Food Webs

Trends in population cycles

Population cycles are especially important features in boreal forest and tundra,1 Canada’s largest terrestrial ecosystems. Herbivores are at the heart of these systems. The 10-year snowshoe hare cycle drives the cycles of many bird and mammal predators in the boreal forest,19 particularly lynx and coyote. The hare cycle itself is a result of interaction between predation and the vegetation that forms the hares’ food supply.20 In Arctic tundra, lemmings and other small rodents drive population dynamics of many predators.21

Snowshoe hare and lynx cycles, boreal forest, Kluane, Yukon

Density of hares and lynx, 1976 to 2009
Graph: snowshoe hare and lynx cycles, boreal forest, Kluane, Yukon. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: data from Krebs, 201014

Population density peaks in 2006 in Yukon were smaller and shorter than previous peaks. Similar dampening of hare cycles is emerging in the Northwest Territories.15 Continued monitoring is needed to see if this is a change in the cycles or part of natural fluctuations.

Arctic small mammal population cycles

Long datasets are needed to detect and understand ecosystem change, especially when populations may be cyclic.16 Small- mammal monitoring programs in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, have not been in place long enough to detect trends. Lemming cycles at Bylot Island, Nunavut, showed signs of weakening in the mid-2000s17 but high densities of lemmings in 2008 and 2010 returned the long-term trend to stable.18

Globe

Global Trends

In northern Europe, population cycles in lemmings, voles, grouse, and insects have been weakening over large areas since the early 1990s. Some studies show linkages to climate change, especially to the effects of warmer winters.22, 23
Page 3

Réseaux trophiques

Tendances des cycles des populations

Les cycles des populations constituent des caractéristiques particulièrement importantes de la forêt boréale et de la toundra1, les plus grands écosystèmes terrestres du Canada. Les herbivores sont au coeur de ces écosystèmes. D'une durée de dix ans, le cycle du lièvre d'Amérique détermine le cycle de nombreux oiseaux et mammifères prédateurs de la forêt boréale19, tout particulièrement le lynx et le coyote. Le cycle du lièvre est lui-même le résultat de l'interaction entre la prédation et la végétation qui constitue la source de nourriture du lièvre20. Dans la toundra arctique, les lemmings et autres petits rongeurs influent sur la dynamique des populations de nombreux prédateurs21.

Cycles du lièvre d’Amérique et du lynx en forêt boréale, Kluane, Yukon

Densité du lièvre d'Amérique et du lynx, de 1976 à 2009
Graphe : Cycles du lièvre d’amérique et du lynx en forêt boréale, Kluane, Yukon. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Krebs, 201014.

En 2006, les maximums de densité de population au Yukon étaient moins élevés et plus brefs que les sommets antérieurs. Une atténuation similaire du cycle du lièvre est maintenant observée dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest15. Il est nécessaire d'assurer un suivi continu pour déterminer s'il s'agit d'un changement des cycles ou de fluctuations naturelles.

Cycles des populations de petits mammifères de l’Arctique

Il faut de longues séries de données pour détecter et comprendre un changement dans un écosystème, surtout si les populations sont cycliques16. Les programmes de suivi des petits mammifères menés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut ne sont pas en place depuis assez longtemps pour déceler des tendances. Les cycles de populations des lemmings à l'île Bylot au Nunavut ont montré des signes d'affaiblissement au milieu des années 200017, mais les densités élevées de cette espèce en 2008 et en 2010 ont permis de stabiliser la tendance à long terme18.

Monde

Tendances mondiales

Dans le nord de l'Europe, les cycles de populations des lemmings, des campagnols, des gallinacés et d'insectes se sont affaiblis sur de grandes superficies depuis le début des années 1990. Des études relient ces phénomènes aux changements climatiques, principalement aux effets des hivers plus doux22, 23.