Skip booklet index and go to page content

Technical Thematic Report No. 14. - Trends in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in Canada, 1986-2006

Boreal Shield Ecozone+

Agricultural landscapes

Agriculture in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ is limited to a few areas where soil quality and microclimate are suitable. From 1986 to 2006, approximately 193,000 hectares were removed from the agricultural landscapeFootnote 13 leaving just over 1.3 million hectares of agricultural land which made up less than 1% of the ecozone+ (Figure 14). Figure 15 shows total agricultural land area and the amount of land per each cover type for 1986, 1996, and 2006. All Other Land was the dominant cover type but declined from 40 to 30% of total agricultural land area. Unimproved Pasture and Improved Pasture declined (17 to 15% and 9 to 8%, respectively) while Tame Hay increased its share from 20 to 29%. Overall the share of agricultural land comprised of CroplandFootnote 14 expanded by around 15%.

Figure 14. The percentage of agricultural land within the Soil Landscapes of Canada(SLC) polygons of the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, 2006.

map

Long Description for Figure 14

This map shows the percentage of agricultural land within the SLC polygons of the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ 2006. There are just over 1.3 million hectares of agricultural land, which made up less than 1% of the ecozone+.

Top of Page

Figure 15. Total agricultural land area, the amount of land per cover type (chart), and the relative percentage of each cover type (table) for the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ for 1986, 1996, and 2006.

graph

Long Description for Figure 15

This graphic presents a stacked bar graph showing the following information:

Percentage of agricultural land (hectares)
Cover Type198619962006
Oilseeds15,82118,24320,651
Pulses2,1561,7141,708
Soybeans1841,49713,225
Berries1,7469,14312,587
Improved Pasture139,38692,293103,633
All Other Land610,541532,420402,249
Summerfallow30,24612,9706,228
Unimproved Pasture259,705274,554203,724
Cereals133,047139,705140,119
Corn14,35312,11420,388
Tame Hay297,201366,020379,451
Other Crops7,59011,28510,030
Fruit Trees132188309
Vegetables1,4451,7931,963
Winter Cereals1,7921,2875,679

Top of Page

Potential wildlife use of agricultural land

A total of 349 species (249 birds; 60 mammals; 21 reptiles; 19 amphibians) used agricultural land in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+. All Other Land with its diverse natural and semi-natural land cover was the most important land cover as it provided both breeding and feeding habitat for 85% (298) of species associated with agricultural land. Unimproved Pasture provided both breeding and feeding habitat for 17% (59) of species and at least a single habitat requirement for 32% (112). Only 13% (46) of species could fulfill both breeding and feeding habitat needs entirely on Cropland while 26% (89) could utilize these cover types for a single habitat requirement.

Top of Page

Wildlife habitat capacity

Wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ declined significantly between 1986 and 2006 from 79.7 ± 13.4 to 63.8 ± 14.4 to rank as moderate (ANOVA, F = 88.6, p = 0.0001) (Figure 16). Figure 17 and Figure 18 show the spatial distribution of habitat capacity values for 1986 and 2006. Over this period, habitat capacity decreased on 71% of farmland, increased on 6%, and was constant on 23% (Figure 19).

Among the ecoregions with higher agriculture production, the Central Laurentians had the largest decline in habitat capacity (78.0 ± 15.4 to 59.4 ± 11.5) followed by the Southern Laurentians (83.4 ± 12.1 to 73.8 ± 14.8) and Lake of the Woods (58.0 ± 13.9 to 51.3 ± 9.8).

Figure 16. The share of agricultural land in each habitat capacity category (bars, left axis) and the average habitat capacity for the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ in 1986, 1996, and 2006 (points and line, right axis).

graph

Long Description for Figure 16

This stacked percentage bar graph shows the following information:

Habitat capacity Categories

  • Very high 90->100
  • High  70-90
  • Moderate 50-70
  • Low 30-50
  • Very low <20-30
Share of agricultural land per habitat capacity category (percentage)
Habitat capacity
Categories
198619962006
<200.000.000.00
20-300.000.000.19
30-402.924.103.18
40-504.018.4018.54
50-6014.1913.7729.58
60-705.3821.2311.70
70-8032.3621.6520.63
80-9028.9323.7813.98
90-1009.606.441.31
>1002.620.620.87

The average habitat capacity for the Ecozone+ was 79.70 in 1986, 76.53 in 1996 and 63.87 in 2006.

Years with different letters differed significantly (ANOVA: F = 88.6, Tukey HSD p<0.05).

Top of Page

Figure 17. Wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, 1986.

map

Long Description for Figure 17

This map shows wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ in 1986. Agricultural land to the west of the James Bay ranges from high to moderate wildlife habitat capacity, whereas agricultural land to the east of the James bay ranges from very high to high.

HC means average Habitat Capacity for the ecoregion. All SLC polygons with >5% agricultural land were included in the analysis.

Top of Page

Figure 18. Wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, 2006.

map

Long Description for Figure 18

This map shows wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ in 2006. Agricultural land across the ecozone+ shows moderate to low wildlife habitat capacity, with the exception of patches of high capacity along the southeastern region of the ecozone+.

HC means average Habitat Capacity for the ecoregion. All SLC polygons with >5% agricultural land were included in the analysis.

Top of Page

Figure 19. Change in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ between 1986 and 2006.

map

Long Description for Figure 19

This map shows change in wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ between 1986 and 2006. Over this period, habitat capacity decreased on 71% of farmland, increased on 6%, and was constant on 23%.

ANOVA, Turkey HSD p<0.05. All SLC polygons with >5% agricultural land were included in the analysis.

Top of Page

Interpretation

Agricultural land in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+ is a small component of the broader landscape making up less than 1% of total land area. Where agricultural land occurs, it is well dispersed among forested areas and has a high All Other Land component associated with it. As such, the impact of agricultural land on wildlife at the ecozone+ scale is low as considerable habitat options are available on and adjacent to agricultural land.

Within the agricultural landscape, declining habitat capacity was linked to a reduction in the share of All Other Land (40 to 30%). As the agricultural footprint shrank in the Boreal Shield, Cropland expanded its share of total agricultural land from 31 to 46%. This was primarily due to a 9% increase in Tame Hay. The combination of these factors reduced wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land from high to moderate.

Among the ecoregions with higher agricultural production, the Lake of the Woods consistently recorded the lowest habitat capacity primarily due to its relatively small and declining share of All Other Land (23 to 17%). In comparison, the share of All Other Land in the Central and Southern Laurentians, although also reporting declines, was higher (37 to 26% and 46 to 39%, respectively) offering greater habitat options for wildlife on agricultural land. The importance of All Other Land was evident as habitat capacity levels tracked availability of this cover type.

Top of Page

Footnotes

Footnote 13

The agricultural landscape (or agricultural land), as discussed throughout this report, includes the "All Other Land” category from the Census of Agriculture, which is made up of areas such as wetlands, riparian zones, shelterbelts, woodlands, idle land/old fields, and anthropogenic areas (farm buildings, green houses, and lanes).

Return to reference 13

Footnote 14

Cropland includes all agricultural land except for All Other Land, Unimproved Pasture, Improved Pasture, and Summerfallow.

Return to reference 14

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport technique thématique no. 14. - Tendances de la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles du Canada, 1986-2006

Écozone+ du Bouclier boréal

Proportion de terres agricoles

Dans l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, l’agriculture se limite à quelques secteurs où la qualité des sols et le microclimat conviennent à cette industrie. De 1986 à 2006, environ 193 milliers d’hectares ont été retranchés du paysage agricoleNote 13, qui comporte maintenant à peine plus de 1,3 million d’hectares, soit moins de 1 % de l’écozone+ (Figure 14). La Figure 15 montre la superficie totale des terres agricoles et la superficie occupée par chaque type de couverture, en 1986, 1996 et 2006. La catégorie « autres terres » constituait le principal type de couverture, mais sa part est passée de 40 à 30 % des terres agricoles. Les parts des pâturages non améliorés et améliorés ont diminué, passant respectivement de 17 à 15 % et de 9 à 8 %, tandis que la part du foin cultivé a augmenté (20 à 29 %). Globalement, la part des terres cultivéesNote 14 a augmenté d’environ 15 %.

Figure 14. Pourcentage de terres agricoles dans les polygones PPC de l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, en 2006.

carte

Description longue pour la figure 14

Cette carte montre le pourcentage de terres agricoles dans les polygones PPC de l'écozone+ du Bouclier boréal en 2006. Il y a un peu plus de 1,3 million d'hectares de terres agricoles, ce qui représente moins de 1 % de l'écozone+.

Haut de la page

Figure 15. Superficie totale de terres agricoles et superficie de chaque type de couverture (diagramme) ainsi que proportion relative de chaque type de couverture (tableau) dans l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, en 1986, 1996 et 2006.

graphique

Description longue pour la figure 15

Cette illustration présente un graphique à barres empilées qui montre les informations suivantes :

Pourcentage de Terres agricoles (hectares)
Type de couverture198619962006
Oléafineux15,82118,24320,651
Légumineuses à grain2,1561,7141,708
Soja1841,49713,225
Petits fruits1,7469,14312,587
Pâturages améliorés139,38692,293103,633
Autres terres610,541532,420402,249
Jachère30,24612,9706,228
Pâturages non améliorés259,705274,554203,724
Céréales133,047139,705140,119
Mais14,35312,11420,388
Foin cultivé297,201366,020379,451
Autres cultures7,59011,28510,030
Arbres frutiers132188309
Légumes1,4451,7931,963
Céréales d'hiver1,7921,2875,679

Haut de la page

Utilisation potentielle des terres agricoles par la faune

En tout, 349 espèces de vertébrés terrestres (249 oiseaux, 60 mammifères, 21 reptiles et 19 amphibiens) utilisaient les terres agricoles du Bouclier boréal. La catégorie « autres terres », comprenant une diversité de terres naturelles et semi-naturelles, constituait le type de couverture le plus important pour la faune, car elle fournissait des habitats de reproduction et d’alimentation à 85 % (298) des espèces associées aux terres agricoles. Les pâturages non améliorés fournissaient des habitats de reproduction et d’alimentation à 17 % (59) des espèces ainsi qu’au moins un des deux types d’habitats à 32 % (112) des espèces. Les terres cultivées fournissaient les deux types d’habitats à seulement 13 % (46) des espèces, mais elles fournissaient un des deux types à 26 % (89) des espèces.

Haut de la page

Capacité d’habitat faunique

Dans l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles a connu une baisse significative de 1986 à 2006, passant de 79,7 ± 13,4 à 63,8 ± 14,4, et elle est maintenant jugée modérée (ANOVA, F = 88,6, p = 0,0001) (Figure 16). Les Figure 17 et Figure 18 montrent la répartition spatiale des valeurs de capacité d’habitat en 1986 et en 2006. Au cours de cette période, la capacité d’habitat a diminué dans 71 % des terres agricoles, a augmenté dans 6 % de ces terres et est demeurée constante dans 23 % (Figure 19).

Parmi les écorégions à forte production agricole, c’est le centre des Laurentides qui a connu la plus forte baisse de capacité d’habitat (78,0 ± 15,4 à 59,4 ± 11,5), suivi à cet égard du sud des Laurentides (83,4 ± 12,1 à 73,8 ± 14,8) et du lac des Bois (58,0 ± 13,9 à 51,3 ± 9,8).

Figure 16. Répartition des terres agricoles selon les classes de capacité d’habitat (axe de gauche) et capacité d’habitat moyenne des terres agricoles (axe de droite) dans l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, en 1986, 1996 et 2006.

graphique

Description longue pour la figure 16

Ce graphique à barres empilées montre les informations suivantes :

Classes de capacité d’habitat

  • Très élevée 90->100
  • Élevée 70-90
  • Modérée 50-70
  • Faible 30-50
  • Très faible <20-30
Part de chaque classe de capacité d’habitat (pourcentage)
Classes de
capacité d’habitat
198619962006
<200.000.000.00
20-300.000.000.19
30-402.924.103.18
40-504.018.4018.54
50-6014.1913.7729.58
60-705.3821.2311.70
70-8032.3621.6520.63
80-9028.9323.7813.98
90-1009.606.441.31
>1002.620.620.87

Les années associées à des lettres différentes présentent des différences significatives (ANOVA, F = 88,6; test de Tukey p < 0,05).

Haut de la page

Figure 17. Capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, en 1986.

carte

Description longue pour la figure 17

Cette carte montre la capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l'écozone+ du Bouclier boréal en 1986. La capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles à l'ouest de la baie James varie de modérée à élevée, tandis que la capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles à l'est de la baie James varie de très élevée à élevée.

CH signifie la capacité d’habitat moyenne pour l’écorégion. Tous les polygones PPC comportant plus de 5 % de terres agricoles ont été pris en compte dans l’analyse.

Haut de la page

Figure 18. Capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, en 2006.

carte

Description longue pour la figure 18

Cette carte montre la capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l'écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, en 2006. Les terres agricoles de l'écozone+ présentent une capacité d'habitat faunique modérée à faible, à l'exception de parcelles qui présentent une capacité élevée le long de la région sud-est de l'écozone+.

CH signifie la capacité d’habitat moyenne pour l’écorégion. Tous les polygones PPC comportant plus de 5 % de terres agricoles ont été pris en compte dans l’analyse.

Haut de la page

Figure 19. Changements survenus de 1986 à 2006 dans la capacité d’habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal.

carte

Description longue pour la figure 19

Cette carte montre les changements survenus de 1986 à 2006 dans la capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles de l'écozone+ du Bouclier boréal. Au cours de cette période, la capacité d'habitat a diminué dans 71 % des terres agricoles, a augmenté dans 6 % de ces terres et est demeurée constante dans 23 %.

ANOVA; test de Tukey, p < 0,05. Tous les polygones PPC comportant plus de 5 % de terres agricoles ont été pris en compte dans l’analyse.

Haut de la page

Interprétation

Dans l’écozone+ du Bouclier boréal, les terres agricoles sont une composante mineure du paysage, où elles ne représentent que 1 % de la superficie terrestre totale. Dans les régions renfermant des terres agricoles, celles-ci sont dispersées parmi les terres boisées et comportent une forte proportion de terres de la catégorie « autres terres ». L’impact des terres agricoles sur la faune est donc jugé faible à l’échelle de l’écozone+, puisque de grandes superficies d’habitat potentiel sont offertes à l’intérieur ou à proximité des terres agricoles.

À l’intérieur du paysage agricole, la capacité d’habitat a été affectée par une réduction de la part des « autres terres » (40 à 30 %). À mesure que l’agriculture réduisait son empreinte dans le Bouclier boréal, les terres cultivées y ont accru leur part des terres agricoles de 31 à 46 %, principalement à cause d’une augmentation de 9 % de superficie consacrée au foin cultivé. L’effet combiné de tous ces facteurs a fait passer la capacité d’habitat faunique d’élevée àmodérée.

Parmi les écorégions à forte production agricole, celle du lac des Bois a conservé la plus faible capacité d’habitat, principalement à cause de la part relativement petite et décroissante de la catégorie « autres terres » (23 à 17 %). Bien que la part des « autres terres » ait également diminué dans le centre des Laurentides (37 à 26 %) et le sud des Laurentides (46 à 39 %), elle y est demeurée beaucoup plus grande qu’au lac des Bois, et elle offre plus de possibilités d’habitat à la faune des terres agricoles. L’importance des « autres terres » était évidente, car la capacité d’habitat suivait la disponibilité de ce type de couverture.

Haut de la page

Notes de bas de page

Note 13

Le paysage agricole (ou terres agricoles), tel qu’il est indiqué tout au long de ce rapport, comprend la catégorie « autres terres » du Recensement de l’agriculture, composée de zones telles que les terres humides, les zones riveraines, les brise-vent, les terres boisées, les terres incultivées, les anciens champs et les zones anthropiques (bâtiments agricoles, serres et allées).

Retour à la référence 13

Note 14

Les terres cultivées comprennent toutes les terres agricoles à l’exception de la catégorie « autres terres », des pâturages non améliorés, des pâturages améliorés et des terres en jachère.

Retour à la référence 14