorial, and federal government agencies, and from wildlife co-management boards through a review process recommended by the ESTR Steering Committee. Substantial changes to the report were made as a result of this process.

Direction provided by the ESTR Steering Committee composed of representatives of federal, provincial and territorial agencies.

Editing, synthesis, technical contributions, maps and graphics, and report production by the ESTR Secretariat.

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge compiled from publicly available sources by Donna D. Hurlburt.

Figure 1. Overview map of the Taiga Plains Ecozone+
Map
Long description for Figure 1.

This overview map of the Taiga Plains Ecozone+ shows the locations of cities/towns and bodies of water referred to in the report.  The ecozone+ extends from the Mackenzie River Delta at the Yukon border along the western side of the Northwest Territories and down into the northeast corner of BC and northwest Alberta.  Villages and towns pictured on the map include Aklavik, Inuvik, Fort McPherson and Tsiigehtchic near the Mackenzie delta, Fort Good Hope, Norman Wells, Fort Simpson, Fort Providence and Fort Smith in the Northwest Territories, Fort Nelson in BC and Hay Lake in Alberta. Yellowknife and Wrigley, NWT are pictured, but fall just outside the boundaries of the ecozone+.  Half of Great Slave Lake and all of Great Bear Lake fall within the boundaries of the Taiga Plains Ecozone+.  From northwest to southeast, the major rivers depicted on the map are the Arctic Red River, the Mackenzie River, the Liard River, the Hay River and the Slave River.  All-weather roads on the map are typically restricted to the southern half of the ecozone+, with access to northern areas by winter road, except the Dempster Highway that runs to Inuvik and Fort McPherson from the Yukon.

Top of Page

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ de la taïga des plaines

Ce rapport est aussi disponible en version PDF. Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l'écozone+ de la taïga des plaines (PDF, 5.09 Mo)

Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010

Rapport sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés no 13
Publié par les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources

Information sur le document

Photo de couverture

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ de la taïga des plaines.

Publ. aussi en anglais sous le titre :
Taiga Plains Ecozone+ evidence for key findings summary.
Monographie électronique en version PDF.
ISBN 978-0-660-20983-8
No de cat. : En14-43/2013F-PDF

Le contenu de cette publication ou de ce produit peut être reproduit en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sous réserve que la reproduction soit effectuée uniquement à des fins personnelles ou publiques, mais non commerciales, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire.
On demande seulement :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’exactitude du matériel reproduit;
  • d’indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l’organisation qui en est l’auteur;
  • d’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de celui-ci.

La reproduction et la distribution à des fins commerciales est interdite, sauf avec la permission écrite de l’auteur. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’informathèque d'Environnement Canada au 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement) ou 819-997-2800 ou par courriel à enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

Photo de la page couverture : caribou boréal, région désignée des Gwich’in. Photographie de John Nagy, fournie par le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Ce rapport devrait être cité comme suit :
Secrétariat du RETE. 2013. Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ de la taïga des plaines. Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010, Rapport sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés no 13. Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources. Ottawa (Ont.).ix + 128 p. Rapports techniques

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2013
Also available in English

Haut de la page

Préface

Les Conseils canadiens des ministres des ressources ont élaboré un Cadre axé sur les résultats en matière de biodiversitéRéférence 1 en 2006 pour mettre l’accent sur les mesures de conservation et de restauration conformément à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversitéRéférence 2. Le rapport Biodiversité canadienne : état et tendances des écosystèmes en 2010Référence 3 a été le premier rapport rédigé suivant ce cadre. Il présente 22 constatations clés issues de la synthèse et de l’analyse de rapports préparés dans le cadre du présent projet. Ces rapports techniques présentent des renseignements et des analyses sur l’état et les tendances pour de nombreux thèmes nationaux intersectoriels (série de rapports techniques thématiques) et pour les écozones+ terrestres et marines du Canada (évaluations de l’état et des tendances des écozones+). Plus de 500 experts ont participé à l’analyse des données ainsi qu’à la rédaction et à l’examen de ces documents de base. Des rapports sommaires ont également été élaborés pour chaque écozone+ terrestre afin de présenter les éléments probants propres à ces écozones relativement à chacune des 22 constatations clés nationales (série de rapports sommaires sur les éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés). Ensemble, l'intégralité du complément de ces produits constitue le rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 (RETE).

Le rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes en 2010 (RETE)
Graphic

Ce rapport, Sommaire des éléments probants relativement aux constatations clés pour l’écozone+ de la taïga des plaines, présente des éléments probants concernant l'écozone+ de la taïga de la Cordillère en ce qui concerne les 22 constatations clés nationales, et met en évidence des tendances importantes propres à cette écozone+. Ce rapport n'est donc pas une évaluation exhaustive de tous les renseignements liés à l'écosystème. Le niveau de détails présenté sur chaque constatation clé varie et des enjeux ou des ensembles de données importants peuvent avoir été oubliés. L'accent a été mis sur les renseignements issus de la série de rapports techniques thématiques. Comme dans tous les produits du RETE, les périodes sur lesquelles sont basées les évaluations de l'état et des tendances varient : d'une part, parce que les périodes pertinentes pour les divers aspects des écosystèmes varient, et d'autre part, parce que l'évaluation est fondée sur les meilleurs renseignements disponibles, qui proviennent de diverses périodes.

Des évaluations approfondies de l’impact sur l’environnement des projets d’exploration et de transport du pétrole et du gaz ont été menées dans l’écozone+. Les études préliminaires menées dans le cadre du projet gazier MackenzieRéférence 4 constituent une source de données compilées de recherche et de surveillance pour certaines parties de l’écozone+ de la Taïga des plaines. Certains résultats des travaux ont été inclus dans le présent rapport, mais la portée et le moment de la publication du rapport ont empêché l’utilisation exhaustive de cette ressource.

Haut de la page

Système de classification écologique – écozones+

Une version légèrement modifiée des écozones terrestres du Canada, décrite dans le Cadre écologique national pour le CanadaRéférence 5, a permis de déterminer les zones représentatives d’écosystèmes pour tous les rapports compris dans le présent projet. Les modifications comprennent : un ajustement des limites terrestres pour tenir compte des améliorations résultant des activités de vérification au sol; la fusion des trois écozones de l’Arctique en une seule écozone; l’utilisation de deux écoprovinces, à savoir le bassin intérieur de l’Ouest et la forêt boréale de Terre-Neuve; l’ajout de neuf zones marines représentatives d’écosystèmes; et l’ajout de l’écozone des Grands Lacs. Ce système de classification modifié est appelé « écozones+ » dans ces rapports afin d’éviter toute confusion avec les « écozones » mieux connues du cadre initialRéférence 6. Les modifications apportées à l’écozone de la Taïga des plaines, fondées sur des vérifications au sol sont les suivantes : 1) réduction de la superficie le long de sa limite avec l’écozone+ de la Taïga de la Cordillère; 2) augmentation de la superficie le long de sa limite avec l’écozone+ de l’Arctique; 3) déplacement de la limite sud-est pour inclure des terres qui étaient considérées autrefois comme faisant partie de l’écozone de la Taïga du bouclier.

Système de classification écologique – écozones+
Carte
Description longue pour la système de classification écologique – écozones+

Cette carte du Canada montre le cadre de classification écologique pour le Rapport sur l'état et les tendances des écosystèmes, appelé « écozones+ ». Cette carte illustre la répartition des 15 écozones+ terrestres (Maritime de l'Atlantique; Boréale de Terre-Neuve; Taïga du bouclier; Plaines à forêts mixtes; Bouclier boréal; Plaines hudsoniennes; Prairies; Plaines boréales; Cordillère montagnarde; Bassin intérieur de l'Ouest; Maritime du Pacifique; Cordillère boréale; Taïga de la cordillère; Taïga des plaines; Arctique), deux grandes écozones+ de lacs (Grand Lacs; Lac Winnipeg), et neuf écozones+ marines (Estuaire et golfe du Saint-Laurent; Golfe du Maine et plateau néo-écossais; Plateaux de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador; Baie d'Hudson, baie James et bassin Foxe; Archipel Arctique canadien; Mer de Beaufort; Côte nord et détroit d'Hécate; Côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver; Détroit de Georgia).

Haut de la page

Remerciements

Ce rapport a été rédigé par le Secrétariat du RETE avec une contribution importante de la part d'Anne Gunn et de Joan Eamer. Il porte sur le rapport intitulé Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment.

Des analyses supplémentaires de ce rapport sommaire ont été réalisées par des scientifiques et des gestionnaires de ressources d'organismes gouvernementaux fédéraux et provinciaux concernés, ainsi que par un expert externe. D'autres renseignements sur cette écozone+ sont fournis dans le matériel supplémentaire connexe tiré de la version préliminaire du rapport d'évaluation de l'état et des tendances. Les contributions au rapport Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends Assessment sont indiquées ci-dessous.

Remerciements concernant le Taiga Plains Ecozone+ Status and Trends AssessmentRéférence 7 (rapport technique sur l’écozone+)

Auteurs principaux
Anne Gunn, Joan Eamer et Suzanne Carrière
Collaborateurs à la rédaction, pour certains sections ou sujets particuliers
Classification des écozones des Territoires du Nord Ouest : B. Oosenbrug
Zones protégées : Jean Francois Gobeil, Robert Helie et Robert Vanderkam
Auteurs des rapports techniques thématiques du RETE dont proviennent les renseignements
Oscillations climatiques à grande échelle ayant une incidence sur le Canada, de 1900 à 2008 : B. Bonsal et A. ShabbarRéférence 8
Tendances climatiques au Canada, de 1950 à 2007 : X. Zhang, R. Brown, L. Vincent, W. Skinner, Y. Feng et E. MekisRéférence 9
Tendances des grands incendies de forêts au Canada, de 1959 à 2007 : C.C. Krezek-Hanes, F. Ahern, A. Cantin et M.D. FlanniganRéférence 10
Pathogènes et maladies de la faune au Canada : F.A. LeightonRéférence 11
Tendances relatives aux conditions du pergélisol et à l’écologie dans le nord du Canada : S. SmithRéférence 12
Surveillance à distance des écosystèmes : sélection de tendances mesurées à partir d’observations par satellite du Canada : F. Ahern, J. Frisk, R. Latifovic et D. PouliotRéférence 13
Tendances dictées par le climat dans les écoulements fluviaux au Canada, de 1961 à 2003 : A. Cannon, T. Lai et P. WhitfieldRéférence 14
Biodiversité dans les rivières et lacs du Canada : W.A. Monk et D.J. BairdRéférence 15

Révision menée par des scientifiques, des spécialistes des connaissances traditionnelles et des gestionnaires des ressources renouvelables et de la faune des provinces (Colombie-Britannique seulement) et des territoires, par des organismes du gouvernement fédéral et des conseils de cogestion de la faune dans le cadre d’un processus de révision recommandé par le comité directeur du RETE. Le processus a entraîné des modifications majeures au rapport.

Direction assurée par le comité directeur du RETE, composé de représentants des organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux.

Édition, synthèse, collaborations techniques, cartes et graphiques, ainsi que production du rapport effectuées par le Secrétariat du RETE.

Les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones ont été compilées par Donna D. Hurlburt à partir de sources disponibles pour le public.

Figure 1. Carte générale de l'écozone+ de la Taïga des plaines.
Carte
Description longue pour la figure 1.

Cette carte générale de l’écozone+ de la Taïga des plaines indique l’emplacement des villes et villages et des plans d’eau mentionnés dans le rapport. L’écozone+ s’étend du delta du fleuve Mackenzie, à la frontière du Yukon, le long du côté ouest des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, jusque dans le coin nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique et le nord-ouest de l’Alberta. Les villes et villages localisés sur la carte sont Aklavik, Inuvik, Fort McPherson et Tsiigehtchic, près du delta du Mackenzie; Fort Good Hope, Norman Wells, Fort Simpson, Fort Providence et Fort Smith, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest; Fort Nelson, en Colombie-Britannique; et Hay Lake, en Alberta. Yellowknife et Wrigley (T.N.-O.) sont représentées, mais elles se situent juste à l’extérieur des limites de l’écozone+. La moitié du Grand lac des Esclaves et la totalité du Grand lac de l’Ours se trouvent à l’intérieur des limites de l’écozone+ de la Taïga des plaines. Du nord-ouest au sud-est, les principaux cours d’eau illustrés sur la carte sont la rivière Arctic Red, le fleuve Mackenzie, la rivière Liard, la rivière au Foin et la rivière des Esclaves. Les routes praticables en toute saison illustrées sur la carte sont généralement regroupées dans la moitié sud de l’écozone+; les secteurs du nord sont accessibles par des routes d’hiver, sauf la route de Dempster, qui relie le Yukon à Inuvik et Fort McPherson.

Haut de la page

Introduction