Species of special interest

Photo: caribou © Anne Gunn

Caribou

Caribou are distributed across most of Canada and can play important ecological roles as herbivores influencing the structure of plant communities, as prey supporting populations of large and medium-sized predators and scavengers, and as a source of nutrients in otherwise nutrient-limited systems. Caribou are an integral part of many cultures, particularly Aboriginal cultures, which have developed with caribou over thousands of years.1

This section is further divided into the following two topics:

Globe

Global Trends

Caribou and reindeer have a circumpolar distribution in the world’s tundra and boreal zones. Wild populations have declined in Russia and are mostly extirpated from Europe, except for a small, stable reindeer population in Norway, and an increasing population in Finland.28 Loss of habitat and climate change are threats worldwide.29

Caribou of the Arctic and taiga

Caribou of the Arctic and taiga population trends
Based on information available in August 2010
Map: Caribou of the Arctic and Taiga population trends. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Gunn and Russell, 2010,2 CARMA, 2009,10 Magoun et al., 2005,15 Elliot, 199816

Abundance of northern caribou, like other northern herbivores, such as lemmings and hares, is cyclic. Caribou numbers generally increased from lows in the mid-1970s to peaks in the mid-1990s, returning to lows by 2009 that are, in some cases, similar to previous lows.2 Some herds, notably the Bathurst and Beverly, which calve in the central Arctic, have experienced severe drops in the past few years.3, 4 Current declining trends may be partly related to natural cycles in abundance.2

Abundance of Peary caribou, which live on the High Arctic islands and are listed as Endangered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC),5 is largely influenced by weather. Periodic severe winters trigger large-scale mortality and reduction in productivity.5 Populations have declined by as much as 98% on several islands.6, 7 During two winters in the 1990s, more than 95% of the Peary caribou population in the western half of its range was devastated by heavy snow and the formation of ice layers in the snow.6 Events like these are projected to become more frequent and more widely distributed with climate change.6, 8, 9

Significant changes on caribou ranges since the 1970s could prevent a recovery of some herds to previous peak numbers.10 These changes include the effects of climate change, including changes in wildfire,11 and an increasing presence of people and development, particularly mining and oil and gas activity.12-14 Caribou harvest by humans and predation are also known to affect abundance within some caribou herds.5

Forest-dwelling woodland caribou

Map and graphs: status and range of forest-dwelling woodland caribou populations. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: range for boreal population and southern boundary of historical extent adapted from Environment Canada, 2008,17 range for southern and northern mountain populations adapted from Thomas and Gray, 200218

Forest-dwelling woodland caribou are relatively non-migratory and live in smaller groups than their northern counterparts. They divide their time between lichen-rich mature forest and open areas, including alpine tundra.18 Historically occurring over much of Canada, their distribution has retracted, with the southern boundary continuing to move northward.18, 20 Caribou had completely disappeared from Nova Scotia and New Brunswick by 1930.21

The status of many herds remains unknown; however, where data exist, declines are evident, particularly for the boreal17 and southern mountain populations.22 Woodland caribou are declining primarily because of loss and degradation of habitat and landscape fragmentation due to roads and other linear features. This is resulting in the isolation of populations and increasing vulnerability to predators.17, 23-25 Overharvest of the caribou, fire, and climate change are also considered factors in population decline.17, 18, 26 Generally, populations that are stable or increasing occur in remote areas with little or no industrial activity or where predator control has been used as a management tool.27

Page 4

Espèces présentant un intérêt particulier

Photo : Caribou © Anne Gunn

Caribou

Le caribou est largement réparti dans presque tout le Canada et il joue d’importants rôles écologiques tant comme herbivore, en influant sur la structure des communautés végétales, que comme proie, en assurant la subsistance des populations de grands et moyens prédateurs et de détritivores. Le caribou est également une source d’éléments nutritifs dans les systèmes où ces éléments sont plutôt limités. Les caribous font partie intégrante de nombreuses cultures, particulièrement la culture autochtone, qui s’est développée avec le caribou au cours de milliers d’années1.

Cette partie est sous-divisée en fonction des deux sujets suivants :

Monde

Tendances mondiales

La répartition du caribou et du renne est circumpolaire dans les zones boréales et la toundra du monde entier. Les populations sauvages ont décliné en Russie, et elles sont en grande partie disparues de l’Europe, à l’exception d’une petite population de rennes stable en Norvège et d’une population en croissance en Finlande28. La perte d’habitat et les changements climatiques constituent des menaces à l’échelle mondiale29.

Caribou de l’Arctique et de la taïga

Tendances des populations des caribous de l’Arctique et de la taïga
Selon les renseignements disponibles en août 2010
Carte : Tendances des populations des caribous de l‘Arctique et de la Taïga. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source: aAdapté de Gunn et Russell, 20102, CARMA, 200910, Magoun et al., 2005,15 Elliot, 199816.

L’abondance du caribou du nord du Canada, comme l’abondance d’autres herbivores nordiques, tels les lemmings et les lièvres, est cyclique. En général, l’abondance des caribous a connu une augmentation, partant des très faibles effectifs du milieu des années 1970 pour atteindre un sommet au milieu des années 1990 ; ce nombre a chuté de nouveau jusqu’en 2009 et, dans certains cas, a atteint des valeurs aussi faibles que celles observées précédemment2. Certaines hardes, notamment celles de Bathurst et de Beverly, qui mettent bas au centre de l’Arctique, ont considérablement diminué au cours des dernières années3, 4. La tendance actuelle à la baisse peut, du moins en partie, être liée aux cycles naturels de l’abondance2.

L’abondance du caribou de Peary, qui vit sur les îles du Haut-Arctique et est désigné espèce en voie de disparition par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC)5, est grandement influencée par les conditions climatiques. Les hivers rigoureux périodiques entraînent une mortalité à grande échelle et une diminution de la productivité5. Les populations ont diminué jusqu’à 98 % dans plusieurs îles6, 7. Au cours de deux hivers dans les années 1990, plus de 95 % de la population de caribous de Peary dans la moitié ouest de son aire de répartition a été décimée en raison d’une neige abondante et de la formation de couches de glace dans la neige6, des phénomènes qui pourraient devenir plus fréquents et plus largement répandus avec les changements climatiques6, 8, 9.

Les modifications importantes survenues dans l’aire de répartition du caribou depuis les années 1970 pourraient empêcher que certaines hardes de caribous se rétablissent et atteignent les effectifs records antérieurs10. Ces modifications comprennent les effets des changements climatiques, y compris la modification du régime des incendies de forêt11, la présence humaine accrue et l’augmentation des projets d’exploitation, en particulier les activités minière, pétrolière et gazière12-14. La récolte de caribous par les humains ainsi que la prédation sont également connus pour avoir des répercussions sur l’abondance de certaines hardes de caribous5.

Caribou des bois sylvicole

Carte et graphiques : État et étendue des populations de caribous des bois habitant les forêts. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Sources : Aire de répartition de la population boréale et limite sud de l’étendue historique adaptées d’Environnement Canada, 200817, raire de répartition des populations des montagnes du Nord et du Sud adaptée de Thomas et Gray, 200218.

Le caribou des bois sylvicole est relativement peu migrateur et vit en plus petits groupes que ses homologues nordiques. Il partage son temps entre la forêt mature riche en lichens et les espaces ouverts, dont la toundra alpine18. Autrefois présent dans la majeure partie du pays, son aire de répartition a diminué, et sa limite sud continue de remonter vers le nord18, 20. Le caribou a disparu de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick depuis 193021.

L’état de nombreuses hardes demeure inconnu. Cependant, lorsque les données existent, elles montrent des déclins évidents, particulièrement de la population boréale17 et de celle des montagnes du Sud22. Les populations de caribous des bois diminuent principalement en raison de la perte et de la dégradation de l’habitat, ainsi que de la fragmentation du paysage causé par les routes et autres aménagements linéaires. Ces facteurs ont entraîné l’isolement des populations et l’augmentation de la vulnérabilité aux prédateurs17, 23-25. Overharvest of the caribou, fire, and climate change are also considered factors in population decline.17, 18, 26 En général, les populations qui sont stables ou en augmentation se trouvent en régions éloignées, où l’activité industrielle est minime ou absente, et où la lutte contre les prédateurs a été utilisée comme outil de gestion27.