Grasslands

Grassland health

In addition to direct loss, the remaining grasslands in Canada are under stress. Natural disturbance regimes that historically maintained grasslands have been altered; in particular, the suppression of fire and replacement of free-ranging bison with confined cattle have modified the structure and composition of native grasslands. Also, many of the richest soils have been cultivated,2, 19 leaving remaining grasslands on less productive soils. Other threats to grassland health include invasive non-native species, overgrazing, forest encroachment, continued fragmentation from development, and intensification of agriculture. Overall results from two studies investigating rangeland health in Alberta and Saskatchewan in 2008 showed that 49% were healthy, 8% unhealthy, and 43% healthy with problems.20, 21 In the Okanagan Valley, between 19 and 69% of rangelands were in poor condition in the 1990s.13 In Manitoba, 14% of remnant tallgrass prairie patches were so severely degraded by non-native species between 1987 and 2006 that patches could no longer be recognized as tallgrass prairie. Patch quality declined significantly over the time period and few are likely self-sustaining.5

Canadian grassland birds

Breeding Bird Survey Abundance Index, 1967 to 2006
Graph: abundance of Canadian grassland birds. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Breeding Bird Survey22 by Downes et al., 201023

 

Grassland birds are showing steep and widespread declines throughout North America.24, 25 In Canada, there has been an overall loss of 44% of the populations of grassland species since the 1970s, with individual species showing significant declines of up to 87%.23

Photo: grasshopper sparrow © iStock.com/WilliamShermanGrasshopper sparrow, declined by 78% since the 1970s23

Grazing and grassland health

Degree of alteration
of Saskatchewan grasslands due to grazing
Percent, 2007
Graph: degree of alteration of Saskatchewan grasslands due to grazing. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: Thorpe, 200927

Large areas of intact grasslands are used as rangelands for livestock grazing. The relationship between grazing and grassland health is complex. Most grasslandsevolved with grazing by herbivores. Maintaining a range of grazing intensities is important for biodiversity as habitats with different grazing intensities support different species. Although improvements in land management practices have been made in some areas, for example community pastures and other stewardship initiatives in the Prairies,4, 21, 26 livestock grazing can affect grassland health. Using data on species composition to indicate change, Thorpe27 found almost 50% of plots in the Aspen Parkland and Mixed Grassland regions of Saskatchewan had, by 2007, been moderately or severely altered by livestock grazing. In B.C., about 90% of grasslands are now grazed by domestic livestock,11 resulting in grasslands that are in early stages of succession, with many invasive species.13, 28-30

Prairies

Santé des prairies

En plus d’avoir subi des pertes directes, les prairies qui restent au Canada subissent aussi des perturbations. Les régimes de perturbations naturelles qui, historiquement, ont assuré le maintien des prairies ont été modifiés. En particulier, la suppression des feux et le remplacement des bisons en liberté par des bovins en enclos ont changé la structure et la composition des prairies indigènes. Beaucoup de sols riches ont été cultivés2, 19, laissant des sols moins productifs pour les prairies restantes. Les prairies sont en outre menacées par les espèces non indigènes, le surpâturage, l’empiétement de la forêt et le morcellement continu causé par le développement et l’intensification de l’agriculture. Les résultats globaux de deux études sur la santé des grands pâturages libres de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan, menées en 2008, ont révélé que 49 % des pâturages étaient en santé, que 8 % ne l’étaient pas et que 43 % étaient en santé, mais éprouvaient des problèmes20, 21. Dans la vallée de l’Okanagan, entre 19 et 69 % des grands pâturages libres étaient en mauvais état dans les années 199013. Au Manitoba, 14 % des parcelles de prairie à herbes hautes qui restent ont été si gravement modifiées par des espèces non indigènes entre 1987 et 2006 qu’il était impossible de dire s’il s’agissait de parcelles de prairie à herbes hautes. La qualité des parcelles s’est détériorée de façon importante au fil du temps, et peu sont probablement encore autosuffisantes5.

Oiseaux des prairies canadiennes

Indice d’abondance des oiseaux nicheurs, de 1967 à 2006
Graphe : Abondance des oiseaux des prairies du Canada. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs22 par Downes et al., 201023.

 

Les populations d’oiseaux des prairies diminuent rapidement et de façon généralisée en Amérique du Nord24, 25. Au Canada, 44 % des populations d’espèces des prairies ont disparu depuis les années 1970, le déclin prononcé de la population de certaines espèces en particulier atteignant
87 %23.

Photo : Bruant sauterelle © iStock.com/WilliamShermanDiminution de 78 % des populations de Bruant sauterelle depuis les années 197023

Broutage et santé des prairies

Degré de modification des prairies de la Saskatchewan à cause du broutage
Pourcentage, 2007
Graphe : Degré de modification des prairies de la Saskatchewan à cause du broutage. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Thorpe, 200927

De grandes étendues de prairies intactes sont utilisées comme grands pâturages libres pour le broutage du bétail. La relation entre le broutage et la santé des prairies est complexe. La majeure partie des prairies a évolué avec le broutage des herbivores. Il est important de maintenir une gamme d’intensités de broutage pour la biodiversité, car les habitats soumis à différentes intensités de broutage assurent la subsistance de différentes espèces. Malgré une amélioration des pratiques de gestion des terres dans certains secteurs (p. ex. pâturages communautaires et autres initiatives d’intendance dans les Prairies)4, 21, 26, le broutage du bétail peut avoir un effet sur la santé des prairies. À l’aide de données sur la composition des espèces pour indiquer les changements, Thorpe27 a découvert que presque 50 % des parcelles dans les régions de la forêt-parc à trembles et de la prairie mixte de la Saskatchewan avaient été moyennement ou gravement modifiées par le broutage du bétail en 2007. En Colombie-Britannique, environ 90 % des prairies servent maintenant aux animaux d’élevage11, ce qui fait que beaucoup d’entre elles demeurent aux premiers stades de succession et sont colonisées par de nombreuses espèces envahissantes13, 28-30.