Ecosystem Services

Photo: Holland Marsh, Ontario © Tim Hagen
Holland Marsh, Ontario

Valuation of ecosystem services

Failure to recognize the economic value of healthy ecosystems has contributed to the continuing decline of biodiversity worldwide.17 Duplication or replacement of ecosystem services with human-made alternatives is costly and can lack complementary services such as cultural value. Valuation of ecosystem services is a way to include biodiversity considerations in decision making about land use and economic activity and to measure the importance of biodiversity to people. The economic value of many provisioning services, such as the production of fish or timber, is often easily estimated because the products have well-defined prices. It is more complicated to place a value on non-market ecosystem services. A large-scale valuation study of ecosystems within the boreal region of Canada18 provides a framework for more detailed valuations in specific areas.

Ecosystem services of Ontario’s greenbelt

Map: Ontario's greenbelt. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from the Friends of the Greenbelt Foundation, 200924

Ontario’s Greenbelt Act of 2005 protected 7,604 km2 of land from further urban development in the Golden Horseshoe region of southern Ontario. This area supports a quarter of Canada’s population and is the fastest growing region in North America.23 The greenbelt is made up of green spaces, farmlands, communities, forests, wetlands, and watersheds, and includes habitat for more than a third of Ontario’s species at risk.23

The estimated total value of the area’s measurable non-market ecosystem services is approximately $2.6 billion annually.23 This estimate is likely low due to an incomplete understanding of all benefits provided by the greenbelt and the difficulty of assigning a value that represents and reflects the importance of the area to people. The value of the greenbelt is likely to increase with time as the ecosystems protected within it become increasingly rare.23

Ecosystem serviceAnnual value (millions)
Habitat$548
Flood control (wetlands)$380
Carbon storage and uptake$377
Agricultural pollination$298
Water runoff control by forests$278
Water filtration$131
Natural regeneration$98
Recreation and aesthetics$95
Cultural/spiritual$66
Biological control$8
Soil formation$6
Nutrient cycling$2
Erosion control<$1

Source : Wilson, 200823

Valuation of the Beverly and Qamanirjuaq caribou herds

Map: Beverly and Qamanirjuaq caribou herds. Click for graphic description (new window).

The relationship between people of northern Canada and caribou has developed over thousands of years and underpins many cultural values. People living in the range of the Beverly caribou herd, for example, have harvested caribou for approximately 8,000 years.19

An examination of the services provided by the Beverly and Qamanirjuaq caribou herds found that the value of harvest, including meat, hides, and antlers, is approximately $19.9 million per year.20 Previous studies in the region, augmented with questionnaires and interviews, concluded that traditional harvest of caribou and associated activities were viewed by people throughout the range of the two herds as integral to the maintenance and transfer of knowledge, skills, and culture. Many people interviewed talked about how important the caribou harvest was to their identity and to the revitalization of their communities.20

The ecosystem services that people of the North derive from caribou are threatened. The Beverly herd has declined severely since the last survey in 1994.21 As a result, people from northern Saskatchewan who traditionally harvest Beverly caribou have had to fly north or east for their harvest. These caribou may be from other declining herds, such as the Qamanirjuaq, Bathurst, or Ahiak.21, 22

Page 2

Services écosystémiques

Photo : Marais Holland en Ontario © Tim Hagen
Marais Holland en Ontario

Évaluation des services écosystémiques

Le défaut de reconnaître la valeur économique d'écosystèmes sains a contribué au déclin continu de la biodiversité dans le monde17. La duplication ou le remplacement des services écosystémiques par des services de remplacement d'origine humaines sont coûteux et peuvent être dépourvus de services complémentaires, comme les valeurs culturelles. L'évaluation des services écosystémiques est une façon d'intégrer les considérations sur la biodiversité dans la prise de décisions en matière d'utilisation du sol et d'activité économique, et de mesurer la valeur de la biodiversité aux yeux des gens. La valeur économique de nombreux services d'approvisionnement, comme la production de poissons ou de bois d'oeuvre, est souvent estimée facilement parce que les produits ont des prix bien définis. Il est plus complexe d'attribuer une valeur à des services écosystémiques non commercialisés. Une étude d'évaluation à grande échelle des écosystèmes de la région boréale canadienne18 offre un cadre pour obtenir des évaluations plus détaillées dans des domaines précis.

Services écosystémiques de la ceinture de verdure de l’Ontario

Carte : Ceinture de verdure de l'Ontario. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Friends of the Greenbelt Foundation, 200924.

La valeur totale estimée des services écosystémiques non commerciaux mesurables de la région est d'environ 2,6 milliards de dollars annuellement23. La ceinture verte, composée d'espaces verts, de terres agricoles, de communautés, de forêts, de milieux humides et de bassins versants, représente l'habitat de plus d'un tiers des espèces en péril de l'Ontario23.

La valeur totale estimée des services écosystémiques non commerciaux mesurables de la région est d'environ 2,6 milliards de dollars annuellement23. Cette estimation est probablement faible en raison d'une compréhension incomplète de tous les avantages que procure la ceinture de verdure et de la difficulté d'attribuer une valeur qui représente l'importance de l'existence de cette région aux yeux de la population. La ceinture de verdure prendra sans doute de la valeur au fil du temps à mesure que les écosystèmes protégés qu'elle renferme deviendront de plus en plus rares23.

Service écosystémiqueValeur annuelle
(en millions)
Habitat548$
Lutte contre les inondations
(milieux humides)
380$
Stockage et absorption du carbone377$
Pollinisation agricole298$
Contrôle des eaux de ruissellement
par les forêts
278$
Filtration de l'eau131$
Régénération naturelle98$
Activités de loisir et esthétique95$
Culturel/spirituel66$
Lutte biologique8$
Formation du sol6$
Cycle des éléments nutritifs2$
Lutte contre l'érosion<1$

Source : Wilson, 200823.

Évaluation des hardes de caribous de Beverly et Qamanirjuaq

Carte : Hardes de caribous de Beverly et Qamanirjuaq. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).

La relation entre les peuples du Nord canadien et les caribous s'est développée sur des milliers d'années et constitue le fondement d'un nombre important de valeurs culturelles. Par exemple, les peuples qui vivent sur le territoire des hardes de caribous de Beverly, en font la récolte depuis environ 8000 ans19.

Un examen des services rendus par les hardes de caribous de Beverly et Qamanirjuaq a permis de constater que la valeur de la récolte, comprenant la viande, le cuir et les bois, était estimée à 19,9 millions de dollars par année20. Des études précédentes dans la région, appuyées par des questionnaires et entrevues, ont conclu que la récolte du caribou et les activités connexes (comme la préparation et le partage de la viande, ainsi que les festins communautaires) étaient perçus par les peuples vivant sur le territoire de ces deux hardes comme faisant partie intégrante de la conservation et du transfert des connaissances, des aptitudes et de la culture. Un grand nombre de personnes interviewées ont souligné à quel point la récolte du caribou revêtait une importance pour leur identité et la revitalisation de leur communauté20.

Les services écosystémiques dont les peuples du Nord bénéficient grâce au caribou sont menacés. La harde de Beverly a fortement diminué depuis le dernier recensement en 199421. Par conséquent, les habitants du nord de la Saskatchewan qui récoltent traditionnellement le caribou de Beverly, ont dû prendre l'avion pour aller plus au nord ou à l'est pour faire une récolte. Ces caribous peuvent provenir d'autres hardes en déclin, comme le caribou de Qamanirjuaq, de Bathurst ou d'Ahiak21, 22.