Stewardship

Standards and codes of practice

Over 94% of Canada’s forests, 100% of water, and large areas of rangelands are publicly owned. A number of standards, codes of practice, and certification programs are available that encourage biodiversity conservation in these areas, and on private forest and agricultural land. Examples include:

  • five Pacific coast and seven Atlantic coast fisheries that are certified as sustainable by the Marine Stewardship Council.4 For some fisheries, this is related to success in reducing by-catch. Levels of by-catch of cod, Greenland halibut, and American plaice are less than 2.5%5 and have been reported at lower levels in some areas;6
  • 28% of farms in Canada indicated in 2006 that they had developed Environment Farm Plans to reduce the impact of agricultural practices on the environment.7

Forest certification in Canada

Area (million km2), 2000 to 2009
Graph: forest certification in Canada. Click for graphic description (new window).
 
Source: Metafore’s Forest Certification Resource Centre, 20098

To earn certification for their forest lands, forest companies must demonstrate stewardship activities and biodiversity conservation under a sustainable forest management framework. In Canada, the amount of forest land receiving such certification has been steadily increasing since 2000. As of 2009, almost 1.5 million km2, 87% of the working forest area in Canada, had received certification. This represents 40% of the world’s certified forest.8

Intendance

Normes et codes de pratique

Plus de 94 % des forêts du Canada, 100 % de l'eau et de vastes régions de parcours sont de propriété publique. Un certain nombre de normes, de codes de pratique et de programmes de certification existent pour favoriser la conservation de la biodiversité dans ces régions, et sur les terres forestières et agricoles privées. Voici quelques exemples :

  • Cinq pêcheries de la côte du Pacifique et sept pêcheries de la côte de l'Atlantique ont obtenu la certification de pêcheries durables du Marine Stewardship Council4. Cette certification a été attribuée à certaines d'entre elles pour leur succès dans la réduction de prises accessoires. Les niveaux de prises accessoires de morue, de flétan du Groenland et de plie canadienne sont inférieurs à 2,5 %5 et des niveaux plus bas ont été enregistrés dans certaines régions6;
  • En 2006, environ 28 % des exploitations agricoles au Canada ont indiqué qu'elles avaient élaboré des plans agroenvironnementaux pour diminuer l'incidence des pratiques agricoles sur l'environnement7.

Certification forestière au Canada

Superficie (en millions de km2), de 2000 à 2009
Graphe : Certification forestière au Canada. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
 
Source : Metafore's Forest Certification Resource Centre, 20098

Pour que leurs terres forestières obtiennent la certification, les sociétés forestières doivent démontrer qu'elles ont adopté des activités d'intendance et qu'elles contribuent à la conservation de la biodiversité en vertu d'un cadre de gestion durable des forêts. Au Canada, le nombre de terres forestières qui obtiennent une telle certification est en constante augmentation depuis 2000. En date de 2009, près de 1,5 million de km2, soit 87 % de la région boisée exploitée au Canada, ont obtenu la certification. Ce chiffre représente 40 % des forêts certifiées du monde8.