Ice Across Biomes graphic descriptors

Changes in sea-ice extent in the northern hemisphere

Graphic thumbnail: changes in sea-ice extent in the northern hemisphere

This line graph shows a declining trend in the extent of sea ice in September in the Northern Hemisphere from 1979 to 2010. The ice extent declined at a relatively slow rate between 1979 and 1995 (from approximately 7.2 million square kilometres to 6 million square kilometres), then began to decrease at a faster rate. The year with the least ice cover was 2007 (4.3 million square kilometres). The 2010 sea-ice extent was only slightly above this, at 4.9 million square kilometres.

Close window

Deterioration in southern Hudson Bay polar bear body condition

Graphic thumbnail: deterioration in southern Hudson Bay polar bear body condition

This bar chart shows the decline of mean body condition index in polar bears captured around southern Hudson Bay. From 1984 to 1986 the mean body condition index of captured polar bears was approximately 0.75. From 2000 to 2005 the mean body condition index was approximately zero.

Close window

Cumulative loss of ice thickness for three mountain glaciers and an Arctic ice cap

Graphic thumbnail: cumulative loss of ice thickness for three mountain glaciers and an Arctic ice cap

This graphic contains both a map and a line graph. The map shows three things: first, the overall distribution of glaciers and ice caps in Canada; second, the location of two groups of glaciers that are discussed in the text – Nahanni glaciers in the Taiga Cordillera Ecozone+ and Yukon glaciers, located mainly in the western Boreal Cordillera Ecozone+; and third, the location of three glaciers and one ice cap for which data are displayed in the line graph – the Devon Ice Cap (Northwest Sector) in the Arctic Ecozone+, Place Glacier at the eastern edge of the Western Interior Basin Ecozone+, Helm Glacier in the Pacific Maritime Ecozone+, and Peyto Glacier in the Montane Cordillera Ecozone+. The line graph shows the cumulative loss of ice thickness for these three mountain glaciers and one Arctic ice cap from 1959 to 2007. The overall trend for these four ice masses is a decline, with a less steep decline for the Arctic ice cap than for the three mountain glaciers. The total reduction in average ice thickness over the period of measurement for each ice mass was: 4 metres water equivalent for the Devon Ice Cap (Northwest Sector), 24 metres for Peyto Glacier, 37 metres for Place Glacier, and 38 metres for Helm Glacier.

Close window

Trends in the timing of spring ice break-up on large lakes

Graphic thumbnail: trends in the timing of spring ice break-up on large lakes

This map shows trends in lake ice break-up on 39 large lakes in Canada from 1970 to 2004. Significantly earlier break-up trends, at a rate of more than 5 days per decade, are shown for two lakes on Baffin Island. Trends for these two lakes are based on remote sensing data from 1984 to 2004. Other significant trends for earlier break-up are shown for five lakes in southcentral Canada, three lakes in the Boreal Shield Ecozone+, and two lakes in the Prairie Ecozone+. There are also many lakes shown with non-significant trends to earlier break-up, ranging from fewer than 2.5 days per decade to more than 5 days per decade. There were no significantly later break-up trends at any of the lakes monitored over this time period.

Close window

Change in Great Lakes ice cover

Graphic thumbnail: change in Great Lakes ice cover

This bar graph shows the percent change in mean maximum ice cover on each of the Great Lakes from 1970 to 2008. Mean maximum ice cover decreased on all the Great Lakes. The reduction in ice cover for each lake was: 35.6% for Lake Superior, 17.7% for Lake Huron, 43.4% for Lake Michigan, 39.9% for Lake Ontario, and 19.2% for Lake Erie.

Close window

Permafrost zones

Graphic thumbnail: permafrost zones

This map of Canada shows the extent of the country’s four permafrost zones. The continuous permafrost zone covers the northernmost regions of Canada, including the Arctic Archipelago and extending south to cover the southern shore of Hudson Bay. Within the continuous permafrost zone, locations for case study sites discussed in this section are shown: Alert in Nunavut, Boniface River on the Ungava Peninsula in northern Quebec, and an additional northern Quebec study site south of Boniface River. The second zone is the extensive discontinuous permafrost zone which forms a thin band following the southern border of the continuous zone. This zone includes the Central Mackenzie Valley, the site of a case study discussed in this section. The third zone is the sporadic permafrost zone, a thick band south of the extensive discontinuous zone, reaching from the Pacific to the Atlantic coast and extending south of James Bay. And, lastly, the mountain permafrost zone is found in the Coast Mountains of British Columbia, in the Rocky Mountains, in Newfoundland, and on the Gaspé Peninsula in Quebec.

Close window

Permafrost temperatures in the Central Mackenzie Valley

Graphic thumbnail: permafrost temperatures in the Central Mackenzie Valley

This line graph displays the trends in permafrost temperatures at 10 to 12 metres depth from 1984 to 2008. Two locations, Fort Simpson and Northern Alberta, show relatively stable permafrost temperatures, hovering between approximately -0.2 and -0.1 degrees Celsius. The permafrost temperature at Wrigley increased at a rate of 0.1 degrees Celsius per decade, rising from below -0.8 to above -0.7 degrees Celsius. The permafrost temperature at Norman Wells increased at a rate of 0.3degrees Celsius per decade, changing from approximately -1.5 to close to -1.1 degrees Celsius.

Close window

Permafrost temperatures at Alert, Nunavut

Graphic thumbnail: permafrost temperatures at Alert, Nunavut

This graph displays an overall increasing trend of permafrost temperatures at Alert from 1978 to 2008, measured at 15 metres depth. Manual measurements in the first years of the period of record were conducted approximately monthly. After 2000 data points are monthly averages based on measurements from dataloggers. These monthly values show the seasonal fluctuations in permafrost temperature and the lower-magnitude year-to-year fluctuations. The monthly values are overlain with a line that plots the mean annual ground temperature, showing an increasing trend from approximately -15.3 degrees Celsius in 1978 to -13.9degrees Celsius in 2008.

Close window

Changes in land cover with loss of permafrost, northern Quebec

Graphic thumbnail: changes in land cover with loss of permafrost, northern Quebec

This line graph shows the decline of permafrost and two associated trends in land cover from 1957 to 2003 at a study site in northern Quebec. The percent of the study site with permafrost decreased from 80% to 13%. The percent of the site covered by ponds increased from 18% to 37%, while fens increased from 2% to 50% of land cover over the period of the study.

Close window

Descriptions pour les graphiques de la section sur la glace dans l'ensemble des biomes

Changements dans l’étendue de la glace de mer dans l’hémisphère Nord

Image miniature : Changements dans l’étendue de la glace de mer dans l’hémisphère Nord

Ce graphique linéaire montre la tendance à la baisse de la superficie de glace de mer présente en septembre dans l’hémisphère Nord, de 1979 à 2010. Cette superficie a diminué assez lentement de 1979 à 1995, passant approximativement de 7,2 à 6 millions de kilomètres carrés, puis elle a diminué plus rapidement. C’est en 2007 que la superficie de glace de mer a été la plus faible (4,3 millions de kilomètres carrés). En 2010, la superficie de glace de mer était à peine supérieure (4,9 millions de kilomètres carrés).

Fermer la fenêtre

Détérioration de l’état corporel de l’ours blanc dans le sud de la baie d’Hudson

Image miniature : Détérioration de l’état corporel de l’ours blanc dans le sud de la baie d’Hudson

Ce diagramme à barres montre le déclin de l’indice moyen d’état corporel des ours blancs capturés dans la région du sud de la baie d’Hudson. Pour la période 1984-1986, cet indice a été d’environ 0,75. Pour la période 2000-2005, il a été d’environ zéro.

Fermer la fenêtre

Perte cumulative de l’épaisseur de la glace de trois glaciers de montagne et d’une calotte glaciaire Arctique

Image miniature : Perte cumulative de l’épaisseur de la glace de trois glaciers de montagne et d’une calotte glaciaire Arctique

Ce graphique comprend une carte et un graphique linéaire. La carte fournit trois types d’information. Premièrement, elle montre la répartition générale des glaciers et des calottes polaires au Canada. Deuxièmement, la carte indique la position de deux groupes de glaciers dont il est question dans le texte, soit les glaciers de Nahanni, situés dans l’Écozone+ de la Taïga de la Cordillère, et les glaciers du Yukon, principalement situés dans l’ouest de l’Écozone+ de la Cordillère boréale. Finalement, la carte indique la position des trois glaciers et de la calotte glaciaire visés par le graphique linéaire : le glacier Place, à la limite est de l’Écozone+ du Bassin intérieur de l’Ouest; le glacier Helm, dans l’Écozone+ Maritime du Pacifique; le glacier Peyto, dans l’Écozone+ de la Cordillère montagnarde; la calotte glaciaire Devon (dont le secteur nord-ouest est visé par le graphique), dans l’Écozone+ de l’Arctique. Le graphique montre la perte cumulative d’épaisseur de la glace survenue de 1959 à 2007 dans ces trois glaciers de montagne et cette calotte glaciaire arctique. Dans l’ensemble, l’épaisseur de ces quatre masses de glace a diminué, mais de manière moins prononcée dans le cas de la calotte glaciaire que dans celui des trois glaciers. En équivalent d’eau, la diminution totale de l’épaisseur moyenne de la glace au cours de la période de mesure a été de 4 mètres pour le secteur nord-ouest de la calotte glaciaire Devon, de 24 mètres pour le glacier Peyto, de 37 mètres pour le glacier Place et de 38 mètres pour le glacier Helm.

Fermer la fenêtre

Tendances dans la synchronisation de la débâcle au printemps dans les grands lacs

Image miniature : Tendances dans la synchronisation de la débâcle au printemps dans les grands lacs

Cette carte montre les tendances de la date de débâcle de 39 grands lacs du Canada, de 1970 à 2004. Dans le cas de deux lacs de l’île de Baffin, selon les données recueillies par télédétection de 1984 à 2004, la débâcle présente une tendance significative à survenir plus tôt, à raison de plus de 5 jours par décennie. La débâcle présente également une tendance significative à survenir plus tôt dans le cas de cinq lacs du centre-sud du Canada, dont trois situés dans l’Écozone+ du Bouclier boréal et deux dans l’Écozone+ des Prairies. Dans le cas de nombreux autres lacs, la débâcle tend également à survenir plus tôt, mais de manière non significative, à raison de moins de 2,5 jours à plus de 5 jours par décennie. Au cours de la période étudiée, la débâcle n’a eu significativement tendance à survenir plus tard dans aucun des lacs surveillés.

Fermer la fenêtre

Modification de la couverture de glace des Grands Lacs

Image miniature : Modification de la couverture de glace des Grands Lacs

Ce diagramme à barres montre la diminution en pourcentage de la couverture de glace maximale moyenne de chacun des Grands Lacs, de 1970 à 2008. Cette diminution a été de 35,6 % au lac Supérieur, de 17,7 % au lac Huron, de 43,4 % au lac Michigan, de 39,9 % au lac Ontario et de 19,2 % au lac Érié.

Fermer la fenêtre

Zones de pergélisol

Image miniature : Zones de pergélisol

Cette carte du Canada montre l’étendue des quatre zones de pergélisol du pays. La zone de pergélisol continu occupe les régions les plus nordiques du pays, depuis l’archipel Arctique jusqu’au littoral sud de la baie d’Hudson, inclusivement. À l’intérieur de cette zone, la carte indique la position des localités visées par des études de cas dans le texte, soit Alert, au Nunavut, la rivière Boniface, dans la péninsule d’Ungava du nord du Québec, et une localité également située dans le nord du Québec, au sud de la rivière Boniface. Dans la deuxième zone de pergélisol, formant une mince bande au sud de la zone de pergélisol continu, le pergélisol est réparti en grandes étendues discontinues. Cette zone comprend le centre de la vallée du Mackenzie, où a été menée une autre étude de cas mentionnée dans le texte. La troisième zone est la zone de pergélisol sporadique, formant une large bande au sud de la précédente, depuis le Pacifique jusqu’à l’Atlantique, et incluant le sud de la baie James. Finalement, la zone de pergélisol montagnard est répartie en quatre sections, situées dans la chaîne Côtière de Colombie-Britannique, dans les Rocheuses, à Terre-Neuve et en Gaspésie, au Québec.

Fermer la fenêtre

Températures du pergélisol dans le centre de la Vallée du Mackenzie

Image miniature : Températures du pergélisol dans le centre de la Vallée du Mackenzie

TCe graphique linéaire montre l’évolution de la température du pergélisol à une profondeur de 10 à 12 mètres, de 1984 à 2008. Dans deux localités, Fort Simpson et le nord de l’Alberta, la température du pergélisol est demeurée relativement stable, oscillant entre – 0,2 et – 0,1 degré Celsius environ. À Wrigley, la température du pergélisol a augmenté à raison de 0,1 degré Celsius par décennie, passant de moins de – 0,8 à plus de – 0,7 degré Celsius. À Norman Wells, la température du pergélisol a augmenté à raison de 0,3 degré Celsius par décennie, passant approximativement de 1,5 à près de – 1,1 degré Celsius.

Fermer la fenêtre

Température du pergélisol à Alert, Nunavut

Image miniature : Température du pergélisol à Alert, Nunavut

Ce graphique montre l’augmentation générale de la température du pergélisol, à une profondeur de 15 mètres, à Alert, de 1978 à 2008. Durant les premières années de la période, les températures ont été prises manuellement tous les mois. Après 2000, les températures indiquées sont des moyennes mensuelles fondées sur les données enregistrées par un appareil. La courbe des valeurs mensuelles montre que la température du pergélisol a connu des fluctuations annuelles de moindre amplitude que les fluctuations saisonnières. On a superposé à la courbe des valeurs mensuelles une courbe des températures moyennes annuelles du sol; cette température a généralement augmenté, passant approximativement de 15,3 degrés Celsius en 1978 à 13,9 degrés Celsius en 2008.

Fermer la fenêtre

Modifications de la couverture terrestre avec la perte de pergélisol, nord du Québec

Image miniature : Modifications de la couverture terrestre avec la perte de pergélisol, nord du Québec

Ce graphique linéaire montre l’évolution du pergélisol ainsi que de deux types de couverture terrestre dont la variation est liée à celle du pergélisol, de 1957 à 2003, dans une localité du nord du Québec. Le pourcentage du territoire étudié qui était recouvert de pergélisol a diminué, passant de 80 % à 13 %. Le pourcentage occupé par des étangs a augmenté, passant de 18 % à 37 %. Le pourcentage occupé par des tourbières basses a également augmenté, passant de 2 % à 50 % au cours de la période.

Fermer la fenêtre