Wetlands

Photo: Prairie potholes © Ducks Unlimited Canada
Prairie potholes

Change in extent of wetlands

Wetland loss in the Prairies

Percent loss, 1985 to 2001
Map: wetland loss in the Prairies. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: Prairie Habitat Joint Venture, 200819 adapted from Watmough and Schmoll, 200712

The millions of small wetlands of the Canadian and U.S. prairies are the most productive waterfowl habitat in the world, supporting 50 to 88% of the North American breeding populations of several species.20-22 Availability and condition of wetlands are primary factors determining the number and diversity of these waterfowl. Although these factors are influenced greatly by climate variation,22 land use change is also important.

As land was settled and converted to agriculture, extensive areas of wetlands were drained. No comprehensive data on historical loss exist, however analysis of localized studies in the Canadian Prairies shows high variability12, 23-25 with loss estimates between settlement and the 1990s of 40 to 71%.12, 24, 26, 27 Despite conservation efforts over the past several decades, wetland loss and degradation continue, largely as a result of intensification of agriculture.25, 28 Between 1985 and 2001, 6% of wetland basins were lost, representing 5% of the total estimated wetland area. In addition, estimates of wetland area suffering a loss of function due to factors such as partial drainage were about 6% annually.12 An analysis of agricultural impact and recovery of wetlands between 1985 and 2005 found the edges of wetlands were impacted more than wetland basins. Although the rate of impact for edges declined over the period, the rate of recovery was slower, indicating an increasing overall impact. The percent of edges impacted ranged between 82 and 97% in 1985, depending upon location, and stabilized in the early 1990s at between 90 and 95%.28

Up to 90% of prairie wetlands are estimated to be smaller than 1 ha.12 Research indicates that, overall, smaller wetlands support a greater number of waterfowl than larger ones.29 These small wetlands are also suffering the greatest losses. From 1985 to 2001, the average size of wetland basins lost was 0.2 ha, with 77% smaller than 2.6 ha.12 Between 1985 and 2005, shallow seasonal wetlands in agricultural fields had the highest rate of impact and slowest recovery rates relative to other wetland types.28

Wetland loss in southern Ontario

Percent loss by township, 1800 to 2002
Map: wetland loss in southern Ontario. Click for graphic description (new window).
Note: only wetlands larger than 10 ha are included.
Source: Ducks Unlimited Canada, 201011

Prior to European settlement, southern Ontario had approximately 20,266 km2 of wetlands. By 2002, 72% had been converted to other uses. This represents a decrease in the proportion of wetland cover on the landscape from 25 to 7%.11 Historically, the highest concentrations of wetlands were found in southwestern and eastern Ontario. These areas are also where the most severe losses have occurred. For example, prior to settlement, 83% of Essex County, at the tip of southwestern Ontario, was wetland but by 2002 this was reduced to less than 2%.11, 30 From 1967 to 1982, conversion of wetlands for agriculture accounted for 85% of the losses.30 Urban development and associated transportation infrastructure were significant factors in the areas surrounding southeastern Lake Ontario.11

Most wetland conversion happened in the 19th and early 20th centuries (68% of wetlands were converted prior to 1967).30 Nevertheless, despite wetland gains in some areas, overall net loss continues. While the estimated extent of wetlands larger than 10 ha remained relatively stable between 1967 and 1982, from 1982 to 2002 an additional 3.5% of pre–settlement wetlands were lost – an average of 3.5 km2 per year. These estimates are conservative since Great Lakes coastal wetlands and wetlands smaller than 10 ha were not included in the analyses.11

Change in extent of wetlands along the St. Lawrence River

Two maps showing the change in the extent of wetlands along the St. Lawrence River. Click for graphic description (new window).
Sources: percent change by physiographic unit between 1945 and 1978 adapted from Lehoux and Chamard, 200249; percent change between 1970–1978 and 2001–2002 adapted from Jean and Létourneau, 200750

Over 60 km2 of riparian habitat along the St. Lawrence River was modified from 1945 to 1984.51 Most changes occurred prior to the mid–1970s and were a result of draining and filling of open waters and wetlands for housing, roads, and agriculture. Losses near major urban centres were the greatest,49, 51 for example, 83% of Montreal's wetlands were lost by 1976.52 Construction of water control structures, including dams and the St. Lawrence Seaway (1954–1958), was also responsible for change in the late 1950s,49 while urbanization was more important after that time.52

Since the 1970s, the overall extent of wetlands has increased, although there is variability depending upon the type and location of the wetland.51 While wetland loss continues due to urbanization, particularly in the Montreal and Lac Saint–Pierre areas, restoration efforts and reduced water levels have resulted in a 2.7% net gain of marshes and swamps between 1990 and 2002.51 Gains were mainly in the fluvial, upper, and lower estuaries and occurred mainly at the expense of open water. Declining water levels in the 1990s may have accelerated the drying trend in some areas,51, 53 transforming low marshes to high marshes and swamps that are dominated by invasive plant species. Water levels are influenced by a number of factors, including water control structures, flow from the Great Lakes and the Ottawa River, and climate change, particularly in the estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence.49, 51

Exotic wetland plants now comprise 14% of vascular plants in St. Lawrence River wetlands.54 Their expansion can be attributed to shoreline alteration, excavation of the navigation channel, and water level regulation, which have reduced the magnitude of floods, decreased circulation in shallow littoral areas, and reduced the efficiency of the river to flush nutrients from sediments and to uproot robust emergent vegetation.55

Old Crow Flats

Change in surface area of water
Change in the surface area of water in Old Crow Flats. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Labrecque et al., 200956

Designated as a wetland of international importance,4 Old Crow Flats is a large, undeveloped complex (over 6,000 km2) of more than 2,000 lakes and wetlands formed by thawed permafrost. It provides continentally significant habitat for up to half a million breeding and moulting waterbirds.57, 58 The overall surface area of water decreased by 13 km2 (3.5%) from 1951 to 2001, with greatest overall decreases found in large and very large lakes. Ponds increased in extent by 7% from 1951 to 1972, and decreased by 8.5% between 1972 and 2001. Changes are attributed to a mix of interacting processes with some lakes forming or expanding, and some suddenly draining due to collapse of permafrost – along with an overall drying trend due to increased evaporation from hotter summers in recent years.56

Change in extent of wetlands in the south Okanagan and lower Similkameen valleys, B.C.

Area (km2), 1800, 1938, and 2005
Graph: change in the extent of wetlands in the south Okanagan and lower Similkameen valleys, B.C. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Lea, 200887

Wetlands occupy a small portion of the Western Interior Basin due to the region's climate, soil, and topographic features.2, 88 Nevertheless, they play a crucial ecological role particularly because wetlands in arid areas support more species than other ecosystems.88, 89 Wetlands of the southern interior of B.C. support many species at risk. Most wetlands in this area are located in valley bottoms where development is also concentrated and wetland loss has been extensive since European settlement mainly due to conversion for agriculture and more recently for urban development.87, 90 Between 1800 and 2005, specific wetland communities suffered different degrees of loss, including, 92% of shrubby water birch/red–osier dogwood riparian wetlands, 63% of black cottonwood–red osier dogwood riparian wetlands, and 41% of cattail marshes from the south Okanagan and lower Similkameen valleys.87 Wetlands continue to be lost and degraded by urbanization, intensive agriculture, and, in some areas, heavy recreational use.87, 91, 92 In addition, invasive species and climate change pose serious threats.

Photo: St. Lawrence River wetland © Caroline Savage, Environment Canada
St. Lawrence River wetland

Millieux humides

Photo : Cuvettes des Prairies © Canards Illimités Canada
Cuvettes des Prairies

Changements dans les superficies de milieux humides

Pertes de milieux humides dans les prairies

Pourcentage de pertes, de 1985 à 2001
Carte : Pertes de milieux humides dans les prairies. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Plan conjoint des habitats des Prairies, 200819, adapté de Watmough et Schmoll, 200712

The Les millions de petits milieux humides des prairies du Canada et des États–Unis représentent l'habitat le plus productif de la sauvagine au monde, abritant de 50 à 88 % de la population de plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux nicheurs en Amérique du Nord20-22. La disponibilité et l'état des milieux humides sont les principaux facteurs qui déterminent le nombre et la diversité de cette sauvagine. Bien que ces facteurs soient grandement influencés par les variations du climat22, les changements d'utilisation des terres ont également de l'importance.

Au fur et à mesure de la colonisation et de la transformation des terres à des fins agricoles, de vastes superficies de milieux humides ont été asséchées. Il n'existe aucune donnée détaillée sur ces pertes historiques, mais l'analyse d'études locales dans les Prairies canadiennes révèle une grande variation12, 23-25, avec des pertes estimées à 40 à 71 % entre le début de la colonisation et les années 199012, 24, 26, 27. Malgré des efforts de conservation depuis les dernières décennies, la perte et la dégradation de milieux humides se poursuivent, principalement à cause de l'intensification de l'agriculture25, 28. Entre 1985 et 2001, 6 % des cuvettes de milieux humides ont été perdus, ce qui représente 5 % de la superficie totale estimée des milieux humides. En outre, on a estimé qu'il y avait annuellement une perte de fonctions d'environ 6 % de la superficie des milieux humides en raison de facteurs comme l'assèchement partiel12. Une analyse des incidences de l'agriculture et du rétablissement de milieux humides, effectuée entre 1985 et 2005, a déterminé que les bordures des milieux humides étaient plus touchées que les cuvettes des milieux humides. Bien que l'ampleur des incidences sur les bordures ait diminué au cours de la période, le taux de rétablissement était plus lent, ce qui indique une hausse des effets globaux. Le pourcentage des bordures touchées variait entre 82 et 97 % en 1985, selon l'endroit, et s'est stabilisé au début des années 1990 entre 90 et 95 %28.

On estime que jusqu'à 90 % des milieux humides des prairies ont une superficie inférieure à 1 ha12. Des études indiquent que les plus petits milieux humides abritent en général un plus grand nombre de sauvagines que les plus grands milieux humides29. Ces petits milieux humides subissent aussi les plus grandes pertes. Entre 1985 et 2001, la taille moyenne des bassins de milieux humides disparus était de 0,2 ha, 77 % étant de dimensions inférieures à 2,6 ha12. Entre 1985 et 2005, les milieux humides saisonniers peu profonds dans les champs agricoles ont enregistré le plus haut taux d'incidences et le plus faible taux de rétablissement par rapport à d'autres types de milieux humides28.

Pertes de milieux humides dans le sud de l’Ontario

Pourcentages de pertes par canton, de 1800 à 2002
Carte : Pertes de milieux humdes dans le sud de l’Ontario. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Remarque : Seuls les milieux humides de plus de 10 ha sont inclus.
Source : Canards Illimités Canada, 201011.

Avant l’arrivée des Européens, la superficie des milieux humides dans le sud de l’Ontario atteignait environ 20 266 km2. En 2002, 72 % des milieux humides avaient été transformés à d’autres fins. Ce pourcentage représente une diminution dans la proportion de la couverture des milieux humides dans le paysage de 25 à 7 %11. Autrefois, les plus fortes concentrations de milieux humides se trouvaient dans le sud–ouest et l’est de l’Ontario. C’est aussi dans ces secteurs que ce sont produites les pertes les plus importantes. Par exemple, avant la colonisation, 83 % du comté d’Essex, à l’extrémité sud–ouest de l’Ontario, étaient constitués de milieux humides, mais en 2002, cette superficie avait été réduite à moins de 2 %11, 30. Entre 1967 et 1982, la transformation des milieux humides à des fins agricoles représentait 85 % des pertes30. Le développement urbain et les infrastructures de transport connexes ont été des facteurs importants des pertes dans les régions entourant le sud–est du lac Ontario11.

Une bonne partie de la transformation des milieux humides s’est produite au cours du 19e siècle et au début du 20e siècle (68 % des milieux humides ont été transformés/perdus avant 1967)30. Néanmoins, malgré le gain de milieux humides dans certaines régions, la perte nette se poursuit. Bien que le nombre estimé de milieux humides de plus de 10 ha soit demeuré relativement stable entre 1967 et 1982, de 1982 à 2002, un pourcentage additionnel de 3,5 % de milieux humides précoloniaux a été perdu – une moyenne de 3,5 km2 par année11. Il s’agit d’estimations prudentes, car les milieux humides riverains des Grands Lacs et les milieux humides de moins de 10 ha n’ont pas été inclus dans les analyses11.

Changements dans les superficies de milieux humides le long du fleuve Saint–Laurent

Deux cartes montrant les changements dans les superficies de milieux humides le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Sources: Pourcentages de changements par unité physiographique entre 1945 et 1978 adapté de Lehoux and Chamard, 200249; pourcentages de changements, de 1970–1978 et de 2001–2002 adapté de Jean and Létourneau, 200750.

Entre 1945 et 1984, plus de 60 km2 d’habitats riverains ont été modifiés le long du fleuve Saint–Laurent51. La plupart des changements se sont produits avant le milieu des années 1970 en raison du drainage et du remplissage des eaux libres et des milieux humides au profit de l’aménagement de logements, de routes et de l’agriculture. Les pertes se sont surtout produites près des grands centres urbains49, 51 – par exemple, en 1976, 83 % des milieux humides de Montréal avaient été perdus52. La construction d’installations de régularisation de l’eau, notamment les barrages et la Voie maritime du Saint–Laurent (de 1954 à 1958), a provoqué des changements à la fin des ann 195049. L’urbanisation a été plus importante après cette période52.

Depuis les années 1970, l’étendue globale des milieux humides a augmenté, bien qu’il y ait des variations selon le type et l’emplacement du milieu humide51. Malgré que la perte de milieux humides se poursuive en raison de l’urbanisation, particulièrement dans les régions de Montréal et du lac Saint–Pierre, les efforts de restauration et la baisse des niveaux d’eau ont entraîné un gain net des marais et des marécages de l’ordre de 2,7 % entre 1990 et 200251. Les gains ont surtout été observés dans l’estuaire fluvial, le moyen estuaire et l’estuaire maritime, et se sont produits essentiellement au détriment de l’eau libre. La baisse des niveaux d’eau dans les années 1990 peut avoir accéléré la tendance à la sécheresse dans certaines régions51, 53, transformant les bas marais en hauts marais et en marécages, avec une prédominance de plantes envahissantes. Les niveaux d’eau sont influencés par un nombre de facteurs, y compris les ouvrages de régularisation des eaux, le débit des Grands Lacs et de la rivière des Outaouais et les changements climatiques, en particulier dans l’estuaire et le golfe du Saint–Laurent49, 51.

Les plantes non indigènes de milieu humide constituent maintenant 14 % des plantes vasculaires des milieux humides du fleuve Saint–Laurent54. Leur expansion peut être attribuée à la modification des rives, à l’excavation du chenal navigable et à la régularisation des niveaux d’eau, qui ont réduit l’ampleur des crues, ralenti la circulation de l’eau dans les zones littorales peu profondes et diminué l’efficacité du fleuve à purger les sédiments des nutriants et à déraciner la végétation émergente robuste55.

Plaine Old Crow

Modification de la superficie des plans d'eau
Graphe : Modification de la superficie des plans d'eau dans la plaine Old Crow. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Labrecque et al., 200956.

Désigné milieu humide d’importance internationale4, la plaine Old Crow est un grand complexe non développé (plus de 6000 km2) de plus de 2000 lacs et milieux humides, formés à la suite de la fonte du pergélisol. Elle offre un habitat important à l’échelle continentale à près d’un demi–million d’oiseaux aquatiques en périodes de reproduction et de mue57, 58. La superficie totale d’eau a diminué de 13 km2 (3,5 %) entre 1951 et 2001, et les diminutions totales les plus importantes ont été observées dans les grands et les très grands lacs. La superficie des étangs s’est agrandie de 7 % entre 1951 et 1972, mais a diminué de 8,5 % entre 1972 et 2001. Ces changements sont attribuables à différents processus interdépendants, certains lacs se formant ou s’agrandissant et certains autres s’asséchant soudainement en raison de l’effondrement du pergélisol ainsi qu’à la tendance générale à la sécheresse, qui s’explique par une augmentation de l’évaporation, elle–même causée par les étés chauds des dernières années56.

Changement de la superficie des milieux humides dans les vallées de l'Okanagan–sud et de la basse Similkameen, en Colombie–Britannique

Superficie (km2) en 1800, 1938, et 2005
Graphe : Changement de la superficie des milieux humides dans les vallées de l'Okanagan-sud et de la basse Similkameen, en Colombie-Britannique. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Lea, 200887.

Les milieux humides occupent une petite partie de l’écozone+ du bassin intérieur de l’Ouest, en raison du climat, du sol et des caractéristiques topographiques de la région2, 88. Néanmoins, ils jouent un rôle écologique essentiel, en particulier parce qu’ils abritent dans les zones arides plus d’espèces que tout autre écosystème88, 89. Les milieux humides de la partie sud de l’intérieur de la Colombie–Britannique abritent de nombreuses espèces en péril. La plupart des milieux humides dans ce secteur se situent dans le fond de vallées où se concentre également le développement, et la perte de milieux humides a été énorme depuis la colonisation européenne, principalement en raison de leur conversion en terres agricoles et, plus récemment, du développement urbain87, 90. Entre 1800 et 2005, des communautés de milieux humides précises ont souffert différents degrés de pertes, dont 92 % de milieux humides riverains à cornouillers stolonifères et à bouleaux fontinaux buissonnants, 63 % de milieux humides riverains à peupliers occidentaux et à cornouillers stolonifères et 41 % de marais dominés par la massette dans les vallées de l’Okanagan–Sud et de la basse Similkameen87. Les milieux humides continuent de subir des pertes et une dégradation en raison de l’urbanisation, de l’agriculture intensive et, dans certains secteurs, d’activités récréatives importantes87, 91, 92. En outre, les espèces envahissantes et les changements climatiques présentent des menaces importantes.

Photo : Milieu humide du fleuve Saint-Laurent © Caroline Savage, Environnement Canada
Milieu humide du fleuve Saint–Laurent