Grasslands

Status and Trends
rate of loss slowed; extent impaired and health compromised in many areas
Impaired, getting worse at a slow to moderate rate
data not comprehensive, but trends are clear
High confidence in finding

KEY FINDING 2. Native grasslands have been reduced to a fraction of their original extent. Although at a slower pace, declines continue in some areas. The health of many existing grasslands has also been compromised by a variety of stressors.

This key finding is divided into two sections:

Grasslands are open ecosystems dominated by herbaceous (non-woody) vegetation. Typical temperate grasslands, like those in Canada, occur where there is low moisture, cold winters, and deep, fertile soils. Maintained historically by drought, fire, and grazing, temperate grasslands are the Earths most altered, and one of the most threatened ecosystems, with the highest risk of biome-wide biodiversity loss.1, 2 Although other ecosystem types, such as oak savannahs, alvars, and dunes support grasslands, this finding focuses on prairie and steppe. Grasslands are important as habitat for many species, including many species at risk. They also provide soil and water conservation, nutrient recycling, pollination, habitat for livestock grazing, genetic material for crops, recreation, climate regulation, and storage for about 34% of the terrestrial global carbon stock.1, 3

Historical loss of grasslands
Estimated percent loss up to early 1990s
Map and charts: historical loss of grasslands in Canada. Click for graphic description (new window).

Sources: B.C. map adapted  from Grassland Conservation Council of British Columbia, 2009;17 prairie map adapted from Ostlie and Haferman, 1999 cited in White et al., 2000;3  Manitoba map adapted from Joyce and Morgan, 1989;9 Ontario map adapted from  Natural Heritage Information Centre cited in Ontario Tallgrass Prairie and Savanna Association 18

Sources on graphic: Riley et al., 2007;4 Joyce and Morgan, 1989;9 Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, 2009;10 Grasslands Conservation Council of British Columbia, 2004;11 British Columbia Ministry of Environment, 2007;12 Watts, 1969;14 Samson and Knopf, 1994;15 Bakowsky, 199316

Changes in extent

Losses of grasslands exceed those of other major biomes in North America.2 Although most grassland loss in Canada occurred prior to the 1930s,4 largely the result of conversion for cropland,2  it continues today with small remnants often suffering the most.5, 6

  • Mixed and fescue prairie covers over 110,000 km2 (25%) of the Prairie provinces. It is estimated, based on remote sensing, that 70% of original vegetation, including grasslands, was converted to other uses by the 1990s.4 Conversion of native grasslands continues,6, 7 but at a slower rate. Overall loss from 1971 to 1986 was estimated at 3%.7 Losses vary among regions, for example a 10% loss was found from 1985 to 2001 in some areas.6
  • Tallgrass prairie, North America’s most threatened prairie,8 now covers approximately 100 km2 of its former 6,000 km2 in Manitoba9 and 820 km2 in Ontario.10 The small patches that remain are still threatened by conversion, with 23% of remnant patches in Manitoba converted between 1987 and 2006. Only a few of the larger patches secured for conservation increased in size, due to active restoration.5 
  • Bunchgrass/sagebrush in B.C. suffered losses of 15 to 19% prior to 1990.11, 12 Between 1990 and 2005, an additional 1% of the original grasslands were lost.12 Losses in some areas were higher, for example declines in South Okanagan grassland communities from 1800 to 2005 ranged from 33 to 75%.13 Only small remnants of former expansive grasslands in northern B.C. remain.12

Photo: mixed grass prairie, Grasslands National Park, Saskatchewan © Parks Canada, M. Finkelstein, 2005
Mixed grass prairie, Grasslands National Park, Saskatchewan

Globe

Global Trends

Temperate grasslands, covering 8% of the Earth,31 lost 70% of their native cover by 1950, with an additional 15% lost since.32 In North America, over 97% of tallgrass prairie,8, 33, 34 71% of mixed prairie, and 48% of shortgrass prairie had been lost by 2003.8

Return to Table of Contents

Grassland health

In addition to direct loss, the remaining grasslands in Canada are under stress. Natural disturbance regimes that historically maintained grasslands have been altered; in particular, the suppression of fire and replacement of free-ranging bison with confined cattle have modified the structure and composition of native grasslands. Also, many of the richest soils have been cultivated,2, 19 leaving remaining grasslands on less productive soils. Other threats to grassland health include invasive non-native species, overgrazing, forest encroachment, continued fragmentation from development, and intensification of agriculture. Overall results from two studies investigating rangeland health in Alberta and Saskatchewan in 2008 showed that 49% were healthy, 8% unhealthy, and 43% healthy with problems.20, 21 In the Okanagan Valley, between 19 and 69% of rangelands were in poor condition in the 1990s.13 In Manitoba, 14% of remnant tallgrass prairie patches were so severely degraded by non-native species between 1987 and 2006 that patches could no longer be recognized as tallgrass prairie. Patch quality declined significantly over the time period and few are likely self-sustaining.5

Canadian grassland birds

Breeding Bird Survey Abundance Index, 1967 to 2006
Graph: abundance of Canadian grassland birds. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Breeding Bird Survey22 by Downes et al., 201023

 

Grassland birds are showing steep and widespread declines throughout North America.24, 25 In Canada, there has been an overall loss of 44% of the populations of grassland species since the 1970s, with individual species showing significant declines of up to 87%.23

Photo: grasshopper sparrow © iStock.com/WilliamShermanGrasshopper sparrow, declined by 78% since the 1970s23

Grazing and grassland health

Degree of alteration
of Saskatchewan grasslands due to grazing
Percent, 2007
Graph: degree of alteration of Saskatchewan grasslands due to grazing. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: Thorpe, 200927

Large areas of intact grasslands are used as rangelands for livestock grazing. The relationship between grazing and grassland health is complex. Most grasslandsevolved with grazing by herbivores. Maintaining a range of grazing intensities is important for biodiversity as habitats with different grazing intensities support different species. Although improvements in land management practices have been made in some areas, for example community pastures and other stewardship initiatives in the Prairies,4, 21, 26 livestock grazing can affect grassland health. Using data on species composition to indicate change, Thorpe27 found almost 50% of plots in the Aspen Parkland and Mixed Grassland regions of Saskatchewan had, by 2007, been moderately or severely altered by livestock grazing. In B.C., about 90% of grasslands are now grazed by domestic livestock,11 resulting in grasslands that are in early stages of succession, with many invasive species.13, 28-30

Return to Table of Contents

Prairies

État et tendances
taux de perte freiné; superficie amoindrie et santé compromise à de nombreux endroits
Altéré, empire lentement ou modérément
données incomplètes, mais tendances claires
Fiabilité de la constatation élevée

CONSTATATION CLÉ 2 : L'étendue des prairies indigènes n'est plus qu'une fraction de ce qu'elle était à l'origine. Bien qu'à un rythme plus lent, la disparition des prairies se poursuit dans certaines régions. La santé de bon nombre de prairies existantes a également été compromise par divers facteurs de stress.

Cette constatation clé est divisée en deux parties :

Les prairies sont des écosystèmes ouverts, constitués principalement d'une végétation herbacée (non ligneuse). On trouve les prairies tempérées types, comme celles du Canada, dans les zones plutôt sèches, où les hivers sont froids, et les sols, riches et profonds. Ayant historiquement subsisté grâce aux sécheresses, aux feux et au broutage, les prairies tempérées sont les écosystèmes les plus transformés de la planète et un des écosystèmes les plus menacés, présentant le risque le plus élevé d'une perte de biodiversité à l'échelle du biome1, 2. Quoique d'autres types d'écosystèmes tels que les savanes de chênes, les alvars et les dunes puissent assurer la survie des prairies, parce qu'ils en contiennent, cette constation traite uniquement des prairies et des steppes.

Les prairies sont importantes en tant qu'habitat pour de nombreuses espèces, y compris bon nombre d'espèces en péril du pays. Elles contribuent également à la conservation du sol et de l'eau, au recyclage des éléments nutritifs, à la pollinisation et à la régulation du climat; elles offrent de grands pâturages pour le bétail, du matériel génétique pour les cultures, une aire pour les loisirs et un réservoir pour environ 34 % des stocks mondiaux de carbone terrestre1, 3.

Disparition des Prairies
Pourcentage estimé des pertes jusqu’au début des années 1990
Carte et graphique : Affichant disparition des prairies. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).

Sources : Carte de la Colombie-Britannique adaptée du Grasslands Conservation Council of British Columbia, 200917; carte des Prairies adaptée d'Ostlie et Haferman, 1999, cités dans White et al., 20003; carte du Manitoba adaptée de Joyce et Morgan, 19899; carte de l'Ontario adaptée du Centre d'information sur le patrimoine naturel, cité dans l'Ontario Tallgrass Prairie and Savanna Association18.

Sources dans graphique: Riley et al., 2007;4 Joyce et Morgan, 1989;9 Ministère des Richesses naturelles, 2009;10 Grasslands Conservation Council of British Columbia, 2004;11 British Columbia Ministry of Environment, 2007;12 Watts, 1969;14 Samson et Knopf, 1994;15 Bakowsky, 199316.

Modifications de l'étendue

Les prairies indigènes disparaissent plus rapidement que n'importe quel autre biome important de l'Amérique du Nord2. Au Canada, cette disparition est surtout survenue avant les années 19304, en grande partie à cause de la transformation des terres pour la culture2, Cette transformation se poursuit aujourd'hui, les prairies restantes accusant souvent les plus grandes pertes5, 6.

  • La prairie mixte et de fétuques couvre à l'heure actuelle plus de 110 000 km2 (25 %) des provinces des Prairies. On estime en 1990, d'après la télédétection, que 70 % de la végétation originale, incluant les prairies, a été convertie en d'autres utilisations4 La transformation des prairies indigènes se poursuit,6, 7 mais à un taux inférieur. De 1971 à 1986, la perte globale a été estimée à 3 %7. Les pertes varient entre les régions; par exemple, une perte de 10 % a été remarquée dans certaines d'entre elles entre 1985 et 20016.
  • La prairie à herbes hautes, soit la prairie la plus menacée de l'Amérique du Nord8, couvre maintenant seulement environ 100 m2 des 6000 km2 qu'elle couvrait au Manitoba9 et des 820 km2 qu’elle couvrait en Ontario10. Les petites parcelles qui restent risquent toujours d'être converties; en effet, 23 % des parcelles qui restaient au Manitoba ont été aménagées entre 1987 et 2006. L'étendue de seulement quelques parcelles plus importantes, dont la conservation est assurée, a augmenté en raison d'activités soutenues de restauration5.
  • En Colombie-Britannique, de 15 % à 19 % des graminées cespiteuses et d'armoises ont disparu avant 199011, 12. Entre 1990 et 2005, c’est un autre 1 % des prairies originales qui a disparu12. Les pertes dans certaines régions ont été plus importantes; par exemple, les pertes au sein des communautés de prairie du sud de l'Okanagan étaient de l'ordre de 33 à 75 % entre 1800 et 200513. Il ne reste que de petits vestiges des anciennes vastes prairies du nord de la Colombie-Britannique12.

Photo : Prairies mixte, Parc National des Prairies, Saskatchewan © Parcs Canada , M. Finkelstein, 2005
Prairies mixte, Parc National des Prairies, Saskatchewan © Parcs Canada , M. Finkelstein, 2005

Monde

Tendances mondiales

En 1950, les prairies tempérées, qui couvrent 8 % de la Terre31, avaient perdu 70 % de leur couverture indigène, et 15 % supplémentaires ont été perdues depuis32. En Amérique du Nord, plus de 97 % de la prairie à herbes hautes8, 33, 34, 71 % de la prairie mixte et 48 % de la prairie à herbes courtes avaient disparu en 20038.

Retournez à la table des matières

Santé des prairies

En plus d’avoir subi des pertes directes, les prairies qui restent au Canada subissent aussi des perturbations. Les régimes de perturbations naturelles qui, historiquement, ont assuré le maintien des prairies ont été modifiés. En particulier, la suppression des feux et le remplacement des bisons en liberté par des bovins en enclos ont changé la structure et la composition des prairies indigènes. Beaucoup de sols riches ont été cultivés2, 19, laissant des sols moins productifs pour les prairies restantes. Les prairies sont en outre menacées par les espèces non indigènes, le surpâturage, l’empiétement de la forêt et le morcellement continu causé par le développement et l’intensification de l’agriculture. Les résultats globaux de deux études sur la santé des grands pâturages libres de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan, menées en 2008, ont révélé que 49 % des pâturages étaient en santé, que 8 % ne l’étaient pas et que 43 % étaient en santé, mais éprouvaient des problèmes20, 21. Dans la vallée de l’Okanagan, entre 19 et 69 % des grands pâturages libres étaient en mauvais état dans les années 199013. Au Manitoba, 14 % des parcelles de prairie à herbes hautes qui restent ont été si gravement modifiées par des espèces non indigènes entre 1987 et 2006 qu’il était impossible de dire s’il s’agissait de parcelles de prairie à herbes hautes. La qualité des parcelles s’est détériorée de façon importante au fil du temps, et peu sont probablement encore autosuffisantes5.

Oiseaux des prairies canadiennes

Indice d’abondance des oiseaux nicheurs, de 1967 à 2006
Graphe : Abondance des oiseaux des prairies du Canada. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs22 par Downes et al., 201023.

 

Les populations d’oiseaux des prairies diminuent rapidement et de façon généralisée en Amérique du Nord24, 25. Au Canada, 44 % des populations d’espèces des prairies ont disparu depuis les années 1970, le déclin prononcé de la population de certaines espèces en particulier atteignant
87 %23.

Photo : Bruant sauterelle © iStock.com/WilliamShermanDiminution de 78 % des populations de Bruant sauterelle depuis les années 197023

Broutage et santé des prairies

Degré de modification des prairies de la Saskatchewan à cause du broutage
Pourcentage, 2007
Graphe : Degré de modification des prairies de la Saskatchewan à cause du broutage. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Thorpe, 200927

De grandes étendues de prairies intactes sont utilisées comme grands pâturages libres pour le broutage du bétail. La relation entre le broutage et la santé des prairies est complexe. La majeure partie des prairies a évolué avec le broutage des herbivores. Il est important de maintenir une gamme d’intensités de broutage pour la biodiversité, car les habitats soumis à différentes intensités de broutage assurent la subsistance de différentes espèces. Malgré une amélioration des pratiques de gestion des terres dans certains secteurs (p. ex. pâturages communautaires et autres initiatives d’intendance dans les Prairies)4, 21, 26, le broutage du bétail peut avoir un effet sur la santé des prairies. À l’aide de données sur la composition des espèces pour indiquer les changements, Thorpe27 a découvert que presque 50 % des parcelles dans les régions de la forêt-parc à trembles et de la prairie mixte de la Saskatchewan avaient été moyennement ou gravement modifiées par le broutage du bétail en 2007. En Colombie-Britannique, environ 90 % des prairies servent maintenant aux animaux d’élevage11, ce qui fait que beaucoup d’entre elles demeurent aux premiers stades de succession et sont colonisées par de nombreuses espèces envahissantes13, 28-30.

Retournez à la table des matières