Symbol of the Government of Canada

Welcome to biodivcanada.ca

   Highlights

Helping protect Canada's biodiversity, while encouraging the sustainable use of our biological resources, is a responsibility that all Canadians can share. With our population of more than 34 million people, we can play a role in preserving the immense natural wealth and valuable ecosystems from which we draw significant social, economic and environmental benefits. Bordered by three oceans, the second-largest nation in the world, Canada is rich in biodiversity, and we depend on it for our survival.

We invite you to celebrate the UN Decade on Biodiversity (2011-2020) and to explore this website. Learn about our country's biodiversity and actions Canada is taking to conserve our biological resources.

Partnering in biodiversity

This is the website of the federal, provincial and territorial working group on biodiversity. It profiles biodiversity information, news and events. This website reflects the shared responsibility for biodiversity in Canada and the commitment of federal, provincial and territorial governments to achieve the goals and objectives of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity through a collaborative approach. This site also serves as Canada's national biodiversity Clearing House Mechanism.

2020 Biodiversity Goals and Targets for Canada

Canada is in the process of developing national biodiversity goals and targets for 2020. These 2020 goals and targets will help Canada to focus on biodiversity priorities and provide the basis for measuring and reporting on progress.  Like many countries, the national goals and targets for Canada are informed and inspired by the global “Aichi Targets”, which were adopted in 2010 under the Convention on Biological Diversity’s 2011-2020 Strategic Plan, and tuned to the domestic context.

View the draft biodiversity goals and targets for Canada.

For more information, visit the Contact Us page

Canadian Nature Survey

In the autumn of 2012 thousands of Canadians will be invited to participate in a new Canadian Nature Survey.

Symbole du Gouvernement du Canada

Bienvenue à biodivcanada.ca

Aider à protéger la biodiversité, tout en encourageant l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques du Canada, est une responsabilité que tous les Canadiens peuvent partager. Avec une population de plus de 34 millions d'habitants, nous pouvons jouer un rôle dans la préservation des immenses richesses naturelles et des précieux écosystèmes dont nous tirons d'importants avantages sociaux, économiques et environnementaux. Le Canada, deuxième plus grand pays au monde et entouré de trois océans, possède une riche biodiversité dont dépend notre survie.

Nous vous invitons à célébrer la Décennie de la biodiversité des Nations Unies (2011-2020) et à explorer ce site. Apprenez-en plus sur la biodiversité de notre pays et sur les actions que prend le Canada pour conserver nos ressources biologiques.

Partenariat en matière de biodiversité

Le site Web du Groupe de travail fédéral, provincial et territorial sur la biodiversité contient de l'information, des actualités et des évènements concernant la biodiversité. Il reflète la responsabilité partagée des gouvernements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux en matière de conservation de la biodiversité au Canada et leur engagement à atteindre les objectifs de la Convention sur la diversité biologique des Nations Unies grâce à une approche axée sur la collaboration. Ce site sert aussi de Centre d'échange national en matière de biodiversité au Canada.

Des buts et objectifs canadiens pour la biodiversité d’ici 2020

Le Canada s'emploie à élaborer des buts et objectifs nationaux pour la biodiversité d’ici 2020. Ces buts et objectifs permettront au Canada de mettre au point des priorités en matière de biodiversité et serviront à mesurer et communiquer les progrès effectués au cours de la période se terminant en 2020.  À l'instar de nombreux pays, les buts et objectifs du Canada s'inspirent des objectifs d'Aichi à l'échelle mondiale, qui ont été adoptés en 2010 dans le cadre du Plan stratégique de la Convention sur la diversité biologique, lesquels ont été adaptés au contexte canadien.

Consultez l’ébauche des buts et objectifs canadiens pour la biodiversité.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez la page Contactez-nous

Enquête canadienne sur la nature

Au cours de l'automne 2012, des milliers de Canadien(ne)s seront invités à participer à une nouvelle Enquête canadienne sur la nature.