Food Webs

Status and Trends
some major changes; trends for many unknown
Concern, some getting worse at slow to moderate rate; for others, rate of change unknown
data only for some parts of food webs and some regions
Medium confidence in finding
early indications of changes in some population cycles
Red flag

KEY FINDING 20. Fundamental changes in relationships among species have been observed in marine, freshwater, and terrestrial environments. The loss or reduction of important components of food webs has greatly altered some ecosystems.

This key finding is divided into three sections:

Food webs are formed through linkages of the different organisms in a system, building on the primary producers (plants, algae, and microorganisms), and involving an array of consumers and decomposers.1 Population cycles are regular periodic peaks and lows in animal abundance that are driven largely by the dynamics of some food webs. Food webs and population cycles are important because they shape the structure and function of ecosystems. Changes in species diversity are often related to changes in food webs.

An example of the far-reaching effects of severe reductions in an important part of a food web is the decline of cod and other predatory fish off the Atlantic coast. This loss of fish predators led to further ecosystem shifts, with, for example, large increases in shrimp (see Marine Biome).

 

 

Return to Table of Contents

Photo: coyote © iStock.com/4loops

Declines in terrestrial predators

Most large native carnivores, including wolverine, have severely declined in abundance or have been extirpated from much of their ranges in the more populated regions of North America. Remaining ranges and larger populations are generally in the north and west of the continent.3

North American range of the wolverine
Map: North American range of the wolverine. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Hummel and Ray, 20083

In the Newfoundland Boreal Ecozone+, the wolf, a native top predator, was extirpated in the 1920s.4 Eastern coyotes, first sighted in the ecozone+ in 1987, have become a major predator, feeding on a variety of species and competing with native predators such as bear, lynx, and red fox.5

In the Mixedwood Plains Ecozone+, changes in predators and hunting, combined with milder winters and increased forage on lands altered by forestry and agricultural activities, have meant that populations of whitetailed deer have grown rapidly in recent decades.6, 7 Foraging by high numbers of deer has altered forest plant communities,8, 9 thereby affecting habitat for other species, including insects, birds, and small mammals.6

In the Prairies, the decline of the gray wolf began with the extirpation of the plains bison in the late 1800s and continued due to overharvest of ungulates and predator control.10 The loss of the wolf has changed predator-prey dynamics. In southeastern Alberta, western coyote abundance increased 135% between the periods 1977 to 1989 and 1995 to 1996.11

The change in top predators from wolves, which mainly hunted ungulates, to western coyotes, which eat a wider range of foods11, 12 and are not major ungulate predators,13 has shifted the abundance and distribution of prey species.

Return to Table of Contents

Decline of the amphipod Diporeia

Decline of the amphipod Diporeia in Lake Huron

Diporeia density (thousands per m2), 2000 to 2007
Three graphs: decline of the amphipod Diporeia in Lake Huron. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: Environment Canada and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 20092
Photo: adult diporeia © Tomas Hook
Adult Diporeia (size of a rice grain)
Photo: Lake Huron © iStock.com/janeff

Small invertebrates are important in Great Lakes food webs as they provide a link between the base of the web (algae, bacteria, and bits of dead organic matter) which they eat, and fish, which eat them. Since 1995, populations of Diporeia amphipods, historically abundant, widespread, and dominant in deep-water food webs, have declined drastically in all lakes except Lake Superior.2 These declines coincide with the introduction of invasive zebra and quagga mussels, but the continuing downward trend is more complex, likely with several interacting causes.

Declines in Diporeia have had major impacts on Great Lakes food webs, with both forage fish and commercial species negatively affected. For example, when Diporeia declined, growth and body condition of lake whitefish declined significantly in areas of lakes Huron, Ontario, and Michigan.2

Return to Table of Contents

Trends in population cycles

Population cycles are especially important features in boreal forest and tundra,1 Canada’s largest terrestrial ecosystems. Herbivores are at the heart of these systems. The 10-year snowshoe hare cycle drives the cycles of many bird and mammal predators in the boreal forest,19 particularly lynx and coyote. The hare cycle itself is a result of interaction between predation and the vegetation that forms the hares’ food supply.20 In Arctic tundra, lemmings and other small rodents drive population dynamics of many predators.21

Snowshoe hare and lynx cycles, boreal forest, Kluane, Yukon

Density of hares and lynx, 1976 to 2009
Graph: snowshoe hare and lynx cycles, boreal forest, Kluane, Yukon. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: data from Krebs, 201014

Population density peaks in 2006 in Yukon were smaller and shorter than previous peaks. Similar dampening of hare cycles is emerging in the Northwest Territories.15 Continued monitoring is needed to see if this is a change in the cycles or part of natural fluctuations.

Arctic small mammal population cycles

Long datasets are needed to detect and understand ecosystem change, especially when populations may be cyclic.16 Small- mammal monitoring programs in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, have not been in place long enough to detect trends. Lemming cycles at Bylot Island, Nunavut, showed signs of weakening in the mid-2000s17 but high densities of lemmings in 2008 and 2010 returned the long-term trend to stable.18

Globe

Global Trends

In northern Europe, population cycles in lemmings, voles, grouse, and insects have been weakening over large areas since the early 1990s. Some studies show linkages to climate change, especially to the effects of warmer winters.22, 23

Return to Table of Contents

Réseaux trophiques

État et tendances
quelques changements majeurs; tendances inconnues pour plusieurs
Situation préoccupante, étant donné que certains milieux se détériorent lentement ou modérément. Pour d’autres milieux, la vitesse du changement est inconnue.
données seulement pour certaines parties des réseaux trophiques et certaines régions
Fiabilité de la constatation moyenne
premières indications de changements dans certains cycles de population
Drapeau rouge

CONSTATATION CLÉ 20. Des changements profonds dans les relations entre les espèces ont été observés dans des milieux terrestres et dans des milieux d'eau douce et d'eau marine. La diminution ou la disparition d'éléments importants des réseaux trophiques a considérablement altéré certains écosystèmes.

Cette constatation clé est divisée en trois parties :

Les réseaux trophiques sont formés des relations entre les divers organismes d'un système constitué à la base de producteurs primaires (plantes, algues et micro-organismes) et dans lequel intervient un ensemble de consommateurs et de décomposeurs1. Les cycles de population consistent en sommets et en baisses périodiques réguliers dans l'abondance annuelle qui sont largement dictés par la dynamique de certains réseaux trophiques. Les réseaux trophiques et les cycles des populations sont importants parce qu'ils forment la structure et les fonctions des écosystèmes. Les changements de la diversité des espèces résultent souvent de changements dans les réseaux trophiques.

Le déclin de la morue et d'autres espèces de poisson prédatrices au large de la côte Atlantique constitue un exemple des effets dévastateurs qui peuvent se produire lorsqu'une composante importante d'un réseau trophique subit de graves réductions. Cette perte de poissons prédateurs a entraîné d'autres transformations de l'écosystème, dont, entre autres, de grandes augmentations des crevettes (voir Zones marines).

 

 

 

 

Retournez à la table des matières

Photo : Coyote © iStock.com/4loops

Déclin des prédateurs terrestres

La plupart des grands carnivores indigènes, dont le carcajou, ont subi de graves diminutions de leur abondance ou sont disparus de la majeure partie de leurs aires de répartition historiques dans les régions les plus peuplées de l'Amérique du Nord. Les aires de répartition actuelles et les plus grandes populations encore existantes se trouvent généralement dans le nord et l'ouest du continent3.

Aire de répartition nord-américaine du carcajou
Carte : Aire de répartition Nord-Américaine du Carcajou. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Hummel et Ray, 20083.

Dans l'écozone+ boréale de Terre-Neuve, le loup, grand prédateur indigène, est disparu dans les années 19204. Le coyote de l'Est, observé dans cette écozone+ pour la première fois en 1987, est devenu un prédateur important qui se nourrit d'une variété d'espèces et est en compétition avec des prédateurs indigènes comme l'ours, le lynx et le renard roux5.

Dans l'écozone+ des plaines à forêts mixtes, des changements chez les prédateurs et en matière de récolte, combinés à des hivers plus doux et à une augmentation de l'abondance de la nourriture sur les terres modifiées par les activités agricoles et forestières, ont entraîné la croissance rapide des populations de cerfs de Virginie au cours des dernières décennies6, 7. Le broutage par un nombre élevé de cerfs a modifié les communautés végétales des forêts,8, 9 ce qui a par conséquent perturbé l'habitat d'autres espèces, notamment les insectes, les oiseaux et les petits mammifères6.

Dans les Prairies, le déclin du loup gris a commencé avec la disparition du bison des Plaines à la fin des années 1800 et s'est poursuivi en raison de la chasse excessive des ongulés et de la lutte contre les prédateurs10. Avec la perte du loup, la dynamique prédateur-proie a changé. Dans la partie sud-est de l'Alberta, l'abondance du coyote de l'Ouest a augmenté de 135 % entre la période 1977-1989 et la période 1995-199611.

Avec la perte du loup, la dynamique prédateur-proie a changé. Dans la partie sud-est de l'Alberta, l'abondance du coyote de l'Ouest a augmenté de 135 % entre la période 1977-1989 et la période 1995-199611, 12 et qui chasse peu les ongulés13, est venu modifier l'abondance et la répartition des espèces proies.

Retournez à la table des matières

Déclins de l’amphipode Diporeia

Déclins de l’amphipode Diporeia dans le lac Huron

Densité du Diporeia (en milliers par m2), de 2000 à 2007
Trois cartes : Déclins de l’amphipode diporeia dans le lac Huron. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Environnement Canada et U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 20092.
Photo : Diporeia adulte  © Tomas Hook
Diporeia adulte (taille d'un grain de riz)
Photo : Lac Huron © iStock.com/janeff

Les petits invertébrés jouent un rôle majeur dans les réseaux trophiques des Grands Lacs, car ils relient la base du réseau (algues, bactéries et particules de matière organique), dont ils se nourrissent, avec les poissons, dont ils sont la proie. Depuis 1995, les populations de l'amphipode Diporeia, historiquement abondantes, largement répandues et dominant les réseaux trophiques en eau profonde, ont décliné brusquement dans tous les lacs, sauf dans le lac Supérieur2. Ces déclins coïncident avec l'introduction des moules zébrées et quagga envahissantes. Toutefois, cette tendance continue à la baisse est plus complexe et découle probablement de l'interaction de plusieurs causes.

Les déclins de Diporeia ont eu des répercussions importantes sur les réseaux trophiques des Grands Lacs ainsi que des effets défavorables sur les espèces de poisson fourrage et les espèces commerciales. Par exemple, la croissance et la condition corporelle du grand corégone ont diminué de façon significative dans certaines zones des lacs Huron, Ontario et Michigan lors du déclin de Diporeia2.

Retournez à la table des matières

Tendances des cycles des populations

Les cycles des populations constituent des caractéristiques particulièrement importantes de la forêt boréale et de la toundra1, les plus grands écosystèmes terrestres du Canada. Les herbivores sont au coeur de ces écosystèmes. D'une durée de dix ans, le cycle du lièvre d'Amérique détermine le cycle de nombreux oiseaux et mammifères prédateurs de la forêt boréale19, tout particulièrement le lynx et le coyote. Le cycle du lièvre est lui-même le résultat de l'interaction entre la prédation et la végétation qui constitue la source de nourriture du lièvre20. Dans la toundra arctique, les lemmings et autres petits rongeurs influent sur la dynamique des populations de nombreux prédateurs21.

Cycles du lièvre d’Amérique et du lynx en forêt boréale, Kluane, Yukon

Densité du lièvre d'Amérique et du lynx, de 1976 à 2009
Graphe : Cycles du lièvre d’amérique et du lynx en forêt boréale, Kluane, Yukon. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Krebs, 201014.

En 2006, les maximums de densité de population au Yukon étaient moins élevés et plus brefs que les sommets antérieurs. Une atténuation similaire du cycle du lièvre est maintenant observée dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest15. Il est nécessaire d'assurer un suivi continu pour déterminer s'il s'agit d'un changement des cycles ou de fluctuations naturelles.

Cycles des populations de petits mammifères de l’Arctique

Il faut de longues séries de données pour détecter et comprendre un changement dans un écosystème, surtout si les populations sont cycliques16. Les programmes de suivi des petits mammifères menés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut ne sont pas en place depuis assez longtemps pour déceler des tendances. Les cycles de populations des lemmings à l'île Bylot au Nunavut ont montré des signes d'affaiblissement au milieu des années 200017, mais les densités élevées de cette espèce en 2008 et en 2010 ont permis de stabiliser la tendance à long terme18.

Monde

Tendances mondiales

Dans le nord de l'Europe, les cycles de populations des lemmings, des campagnols, des gallinacés et d'insectes se sont affaiblis sur de grandes superficies depuis le début des années 1990. Des études relient ces phénomènes aux changements climatiques, principalement aux effets des hivers plus doux22, 23.

Retournez à la table des matières