Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 14. - Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006

Pacific Maritime Ecozone+

Agricultural landscapes

The agricultural landscapeFootnote 24 decreased in size by approximately 12% between 1986 and 2006 to make up just over 1% of the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ (Figure 44). Figure 45 shows total agricultural land area and the amount of land per each cover type in 1986, 1996, and 2006. Unimproved Pasture was the dominant land cover increasing its share of total agricultural land from 32 to 38% over twenty years. The proportion of CroplandFootnote 25 expanded from 27 to 38%, as the share of Tame Hay (18 to 22%) and other crops (10 to 16%) increased. The share of All Other Land declined from 26 to 16% of agricultural land. The majority of agricultural land was found in the Lower Mainland (40%) and Eastern Vancouver Island (26%) ecoregions. In the Lower Mainland, the share of Unimproved Pasture and Improved Pasture was constant at around 20 and 27% of agricultural land, respectively. All Other Land decreased (19 to 10%) while the share of Cropland increased (48 to 57%). On Eastern Vancouver Island, the share of Cropland also increased (19 to 29%) but comprised a far smaller component of agricultural land compared to the Lower Mainland. Within the Eastern Vancouver Island, the share of Unimproved Pasture dropped slightly from 38 to 37%, but remained as the most abundant cover type. Tame Hay expanded from 15 to 25% of agricultural land, while Improved Pasture and All Other Land declined (from 17 to 7% and from 25 to 21%, respectively).

Figure 44. The percentage of agricultural land within the Soil Landscapes of Canada(SLC) polygons of the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+, 2006.

map

Long Description for Figure 44

This map shows the percentage of agricultural land within the SLC polygons of the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ in 2006. The agricultural landscape makes up just over 1% of the ecozone+.

Top of Page

Figure 45. Total agricultural land area, the amount of land per cover type (chart), and the relative percentage of each cover type (table) for the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ for 1986, 1996, and 2006.

graph

Long Description for Figure 45

This graphic presents a stacked bar graph showing the following information:

Percentage of agricultural land (hectares)
Cover Type198619962006
Oilseeds1121,2141,975
Pulses128640531
Soybeans000
Berries5,0406,5908,643
Improved Pasture34,16839,25318,593
All Other Land69,22271,76936,861
Summerfallow3,3752,8571,113
Unimproved Pasture84,56898,79387,108
Cereals3,1996,3445,788
Corn7,4787,4769,870
Tame Hay47,20152,05950,548
Other Crops2,4443,0333,252
Fruit Trees6031,1111,141
Vegetables6,4615,9275,846
Winter Cereals9711,110927

Top of Page

Potential wildlife use of agricultural land

A total of 319 species of terrestrial vertebrates (221 birds; 76 mammals; 8 reptiles; 14 amphibians) used agricultural land in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+. All Other Land was the most important land cover providing both breeding and feeding habitat requirements for 81% (258) of species. Unimproved Pasture provided both breeding and feeding habitat for 21% (66) of species and a single habitat requirement for 36% (114). Croplandfulfilled the entire habitat requirements of only 12% (37) of species while providing either breeding or feeding habitat for 25% (81).

Top of Page

Wildlife habitat capacity

Although still within the moderate category, average wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ declined significantly between 1986 and 2006 (64.4 ± 19.2 to 52.6 ± 15.4) (ANOVA, F = 14.0, p<0.05) (Figure 46). Figure 47 and Figure 48 show the spatial distribution of habitat capacity values for 1986 and 2006. Over this period, habitat capacity significantly decreased on 68% of agricultural land, increased on 6%, and was constant on 26% (ANOVA: Tukey HSD, p<0.05) (Figure 49). Habitat capacity declined from 56.9 ± 23.9 to 43.2 ± 15.0 in the Lower Mainland and from 59.5 ± 13.3 to 51.9 ± 10.7 on Eastern Vancouver Island.

Figure 46. The share of agricultural land in each habitat capacity category (bars, left axis) and the average habitat capacity for the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ in 1986, 1996, and 2006 (points and line, right axis).

graph

Long Description for Figure 46

Figure 46. The share of agricultural land in each habitat capacity category (bars, left axis) and the average habitat capacity for the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ in 1986, 1996, and 2006 (points and line, right axis)

This stacked percentage bar graph shows the following  information:

Habitat capacity Categories

  • Very high 90->100
  • High  70-90
  • Moderate 50-70
  • Low 30-50
  • Very low <20-30
Share of agricultural land per habitat capacity category (percentage)
Habitat capacity
Categories
198619962006
<200.000.000.00
20-303.481.7511.02
30-4011.709.5017.04
40-5023.0317.8418.15
50-6014.8022.0431.45
60-709.7728.5319.07
70-8025.6613.272.89
80-906.316.240.00
90-1003.320.840.32
>1001.920.000.06

The average habitat capacity for the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ was 64.45 in 1986, 61.66 in 1996 and 52.62 in 2006.

Years with different letters differed significantly (ANOVA: F = 14.0, Tukey HSD p<0.05).

Top of Page

Figure 47. Wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+, 1986.

map

Long Description for Figure 47

This map shows the wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ in 1986. Very high to low habitat capacities are shown throughout the ecozone+. The Lower Mainland region shows largely low capacities, however the region north of it shows predominantly very high wildlife habitat capacity.

HC means average Habitat Capacity for the ecoregion. All SLC polygons with >5% agricultural land were included in the analysis.

Top of Page

Figure 48. Wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+, 2006.

map

Long Description for Figure 48

This map shows the wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ in 2006. Low wildlife habitat capacity dominates the agricultural landscape, with the exception of the Lower Mainland region which shows largely very low capacities. An isolated northern region shows predominantly very high wildlife habitat capacity.

HC means average Habitat Capacity for the ecoregion. All SLC polygons with >5% agricultural land were included in the analysis.

Top of Page

Figure 49. Change in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ between 1986 and 2006.

map

Long Description for Figure 49

This map shows change in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+ between 1986 and 2006. Over this period, habitat capacity significantly decreased on 68% of agricultural land, increased on 6%, and was constant on 26%.

ANOVA, Tukey HSD p<0.05. All SLC polygons with >5% agricultural land were included in the analysis.

Top of Page

Interpretation

The loss of All Other Land was the primary cause of significant habitat capacity decline on agricultural land in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+. At the ecozone+ level, the share of All Other Land declined by close to 10%, representing a loss of the most valuable natural/ semi-natural habitat, while Cropland expanded. This trend was most evident in the Lower Mainland Ecoregion where a 9% loss reduced All Other Land to under 10% while Cropland gained 9% to comprise just under 60%. Habitat capacity declines on Eastern Vancouver Island were also linked to declines in All Other Land (-4%) and Improved Pasture (-10%), and corresponding increases in the amount of Cropland (10%) to comprise just under 30% of agricultural land. The higher habitat capacity in this ecoregion compared to the Lower Mainland was due to an overall higher All Other Land content (21 compared to 10%) and a smaller share of Cropland (29 compared to 57%). Unlike much of the ecozone+, the agricultural footprint expanded in the Pacific Ranges Ecoregion, primarily through the addition of Unimproved Pasture. In 2006, Unimproved Pasture (59%) accounted for the majority of agricultural land in the ecoregion while Croplandcomprised only 20%. Although declines in the share of All Other Land (38 to 13%) reduced habitat capacity from 73.9 ± 20.6 to 62.1 ± 23.2, it still ranked as highest in the Pacific Maritime. This is because the second most valuable agricultural land cover for wildlife (Unimproved Pasture) comprised close to 60% of total agricultural land.

Top of Page

Footnotes

Footnote 24

The agricultural landscape (or agricultural land), as discussed throughout this report, includes the "All Other Land” category from the Census of Agriculture, which is made up of areas such as wetlands, riparian zones, shelterbelts, woodlands, idle land/old fields, and anthropogenic areas (farm buildings, green houses, and lanes).

Return to reference24

Footnote 25

Cropland includes all agricultural land except for All Other Land, Unimproved Pasture, Improved Pasture, and Summerfallow.

Return to reference25

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no. 14. - Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, 1986-2006

Écozone+ maritime du Pacifique

Proportion de terres agricoles

Dans l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique, le paysage agricoleNote24 s’est contractée d’environ 12 % de 1986 à 2006, de manière à ne représenter finalement qu’à peine plus de 1 % de l’écozone+ (Figure 44). La Figure 45 montre la superficie totale des terres agricoles et la superficie occupée par chaque type de couverture en 1986, 1996 et 2006. Les pâturages non améliorés étaient le principal type de couverture et ont augmenté leur part des terres agricoles de 32 à 38 % en 20 ans. La part des terres cultivéesNote25 a augmenté (27 à 38 %), avec l’accroissement du foin cultivé (18 à 22 %) et des cultures annuelles (10 à 16 %). La part des « autres terres » a diminué, passant de 26 à 16 % des terres agricoles. Dans l’ensemble de l’écozone+, la plus grande partie de l’agriculture se pratiquait dans les écorégions des basses terres continentales (40 %) et de l’est de l’île de Vancouver (26 %). Dans les basses terres continentales (vallée du Bas-Fraser), les parts des pâturages non améliorés (environ 20 %) et des pâturages améliorés (environ 27 %) sont demeurées constantes. La part des « autres terres » (19 à 10 %) ont diminué, tandis que la part des terres cultivées a augmenté (48 à 57 %). Dans l’est de l’île de Vancouver, la part des terres cultivées a également augmenté (19 à 29 %), mais c’était une composante beaucoup moins importante des terres agricoles que dans les basses terres continentales. Dans l’est de l’île de Vancouver, la part des pâturages non améliorés a légèrement diminué (38 à 37 %), mais elle est demeurée le plus abondant des types de couverture. Le foin cultivé est passé de 15 à 25 % des terres agricoles, tandis que les pâturages améliorés (17 à 7 %) et les « autres terres » (25 à 21 %) ont diminué.

Figure 44. Pourcentage de terres agricoles dans les polygones pédo-paysages du Canada(PPC) de l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique, en 2006.

carte

Description longue pour la figure 44

Cette carte montre le pourcentage de terres agricoles dans les polygones PPC de l'écozone+ maritime du Pacifique en 2006. Les paysages agricoles constituent un peu plus de 1 % de l'écozone+..

Haut de la page

Figure 45. Superficie totale de terres agricoles et superficie de chaque type de couverture (diagramme) ainsi que proportion relative de chaque type de couverture (tableau) dans l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique, en 1986, 1996 et 2006.

graphique

Description longue pour la figure 45

Cette illustration présente un graphique à barres empilées qui montre les informations suivantes :

Pourcentage de Terres agricoles (hectares)
Type de couverture198619962006
Oléafineux1121,2141,975
Légumineuses à grain128640531
Soja000
Petits fruits5,0406,5908,643
Pâturages améliorés34,16839,25318,593
Autres terres69,22271,76936,861
Jachère3,3752,8571,113
Pâturages non améliorés84,56898,79387,108
Céréales3,1996,3445,788
Mais7,4787,4769,870
Foin cultivé47,20152,05950,548
Autres cultures2,4443,0333,252
Arbres frutiers6031,1111,141
Légumes6,4615,9275,846
Céréales d'hiver9711,110927

Haut de la page

Utilisation potentielle des terres agricoles par la faune

En tout, 319 espèces de vertébrés terrestres (221 oiseaux, 76 mammifères, 8 reptiles et 14 amphibiens) utilisaient comme habitat les terres agricoles de l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique. Les « autres terres » constituaient le plus important type de couverture, en fournissant des habitats de reproduction et d’alimentation à 81 % (258) des espèces. Les pâturages non améliorés fournissaient ces deux types d’habitats à 21 % (66) des espèces et seulement un des deux types d’habitats à 36 % (114) des espèces. Les terres cultivées fournissaient les deux types d’habitats à seulement 12 % (37) des espèces et un des deux types d’habitats à 25 % (81) des espèces.

Haut de la page

Capacité d’habitat faunique

Bien qu’elle soit demeurée modérée, la capacité d’habitat faunique moyenne des terres agricoles de l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique a baissé significativement de 1986 à 2006 (64,4 ± 19,2 à 52,6 ± 15,4) (ANOVA, F = 14,0, p < 0,05) (Figure 46). Les Figure 47 et Figure 48 montrent la répartition spatiale des valeurs de capacité d’habitat en 1986 et en 2006. En vingt ans, la capacité d’habitat a significativement diminué dans 68 % des terres agricoles, a augmenté dans 6 % de ces terres et est demeurée constante dans 26 % (ANOVA; test de Tukey, p < 0,05) (Figure 49). La capacité d’habitat a baissé dans les basses terres continentales (56,9 ± 23,9 à 43,2 ± 15,0) et dans l’est de l’Île de Vancouver (59,5 ± 13,3 à 51,9 ± 10,7).

Figure 46. Répartition des terres agricoles selon les classes de capacité d’habitat (axe de gauche) et capacité d’habitat moyenne des terres agricoles (axe de droite) dans l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique, en 1986, 1996 et 2006.

graphique

Description longue pour la figure 46

Ce graphique à barres empilées (%) montre les informations suivantes :

Classes de capacité d’habitat

  • Très élevée 90->100
  • Élevée 70-90
  • Modérée 50-70
  • Faible 30-50
  • Très faible <20-30
Part de chaque classe de capacité d’habitat (pourcentage)
Classes de
capacité d’habitat
198619962006
<200.000.000.00
20-303.481.7511.02
30-4011.709.5017.04
40-5023.0317.8418.15
50-6014.8022.0431.45
60-709.7728.5319.07
70-8025.6613.272.89
80-906.316.240.00
90-1003.320.840.32
>1001.920.000.06

La capacité d’habitat moyenne dans l’ecozone+ maritime du Pacifique était 64.45 en 1986, 61.66 en 1996 et 52.62 en 2006.

Les années associées à des lettres différentes présentent des différences significatives.
ANOVA, F = 14,0; test de Tukey, p < 0,05

Haut de la page

Figure 47. Capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique, en 1986.

carte

Description longue pour la figure 47

Cette carte montre la capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l'écozone+ maritime du Pacifique en 1986. On observe des capacités d'habitat très élevées à faibles dans l'ensemble de l'écozone+. La région des basses-terres continentales présente en grande partie des capacités faibles, toutefois la région située au nord présente principalement une capacité d'habitat faunique très élevée.

CH signifie la capacité d’habitat moyenne pour l’écorégion. Tous les polygones PPC comportant plus de 5 % de terres agricoles ont été pris en compte dans l’analyse.

Haut de la page

Figure 48. Capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique, en 2006.

carte

Description longue pour la figure 48

Cette carte montre la capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l'écozone+ maritime du Pacifique en 2006. La capacité d'habitat faunique faible domine le paysage agricole, à l'exception de la région des basses-terres continentales, qui présente en grande partie des capacités très faibles. Une région isolée au nord présente principalement une capacité d'habitat faunique très élevée.

CH signifie la capacité d’habitat moyenne pour l’écorégion. Tous les polygones PPC comportant plus de 5 % de terres agricoles ont été pris en compte dans l’analyse.

Haut de la page

Figure 49. Changements survenus de 1986 à 2006 dans la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique.

carte

Description longue pour la figure 49

Cette carte montre les changements survenus de 1986 à 2006 dans la capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l'écozone+ maritime du Pacifique. En vingt ans, la capacité d'habitat a significativement diminué dans 68 % des terres agricoles, a augmenté dans 6 % de ces terres et est demeurée constante dans 26 %.

ANOVA; test de Tukey, p < 0,05. Tous les polygones PPC comportant plus de 5 % de terres agricoles ont été pris en compte dans l’analyse.

Haut de la page

Interprétation

La diminution de la part des « autres terres » a été la principale cause de la baisse significative de capacité d’habitat survenue dans les terres agricoles de l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique. À l’échelle des écozones+, la proportion de la catégorie « autres terres » a diminué de près de 10 %, ce qui représente une perte considérable de l’habitat naturel et semi-naturel qui a le plus de valeur pour les terres agricoles tandis que les terres cultivées se sont étendues. Ce changement a été particulièrement criant dans les basses terres continentales, où la baisse de 9 % des « autres terres » a réduit leur part à moins de 10 %, tandis que les terres cultivées ont augmenté de 9 % pour atteindre une part à peine inférieure à 60 %. Les baisses de capacité d’habitat survenues dans l’est de l’île de Vancouver étaient également liées à une diminution des parts des « autres terres » (- 4 %) et des pâturages améliorés (- 10 %) et à une augmentation correspondante de la part des terres cultivées (+ 10 %), qui ont fini par former presque 30 % des terres agricoles. La capacité d’habitat plus élevée des terres agricoles de cette écorégion par rapport à celles des basses terres continentales était due à la part plus grande des « autres terres » (21 contre 10 %) et à la part plus petite des terres cultivées (29 contre 57 %). Dans l’écorégion des chaînons du Pacifique, contrairement à ce qui se passe dans les autres écorégions de l’écozone+, la zone agricole a connu une expansion principalement due à l’ajout de pâturages non améliorés. En 2006, ce type de couverture occupait beaucoup plus de la moitié (59 %) des terres agricoles de l’écorégion, tandis que les terres cultivées n’en constituaient que 20 %. Bien que la part des « autres terres » (38 à 13 %) ait décliné, la capacité d’habitat des terres agricoles de l’écorégion est passée de 73,9 ± 20,6 à 62,1 ± 23,2 et demeure la plus élevée de l’écozone+ maritime du Pacifique. Il en est ainsi parce que les pâturages non améliorés, arrivant au deuxième rang quant à leur valeur comme habitat faunique, occupaient près de 60 % de la superficie totale des terres agricoles.

Haut de la page

Notes de bas de page

Note 24

Le paysage agricole (ou terres agricoles), tel qu’il est indiqué tout au long de ce rapport, comprend la catégorie « autres terres » du Recensement de l’agriculture, composée de zones telles que les terres humides, les zones riveraines, les brise-vent, les terres boisées, les terres incultivées, les anciens champs et les zones anthropiques (bâtiments agricoles, serres et allées).

Retour à la référence24

Note 25

Les terres cultivées comprennent toutes les terres agricoles à l’exception de la catégorie « autres terres », des pâturages non améliorés, des pâturages améliorés et des terres en jachère.

Retour à la référence25