Wetlands

Wetland loss in the Prairies

Graphic thumbnail: Wetland loss in the Prairies

This map shows wetland loss for each of approximately 400 land units in the Prairies between 1985 and 2001. The percent loss is displayed in colour-coded ranges: 0 to 5% loss, 5 to 9%, 9 to 15%, 15 to 25%, and 25 to 45%. Two land units in Manitoba had no data. The majority (65%) of land units had 0 to 5% loss, while four suffered losses of 25 to 45%, and eight suffered losses of 15 to 25%. All 12 are in the eastern half of the ecozone+. Thirty land units had losses of 9 to 15% and 96 showed losses of 5 to 9%. Losses tend to be higher near urban centres. An inset map shows the location of the study area in southern Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

Close window

Wetland loss in southern Ontario

Graphic thumbnail: Wetland loss in southern Ontario

This map shows wetland loss for each of 350 townships in southern Ontario from 1800 to 2002. The percent loss is displayed in colour-coded ranges: 0 to 25% loss, 25 to 45%, 45 to 65%, 65 to 85%, and 85 to 100%. Four townships on the northern edge of the study area were unassessed. Wetland loss is extensive, with 80% of townships having lost more than 45% of their wetlands over the time period. Loss was most severe in southwestern Ontario, parts of southeastern Ontario, Niagara, and the Toronto area where loss was from 85 to 100%. Only 5 of the 350 townships showed a loss of less than 25%.

Close window

Change in extent of wetlands along the St. Lawrence River

Graphic thumbnail: Change in extent of wetlands along the St. Lawrence River

This graphic contains two maps showing changes in extent of wetlands over two time periods, generally indicating an overall loss from 1945 to 1978 and gain in the later time period. The first map shows changes in extent of each physiographic unit from 1945 to 1978 through colour-coding according to four categories: 29% loss, 7 to 17% loss, 1 to 6% loss, and no data. Wetland loss occurred in all physiographic units where data existed. The area around Quebec City had the greatest loss at 29%. The Montreal area lost 7 to 17%.

The second map shows changes in extent of physiographic units from1970 to 1978 and 2001 to 2002. This map shows the extent change for each unit as a percent and also groups the changes into three colour-coded categories: wetland gain, stable, and wetland loss. The overall trend was an increase in wetlands. Gains ranged from around 6% west of Montreal to 17% west of Quebec to 12%. Only two areas continued to have a loss -- the areas around Montreal (17% loss) and Lac Saint-Pierre (0.5% loss). The areas east of Quebec City and Cornwall remained stable.

An inset map shows the location of the study area which is the St. Lawrence River between Cornwall, Ontario and east of the Saguenay River, Quebec.

Close window

Old Crow Flats

Graphic thumbnail: Old Crow Flats

This bar graph shows the percent change in surface area of six types of water bodies (ponds, small lakes, medium lakes, large lakes, very large lakes, and all lakes combined) in Old Crow Flats over two time periods, 1951 to 1972 and 1972 to 2001. From 1951 to 1972, all categories had an increase in surface area (ponds increased by 6.9%, small lakes by 10.3%, medium lakes by 7.5%, and large lakes by 4.9%) except very large lakes which decreased by 0.6%. Combined, all lakes had an increase of 1.6%. From 1972 to 2002, surface area decreased in all categories (ponds by 8.5%, small lakes by 1%, medium lakes by 4.9%, large lakes by 8.6% and very large lakes by 3.9%). The surface area of all lakes combined decreased by 5%. An inset map shows the location of the Old Crow Flats in the northern Yukon

Close window

Change in extent of wetlands in the south Okanagan and lower Similkameen Valleys, B.C.

Graphic thumbnail: Change in extent of wetlands in the south Okanagan and lower Similkameen Valleys, B.C.

This bar graph shows the area of wetlands in the south Okanagan and lower Similkameen valleys in 1800, 1938, and 2005. The area of wetlands decreased from 178 square kilometres in 1800 to 69 square kilometres in 1938 to 30 square kilometres in 2005. This represents an 84% loss. An inset map shows the location of the study area in the southcentral interior of British Columbia between north of Vernon and the United States border.

Return to graphic

Peace-Athabasca Delta

Graphic thumbnail: Peace-Athabasca Delta

This map of Canada shows the location of the Peace-Athabasca Delta in northeast Alberta.

Close window

Great Lakes water quality index scores in Canada

Graphic thumbnail: Great Lakes water quality index scores in Canada

This map shows the water quality index scores for wetlands on the Canadian shores of the Great Lakes as a measure of wetland health. Health scores are ranked in six colour-coded categories: excellent, very good, good, moderately degraded, very degraded, and highly degraded. Data for Lakes Ontario, Erie, and Georgian Bay were collected from 2006 to 2009, and data for Lakes Superior and Huron were collected from 1998 to 2005. The map shows that the lower Great Lakes, particularly the western end of lakes Ontario and Erie, had the most degraded sites, with very few sites rated as good and many rated as highly degraded, very degraded, and moderately degraded. Sites in Georgian Bay, Lake Huron, and Lake Superior tended to be in good, very good, or excellent health, with only three sites receiving moderately degraded rankings.

Close window

Milieux humides

Pertes de milieux humides dans les prairies

Image miniature : Pertes de milieux humides dans les prairies

Cette carte montre les pertes de milieux humides survenues de 1800 à 2002 dans chacun des 350 cantons du sud de l’Ontario. Le pourcentage de perte est indiqué selon cinq classes représentées par des couleurs différentes : 0 à 25 %, 25 à 45 %, 45 à 65 %, 65 à 85 % et 85 à 100 %. Quatre cantons situés en bordure nord de la région étudiée n’ont pas été évalués. Les pertes sont importantes : 80 % des cantons ont perdu plus de 45 % de leurs milieux humides au cours de la période. Les pertes les plus graves sont survenues dans le sud-ouest de la province, dans certaines portions du sud-est, dans la région du Niagara et dans la région de Toronto, où les pertes ont été de 85 à 100 %. Seulement 5 des 350 cantons ont subi des pertes inférieures à 25 %. Une carte en médaillon indique la région étudiée dans le Sud du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta.

Fermer la fenêtre

Pertes de milieux humides dans le sud de l’Ontario

Image miniature : Pertes de milieux humides dans le sud de l’Ontario

This map shows wetland loss for each of 350 townships in southern Ontario from 1800 to 2002. The percent loss is displayed in colour-coded ranges: 0 to 25% loss, 25 to 45%, 45 to 65%, 65 to 85%, and 85 to 100%. Four townships on the northern edge of the study area were unassessed. Wetland loss is extensive, with 80% of townships having lost more than 45% of their wetlands over the time period. Loss was most severe in southwestern Ontario, parts of southeastern Ontario, Niagara, and the Toronto area where loss was from 85 to 100%. Only 5 of the 350 townships showed a loss of less than 25%.

Fermer la fenêtre

Changements dans les superficies de milieux humides le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent

Image miniature : Changements dans les superficies de milieux humides le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent

Ces deux cartes montrent les changements survenus dans les superficies de milieux humides au cours de deux périodes. De manière générale, ces superficies ont diminué de 1945 à 1978 et augmenté cours de la période suivante. La première carte montre les changements survenus de 1945 à 1978 dans chaque unité physiographique, selon quatre classes représentées par des couleurs différentes : perte de 29 %, perte de 7 à 17 %, perte de 1 à 6 % et absence de données. Des pertes sont survenues dans toutes les unités physiographiques pour lesquelles des données sont disponibles. La perte la plus grande, de 29 %, est survenue dans la région de Québec, tandis que la région de Montréal a subi une perte de 7 à 17 %.

La deuxième carte montre les changements survenus entre les périodes 1970-1978 et 2001-2002 dans chaque unité physiographique, en pourcentage ainsi que selon trois classes représentées par des couleurs différentes et correspondant respectivement à un gain, à une superficie stable et à une perte. De manière générale, la superficie de milieux humides a augmenté dans la région étudiée, le gain étant d’environ 6 % à l’ouest de Montréal, d’environ 17 % à l’ouest de Québec et d’environ 12 % à l’extrémité est du territoire étudié. Seulement deux régions ont encore connu des pertes : la région de Montréal (perte de 17 %) et le lac Saint-Pierre (perte de 0,5 %). La superficie de milieux humides est demeurée stable à l’est de Québec et à l’est de Cornwall.

Les deux cartes sont accompagnées par une petite carte du Canada indiquant la position du territoire étudié, qui comprend les rives du fleuve Saint-Laurent depuis Cornwall, en Ontario, jusqu’à un point situé à l’est de l’embouchure du Saguenay, au Québec.

Fermer la fenêtre

Plaine Old Crow

Image miniature : Plaine Old Crow

Ce diagramme à barres montre les pourcentages de changement survenus de 1951 à 1972 et de 1972 à 2001 dans la superficie de six types de plans d’eau (étangs; petits lacs; lacs moyens; grands lacs; très grands lacs; plans d’eau de toutes dimensions), dans la plaine Old Crow. De 1951 à 1972, presque tous les types de plans d’eau ont connu une augmentation de leur superficie, de 6,9 % pour les étangs, de 10,3 % pour les petits lacs, de 7,5 % pour les lacs moyens et de 4,9 % pour les grands lacs; seule la superficie des très grands lacs a diminué, de 0,6 %. La superficie totale des plans d’eau, toutes dimensions confondues, a augmenté de 1,6 %. De 1972 à 2002, tous les types de plans d’eau ont connu une diminution de leur superficie, de 8,5 % pour les étangs, de 1 % pour les petits lacs, de 4,9 % pour les lacs moyens, de 8,6 % pour les grands lacs, et de 3,9 % pour les très grands lacs; la superficie totale des plans d’eau, toutes dimensions confondues, a diminué de 5 %. Une carte en médaillon montre où se trouve la plaine Old Crow dans le Nord du Yukon.

Fermer la fenêtre

Changement de la superficie des milieux humides dans les vallées de l’Okanagan-Sud et de la basse Similkameen, en Colombie-Britannique

Image miniature : Changement de la superficie des milieux humides dans les vallées de l’Okanagan-Sud et de la basse Similkameen, en Colombie-Britannique

Ce diagramme à barres montre les superficies de milieux humides qui étaient présentes dans la vallée de l’Okanagan-Sud et dans la vallée inférieure de la Similkameen en 1800, en 1938 et en 2005. Cette superficie est passée de 178 kilomètres carrés en 1800 à 69 kilomètres carrés en 1938 puis à 30 kilomètres carrés en 2005, ce qui représente une perte globale de 84 %. La carte accompagnant le diagramme montre la position du territoire étudié, dans le centre-sud de l’intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique, entre la frontière des États-Unis et un point situé au nord de Vernon.

Fermer la fenêtre

Delta des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca

Image miniature : Delta des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca

Cette carte du Canada montre la position du delta des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca, dans le nord-est de l’Alberta.

Fermer la fenêtre

Résultats des Grands Lacs au Canada fondés sur l’indice de la qualité des eaux

Image miniature : Résultats des Grands Lacs au Canada fondés sur l’indice de la qualité des eaux

Cette carte indique l’indice de la qualité des eaux des milieux humides situés sur les rives canadiennes des Grands Lacs, comme mesure de la santé de ces milieux. L’indice est indiqué selon cinq classes, représentées par des couleurs différentes et correspondant respectivement à des eaux excellentes, très bonnes, bonnes, moyennement dégradées, très dégradées ou fortement dégradées. Les données visant le lac Ontario, le lac Érié et la baie Georgienne ont été recueillies de 2006 à 2009, tandis que celles visant les lacs Supérieur et Huron l’ont été de 1998 à 2005. La carte révèle que les eaux les plus dégradées se rencontrent en bordure des lacs Érié et Ontario et particulièrement à l’extrémité ouest de ces lacs : les eaux y étaient bonnes dans très peu de sites, tandis qu’elles étaient moyennement à fortement dégradées dans de nombreux sites. Les eaux étaient généralement bonnes à excellentes dans la baie Georgienne et dans les lacs Huron et Supérieur, où seulement trois sites avaient des eaux moyennement dégradées.

Fermer la fenêtre