Marine

Marine fisheries

Declines in several fish stocks have occurred in the Atlantic and Pacific oceans as well as in the Hudson Bay, James Bay, and Foxe Basin, as a result of overexploitation in combination with other stressors, such as increased temperature, decreased salinity, and increased acidity. Declining stocks include groundfish, such as Atlantic and Pacific cod, lingcod and rockfish, pelagic fish such as herring and capelin, and anadromous fish such as coho, chinook salmon, Atlantic salmon, and Arctic char.5 Management measures designed to reverse longterm fisheries declines have been largely unsuccessful. Depending on the fishery, Photo: netted fish © iStock.com/Irishka1rebounds have been hampered by large-scale oceanographic regime shifts, loss of spawning and rearing habitat, and contaminants.5

Not all fisheries are in decline. For example, turbot, sablefish, and Pacific sardine are all increasing in the West Coast Vancouver Island Ecozone+ and pink and chum salmon are increasing in the Strait of Georgia.5

Map and graphs: population trends of marine fisheries at various locations in Canada. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), 2010,5 Johannessen and McCarter, 2010,15 and Worcester and Parker, 201016

Fish length at age 5, Scotian Shelf

cm, 1970 to 2002
Graph: fish length at age 5, Scotian Shelf. Click for graphic description (new window).
Source: adapted from Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), 20105

 

Size of fish is an important determinant of reproductive success. Since the 1970s, several species have been getting smaller, including Pacific herring in the Strait of Georgia and five species of groundfish in the Scotian Shelf. Smaller size is implicated as a factor hampering recovery of some fisheries.5

 

 

Globe

Global Trends

Over 30% of fish stocks are over-exploited, fully exploited, or depleted.29
Page 4

Zones marines

Pêcheries marines

Plusieurs stocks de poissons ont diminué dans les océans Atlantique et Pacifique, ainsi que dans la baie d’Hudson, dans la baie James et dans le bassin Foxe, en raison de la surexploitation combinée à d’autres facteurs de stress, notamment la hausse de la température, la baisse de la salinité et l’augmentation de l’acidité. Les diminutions de stocks concernent les poissons de fond (p. ex., morue franche, morue du Pacifique, morue-lingue, sébaste), les poissons pélagiques (p. ex., hareng, capelan) et les poissons anadromes (p. ex., saumon coho, saumon chinook, saumon atlantique, omble chevalier)5. Les mesures de gestion conçues pour renverser la tendance à la baisse des pêcheries à long terme ont échoué pour la plupart. Selon les pêcheries, la reprise a été ralentie par des changements du régime océanographique à grande échelle, la perte de frayères et d’aires d’alevinage et les contaminants5.Photo : Poissons pris dans un filet © iStock.com/Irishka1

Cependant, les pêcheries ne sont pas toutes en déclin. Par exemple, les populations de turbot, de morue charbonnière et de sardine du Pacifique sont toutes à la hausse dans l’écozone+ de la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver; de même, les populations de saumon rose et de saumon kéta augmentent dans le détroit de Georgia5.

Carte et graphiques : Tendances pour les populations de poissons pêchés à divers endroits du Canada. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Sources : Adapté de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), 20105, Johannessen et McCarter, 201015, et Worcester et Parker, 201016.

Longueur des poissons à l’âge de cinq ans sur le plateau néo-écossais

En centimètres, de 1970 à 2002
Graphe : Longueur des poissons à l’âge de cinq ans sur le plateau néo-écossais. Cliquez pour obtenir une description du graphique (nouvelle fenêtre).
Source : Adapté de Citations dans Pêches et Océans Canada, 20105.

 

La taille des poissons est un facteur déterminant important pour le succès de la reproduction. Depuis les années 1970, plusieurs espèces sont devenues de plus en plus petites, notamment le hareng du Pacifique dans le détroit de Georgia et cinq espèces de poissons de fond sur le plateau néo-écossais. La diminution de la taille des poissons est un facteur qui entrave le rétablissement de certaines pêcheries5.

Monde

Tendances mondiales

Plus de 30 % des stocks de poissons sont surexploités, exploités à plein régime ou décimés29.